怀念玛西·韦斯特林

2016 年 6 月 10 日

亲爱的 ROPnetters,

一年前的今天,ROP 敬爱的创始人 Marcy Westerling 去世了。她与 IV 期卵巢癌的五年半斗争被公开分享,当她与其他癌症战士组织起来时,全国各地的人们都暴露在我们医疗系统的不公正之下。

玛西是一个有远见的人。她是一位凶猛、充满活力和令人生畏的领导者,她相信每个人都可以在争取正义和人类尊严的运动中发挥作用。而且,正如杰西卡在今年的农村核心小组和战略会议上提醒我们的那样,马西鼓励勇敢和厚颜无耻的诚实,提醒我们对于放置良好的炸弹来说,没有什么地方是神圣的。

在她确诊癌症一周年之际,玛西向她最亲密的朋友和家人发出指示,解释她希望如何被埋葬、哀悼和庆祝。她的身体由她最亲密的朋友准备,她的口袋里塞满了适合她旅行的简单物品。玛西当然想要一个绿色的墓葬。她的墓地将标有一条长凳,上面写着“所有人的自由和正义!”

玛西没有给我们留下一本详细的指导手册,说明我们今天或未来应该如何组织正义,但她确实给我们留下了她的工作遗产和农村组织项目,这是一个为数以千计的农村积极分子的运动之家。全州的每个县。

今天,在我们敬爱的创始人和开拓者去世一年后,我们邀请您记住并纪念 Marcy。我们邀请您探索 Marcy 在组织方面提供的一些智慧和经验教训。访问 Rural Organizing Voices 的 Marcy Westerling 收藏并浏览以下链接。阅读逐县组织的故事。听听马西对 1990 年代初期组织战略的思考,当时小城镇正在为他们社区的灵魂争取宗教权利,这在今天尤其重要,因为我们与极右翼民兵和所谓的“爱国者”运动争夺控制权农村县。对于那些认识 Marcy 的人来说,这是一个反思、记住并继续从这位非凡的领导者那里获得智慧的机会。对于那些刚接触 ROP 的人,我们邀请您了解 Marcy,她不仅是 ROP 的创始人,还是我们运动的真正英雄之一。

在 Marcy 的祝福下,ROP 成立了 Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund。 Marcy 将该基金设想为支持农村社区组织的一种方式,使 ROP 能够灵活应对紧急优先事项,同时为全州每个县的所有人实现自由和正义的长期愿景。在过去的一年里,Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund 使 ROP 能够将我们的员工能力用于支持民兵和“爱国者”运动前线的社区,为面临巨大威胁的领导人照亮并制定安全计划组织。我们已经能够支持酷儿和跨性别学生,因为他们站出来反对民选官员,他们利用他们的办公室来分享仇视伊斯兰和仇视变性的谩骂。我们已经回应了渴望深入研究解决俄勒冈州农村白人至上的意义的社区,为他们的下一步提供资源,并将他们与全国各地的思想家联系起来。

这是 ROP 的基础,它对处于危机中的社区或新机遇做出反应,并以一种有意义的方式长期深入参与。没有其他人为这项工作提供资金,而遗产基金让我们在过去一年中一次又一次地践行我们的价值观并付诸行动。如果您想为 Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund 捐款,继续为我们提供敏捷的礼物,以响应当地的紧迫需求,请单击此处。

在接下来的几个月里,ROP 将通过 ROPnet 分享 Marcy 的作品、采访等内容。正如我们所见,历史会重演,关于我们如何参与这一刻,我们可以从前人那里吸取很多教训。我们站在巨人的肩膀上。

如果您有关于 Marcy 及其对社区影响的故事或记忆,请与我们分享。我们将使它们成为 ROP 永久 Marcy Westerling 系列的一部分。

怀着对 Marcy 设想并帮助打造的这个强大社区的爱和感激,
卡拉 & 杰西卡
Marcy Westerling 收藏 - 农村组织的声音 * 视频:Marcy Westerling - 临终前 * 向 Marcy Westerling 致敬 * Marcy Westerling 生活遗产纪念庆典 * Marcy Westerling 遗产基金

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Remembering Marcy Westerling‏

June 10, 2016

Dear ROPnetters,

One year ago today ROP’s beloved Founder, Marcy Westerling, passed away. Her five and a half year battle with Stage IV ovarian cancer was shared so publicly, exposing people across the country to the injustices of our medical system as she organized with fellow cancer warriors.

Marcy was a visionary. She was a fierce, dynamic and formidable force of a leader who believed everyone has a role to play in the movement for justice and human dignity. And, as Jessica reminded us at this year’s Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, Marcy encouraged brave and brazen honesty, reminding us that no place is too sacred for a well placed f-bomb.

On the one year anniversary of her cancer diagnosis, Marcy sent instructions to her closest friends and family explaining how she wanted to be buried, mourned and celebrated. Her body was to be prepared by her closest friends, her pockets stuffed with simple items fit for her journey. Marcy wanted and had, of course, a green burial. Her gravesite to be marked with a bench that reads “Liberty and Justice for All!”

Marcy didn’t leave us with a detailed instruction book on how we should organize for justice today or in the future, but she did leave us with the legacy of her work and the Rural Organizing Project, a movement home for thousands of rural activists in every county across the state.

Today, one year after the passing of our beloved founder and trailblazer, we invite you to remember and honor Marcy. We invite you to explore some of the wisdom and lessons Marcy offered on organizing. Visit the Marcy Westerling Collection at Rural Organizing Voices and explore the links below. Read stories of county-by-county organizing. Hear Marcy’s reflections on organizing strategies from the early 1990s when small towns were fighting the religious right for the souls of their communities, which is especially relevant today as we fight the far right militia and so-called “patriot” movement vying for control of our rural counties. For those of you who knew Marcy, this is a chance to reflect, remember and continue to gain wisdom from this phenomenal leader. For those of you who are new to ROP, we invite you to learn about Marcy, not only ROP’s founder, but one of our movement’s true heroes.

With Marcy’s blessing, ROP set up the Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund. Marcy envisioned the fund as a way to support organizing in rural communities that allowed ROP to be agile and respond to urgent priorities while building towards a long-term vision for liberty and justice for all in every county across the state. Over this last year the Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund has made it possible for ROP to dedicate our staff capacity to supporting communities on the frontlines of the militia and “patriot” movement, shining a light on and creating safety plans for leaders facing great threat for their organizing. We have been able to support queer and trans students as they stood up to elected officials who used their office to share Islamophobic and transphobic diatribes. We have responded to communities hungry to dig into what it means to tackle white supremacy in rural Oregon, resourcing their next steps and connecting them with thinkers across the country.

This is the work that ROP was founded upon, responding to communities in crisis or to new opportunity, and deeply engaging in a meaningful way for the long-term. No one else is funding this work, and the Legacy Fund allowed us to live our values and jump into action, again and again over the last year. If you would like to contribute to the Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund to continue to provide us the gift of agility in responding to the immediate needs on the ground, please click here.

Over the next several months ROP will be sharing pieces of Marcy’s writings, interviews and more via ROPnet. As we have seen, history repeats itself, and there are many lessons to be learned from those who came before us about how we can engage in this moment. We stand on the shoulders of giants.

If you have a story or a memory about Marcy and her impact on your community, please share them with us. We will make them a part of the permanent Marcy Westerling collection at ROP.

With love and gratitude for this formidable community Marcy envisioned and helped forge,
Cara & Jessica
Marcy Westerling Collection – Rural Organizing Voices * Video: Marcy Westerling – Livingly Dying * A Tribute to Marcy Westerling * Marcy Westerling Living Legacy Memorial Celebration * Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English