主持弥合分歧,捍卫社区尊严

弥合分歧,捍卫尊严:自 1992 年以来,俄勒冈州农村人如何推动民主向前发展! 是一个巡回展览,重点介绍过去 30 年来俄勒冈州农村地区的强大组织。 此页面包含有关您的团队如何在您的社区举办展览以启动有关在俄勒冈州小镇和农村组织人类尊严和民主的对话的信息。 举办展览可以为人们提供一个交流空间,分享他们对这一重要运动的记忆,并将过去与现在联系起来,同时共同制定我们可以为子孙后代建设的世界!继续阅读以了解更多关于如何举办和 ROP 可以如何支持您将展览带到您的社区的信息,以及展览是如何创建的以及它讲述的故事!

本顿县社区成员阅读并讨论展板。

什么是展览,它是如何创建的?

2022 年标志着农村人类尊严团体网络联合起来捍卫民主并击败俄勒冈公民联盟提出的恐同投票措施 9 的第三个十年。从那时起,该网络成为农村组织项目,我们一起赢得了重要的胜利,并吸取了重要的经验教训,了解是什么让农村组织长期成功。

我们与全州数百名现任和历史上的社区领袖和组织者进行了交谈,讨论了我们在过去 30 年强大的农村组织中学习和成长的方式。 结果变成了这个巡展, 弥合分歧,捍卫尊严,人类尊严团体可以用来激发关于当地组织的社区对话。

八个英文展板并排的照片

弥合分歧,捍卫尊严 由八个独立的 讨论强大的农村组织的故事,从击败投票措施 9 到拯救数百个农村邮局免于关闭,以及采取行动捍卫该州每个角落的黑人生活。 展览设计专为轻松设置在图书馆书架的末端、社区中心或农庄大厅或公园小径上而设计。面板是双面的,一侧是西班牙语,另一侧是英语。

展览中的故事不可能涵盖我们在过去 30 年中取得的所有成就,因此 ROP 运动的长老们选择了一系列故事,这些故事代表了团体所处理的广泛问题并代表了全州的社区。我们知道有太多有力的故事和细节没有出现在这些面板上,但分享起来非常重要。 一些计划举办展览的团体正在制作自己的展板以增加叙事。 您想庆祝和反思您的团队或社区的哪些活动、照片和时刻?

如何举办展览

将这一强大的运动历史带入您的社区会是什么样子? 举办展览如何支持您的团队在我们可以为子孙后代建设的世界范围内制定战略? ROP 可以支持团体将展览运往和运出您所在的地区。此外,您的团队主办展览本身是免费的。 

您可以在此处查看完整的房东指南,开始决定何时以及如何房东 弥合分歧,捍卫尊严 该指南包括对伴随活动的建议、您可能需要的所有后勤细节、规划时间表模板、外展策略和材料、媒体规划指南等等! 您准备好接待并想在日历上确定约会时间了吗?或者您是否有此处未解答的问题? 联系您当地的 ROP 组织者或发送电子邮件 sidra@rop.org 让我们知道,我们将根据您的团队的需要继续更新主机指南。

看看展览接下来的去向!

简体中文

Host Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity in Your Community

Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity: How rural Oregonians have moved democracy forward since 1992! is a traveling exhibit that highlights powerful organizing from the last 30 years in rural Oregon. This page includes information about how your group can host the exhibit in your community to kick-start a conversation about organizing for human dignity and democracy in small-town and rural Oregon. Hosting the exhibit can offer a space for people to connect, share their own memories of this important movement, and relate the past to our present moment while strategizing together about the world we can build for future generations! Read on for more information about how to host and the ways ROP can support you in bringing the exhibit to your community, as well as how the exhibit was created and what stories it tells!

Benton County community members read and discuss the exhibit panels.

What is the exhibit and how was it created?

2022 marks the third decade since a network of rural human dignity groups came together to defend democracy and defeat Measure 9, a homophobic ballot measure put forward by the Oregon Citizens Alliance. Since then, that network became the Rural Organizing Project and together we have won important victories and learned crucial lessons in what makes rural organizing successful for the long haul.

We spoke with hundreds of current and historic community leaders and organizers around the state about the ways we have learned and grown over the past 30 years of powerful rural organizing. The result became this traveling exhibit, Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity, that human dignity groups can use to spark community conversations about local organizing.

Photo of the eight English exhibit panels side by side

Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity consists of eight free-standing panels that share stories of powerful rural organizing, from defeating Ballot Measure 9 to saving hundreds of rural post offices from closure, and taking action in defense of Black Lives in every corner of the state. The exhibit design was specifically created to be easily set up at the ends of library bookshelves, in a community center or grange hall, or out on a park path. The panels are double-sided, with Spanish on one side and English on the other.

The stories in the exhibit can’t possibly capture all that we’ve accomplished in the last 30 years, so ROP movement elders selected a collection of stories that represent the wide range of issues groups have worked on and that represent communities across the state. We know there are so many powerful stories and details that didn’t make it onto these panels and are so important to share. Some groups that are planning to host the exhibit are making their own panel to add to the narrative. What campaigns, photos, and moments do you want to celebrate and reflect on from your group or community?

How to host the exhibit

What would it look like to bring this powerful movement history to your community? How could hosting the exhibit support your group in strategizing around the world we can build for future generations? ROP can support groups in getting the exhibit to and from your area. Additionally, there is no cost to your group for hosting the exhibit itself. 

You can check out the full host guide here to start deciding when and how to host Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity The guide includes suggestions for accompanying events, all of the logistical details you might need, a planning timeline template, outreach strategies and materials, a media planning guide, and more! Are you ready to host and want to get a date on the calendar, or do you have questions that aren’t answered here? Contact your local ROP organizer or email sidra@rop.org to let us know and we will continue updating the host guide based on what your team needs.

Check out where the exhibit is headed next!

English