凯蒂库克的爆头。

凯蒂库克

吉列姆县康登

凯蒂来自加利福尼亚州,然后是马里兰州,现在来自吉拉姆县农村,她与丈夫汤姆住在一起,汤姆是一名农民和牧场主。凯蒂在康登高中教了八年语言艺术,现在正在暂停教学,让她有更多时间进行组织、司法工作和 ROP 委员会!联合基督教会在她理解社会正义问题方面发挥了重要作用,在上次选举之后,她觉得有必要启动农村之声(一个私人 Facebook 群组),以便俄勒冈州东部偏远县的人们可以有一个安全的地方提出问题、采取行动和讨论问题。

丽莎冈萨雷斯的爆头。

丽莎冈萨雷斯

本顿县科瓦利斯

丽莎是一位长期的组织者和活动家,致力于通过社区庆祝活动、文化组织和持续行动以多种形式实践解放。她是科瓦利斯多个团体的成员,包括当地的世界产业工人组织 (IWW) 和“拯救我们的向日葵之家”,这是一个致力于拯救科瓦利斯多元文化扫盲中心的长期家园的联盟。她还帮助创建了她所在城镇的快速反应小组快速行动社区反应 (RACR)。

乔·刘易斯的爆头。

乔·刘易斯

哥伦比亚县斯卡普斯

1970 年 5 月 4 日,当俄亥俄州国民警卫队在肯特州立大学向抗议越南战争的学生开火时,乔的政治化突然发生了。乔在那天被枪杀。他每年都会参加肯特州的纪念活动,并向当地的公民俱乐部和学校讲述这一天。在 Scappoose 学校董事会任职 15 年,在 Scappoose 市公共工程部门任职 33 年,并帮助抚养七个孩子,Joe 一直致力于让他的社区参与正义和机会。乔是哥伦比亚县人类尊严联盟 (CCCHD) 的众多成员之一

布鲁斯·莫里斯的爆头。

布鲁斯·莫里斯

德舒特县本德

布鲁斯自 2002 年以来一直参与 ROP,他放弃了利润丰厚的公司律师职业以践行自己的价值观。从那时起,他的收入水平各不相同,工作范围从向食品储藏室运送食物,到本德人类尊严联盟的主任,再到代表伤残人士和工人的律师事务所的律师助理。布鲁斯是俄勒冈州中部社会正义问题的大胆领导者和培训师。

帕姆·里斯的爆头。

帕姆·里斯

尤马蒂拉县回声

帕姆出生在阿巴拉契亚,在多次穿越大陆分水岭后,现在在俄勒冈州东部安家。她是职业学院和高中教师,也是阅读专家、已出版诗人和小说家。帕姆在讲真话和组织严密方面有真正的天赋。当市议会在网上公开反同性恋言论时,Pam 和她所在社区的其他人立即采取行动,与商界领袖、青年、信仰领袖和其他人合作,组成当地的人类尊严小组,以解决美国各级民主和人类尊严问题。他们的社区。

Martha Verduzco 的爆头。

玛莎·维尔杜斯科

胡德河县胡德河

Martha 于 2017 年加入 ROP 董事会。 尽管 Martha 刚接触激进主义,但她是一位经验丰富的组织者,具有敏锐的直觉和敏锐的战略意识。她是 Hood River Latino Network 的创始人和领导者之一,在 Gorge ICE Resistance 的领导团队任职,并且是 Hood River Rapid Response Team 的主要组织者之一。

简体中文

headshot of Katie Cook.

Katie Cook

Condon, Gilliam County

Katie hails from California, then Maryland and now from rural Gillam County where she lives with her husband Tom, a farmer and rancher. Katie taught Language Arts at Condon High School for eight years and is now taking a break from teaching, giving her more time for organizing, justice work, and the ROP Board! The United Church of Christ played an instrumental role in her understanding of social justice issues, and after the last election, she felt compelled to start Rural Voices (a private Facebook group) so that people in isolated counties of Eastern Oregon could have a safe place to ask questions, take action and discuss issues.

headshot of Lisa Gonzales.

Lisa Gonzales

Corvallis, Benton County

Lisa is a long-time organizer and activist committed to practicing liberation in many forms through community celebrations, cultural organizing, and ongoing actions. She is a part of multiple groups in Corvallis, including the local Industrial Workers of the World (IWW) group and “Save Our Sunflower House,” a coalition working to save the long-time home of the Corvallis Multicultural Literacy Center. She also helped create Rapid Action Community Response (RACR), her town’s rapid response team.

headshot of Joe Lewis.

Joe Lewis

Scappoose, Columbia County

Joe’s politicization happened suddenly when the Ohio National Guard opened fire on students protesting the Vietnam War at Kent State on May 4, 1970. Joe was shot that day. He returns each year to the Kent State commemoration and gives talks about that day to local civic clubs and schools. Serving 15 years on the Scappoose School Board, 33 years at the City of Scappoose public works department and helping raise seven children, Joe has always been committed to engaging his community in justice and opportunity. Joe is one of the many members of Columbia County Coalition for Human Dignity (CCCHD)

headshot of Bruce Morris.

Bruce Morris

Bend, Deschutes County

Bruce has been involved with ROP since 2002, having given up a lucrative career as a corporate lawyer to live his values. Since then he has lived at various income levels and worked at jobs ranging from delivering food to food pantries, to Director of the Human Dignity Coalition in Bend, to being a paralegal at a law firm representing injured and disabled people and workers. Bruce is a bold leader and trainer across issues for social justice in Central Oregon.

headshot of Pam Reese.

Pam Reese

Echo, Umatilla County

Pam was born in Appalachia, and after several trips across the Continental Divide, now makes her home in Eastern Oregon. She’s a career college and high school teacher, as well as a reading specialist, a published poet, and a novelist. Pam has a true gift for heartfelt storytelling and for fierce organizing. When a city council made public anti-gay comments online, Pam and others in her community jumped into action, working with business leaders, youth, faith leaders and others to form a local human dignity group to address democracy and human dignity at all levels in their community.

headshot of Martha Verduzco.

Martha Verduzco

Hood River, Hood River County

Martha joined the ROP board in 2017. Although new to activism, Martha comes across as a seasoned organizer, with great instincts and a keen sense of strategy. She is one of the founders and leaders of Hood River Latino Network, serves on the leadership team of Gorge ICE Resistance and is one of the lead organizers of the Hood River Rapid Response Team.

English