第二届公民培训掀起波澜

亲爱的 ROPnet,

继林恩-本顿全国有色人种协进会 2022 年活动的引领下,班顿包容性团体 (BIG) 于 1 月 21 日星期日主办了保护民主:公民研讨会。与全州许多其他团体一样,他们看到人们对当地民众的信任受到侵蚀。政府和民主本身。 因此,他们决定将社区成员聚集在一起,学习如何全年保护和加强民主! 请阅读下面的完整活动报告!

您有兴趣与举办此活动的组织者制定策略吗? 今天就注册与他们见面 4 月 6 日星期六农村核心小组和战略会议 在伍德伯恩。

想在您的社区举办公民研讨会吗? 查看我们与 Linn Benton NAACP 共同编写的主办指南。请联系您友好的 ROP 组织者或 艾玛@rop.org 为您的活动策划提供支持!

热烈地,

艾玛 和 ROP 团队

满堂红为捍卫民主工作坊注入活力

由 KT 和 NL 提供

BIG 不知道有多少人会参加 1 月 21 日星期日举行的保护民主:公民研讨会。一位成员说,“……可能有 6 或 60 人”。事实上,当我们看到大约有 80 名热情的参与者(不包括演讲者)时,我们都非常高兴(也有点不知所措)!  

人群分成了几组。每个小组都被引导到七张桌子中的一张。每张桌子均由一位具有过去或现任政府经验的当地官员主持。大约 15 分钟后,各组轮流发言,直到每组都有机会在每张桌子上倾听和提问。

什么时候 县专员 约翰·斯威特(John Sweet)在他的桌子上提出了问题,主要是对主要高速公路沿线砍伐的担忧。约翰解释说,该县每年可以采伐 350 英亩的木材,这笔钱对于支付该县的强制性资金至关重要。他还指出,由于风吹倒会对公共安全造成危险,因此不能保留任何一小片树木。斯威特专员自己担心的一个问题是地方检察官办公室缺乏工作人员,这意味着许多涉嫌犯罪无法被起诉。

凯蒂·艾曼,前 俄勒冈州立法机关立法助理,对想法成为法律的过程进行了非常有趣的介绍。与会者表达了在未来大型活动中更多地了解这一流程的热情。  

艾玛·罗奈-杜宁 (Emma Ronai-Durning),组织者 农村组织项目 ,令人印象最深刻,也是一位出色的演讲者。艾玛提供了许多讲义并接受了书面建议。想法包括农村人口如何联合起来推广当地广播电台和选民可以轻松获取当地候选人信息的地方。

黛德·墨菲,前 库斯县书记员,对每张选票的旅程(从选民填写选票到县书记官办公室的最终计票)进行了清晰、详细且信息丰富的解释。  

库斯县女选民联盟 的 Abigale Bok 和 Kay Kerriden 提供了关于 LWV 研究方法的精彩讲义和内容丰富的对话,以及他们对所推广的每个问题的仔细审查。在之前的选举中,他们使用相同的问题采访每位当地候选人。采访随后可在网上查看。他们不支持任何候选人,但支持问题。 LWV 自 1920 年女性首次赢得投票权以来就一直存在!

彼得·布劳恩, 班登市议员,与与会者交谈,提供有关城市规划部门和水问题的信息。他邀请市议会和旧城区商业协会、大班登协会等其他团体进行互动。与会者可以满怀信心地离开,积极的反馈、担忧和建设性批评可能是他们可以为这些不同实体做出的贡献。

德瑞亚·道格拉斯, 北本德图书馆学习协调员,很好地理解了迫切需要更好地教育社区成员批判性思维、如何发现假新闻和面对我们自己的确认偏见。她还指出,当地图书馆能够针对顾客的询问(例如政治八卦)提供公正的信息是多么重要。德雷(Drea)提供的用于事实核查新闻文章的指南将对所有年龄段的每个人都有用。

茶点室里摆着桌子(大家都好!),提供有关选民登记、Bandon Good Troublemakers、Indivisible North Curry County、BIG 和其他当地非盈利、志愿者经营组织的信息。

许多人表示他们很享受这次活动并从中受益。有人建议,这种内容广泛的公民知识讲座对于学生和老年人来说重复是有益的。

与会者,我们听到了你们的声音!我们将更好地预测未来的噪音水平。我们也感谢您对未来活动的其他建议。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Second Civics Training Makes Waves

Dear ROPnet,

Following the lead of Linn-Benton NAACP’s event in 2022, Bandon Inclusivity Group (BIG) hosted Protecting Democracy: A Civics Workshop, on Sunday, January 21. They, like many other groups across the state, have seen an erosion of trust in local government and in democracy itself. So they decided to bring community members together to learn how to protect and strengthen democracy year-round! Read the full event report below!

Are you interested in strategizing with the organizers who put this event on? Register today to meet them at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on Saturday, April 6th in Woodburn.

Want to host a civics workshop in your community? Check out the guide to hosting that we put together with the Linn Benton NAACP. Contact your friendly ROP organizer or emma@rop.org for support in planning your event!

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP team

Full House Energizes Protecting Democracy Workshop

By KT and NL

BIG had no idea just how many people might attend the Protecting Democracy: A Civics Workshop, on Sunday, January 21. One member said, “…there might be 6 or 60”.  In fact, we were all overjoyed (and a bit overwhelmed) when there were actually about 80 enthusiastic participants, not including presenters!  

The crowd was divided into groups.  Each group was directed to one of seven tables. Each table was hosted by a local official having past or present governmental experience. The groups then rotated after about 15 minutes until each group had the chance to listen and ask questions at each table.

When County Commissioner John Sweet opened his table to questions, concerns about clearcutting along major highways predominated. John explained that the County is allowed to harvest 350 acres of timber per year and that this money is essential to cover mandatory funding by the County. He also noted that no small strip of trees can be left standing due to blow-down danger to public safety.  Among Commissioner Sweet’s own concerns was the lack of staff in the district attorneys office, which means that a lot of alleged crimes cannot be prosecuted.

Katy Eymann, former Legislative Assistant in the Oregon State Legislature, provided a very interesting introduction to the process by which an idea becomes a law. Enthusiasm was expressed by attendees in learning more about this process at future BIG events.  

Emma Ronai-Durning, an organizer with the Rural Organizing Project , was most impressive and an excellent speaker. Emma provided many handouts and took written suggestions. Ideas included how rural people can join together to promote local radio stations and places where voters can easily obtain information on local candidates.

Dede Murphy, former Coos County Clerk, presented a clear, detailed, and very informative explanation of every ballot’s journey, from filling the ballot out by the voter to the final count by the County Clerk’s office.  

League of Women Voters of Coos County ’s Abigale Bok and Kay Kerriden provided excellent handouts and informative conversation concerning the LWV methods of research and their careful vetting of every issue they promote. Preceding elections they interview each local candidate using the same questions. The interviews are subsequently available online. They do not endorse any candidates but do support issues. LWV has been in place since 1920 when women first won the right to vote!

Peter Braun, Bandon City Councilperson, engaged in conversation with attendees, providing information about the City Planning Department and water issues. He invited interaction with the City Council and other groups such as Oldtown Business Association, Greater Bandon Association, and others. Attendees could leave confident that positive feedback, concerns, and constructive criticism might be a contribution they could make to these different entities.

Drea Douglas, North Bend Library Learning Coordinator, presented a good grasp on the dire need to educate community members better on critical thinking, how to spot fake news and confront our own confirmation bias.  She also pointed out how essential local libraries are in being able to provide unbiased information on patrons’ inquiries such as political gossip. The guidelines Drea provided for fact-checking news articles will be useful to everyone of all ages.

There were tables set up in the refreshment room (great treats everyone!) providing information on voter registration, Bandon Good Troublemakers, Indivisible North Curry County, BIG, and other local non-profit, volunteer-run organizations.

Many said they enjoyed and benefitted from the event. It has been suggested that this type of broadly informative presentation on civics would be beneficial to repeat for students, as well as older adults.

Attendees, we heard you! We will better anticipate noise levels in the future. We also appreciate your other suggestions for future events.

English