捐赠物品

社区建设中心

经过几年的远见卓识和当地家庭基金会的慷慨礼物,ROP 于 2019 年在 Cottage Grove 市中心开设了我们的社区建设中心。

什么是社区建设中心?

ROP 的社区建筑中心是位于 Cottage Grove 市中心的一个大型多功能聚会空间。该中心是当地合作伙伴组织的会议场所、活动和培训的场所,也是俄勒冈州农村地区领导人举行研讨会和战略会议的聚会场所。

在 COVID-19 期间,两个人在社区建设中心的厨房里处理食品供应。

2020 年的冠状病毒、经济衰退和毁灭性的野火暴露了社会安全网的差距,使农村社区无法可靠地获得紧急资源、食物、住房、医疗保健、儿童保育、互联网接入等。俄勒冈州农村人建立了数十个互助网络,为邻居提供食物,分享健康和安全信息,并确保任何需要帮助的人都能获得帮助。应我们镇上合作伙伴的要求,ROP 的 社区建设中心 变成了资源共享的互助中心,与数十家服务机构、学区工作人员、信仰社区和志愿者进行协调,以确保因裁员和住房短缺而苦苦挣扎、通过 COVID-19 进行隔离和疏散野火的家庭可以获得食品盒、卫生没有问题,没有限制,没有障碍。在可预见的未来,我们将继续提供这些重要资源。

为什么是社区建设中心?

公共聚会空间对于建立强大、有弹性的社区至关重要。随着图书馆、学校、邮局和小镇企业的关闭,农村社区的聚会场所越来越少。 ROP 的社区建设中心不仅仅是一座建筑。这是一个枢纽。一个避风港。社区团体的家园,致力于推进我们共同的人类尊严、尊重、自决和民主价值观。该中心不仅是 ROP 的办公室,而且还是我们动力的象征,也是进入农村争取人类尊严运动的大门。尤其对于道格拉斯县和莱恩县的人们来说,这是一个集会和组织的公共空间。对于全州的人类尊严团体来说,它是战略和思想的资源。

我们的社区建设中心是一个强大的社区中心,包括:

一个社区聚会空间。 在公共卫生措施允许的情况下,该中心将再次成为社区合作伙伴聚集和举办活动、研讨会、课程、支持小组、聚餐和社交聚会的场所,重点是为所有人建设更强大、更健康、更有活力的农村社区。我们正在扩大对中心的访问并实施升级,以便举办各种活动、研讨会和公共节目。

危机应对的基础。 从暴风雪到 COVID-19,该中心是可复制的危机应对策略的组织中心。在冠状病毒大流行期间,我们将大楼改造成物资和信息的配送中心:我们正在与服务机构、学区工作人员、社区组织和信仰社区的联盟进行协调,以创建一个食品、资源和信息站点,工人可以拿起物资分享。

农村组织档案馆和图书馆:ROP 和我们的成员小组从 30 多年的社区建设工作中收集了材料。我们正在努力为当今的领导人提供这些资源和材料,以从他们社区的需求中汲取灵感并适应他们的需求。该州每个地区的历史示例将用于装饰空间,图书馆中的所有资料也将以数字格式提供。

艺术中心: ROP 将使用该中心作为一个物理位置,以扩大农村和小城镇的文化变革工作。该中心以当地艺术家为特色,并为 Cottage Grove 的每月艺术步行敞开大门。

可持续性模型: 我们现在正在投资资源,将我们的中心变成可持续发展的典范,包括太阳能电池板、高效的加热和冷却系统、户外会议空间等。 

社区建设中心外观。

欢迎对人类尊严有共同承诺的团体和组织联系举办非营利性食品和资源共享活动。有关设施的更多详细信息和询问使用空间,请发送电子邮件 office@rop.org

我们一直忙于维修和改善,因为我们继续将空间改造成莱恩县和道格拉斯县的社区中心以及俄勒冈州农村地区的团体聚会场所。我们期待与您分享我们的乡村热情好客!

捐赠给 ROP 以支持社区建设中心的翻修和计划。

志愿者组织物资。

想知道该建筑是否可用于您即将举行的会议?您现在可以查看我们的日历:

简体中文

donated items

Community Building Center

After several years of visioning and a generous gift from a local family foundation, ROP opened our Community Building Center in 2019 in downtown Cottage Grove.

What is the Community Building Center?

ROP’s Community Building Center is a large and versatile gathering space in downtown Cottage Grove. The Center serves as a meeting space for local partner organizations, a venue for events and trainings, and a gathering place for leaders from across rural Oregon for workshops and strategy sessions.

two people working with food supplies in the kitchen of the Community Building Center during COVID-19.

The coronavirus, economic recession and devastating wildfires in 2020 exposed the gaps in social safety nets that leave rural communities without reliable access to emergency resources, food, housing, healthcare, childcare, internet access and more. Rural Oregonians built dozens of mutual aid networks to feed neighbors, share health and safety information and make sure anyone who needs help gets it. In response to requests from our partners around town, ROP’s Community Building Center turned into a mutual aid hub of resource sharing, coordinating with dozens of service agencies, school district workers, faith communities and volunteers to make sure families struggling from layoffs and housing shortages, quarantining through COVID-19 and evacuating wildfires could get food boxes, hygiene supplies and hot meals with no questions asked, no limits and no barriers. We will continue providing these important resources for the foreseeable future.

Why a Community Building Center?

Public gathering spaces are vital to building strong, resilient communities. As libraries, schools, post offices, and small-town businesses are shut down, there are fewer and fewer gathering spaces in rural communities. ROP’s Community Building Center is more than a building. It’s a hub. A haven. A home for community groups working to advance our shared values of human dignity, respect, self-determination, and democracy. The Center not only serves as an ROP’s office, but it is also a symbol of our momentum and a doorway into a rural movement for human dignity. For the people of Douglas and Lane counties especially, it’s a public space for gathering and organizing. For human dignity groups across the state, it’s a resource for strategies and ideas.

Our Community Building Center is a robust community hub that includes:

A Community Gathering Space. When public health measures allow, the Center will once again be a place for community partners to gather and host events, workshops, classes, support groups, potlucks, and social gatherings that focus on building stronger, healthier, more vibrant rural communities for all. We are expanding access to the Center and implementing upgrades to allow for a diverse range of events, workshops, and public programming.

A Base for Crisis Response. From snowstorms to COVID-19, the Center serves as an organizing hub for replicable crisis-response strategies. During the coronavirus pandemic, we have transformed the building into a distribution center for supplies and information: we are coordinating with a coalition of service agencies, school district workers, community organizations, and faith communities to create a food, resource, and information site where workers can pick up supplies to share.

Rural Organizing Archive and Library: ROP and our member groups have collected materials from more than 30 years of community building work. We are working to make those resources and materials available for today’s leaders to draw inspiration from and adapt to their communities’ needs. Examples from this history in each region of the state will be used to decorate the space and all materials in the library will also be available in digital format.

A Center for Arts: ROP will use the Center as a physical location to amplify rural and small-town work for cultural change. The Center features local artists and opens our doors for Cottage Grove’s monthly Art Walk.

A Model for Sustainability: We are investing now in the resources that will turn our Center into a model for sustainability, with solar panels, efficient heating and cooling systems, outdoor meeting spaces, and more. 

community building center exterior.

Groups and organizations that share a commitment to human dignity are welcome to reach out about holding not-for-profit food and resource sharing events. For additional details about the facilities and to inquire about using the space, please email office@rop.org

We have been busy with repairs and improvements, as we continue to transform the space into a community center for Lane and Douglas Counties and a gathering space for groups from across rural Oregon. We look forward to sharing our rural hospitality with you!

Donate to ROP to support the renovations and programs at the Community Building Center.

volunteers organizing supplies.

Wondering if the building would be available for your upcoming meeting? You can now check our calendar:

English