2010年农村正义!

今年,我们很多人都在等待灵感。一年前,我们一路高歌猛进。我们辛苦了,终于迎来了新的一天。 Obama's election brought us out of the Bush years with a bang!承诺和解脱是如此甜蜜,你可以品尝它。我们知道一个 […]

阅读更多

世界人权宣言奖

比尔·霍尔与无家可归者联系 2007沿海进步人士表彰林肯县专员比尔·霍尔

2009 年 12 月 10 日星期四是世界人权日,在这一天, 林肯县的沿海进步人士向比尔·霍尔专员颁发了一份感谢证书,以表彰他为人权和社区服务所做的工作.这是沿海进步组织第三年在林肯县颁发人权日奖;之前的获奖者是 Centro de Ayuda 及其主管 Jorge Hernandez,因为他们在当地移民权利方面的工作和 Waldport 的 Ginger Gouveia,因为她在新奥尔良帮助卡特里娜飓风的受害者。
           Samaritan House 的 Evelyn Brookhyser、Bridget Dix 和 Bruce McCain 周四在他的办公室会见了 Hall 专员,感谢他为无家可归者所做的广泛努力,包括与社区服务联盟合作制定一项 10 年计划结束该县的无家可归。霍尔专员还发起了一年一度的无家可归者联系计划,该计划为无家可归者提供服务和热食,并在县集市上建立了取暖中心,以在冬季提供温暖和庇护所。
            Tom Kerns 博士,代表 环境与人权咨询 和关注清洁空气的公民也出席了会议,感谢霍尔专员所做的重要工作 确保林肯县居民和游客享有清洁健康环境的权利,以及免于接触环境有毒物质的权利。
           林肯县固体废物区的项目经理和可持续发展协调员 Mark Saelens 未能出席,但在一封感谢信中,他感谢霍尔专员为社区、经济和环境提出的许多新的重要举措。根据 Saelens 的说法,“比尔通过支持(与其他委员一起)建立林肯县可持续发展委员会和任命县可持续发展协调员,为林肯县的可持续发展问题提供了必要的支持。”
          农村组织项目的董事会成员 Rennie Ferris 和 Alice McCain 代表 ROP 及其成员组织 Coastal Progressives 颁发了获奖证书。

阅读更多

窥探我们俄勒冈州农村的窗户

无论您想要进步的医疗保健还是医疗保健的进步,您都可能会感到失望。当然,当民主面临的真正挑战是我们被受企业说客支持的政党出卖时,人们很容易责怪茶包抗议者。他们将我们引向全球崩溃,并坚持挑选选择件。足以让你生气。

阅读更多


故乡英雄

“人权的命运掌握在我们所有社区的所有公民手中”——埃莉诺·罗斯福 12 月 10 日星期四是《世界人权宣言》(UDHR) 的周年纪念日。每年,许多 ROP 成员团体都会利用这个机会来表彰他们社区中为推动人类进步做出努力的人 [...]

阅读更多

俄勒冈州反对富人税收发誓要打击措施 66 和 67

帮助我们买回我们的国家
俄勒冈人为富人调整税收

措施 66 和 67 要求非常富有的人和大公司多缴纳一点税,以便 学校 可以保持开放,贫穷的孩子可以参加俄勒冈州的健康计划,并且老年人和“残疾人”得到足够的照顾。 多么愤怒! 我们认为,管理社会的重担应该完全落在中下阶层的身上。富人和企业界长期以来一直免于缴纳公平份额的税款,我们现在想问你:为什么要改变一件好事?

阅读更多


2009 年 12 月 KTA:正义精神

*** 12 月厨房餐桌活动 活动内容:本月的 KTA 提供了三种方法来在您的社区中实现税收公平并保持我们的州健康。它们有趣、喜庆且有效。选择你的风格! (如果您还没有看过您所在县的 STAND 选民指南,请发送电子邮件至 cara@rop.org 准备一份副本 [...]

阅读更多

想了解更多关于移民权利的信息吗?

如果您正在寻找有关美国和俄勒冈州移民权利斗争的更多信息,ROP 鼓励您查看以下来源:

阅读更多

下载支架指南

新方向的小镇行动

STAND Guide 是由俄勒冈州农村和小镇编写的 ROP 选民指南。作为每次选举中备受喜爱的信息来源,我们以简单的方式列出了这些措施——这些措施对民主有好处吗?

这个可下载的支架是一个易于打印、易于使用的一页(正面和背面)信息指南,用于说明措施 66 和 67 将如何影响俄勒冈州的小镇居民。分发给您的 PTA、您的会众或您附近的社区。

 

阅读更多

简体中文

Rural Caucus & Strategy Session April 10th!

Every Spring the members and leaders of the Rural Organizing Project come together from every corner of the state to reflect on our last year and strategize for our next. This year, the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session will be on Saturday, April 10th in Albany. Help build Hometown Strategies for Democratic Economies in rural […]

Read More

Town Hall Reconnaissance

Democracy in action is a beautiful thing.  Yes it can be loud, rambunctious and annoying; but that is sort of the magic of the system – that it is a spectacle, on both sides.  As the Town Halls circle back to us this month, we see progressives using creative tactics to get their demands heard and Tea Baggers shouting down Congressmen.  All the while ROP is there beside you, helping make sense of this wild democracy. 

 

Read More

ROP’s Top 9 from 2009!

Collectively the ROP and it’s human dignity member groups accomplished a lot in 2009!  We invite you to take a moment to look back on all we’ve done and achieved in our shared project to advance justice and democracy in rural Oregon.  So here are, in no particular order, ROP’s Top 9 from 2009.  Take […]

Read More


Rural Justice in 2010!

This year, a lot of us have been waiting for inspiration.  One year ago, we were riding high.  We had worked hard and finally had our new day.  Obama’s election brought us out of the Bush years with a bang!  The promise and relief were so sweet you could taste it.  We knew that one […]

Read More

Universal Declaration of Human Rights Award

Bill Hall with Homeless Connect 2007Coastal Progressives honor Lincoln County Commissioner Bill Hall

Thursday Dec. 10, 2009 was Universal Human Rights Day, and on that day the Coastal Progressives of Lincoln County presented Commissioner Bill Hall with a certificate of appreciation for his work on behalf of human rights and service to the community. This is the third year Coastal Progressives have presented the Human Rights Day award in Lincoln County; previous winners were Centro de Ayuda and its director, Jorge Hernandez, for their work with local immigrants’ rights and Ginger Gouveia of Waldport, for her work in New Orleans to help victims of Hurricane Katrina.
           Evelyn Brookhyser, Bridget Dix and Bruce McCain of Samaritan House met with Commissioner Hall in his office on Thursday to thank him for his extensive efforts on behalf of homeless persons, including work in conjunction with the Community Services Consortium to establish a 10-year plan to end homelessness in the county. Commissioner Hall also initiated the annual Homeless Connect program which offers services and hot meals to homeless persons and established the Warming Center at the county fairgrounds to offer warmth and shelter in winter weather.
            Dr. Tom Kerns, on behalf of the Environment and Human Rights Advisory and Concerned Citizens for Clean Air, was also in attendance to thank Commissioner Hall for his significant work to assure the right of Lincoln County residents and visitors to a clean and healthy environment and their right to be free from exposure to environmental toxics.
           Mark Saelens, Program Manager and Sustainability Coordinator for the Lincoln County Solid Waste District, was unable to be present, but in a letter of appreciation, he thanked Commissioner Hall for his many new and important initiatives for the community, the economy and the environment. According to Saelens, “Bill provided essential support for ushering in some focus on sustainability issues in Lincoln County by supporting (along with the other commissioners) establishment of the Lincoln County Sustainability Committee and appointment of a County Sustainability Coordinator.”
          Rennie Ferris, board member of the Rural Organizing Project, and Alice McCain made the presentation of the award certificate on behalf of ROP and its member group, Coastal Progressives.

Read More

Snooping out our rural Oregon windows

Whether you wanted progressive health care or progress on health care, you are probably disappointed.  It is tempting to blame the tea bagger protestors when, of course, the real challenge to democracy is that we were sold out by parties beholden to corporate lobbyists.  They steered us to a global collapse and stuck around to pick up the choice pieces.  It’s enough to make you angry.

Read More


Hometown Heroes

“The destiny of human rights is in the hands of all our citizens in all our communities” –Eleanor Roosevelt This Thursday, December 10th marks the anniversary of the Universal Declaration for Human Rights (UDHR).  Each year,  numerous ROP member groups use this occasion to honor a person in their community whose efforts to advance human […]

Read More

Oregonians against Rich-Tweaking Taxes Vow to Fight Measures 66 & 67

HELP US BUY BACK OUR COUNTRY
Oregonians For Rich-Tweaking Taxes

Measures 66 & 67 ask very rich people & large corporations to pay a little more in taxes so that schools can stay open, poor kids can be on the Oregon Health Plan and, the old & ‘disabled’ get adequate care. What an outrage! We feel that the burden of running society should be squarely on the backs of its middle and lower classes. The rich and corporate business community have long been exempt from paying a fair share of taxes, and we want to ask you now: why change a good thing?

Read More

English