التدريب الثاني على التربية المدنية يحدث الأمواج

عزيزي روب نت ،

على غرار حدث Linn-Benton NAACP في عام 2022، استضافت مجموعة Bandon Inclusivity Group (BIG) ورشة عمل حول حماية الديمقراطية: ورشة عمل حول التربية المدنية، يوم الأحد 21 يناير. لقد شهدوا، مثل العديد من المجموعات الأخرى في جميع أنحاء الولاية، تآكل الثقة في المجتمعات المحلية. الحكومة والديمقراطية نفسها. لذلك قرروا جمع أفراد المجتمع معًا لتعلم كيفية حماية وتعزيز الديمقراطية على مدار العام! اقرأ تقرير الحدث الكامل أدناه!

هل أنت مهتم بوضع الاستراتيجيات مع المنظمين الذين نظموا هذا الحدث؟ سجل اليوم لمقابلتهم في جلسة التجمع والاستراتيجية الريفية يوم السبت 6 أبريل في وودبيرن.

هل تريد استضافة ورشة عمل التربية المدنية في مجتمعك؟ تحقق من دليل الاستضافة الذي قمنا بإعداده مع Linn Benton NAACP. اتصل بمنظم ROP الودود الخاص بك أو emma@rop.org للحصول على الدعم في التخطيط لهذا الحدث الخاص بك!

بحرارة

إيما وفريق شرطة عمان السلطانية

فول هاوس ينشط ورشة عمل حماية الديمقراطية

بواسطة KT وNL

لم يكن لدى BIG أي فكرة عن عدد الأشخاص الذين قد يحضرون ورشة عمل حماية الديمقراطية: ورشة عمل حول التربية المدنية، يوم الأحد الموافق 21 يناير. وقال أحد الأعضاء: "... قد يكون هناك 6 أو 60 شخصًا". في الواقع، شعرنا جميعًا بسعادة غامرة (وشعرنا بالذهول بعض الشيء) عندما كان هناك بالفعل حوالي 80 مشاركًا متحمسًا، وليس من بينهم مقدمو العروض!  

تم تقسيم الحشد إلى مجموعات. تم توجيه كل مجموعة إلى واحد من سبعة طاولات. تمت استضافة كل طاولة من قبل مسؤول محلي يتمتع بخبرة حكومية سابقة أو حالية. ثم تناوبت المجموعات بعد حوالي 15 دقيقة حتى أتيحت لكل مجموعة فرصة الاستماع وطرح الأسئلة على كل طاولة.

متي مفوض المقاطعة فتح جون سويت طاولته للأسئلة، وكانت المخاوف بشأن قطع الطرق السريعة الرئيسية هي السائدة. وأوضح جون أنه يُسمح للمقاطعة بحصاد 350 فدانًا من الأخشاب سنويًا وأن هذه الأموال ضرورية لتغطية التمويل الإلزامي من قبل المقاطعة. وأشار أيضًا إلى أنه لا يمكن ترك أي شريط صغير من الأشجار واقفاً بسبب خطر الانهيار على السلامة العامة. من بين مخاوف المفوض سويت هو نقص الموظفين في مكتب المدعي العام بالمنطقة، مما يعني أنه لا يمكن محاكمة الكثير من الجرائم المزعومة.

كاتي ايمان، سابقا مساعد تشريعي في الهيئة التشريعية لولاية أوريغون، قدمت مقدمة مثيرة للاهتمام للغاية للعملية التي من خلالها تصبح الفكرة قانونًا. وقد أعرب الحاضرون عن حماسهم لمعرفة المزيد عن هذه العملية في فعاليات BIG المستقبلية.  

إيما روناي دورنينج، منظمة مع مشروع التنظيم الريفي ، كان الأكثر إثارة للإعجاب ومتحدثًا ممتازًا. قدمت إيما العديد من النشرات وأخذت اقتراحات مكتوبة. وتضمنت الأفكار كيفية توحيد سكان الريف معًا لتعزيز محطات الإذاعة المحلية والأماكن التي يمكن للناخبين فيها الحصول بسهولة على معلومات عن المرشحين المحليين.

ديدي ميرفي، سابق كاتب مقاطعة كوس، قدم شرحًا واضحًا ومفصلاً ومفيدًا للغاية لكل رحلة اقتراع، بدءًا من ملء بطاقة الاقتراع بواسطة الناخب وحتى العد النهائي بواسطة مكتب كاتب المقاطعة.  

رابطة الناخبات في مقاطعة كوس قدمت أبيجال بوك وكاي كيريدن من أبيجالي بوك وكاي كيريدن منشورات ممتازة ومحادثات غنية بالمعلومات فيما يتعلق بأساليب بحث LWV وفحصهم الدقيق لكل قضية يروجون لها. في الانتخابات السابقة، يقومون بإجراء مقابلات مع كل مرشح محلي باستخدام نفس الأسئلة. المقابلات متاحة لاحقا على الانترنت. إنهم لا يؤيدون أي مرشح ولكنهم يدعمون القضايا. تم تأسيس LWV منذ عام 1920 عندما حصلت المرأة لأول مرة على حق التصويت!

بيتر براون, عضو مجلس مدينة باندونوشارك في محادثة مع الحضور، وقدم معلومات حول إدارة تخطيط المدن وقضايا المياه. ودعا إلى التفاعل مع مجلس المدينة والمجموعات الأخرى مثل جمعية رجال الأعمال في المدينة القديمة، وجمعية باندون الكبرى، وغيرها. يمكن للحاضرين أن يغادروا واثقين من أن التعليقات الإيجابية والمخاوف والنقد البناء قد تكون مساهمة يمكنهم تقديمها لهذه الكيانات المختلفة.

دريا دوجلاس, منسق التعلم بمكتبة نورث بيند، قدم فهمًا جيدًا للحاجة الماسة إلى تثقيف أفراد المجتمع بشكل أفضل حول التفكير النقدي، وكيفية اكتشاف الأخبار المزيفة ومواجهة التحيز التأكيدي لدينا. وأشارت أيضًا إلى مدى أهمية المكتبات المحلية في قدرتها على توفير معلومات غير متحيزة حول استفسارات المستفيدين مثل النميمة السياسية. ستكون الإرشادات التي قدمتها Drea للمقالات الإخبارية للتحقق من الحقائق مفيدة للجميع من جميع الأعمار.

كانت هناك طاولات معدة في غرفة المرطبات (معاملة رائعة للجميع!) توفر معلومات عن تسجيل الناخبين، وBandon Good Troublemakers، وIndivisible North Curry County، وBIG، وغيرها من المنظمات المحلية غير الربحية التي يديرها المتطوعون.

وقال الكثيرون إنهم استمتعوا بالحدث واستفادوا منه. لقد تم اقتراح أن هذا النوع من العروض التقديمية الغنية بالمعلومات حول التربية المدنية سيكون من المفيد تكرارها للطلاب، وكذلك كبار السن.

أيها الحضور سمعناكم! سوف نتوقع مستويات الضوضاء بشكل أفضل في المستقبل. نحن نقدر أيضًا اقتراحاتك الأخرى للأحداث المستقبلية.

العربية

Second Civics Training Makes Waves

Dear ROPnet,

Following the lead of Linn-Benton NAACP’s event in 2022, Bandon Inclusivity Group (BIG) hosted Protecting Democracy: A Civics Workshop, on Sunday, January 21. They, like many other groups across the state, have seen an erosion of trust in local government and in democracy itself. So they decided to bring community members together to learn how to protect and strengthen democracy year-round! Read the full event report below!

Are you interested in strategizing with the organizers who put this event on? Register today to meet them at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on Saturday, April 6th in Woodburn.

Want to host a civics workshop in your community? Check out the guide to hosting that we put together with the Linn Benton NAACP. Contact your friendly ROP organizer or emma@rop.org for support in planning your event!

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP team

Full House Energizes Protecting Democracy Workshop

By KT and NL

BIG had no idea just how many people might attend the Protecting Democracy: A Civics Workshop, on Sunday, January 21. One member said, “…there might be 6 or 60”.  In fact, we were all overjoyed (and a bit overwhelmed) when there were actually about 80 enthusiastic participants, not including presenters!  

The crowd was divided into groups.  Each group was directed to one of seven tables. Each table was hosted by a local official having past or present governmental experience. The groups then rotated after about 15 minutes until each group had the chance to listen and ask questions at each table.

When County Commissioner John Sweet opened his table to questions, concerns about clearcutting along major highways predominated. John explained that the County is allowed to harvest 350 acres of timber per year and that this money is essential to cover mandatory funding by the County. He also noted that no small strip of trees can be left standing due to blow-down danger to public safety.  Among Commissioner Sweet’s own concerns was the lack of staff in the district attorneys office, which means that a lot of alleged crimes cannot be prosecuted.

Katy Eymann, former Legislative Assistant in the Oregon State Legislature, provided a very interesting introduction to the process by which an idea becomes a law. Enthusiasm was expressed by attendees in learning more about this process at future BIG events.  

Emma Ronai-Durning, an organizer with the Rural Organizing Project , was most impressive and an excellent speaker. Emma provided many handouts and took written suggestions. Ideas included how rural people can join together to promote local radio stations and places where voters can easily obtain information on local candidates.

Dede Murphy, former Coos County Clerk, presented a clear, detailed, and very informative explanation of every ballot’s journey, from filling the ballot out by the voter to the final count by the County Clerk’s office.  

League of Women Voters of Coos County ’s Abigale Bok and Kay Kerriden provided excellent handouts and informative conversation concerning the LWV methods of research and their careful vetting of every issue they promote. Preceding elections they interview each local candidate using the same questions. The interviews are subsequently available online. They do not endorse any candidates but do support issues. LWV has been in place since 1920 when women first won the right to vote!

Peter Braun, Bandon City Councilperson, engaged in conversation with attendees, providing information about the City Planning Department and water issues. He invited interaction with the City Council and other groups such as Oldtown Business Association, Greater Bandon Association, and others. Attendees could leave confident that positive feedback, concerns, and constructive criticism might be a contribution they could make to these different entities.

Drea Douglas, North Bend Library Learning Coordinator, presented a good grasp on the dire need to educate community members better on critical thinking, how to spot fake news and confront our own confirmation bias.  She also pointed out how essential local libraries are in being able to provide unbiased information on patrons’ inquiries such as political gossip. The guidelines Drea provided for fact-checking news articles will be useful to everyone of all ages.

There were tables set up in the refreshment room (great treats everyone!) providing information on voter registration, Bandon Good Troublemakers, Indivisible North Curry County, BIG, and other local non-profit, volunteer-run organizations.

Many said they enjoyed and benefitted from the event. It has been suggested that this type of broadly informative presentation on civics would be beneficial to repeat for students, as well as older adults.

Attendees, we heard you! We will better anticipate noise levels in the future. We also appreciate your other suggestions for future events.

English