粉红色背景中的彩虹书和铁丝网

青年为图书馆发声

“如果我们不让自己的声音被听到,其他人就可以利用我们的沉默来编造关于我们的虚假和有害的叙述。我们是即将继承这个世界的年轻人。” ——威尔·贾斯特

近年来,俄勒冈州对我们的学校课程标准和图书馆提供的资源范围进行了真正的改进,特别是在有色人种和酷儿群体的多样化经历方面。不幸的是,图书馆和公立学校受到了令人震惊的攻击,这些攻击试图削弱我们言论自由的民主权利。

为了应对这些攻击, 俄勒冈州立法机关 目前正在审议参议院第 1583 号法案。如果通过,该法案将禁止俄勒冈州公立学校提供的材料中基于种族、宗教、能力、原籍国、性取向或个人性别的歧视,从而保护学生的言论自由。 告诉立法者:学生应该得到安全和热情的学校 今天(星期一)在周二听证会之前提交证词. 如果您想亲自或虚拟地提供口头证词 在此注册!请注意,口头证词不得超过 2 分钟。

在地方一级,布鲁金斯学会的社区成员通过提供强有力的证词来回应一次特定的当地袭击 Chetco 社区公共图书馆董事会会议。请阅读一位年轻人最近在俄勒冈州南部海岸骄傲通讯中发表的一篇文章,了解他对本地攻击的看法以及为什么其他人应该参与其中!您在您的社区中采取这样的行动吗?你想成为? 立即注册,加入这些组织者和其他组织者的行列 农村核心小组和战略会议 4 月 6 日星期六在伍德伯恩共同制定战略!

俄勒冈州南部海岸骄傲倡导聚焦

威尔·贾斯特他/他

近两年来,布鲁金当地切科社区公共图书馆和一群忧心忡忡的公民之间的冲突一直在持续。这场冲突围绕着这群当地人质疑图书馆选择的儿童读物以及其中向儿童顾客兜售的不适当的色情内容展开。这场冲突的唯一问题是儿童区没有任何含有不当性内容的书籍。

Chetco 社区公共图书馆每月举行向社区开放的董事会会议。在这里,董事会可以收到有关公众对图书馆服务的喜好以及未来可以改进的方面的反馈。但随着时间的推移,这些会议已经变成了一个平台,人们可以要求工作人员对图书馆包含的色情内容采取一些措施。在 2022 年 8 月的会议期间,作为性内容示例提出的两本书是 Maia Kobabe 的书 性别酷儿 和罗比·哈里斯 (Robie H. Harris) 这是完全正常的。

现在, 这是完全正常的 最近一次 2023 年 11 月的董事会会议上并未提及这一问题,但是 性别酷儿 这么长时间以来,这仍然是抗议者的热门话题。当地报纸《咖喱海岸飞行员报》的意见栏目已发表多封致编辑的信,敦促其他公民对图书馆中的淫秽内容采取行动。

我是布鲁金斯的当地居民。我一生都是在这里长大的,父母几十年来一直是这个社区的一部分。

我也是图书馆情况的见证人,我认为这些抗议者提出的论点对我们社区的福祉构成了威胁。这场针对图书馆的运动是一场积极的错误信息运动,其特点是动机不纯,最终将导致对少数群体声音的审查。

受到质疑的书籍都是讨论酷儿身份和性健康的书籍,这并非巧合。关于为什么这些书应该被删除的一个常见论点是,它们对于如此年轻的读者来说过于露骨。为了揭穿这一论点,让我们快速讨论一下抗议者过去用作例子的两本书。

性别酷儿 在可购买的网站(例如亚马逊)上,该书通常被评为 18 岁以上的书籍。 Common Sense Media 等论坛上,家长会发布自己对书籍的评分,其中有多条家长发表的评论,建议青少年至少年满 16 岁才能阅读 性别酷儿。在 Chetco 社区公共图书馆,该项目位于成人一半的图画小说区。

这是完全正常的 被归类为儿童读物,但它是一本有关青春期和性健康的教育读物。该书的大多数在线评论都称赞它是一种简单的方式来开启有关儿童性教育的对话,适合较小的年龄。

书中的裸体插图也相当温和,中性的姿势旨在为人体经历生命的各个阶段提供视觉帮助。至于书中对性行为的插图,它们与色情作品中经常出现的暴力和有辱人格的性描写相去甚远。

尽管如此,抗议者仍在散布错误信息,将此类书籍视为掠夺性书籍。所使用的一些策略包括从图像中删除上下文、断言模糊的可信度以及提供匿名证词。页面来自 性别酷儿 出现在文件上,被描述为口交和儿童色情制品的说明。这些图像的背景是科巴比作为一个成年人尝试与另一个成年人发生性关系的经历的背景,但总是被忽视。董事会会议上反对这些书籍的发言者声称接受过这些问题的教育,但没有详细说明他们的资历。他们还提到了一些研究,其中专业人士证明变性会伤害儿童,但既没有引用这些研究,也没有引用他们从哪些专业人士那里得到事实。据报道,一名小女孩和她的母亲写了一封信,向图书馆抱怨一名工作人员在一次骄傲读书俱乐部会议上询问了孩子的性取向。根据 Chetco 社区公共图书馆董事会成员写给编辑的一封信,这些信件从未签名,图书馆也无法与受害者会面并确认他们的说法。

这些抗议者不仅试图审查图书馆提供的作品,而且还积极审查自己的资料来源以强化他们的主张。

话又说回来,这群抗议者声称他们所做的不是审查。据他们说,他们不想禁止这些书。他们只是希望这些书上贴上标签,以警告人们他们讨论性,并且希望将它们移至图书馆的单独部分。但这些建议带来的问题多于答案。这个标签只适用于故事或教育材料吗?这个标签会用于也讨论异性恋的媒体,还是只适用于酷儿吸引力?这个标签的影响范围是多大?纯粹的性,还是非肉体的浪漫?如果这些书被放置在单独的房间或桌子后面,人们将如何访问这些书?

当从大局来看这些建议时,很容易看出这种方法有多少漏洞。它将性和个人健康的讨论比作可耻或不修边幅的事情。这些主题本质上是错误的,因此任何谈论这些主题的内容都应该保密。将这样的媒体与图书馆的书架隔离开来只是一种复杂的审查形式。涂有一层油漆,使其看起来像是一个过滤过程,以保护孩子免于接触造成创伤的物质。

但这些抗议并不能保护任何人。事实上,他们正在伤害人们。我觉得有必要对此发表看法的另一个原因是图书馆工作人员缺乏尊重和人性尊严,被迫忍受这群抗议者的迫害。在 2023 年 11 月的董事会会议上,会议开幕时提醒图书馆不必向公众开放会议。他们这样做只是因为他们关心社区。令我难过的是,作为感谢,社区的反应是打断工作人员,对他们大喊大叫,并对他们使用几乎不加掩饰的威胁。日复一日,这些为社区服务的人受到骚扰,并被指控为诱骗图书馆儿童顾客的掠夺者。还有什么?由于杜威十进制分类,一些酷儿和性教育书籍被放在较低的书架上?这是对这个社区言论自由的真正攻击。

如果我可以向读者提出什么要求,那就是让自己融入社区。 尤其 如果你是一个年轻人。 青少年和成年人一样,都是社区的一部分。成年人将错误的叙述强加到我们的生活中,这是不公平的。

我们在我们的社区也有发言权。

如果人们要散布关于图书馆伤害年轻人的虚假叙述,我们有权揭露谁实际上在伤害我们。如果没有任何关于 LGBTQ+ 经历的书籍,我们如何用语言来描述我们是谁?如果没有任何有关性健康的书籍,我们怎么知道如何保护自己免受性传播疾病、意外怀孕和强奸的侵害?信息赋予我们力量,让我们有能力更好地为自己辩护。让我们蒙在鼓里只会让我们受到伤害,并且更难结束这种伤害循环。

这并不像那些要求审查制度的人所声称的那样是一场道德斗争。这并不是为了保护儿童免受色情内容的侵害。这是限制他们发现自己是谁的自由,即使答案是他们从一开始就是同一个人。

如果您的图书馆面临类似的强烈反对,并且也向公众开放董事会会议,我强烈建议您参加(如果可能的话)。

如果你觉得自己还没有准备好,你不必说出来;甚至倾听也表明你的存在。对于那些想要发声的人,我鼓励你们这样做。用你的勇气,用你的言语。

捍卫言论自由是支持平等斗争所能做的最有力的事情之一。您不仅仅是在帮助 LGBTQ+ 社区。通过争取言论自由,您正在为任何少数群体撰写自己的经历的自由而奋斗。如果我们不让自己的声音被听到,其他人就会利用我们的沉默来编造关于我们的虚假和有害的叙述。

我们是即将继承这个世界的年轻人。我们值得被倾听,因为我们呼应先辈们的话语,他们在我们存在之前就曾进行过同样的斗争。

我们在这里,我们是同性恋。克服它。

简体中文

Rainbow Books and Barbed Wire on a hot pink background

Youth Speak Out for Libraries

“If we aren’t making ourselves be heard, others can use our silence to invent false and harmful narratives about us. We are the youth who are going to inherit this world.” – Will Jaster

In recent years Oregon has made real improvements to our school curriculum standards and to the range of resources that our libraries offer, particularly when it comes to the diverse experiences of people of color and queer people. Unfortunately, libraries and public schools have come under alarming attacks that are attempting to chip away at our democratic right to freedom of expression.

In response to these attacks, the Oregon State Legislature is currently considering Senate Bill 1583. If passed, this bill would protect student’s freedom of expression by banning discrimination in materials available in Oregon’s public schools based on the race, religion, ability, country of origin, sexuality, or gender of individuals featured. Tell Lawmakers: Students deserve safe & welcoming schools by submitting testimony today (Monday) in advance of its Tuesday hearing. If you want to provide oral testimony in person or virtually sign up here! Please note that oral testimony must be 2 minutes or less.

At the local level, community members in Brookings responded to one particular local attack by providing powerful testimony at Chetco Community Public Library Board meetings. Read on for an article from the most recent Southern Oregon Coast Pride newsletter by one young person about his perspective on local attacks and why others should get involved! Are you taking action like this in your community? Do you want to be? Register today to join these organizers and others at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on Saturday, April 6th in Woodburn to strategize together!

Southern Oregon Coast Pride Advocacy Spotlight

Will Jaster he/him

For almost two years now, an ongoing conflict has been progressing between Brooking’s local Chetco Community Public Library and a group of concerned citizens. The conflict revolves around this group of locals questioning the library’s selection of children’s books, and the inappropriate sexual content in them that is being peddled to child patrons. The only problem with this conflict is that there aren’t any books with inappropriate sexual content in the children’s section.

Chetco Community Public Library holds monthly board meetings that are open to the community. Here, the board can receive feedback regarding what the public likes about the library’s services, and what could be improved in the future. But over time, these meetings have devolved into a platform for people to demand the staff do something about the sexual content the library contains. During the meeting of August 2022, the two books that were brought up as examples of sexual content were Maia Kobabe’s Gender Queer and Robie H. Harris’s It’s Perfectly Normal.

Currently, It’s Perfectly Normal was not brought up at the most recent November 2023 board meeting, but Gender Queer is still a hot topic for protestors after all this time. It’s gotten to the point where the opinions section of the local newspaper– the Curry Coastal Pilot– has published multiple letters to the editor in which people urge other citizens to take action against lewd content in the library.

I am a local resident of Brookings. I was raised here my whole life by parents who had been a part of this community for decades.

I have also been a witness to the situation with the library, and I consider the arguments made by these protestors to be a threat to the well-being of our community. This movement against the library is an active campaign of misinformation characterized by underhanded motives that will ultimately lead to the censorship of minority voices.

It’s no coincidence that the books being questioned were books discussing queer identities and sexual health. A common argument that is made about why these books should be removed is that they are too sexually explicit for such a young audience. To debunk this argument, let’s have a quick discussion about the two books protestors have used as examples in the past.

Gender Queer is commonly rated as an 18+ book on websites it can be purchased on, such as Amazon. Forums such as Common Sense Media, where parents post their own ratings for books, have multiple reviews made by parents suggesting youth be at least 16 years old to read Gender Queer. In Chetco Community Public Library, this item is located in the graphic novel section on the adult half of the premises.

It’s Perfectly Normal is classified as a children’s book, however it is an educational book on puberty and sexual health. A majority of online reviews for the book praise it for being a simple way to open the conversation regarding sex education with children that is appropriate for younger ages.

The illustrations of nudity in the book are also rather tame, with neutral poses meant to provide a visual aid of the human body as it goes through the stages of life. As for the illustrations of sexual acts in the book, they are far from being on the same level as the oftentimes violent and degrading portrayal of sex that is seen in pornography.

Despite this, those protesting are spreading misinformation to frame books like these as predatory. Some of the tactics that have been used are removing context from images, asserting vague credibility, and providing anonymous testimonies. Pages from Gender Queer are shown on papers, described as instructions for oral sex and child pornography. The context of these images being illustrations of Kobabe’s experience trying out sex as an adult with another adult is always disregarded. Speakers at the board meeting who are against these books claim to have education on these matters without detailing their credentials. They also mention studies in which professionals prove transitioning harms children, yet fail to cite neither the studies nor the professionals they got their facts from. There have been claims of letters written by a little girl and her mother, complaining to the library that a staff member interrogated the child about her sexuality during a pride book club meeting. According to a letter to the editor written by a Chetco Community Public Library board member, these letters were never signed, and the library was unable to meet the victims and confirm their claim.

Not only are these protestors attempting to censor the works available at the library, they are also actively censoring their own sources to strengthen their claims.

Then again, this group of protestors is claiming that what they are doing isn’t censorship. According to them, they don’t want to ban these books. They just want books like these to have a label placed on them to warn people they discuss sexuality, and they want them to be moved to a separate part of the library. But these suggestions make more questions than answers them. Would this label only apply to stories, or educational material as well? Would this label be used for media that also discusses heterosexuality, or would it only apply to queer attraction? What is the range of sexuality that the reach of this label would end at; exclusively sex, or nonphysical romance? How would people access these books if they are placed in a separate room, or behind the desk?

When the bigger picture of these suggestions is looked at, it’s easy to see how many loopholes this method has. It likens the discussion of sexuality and personal health to something shameful or raunchy. There is something inherently wrong about these subjects, and so any content that talks about it should be kept under lock and key. Segregating media like this from the shelves of libraries is just a convoluted form of censorship. One with a coat of paint that makes it look like a filtering process to protect kids from being exposed to traumatizing material.

But these protests aren’t protecting anyone. In fact, they are harming people. Another reason why I felt the need to speak on this is the lack of respect and human decency staff at the library are forced to endure at the hands of this group of protestors. During the November 2023 board meeting, the session was opened with the reminder that the library doesn’t have to open their meetings to the public. They only do it because they care about the community. And it saddens me that as thanks, the community responds by interrupting staff, yelling at them, and using thinly-veiled threats against them. Day after day, these individuals who serve the community are harassed, and accused of being predators who are grooming child patrons of the library. And all over what? A couple queer and sex education books being on the lower shelves due to the Dewey Decimal System categorization? This is the real attack that is happening against freedom of speech in this community.

If there is anything I could ask of readers, it is to involve yourself in your community. Especially if you are a youth. Youth are a part of their communities just as much as the adults are. And it is unfair that adults are forcing false narratives onto our lives.

We have a say in our communities, too.

And if people are going to spread false narratives about libraries harming the youth, we have the right to shed some light on who is actually harming us. If there aren’t any books about LGBTQ+ experiences, how will we have the words to describe who we are? If there aren’t any books about sexual health, how will we know how to keep ourselves safe from STDs, unwanted pregnancies, and rape? Information empowers us, and gives us the ability to better advocate for ourselves. Keeping us in the dark only gets us harmed, and makes it harder to end that cycle of harm.

This isn’t a moral fight like those demanding censorship claim it to be. This isn’t about protecting children from sexual content. It’s about restricting them from the freedom to discover who they are, even if that answer is the same person they were from the beginning.

If your library is facing a similar backlash and also open their board meetings to the public, I highly urge you to attend them, if possible.

You don’t have to speak up if you feel like you aren’t ready; even listening shows your presence. For those who want to speak up, I encourage you to do so. Use your bravery, and use your words.

Standing up for free speech is one of the most powerful things you can do to support the fight for equality. You aren’t just helping the LGBTQ+ community. By fighting for free speech, you are fighting for the freedom for any minority group to write about their experiences. If we aren’t making ourselves be heard, others can use our silence to invent false and harmful narratives about us.

We are the youth who are going to inherit this world. We deserve to be heard as we echo the words of our elders who fought this same fight before we even existed.

We are here, and we are queer. Get over It.

English