当仅仅“了解您的权利”还不够时……

当人们的基本宪法权利和人权被保护他们的工作的人侵犯时,该怎么办? 

 

在一个 在最近的 ROP 董事会务虚会期间,来自全州的社区领袖描述了当地执法部门、ICE(移民和海关执法)代理和移民社区成员之间存在问题的互动模式。  

Centro de Ayuda 的 Jorge Hernandez 和 Coastal Progressives 的 Rennie Ferris 都在林肯县生活和工作,他们讲述了他们的社区努力对抗当地治安官非法逮捕一名纽波特社区成员的情况,该逮捕令一名纽波特社区成员被关押在塔科马拘留中心。在俄勒冈州中部,ICE 非法安置拘留者(也称为“移民拘留”),要求当地警察拘留移民社区成员,直到 ICE 特工将他们运送到拘留设施。 Umatilla Morrow Alternatives 的 Frank Roa 和 Darrell Alston 分享了莫罗县当地警察如何在毫无根据的交通站点中针对有色人种,对受影响的个人造成可怕的后果。 

了解您的权利培训长期以来一直是一种工具,旨在向移民和有色人种传授他们的权利,但今天我们看到,仅仅接受有关您的权利的教育并不意味着他们会受到尊重。这就是为什么在 Jorge、Rennie、Frank 和 Darrell 等人的领导下,ROP 成立了一个工作组 超越了解您的权利。

植根于我们保护社区所有成员的基本人性尊严和人权的传统,ROP 认识到需要以统一的声音回应伤害性和破坏性的全州执法策略。我们正在共同开发和测试新的战略和工具,以帮助农村移民社区及其盟友维护、捍卫和扩大他们的权利。从社区问责会议到文件和跟踪系统,再到社区调查和论坛,俄勒冈州农村人正在正面解决虐待问题,即使他们正在努力实现更系统的变革,我们都希望通过对我们国家的移民系统进行公正和包容性的改革。

幸运的是,还有少数盟友 之内 当地执法机构意识到优先考虑与社区中的有色人种和移民建立良好工作关系的智慧。以马里恩县警长拉斯伊沙姆为例,他最近 拒绝 ICE 合同 安置在县监狱的移民被拘留者。 (查看一个 跟进信 ROP 委员会发送给俄勒冈州 36 名县警长的其他成员,强调 Isham 的决定并鼓励 他们效仿)。

你有兴趣学习更多吗?您有自己社区的故事或经验要分享吗?您是否有兴趣与其他正在解决类似问题的农村社区领导人建立联系?联系 cara@rop.org 了解更多关于 ROP 超越了解您的权利工作的信息。

 

 

 

 

简体中文

When it’s not enough just to “Know Your Rights”…

What’s to be done when people’s basic constitutional and human rights are violated by the very folks whose job it is to protect them? 

 

At a recent ROP board retreat, community leaders from across the state described a pattern of problematic interactions between local law enforcement, ICE (Immigration and Customs Enforcement) agents, and immigrant community members.  

Jorge Hernandez of Centro de Ayuda and Rennie Ferris of Coastal Progressives, who both live and work in Lincoln County, related their community’s struggle to confront an illegal arrest by local sheriff’s officers that landed one Newport community member in the Tacoma Detention Center.  In Central Oregon, ICE is illegally placing detainers (also known as "immigration holds") requiring local police to hold immigrant community members until ICE agents can transport them to a detention facility. Frank Roa and Darrell Alston of Umatilla Morrow Alternatives shared how local police officers in Morrow County are targeting people of color in baseless traffic stops, with dire consequences for the individuals affected. 

Know Your Rights trainings have long been a tool designed to teach immigrants and people of color what their rights are, but today we are seeing that just being educated about your rights does not mean that they will be respected.  That’s why, with leadership from folks like Jorge, Rennie, Frank, and Darrell, ROP has formed a work group to go Beyond Know Your Rights.

Rooted in our legacy of protecting the basic human dignity and human rights of all members of our community, ROP recognizes the need to respond to hurtful and destructive statewide law enforcement tactics with a united voice.  Together we are developing and testing new strategies and tools to help rural immigrant communities and their allies assert, defend and expand their rights.  From community accountability meetings to documentation and tracking systems to community surveys and forums, rural Oregonians are tackling abuses head on, even as they work for the more systemic change we all hope will come through a just and inclusive overhaul of our nation’s immigration system.

Fortunately, there are also a handful of allies within local law enforcement agencies who realize the wisdom of prioritizing good working relationships with people of color and immigrants in their communities.  For example, take Marion County Sheriff Russ Isham, who recently turned down an ICE contract to house immigrant detainees in the county jail.  (Check out a follow-up letter that the ROP board sent to the rest of Oregon’s 36 County Sheriffs, highlighting Isham’s decision and encouraging them to follow suit).

Are you interested in learning more?  Do you have a story or experience to share from your own community?  Are you interested in the opportunity to connect with other rural community leaders that are addressing similar problems?  Get in touch with cara@rop.org to find out more about ROP’s Beyond Know Your Rights work.

 

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English