你是我的灵感

2014 年 1 月 2 日
亲爱的 ROPnet,

这是多么美好的一年啊!当我们开始 2014 年——一个选举年,届时我们许多邻居的权利和尊严将被投票——让我们记住回顾并庆祝我们的胜利和我们争取人类尊严的运动。 2013 年,我们有很多值得骄傲的事情,从应对仇恨犯罪到组织安全和热情的社区。

继续阅读俄勒冈州农村的希望故事。

感谢俄勒冈州农村的人类尊严团体为正义所做的一切。你是我的灵感。这是一个伟大的2014年!

温暖的卡拉

组织影响:
人类尊严团体齐心协力做出改变!

安全友好的社区:俄勒冈州农村地区的种族、文化、宗教和性取向日益多样化。 ROP 团体将人们聚集在一起,建立欢迎这些人口变化的社区,并倡导支持所有俄勒冈州农村人安全、快乐和健康生活的政策和变化。我们在移民社区和有色人种社区中建立权力,并在盟友社区中培养技能、分析和对正义的承诺。根植于我们共同的人类尊严、正义和团结的核心价值观,我们反对种族主义、仇视同性恋、仇恨犯罪和反移民组织。我们相信每个人都很重要,每个人都应该在社区中感到宾至如归。

建设小镇公地:从邮局到学校,俄勒冈州的农村和小镇需要并且应该拥有强大、健康和充满活力的公有“公地”?我们如何创建我们想要居住的社区?随着右翼私有化议程的不断推出,ROP 和人类尊严团体正在定义我们作为进步人士对我们社区的底线。我们的下议院工作支持团体抵制当地持续的削减,并为我们的社区共同需要繁荣发展创造共同愿景。

推进民主:民主不是我们被赋予的。民主是我们共同建设的。 ROP 和人类尊严团体为普通人的声音创造空间,以制定影响我们社区的决策。我们鼓励通过论坛和公共活动进行基于价值观的邻里对话。我们创建了新民主主义小镇行动 (STAND) 选民指南,以教育我们的小镇社区关于选票问题以及它们将如何影响我们。我们倡导推动我们走向更大正义的政策。我们与分享我们事业的其他团体结成联盟。我们同时采取协调一致的行动,让我们的代表和候选人在地方、州和国家层面承担责任。这项全年的工作构建了我们版本的彻底民主,确保农村进步的声音每年都变得更加强大。

组织俄勒冈州农村的快照

俄勒冈中部人对仇恨的回应
就在获得俄勒冈州 ONE 游行启动活动的电视报道后几个小时,本德的三一圣公会教堂就火了。石块被扔,窗户被打破,教堂内和周围发生了多起火灾。人类尊严领袖立即做出回应,向俄勒冈州中部社区撰写了一封公开信,将仇恨犯罪、白人至上、种族主义和纵火纳入背景,并主持了关于仇恨和治愈的社区对话,为更深入地组织“安全与欢迎”打开了大门俄勒冈州中部的社区。

道格拉斯县捍卫家乡的尊严
随着道格拉斯县的无家可归和贫困持续增长,占领罗斯堡正在为真正的解决方案建立政治和民众支持。 2013 年,他们每周与无家可归者和无家可归者一起庆祝社区聚餐。他们与罗斯堡市议会对质,以揭露罗斯堡市中心拟议的“禁区”,该区域将禁止看似低收入的人,并阻止其停滞不前。在市议会公开抵制解决无家可归者的需求后,他们组织了独立的公共论坛,公开挑战本市将无家可归者使用的公园私有化,现在在看似不可能的事情上取得了成功:为无家可归者建立一个合法的营地市议事日程上!

保卫俄勒冈州及其他地区的邮局
2013 年,我们的组织拯救农村邮局:社区组织工具包像野火一样在俄勒冈州分发了数百个工具包,并报告了它在其他九个州的使用情况!来自莱恩县农村洛兰 (Lorane) 的组织者目前正在使用该工具包将整个社区团结在一个开创性的联盟中,其中包括从 Grange 到消防区的成员。在过去两年中,数十个小镇(大多数人口在 400 人及以下)的数百名人类尊严领袖正在组织起来捍卫和建设当地城镇繁荣所需的基础设施。有关俄勒冈州农村地区组织人类尊严的更多故事或与您所在县的组织建立联系,请联系 ROP 办公室。

俄勒冈州农村出现 - 并帮助赢得胜利! ——为了移民权利!

当俄勒冈州东部第二区的国会议员格雷格·沃尔登被确定为赢得移民改革的国家首要目标时,俄勒冈州农村地区很快就出现在地图上。 ROP 与 Causa Oregon、PCUN Farmworkworker Union 和 United Farmworkers 联手,协调了俄勒冈州东部、爱达荷州和华盛顿的 ONE Oregon 游行。不久之后,众议员瓦尔登公开表示支持无证移民获得公民身份的道路,尽管一项全面的移民改革法案仍未通过国会。我们随后参加了公民身份的马德拉斯到本德步行,并正在为第 2 区的移民改革保持热度。

我们与盟友合作通过了两项已提上议程多年的州法案:学费公平和司机卡。 ROP 将来自八个农村县的俄勒冈州农村人带到塞勒姆,与 Causa 领导人一起倡导驾驶证,还有一百多名 ROP 人前往国会大厦,见证《安全道路法》签署成为法律。我们很自豪能够成为今年另一项全州胜利的一部分:作为制止工资盗窃联盟的一部分,通过对低工资工人的保护。经过多年的努力,通过劳务中介找到工作的工人将得到保证,这些中介在国家注册,并共同负责确保完成工作的全额付款。

我们以更强大的农村运动结束 2013 年,准备捍卫我们的胜利并继续推动公平公正的移民改革。

2013 年农村核心小组和战略会议:展望社区 2033

我们阳光明媚的核心小组于 6 月初由伍德本全新的 CAPACES 领导力学院举办!几个亮点:

• 历史上规模最大的核心小组,有来自全州的 160 多名参与者
• 有远见的战略对话,包括未来 20 年的种族、债务和经济难民、小镇公地的理想愿景和采掘经济、跨国公司、气候变化和人类尊严
• 一个 Do It Then Defend It 研讨会,70 位地方领导人承诺将采取直接行动作为一种策略,为即将到来的斗争升温
• 拉丁裔组织智囊团——以西班牙语举办
• 周日会议名为“打破常规:理解压迫和种族主义”,由西部国家中心 (WSC) 巧妙地主持。

谁是ROP?

ROP 支持俄勒冈州小镇和农村的基层社会正义运动。自 1991 年以来,Human Dignity Groups 通过大胆的社区组织战略建立了这一运动,这些战略维护农村进步价值观并创造包容性民主。

ROP 最重要的工作是保持每个人类尊严团体的活力、健康和成长。 ROP 通过领导力发展、能力建设和战略规划支持新团体的组建并增强现有团体的力量。我们通过集体行动、通信技术和全州范围的会议(例如我们的年度农村核心小组和战略会议)将团体联系起来。

谁组成农村组织项目?

人类尊严团体 我们运动的基石是每年加入 ROP 的人类尊严团体。

ROP 2013 成员人类尊严团体:
BAKER:关注贝克的市民,贝克县的人类尊严人士
本顿:积极争取和平与正义第一联合卫理公会,和平退伍军人莱纳斯鲍林分会,本顿县社区权利联盟
CLATSOP:哥伦比亚太平洋社会正义联盟,太平洋一神论普遍主义奖学金
哥伦比亚:哥伦比亚县公民维护人类尊严,ONE 的力量
COOS:库斯县的人权倡导者
CROOK:人类尊严倡导者
DESCHUTES:移民家庭倡导者,人类尊严联盟,PFLAG Central Oregon,Central Oregon Jobs With Justice, Peace & Justice Team at 1st First Presbyterian Church
道格拉斯:占领罗斯堡
GRANT & HARNEY: Blue Sage Ministries
杰克逊:和平与正义公民、重建经济计划、和平之家、占领梅德福、流氓气候
杰斐逊:前廊集团
JOSEPHINE:伊利诺伊河谷农药意识联盟,农药自由联盟
克拉马斯:克拉马斯盆地 Lambdas,和平阅读小组,占领克拉马斯
湖:内陆之声
LANE:莱恩县社区联盟、戴德伍德社区、黑莓派协会、Swisshome Heartbeat、占领 Cottage Grove、俄勒冈州农场和食品权利、社区权利莱恩县
林肯:俄勒冈中央海岸的 PFLAG、Centro de Ayuda、沿海进步、移民和信息响应小组
LINN:奥尔巴尼和平寻求者
MARION:桑蒂亚姆山谷宜居人民联盟
波尔克:波尔克咖啡馆
TILLAMOOK:Tillamook 县公民维护人类尊严
UMATILLA:Umatilla Morrow 替代品
联合:俄勒冈州农村行动
瓦洛瓦:占领华尔街——瓦洛瓦县
WASCO:Wasco 县公民维护人类尊严
华盛顿:西郡人类尊严委员会
YAMHILL:Yamhill Valley PeaceMakers,Unidos 桥接社区

董事会
凯西·帕特诺,鲍威尔·巴特
弗兰克·罗阿,赫米斯顿
凯茜·豪威尔,塞勒姆
比尔·惠特克,拉格兰德
Yesenia Sanchez, 圣海伦斯
阿琳·阿玛雅,克拉马斯瀑布
帕特里克·弗罗曼,克拉马斯瀑布
罗莎莉·佩德罗萨,特纳
史蒂夫·米利根,蒙茅斯
舞者戴维斯,奥克兰
Keyla Almazán, 纽伯格
布鲁斯·莫里斯,本德

拉丁裔顾问委员会
Yesenia Sanchez, 圣海伦斯
阿琳·阿玛雅,克拉马斯瀑布
Keyla Almazán, 纽伯格
豪尔赫·埃尔南德斯,纽波特
伊萨亚斯·冈萨雷斯,纽波特
格雷格·德尔加多,本德
伊内斯·佩尼亚,麦克明维尔
Josefina Riggs, 雷德蒙德

职员
Cara Shufelt,执行董事兼组织者
Amanda Aguilar Shank,副总监兼组织者
杰西卡·坎贝尔,组织者
罗莎·纳瓦罗,组织者

* * * * * *

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

You are my inspiration

January 2nd, 2014
Dear ROPnet,

What a year it has been! As we begin 2014 – an election year when the rights and dignity of so many of our neighbors will be put up for a vote – let’s remember to look back and celebrate our victories and our movement for human dignity. Together we have much to be proud of in 2013, from responding to hate crimes to organizing for safe and welcoming communities.

Read on for stories of hope from rural Oregon.

Thank you to the human dignity groups of rural Oregon for all you do for justice. You are my inspiration. Here’s to a great 2014!

Warmly, Cara

Organizing for Impact:
Human Dignity Groups coming together to make change!

Safe and Welcoming Communities: Rural Oregon is home to a growing diversity of race, culture, religion, and sexual orientation. ROP groups are bringing people together to build communities that welcome these demographic changes and advocating for policies and changes that support safe, happy, and healthy lives for all rural Oregonians. We build power in immigrant communities and communities of color and build skills, analysis, and commitment to justice in ally communities. Rooted in our shared core values of human dignity, justice, and solidarity, we counter racism, homophobia, hate crimes, and anti-immigrant organizing. We believe that every person matters and every person deserves to feel at home in their community.

Constructing the Small Town Commons: From post offices to schools, what publicly owned “commons” does rural and small town Oregon need and deserve to be strong, healthy, and vibrant? How do we create the communities we want to live in? As the Right’s privatization agenda continues to roll out, ROP and human dignity groups are defining what bottom lines we, as progressives, have for our communities. Our Commons work supports groups to resist ongoing cuts locally and to create a shared vision of what our communities collectively need to thrive.

Advancing Democracy: Democracy is not something that we are given. Democracy is what we build together. ROP and human dignity groups create spaces for the voices of everyday people to shape decisions that impact our communities. We encourage values-based, neighbor-to-neighbor dialogue through forums and public events. We create the Small Town Actions for a New Democracy (STAND) voters’ guide to educate our small-town communities about issues on the ballot and how they will impact us. We advocate for policies that move us toward greater justice. We form alliances with others groups that share our cause. We use simultaneous and coordinated action to hold our representatives and candidates accountable on the local, state, and national levels. This year-round work is what builds our version of ground-up democracy, ensuring that the rural, progressive voice grows more powerful each year.

Organizing Snapshots from Rural Oregon

Central Oregonians Respond to Hate
Just hours after getting TV coverage for hosting the March for ONE Oregon kickoff event, Trinity Episcopal Church in Bend was up in flames. Rocks were thrown, windows were broken, and multiple fires were set in and around the church. Human dignity leaders immediately responded, crafting an open letter to the Central Oregon Community that put hate crimes, white supremacy, racism, and the arson into context and hosted a community dialogue on hate and healing, opening the door for deeper organizing for Safe & Welcoming Communities in Central Oregon.

Douglas County Defends Dignity in their Hometown
As homelessness and poverty continue to grow in Douglas County, Occupy Roseburg is building political and popular support for real solutions. In 2013, they celebrated two years of weekly community potlucks with the unhoused and those at risk of homelessness. They confronted the Roseburg City Council to expose a proposed “exclusion zone” in downtown Roseburg that would ban folks appearing to be low-income, and stopped it dead in its tracks. After the City Council’s open resistance to addressing the needs of the unhoused, they have organized independent public forums, openly challenged the City’s privatization of a public park used by the unhoused, and now succeeded at what seemed impossible: getting a legal camp for the unhoused on the City’s agenda!

Defending Post Offices in Oregon and Beyond
In 2013, our Organizing to Save Rural Post Offices: A Community Organizing Toolkit caught like wildfire with hundreds of toolkits distributed in Oregon and reports of its use in nine other states! Organizers from Lorane in rural Lane County are currently using the toolkit to pull together the entire community in a groundbreaking coalition, including members from the Grange to the Fire District. Over the last two years, hundreds of human dignity leaders across dozens of small towns, most with populations of 400 and fewer, are organizing to defend and build the local infrastructure their towns need to thrive. For more stories on human dignity organizing across rural Oregon or to connect to organizing in your county, contact the ROP office.

Rural Oregon shows up – and helps win victories! – for Immigrant Rights!

Rural Oregon was quickly put on the map when Congressman Greg Walden of Eastern Oregon’s 2nd District was identified as a top national target to win immigration reform. ROP joined forces with Causa Oregon, PCUN Farmworker Union, and the United Farmworkers and coordinated the March for ONE Oregon through Eastern Oregon, Idaho, and Washington. Shortly after, Rep. Walden publicly voiced his support for a path to citizenship for undocumented immigrants, though a comprehensive immigration reform bill has still not made its way through Congress. We followed up by participating in the Madras-to-Bend Walk for Citizenship, and are keeping the heat on for immigration reform in District 2.

We collaborated with allies to pass two state bills that have been on the agenda for years: Tuition Equity and Drivers Cards. ROP brought rural Oregonians from eight rural counties to Salem to join Causa leaders in advocating for Drivers Cards, and over a hundred ROPers to the capitol to see the Safe Roads Act signed into law. We are proud to have been part of another statewide victory this year: passing protections for low-wage workers as part of the Coalition to Stop Wage Theft. After a multi-year effort, workers who find work through labor brokers will be guaranteed that those brokers are registered with the state and have joint responsibility for ensuring full payment for work done.

We close 2013 with a stronger rural movement ready to defend our victories and to continue pushing for fair and just immigration reform.

2013 Rural Caucus and Strategy Session: Envisioning Community 2033

Our sunny Caucus was hosted in early June by the brand new CAPACES Leadership Institute in Woodburn! A few highlights:

• The largest Caucus in history with over 160 participants from across the state
• Visionary strategy conversations, including Race in the Next Twenty Years, Debt & Economic Refugees, Aspirational Vision of the Small Town Commons, and Extraction Economies, Multinational Corporations, Climate Change, and Human Dignity
• A Do It Then Defend It workshop where 70 local leaders committed to direct action as a tactic to turn up the heat for the coming struggles
• A Latino Organizing Think Tank – held in Spanish
• A Sunday session called Breaking It Down: Understanding Oppression and Racism that was skillfully facilitated by the Western States Center (WSC).

Who is the ROP?

ROP supports the grassroots movement for social justice in small-town and rural Oregon. Since 1991, Human Dignity Groups have built this movement through bold community organizing strategies that uphold rural progressive values and create an inclusive democracy.

ROP’s most important work is to keep each human dignity group vibrant, healthy, and growing. ROP supports the formation of new groups and builds the power of existing groups through leadership development, capacity-building, and strategic planning. We connect groups through collective action, communications technology, and statewide convenings, such as our annual Rural Caucus and Strategy Session.

Who makes up Rural Organizing Project?

HUMAN DIGNITY GROUPS The building blocks of our movement are the human dignity groups who join ROP every year.

ROP 2013 Member Human Dignity Groups:
BAKER: Concerned Citizens of Baker, Baker County People for Human Dignity
BENTON: Active for Peace & Justice of First United Methodist, Veterans for Peace Linus Pauling Chapter, Benton County Community Rights Coalition
CLATSOP: Columbia Pacific Alliance for Social Justice, Pacific Unitarian Universalist Fellowship
COLUMBIA: Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity, Power of ONE
COOS: Human Rights Advocates of Coos County
CROOK: Human Dignity Advocates
DESCHUTES: Immigrant Family Advocates, Human Dignity Coalition, PFLAG Central Oregon, Central Oregon Jobs With Justice, Peace & Justice Team at 1st First Presbyterian Church
DOUGLAS: Occupy Roseburg
GRANT & HARNEY: Blue Sage Ministries
JACKSON: Citizens for Peace & Justice, Project REconomy, Peace House, Occupy Medford, Rogue Climate
JEFFERSON: Front Porch Group
JOSEPHINE: Illinois Valley Pesticide Awareness Coalition, Freedom from Pesticides Alliance
KLAMATH: Klamath Basin Lambdas, Peace Reading Group, Occupy Klamath
LAKE: Outback Voices
LANE: Community Alliance of Lane County, Deadwood Community, Blackberry Pie Society, Swisshome Heartbeat, Occupy Cottage Grove, Oregonians for Farm & Food Rights, Community Rights Lane County
LINCOLN: PFLAG of the Oregon Central Coast, Centro de Ayuda, Coastal Progressives, Immigration and Information Response Team
LINN: Albany Peace Seekers
MARION: People’s Alliance for Livability in the Santiam Valley
POLK: Polk Café Commons
TILLAMOOK: Tillamook County Citizens for Human Dignity
UMATILLA: Umatilla Morrow Alternatives
UNION: Oregon Rural Action
WALLOWA: Occupy Wall Street – Wallowa County
WASCO: Wasco County Citizens for Human Dignity
WASHINGTON: West County Council for Human Dignity
YAMHILL: Yamhill Valley PeaceMakers, Unidos Bridging Community

BOARD of DIRECTORS
Kathy Paterno, Powell Butte
Frank Roa, Hermiston
Cathy Howell, Salem
Bill Whitaker, La Grande
Yesenia Sanchez, St. Helens
Arlene Amaya, Klamath Falls
Patrick Vroman, Klamath Falls
Rosalie Pedroza, Turner
Steve Milligan, Monmouth
Dancer Davis, Oakland
Keyla Almazán, Newberg
Bruce Morris, Bend

LATINO ADVISORY BOARD
Yesenia Sanchez, St. Helens
Arlene Amaya, Klamath Falls
Keyla Almazán, Newberg
Jorge Hernandez, Newport
Isaias Gonzales, Newport
Greg Delgado, Bend
Ines Peña, McMinnville
Josefina Riggs, Redmond

STAFF
Cara Shufelt, Executive Director & Organizer
Amanda Aguilar Shank, Associate Director & Organizer
Jessica Campbell, Organizer
Rosa Navarro, Organizer

* * * * * *

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English