2023 年农村核心小组和战略会议将举行什么?!

至少可以说,上周的消息铺天盖地。法官正在争夺 获得堕胎药物, 爱达荷州通过了一项新法律 将前往堕胎护理的人定为犯罪 在其他州,和 美国总统在美国历史上首次被起诉. 纳什维尔校园枪击案发生后,田纳西州数千名学生抗议让学校更安全, 田纳西州黑人立法者被驱逐出境 加入他们,现在还有成千上万的人 采取行动让这些立法者复职 并捍卫田纳西州及其他地区的民主。 

作为关心民主的俄勒冈州农村和小镇人,我们的工作被切断了,我们为农村和小镇领导人每天为民主而出现的强大方式感到鼓舞! 俄勒冈州农村地区的团体正在不确定的水域中航行,导致 5 月初竞争激烈的学校董事会选举,右翼希望在选举中赢得席位、禁书、攻击酷儿和跨性别学生的权利,并最终破坏公共教育。与此同时,当地领导人正在与他们的邻居谈论有影响力的农村进步候选人,他们准备推进诚实对待历史、包容不同生活经历、维护种族、经济和社会正义的学校课程。区内的每一所学校!

5 月 20 日星期六,100 多位小镇和农村领导人、组织者和活动家将齐聚奥尔巴尼,参加农村核心小组和战略会议 分享战略,相互学习,并为来年设定 ROP 的优先事项,以及 我们希望你在那里! 人类尊严团体有很多问题,从确保学校董事会具有良好代表性的选举策略,到组织社区的公众自豪感庆祝活动,到对抗和打击社区中的白人至上主义运动,到追究当地民选官员的责任,以及更多! 查看下面的更多详细信息和 为您的小组注册农村核心小组和战略会议 4 月 22 日之前享受早鸟优惠 (这也有助于我们确保我们有足够的食物、椅子、社区住房、口译员和儿童保育,供每个人充分参与)!

你的团队能否使用奖学金、社区住房、拼车或汽油钱来帮助你参加今年的核心小组会议?让我们知道! 我们很高兴支持农村领导人前往参加党团会议! 查看核心小组常见问题解答页面以获取更多信息,包括我们的 COVID 安全预防措施和活动物理可访问性详细信息 和电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 如有任何问题!

2017年核心小组与会者合影留念

应大众需求,我们将在 5 月 21 日星期日恢复我们的农村组织强化课程,以更深入地探讨农村领导人最渴望建立的技能和策略!我们迫不及待地想在 5 月 20 日星期六的今年农村核心小组和战略会议上亲自制定战略,并在 5 月 21 日星期日的农村组织强化课程中培养我们的技能!以下是社区领袖明确表示我们今年需要涵盖的一些主题:

加强地方民主: 学校董事会、县图书馆和市议会只是面临针对同性恋和跨性别学生、无家可归的社区成员和有色人种的反民主攻击的几个地方。许多人类尊严小组的负责人都想知道,“让这些会议持续七个小时而且毫无功能的目的是什么?是要破坏地方政府吗?”让我们一起制定出我们认为正确用于破坏公共基础设施的战略,汇报和了解成功的学校董事会战略,并制定战略来重建我们社区的基础设施以满足我们社区的需求!

庇护所的承诺: 经过数十年的农村社区为移民正义组织起来并为所有人建设安全和热情的社区之后,我们在 2021 年通过起草并通过了《庇护承诺法》,赢得了巨大的胜利。庇护承诺法加强了俄勒冈州现有的庇护法,规定当地警察和治安官帮助移民和海关执法部门拘留和驱逐人员是非法的。它还创建了全州范围的基础设施,以支持受到拘留和驱逐出境影响的家庭。不幸的是,一些地方执法机构还没有听说过新法律,我们有责任确保他们遵守它!社区领袖将分享他们如何确保当地警察和治安官遵守新法律,并与社区合作,通过全州的 Sanctuary Promise 热线分享有关可用资源的信息。我们将一起制定战略,确定我们如何在这些胜利的基础上再接再厉,以便每个人都能在俄勒冈州农村及其他地区安全、有尊严地生活!

免费、公平和受资助的社区媒体: 通过建立和加强社区广播电台以及新兴社区报纸和博客,为地方政府决策带来意识和透明度,农村组织项目中的许多人正在努力通过当地媒体建立更强大的民主。在我们的社区感到特别两极分化和支离破碎的时刻,我们获得的“事实”可能与我们的邻居获得的“事实”相矛盾,这使得就住房、学校、医疗保健等话题进行对话变得更加困难.我们如何建立和支持属于人民、由人民和为人民服务的媒体?让我们找出答案!

为所有人组织: 新领导和有经验的领导要求我们恢复为所有人组织的培训!学习新技能(或擦掉它们!)并在您的工具箱中添加工具以建立农村人民的力量,包括如何建立一个共同决策并分担工作的团队,规划和开展有效的农村和小镇活动,与我们的邻居讨论了建立基地最重要的问题,而基础设施小组需要长期努力。 我们将在 5 月 21 日星期日举行农村组织强化活动,其中将包括培训和更长时间的课程,以满足技能培养的要求!

查看下面周六和周日的议程草案(到目前为止!),以及 立即注册您的团队以节省您的位置!早鸟优惠截止日期为4月22日! 有任何问题吗?我们有什么方法可以帮助您和您的团队参加核心小组会议? ROP 负责协调拼车、社区住房、儿童保育和口译,我们还预留了燃料费和奖学金,以便每个人都能充分参与。 查看常见问题解答页面以获取更多详细信息,包括有关 COVID 预防措施和物理可访问性的信息 和电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 如有任何问题!让我们制定一个计划吧!

2022 年核心小组:农村社区领导人在午餐时制定战略

5 月 20 日,星期六:农村核心小组和战略会议——重头戏!

农村核心小组和战略会议(上午 8:30 至下午 5:30):

来自俄勒冈州各地的 100 多位领导人将齐聚一堂,回顾过去的一年,分享战略和技能,建立关系和分析,并确定来年的优先事项。加入我们,制定战略并加强俄勒冈州农村和小镇的民主与正义运动!

ROP 30 周年安可庆典(下午 5:30 直到奶牛回家!):

加入我们,享受现场音乐、舞蹈(和课程!)、晚餐、甜点,以及美妙的陪伴和对话!帮助我们在建立大胆而勇敢的农村正义运动的第三个十年中响起!虽然 2022 年是我们的 30 岁生日,但去年最高法院在党团会议前一天推翻了罗伊案,因此我们加入了雷德蒙德集体行动组织,为生殖正义进行示威。今年我们要跳舞直到奶牛回家!

5 月 21 日,星期日:农村组织强化

农村组织强化班(上午 9 点至下午 1 点):

渴望发展新技能并添加到您的组织者工具箱中?加入我们为期半天的活动,为各种经验水平的领导者和组织者服务!从几个可以帮助您成为更好的变革者的轨道中选择一个,并深入研究围绕移民司法、社区媒体等的州级战略!更多详情即将推出!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

What will the 2023 Rural Caucus and Strategy Session hold?!

The news from the last week has been overwhelming, to say the least. Judges are battling over access to abortion medication, Idaho passed a new law to criminalize people traveling to access abortion care in other states, and a US President was indicted for the first time in US history. Thousands of students in Tennessee are protesting to make schools safer after the school shooting in Nashville, Black Tennessee legislators were expelled for joining them, and now thousands more are taking action to get those legislators reinstated and to defend democracy in Tennessee and beyond. 

Our work as rural and small-town Oregonians who care about democracy is cut out for us, and we are heartened by the powerful ways rural and small-town leaders are showing up for democracy every day! Groups across rural Oregon are navigating the uncertain waters leading up to competitive school board elections in early May where the Right hopes to win seats, ban books, attack queer and trans students’ rights, and ultimately undermine public education. At the same time, local leaders are talking to their neighbors about the powerful rural progressive candidates who are ready to advance school curriculum that is honest about history, inclusive of different lived experiences, and upholds racial, economic, and social justice within the walls of every school in the district!

On Saturday, May 20th, more than 100 small-town and rural leaders, organizers, and activists will join together in Albany at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session to share strategies, learn from each other, and set ROP’s priorities for the year to come, and we want you to be there! Human dignity groups have many irons in the fire, from electoral strategies to make sure their school boards have good representation, to organizing their community’s public pride celebrations, to confronting and countering white supremacist movement building in their communities, to holding local elected officials accountable, and much more! Check out more details below and register your group for the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session by April 22nd for an early bird discount (which also helps us make sure we have plenty of food, chairs, community housing, interpreters, and childcare for everyone to fully participate)!

Could your group use scholarships, community housing, a ride in a carpool, or gas money to help get you to the Caucus this year? Let us know! We are excited to support rural leaders to travel to and participate in the Caucus! Check out the Caucus Frequently Asked Questions page for more information including our COVID safety precautions and event physical accessibility details and email emma@rop.org if you have any questions!

2017 Caucus participants gathered for a photo

By popular demand, we’re bringing back our Rural Organizing Intensive on Sunday, May 21st to dive deeper into the skills and strategies rural leaders are hungriest to build! We can’t wait to strategize together in person at this year’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session on Saturday, May 20th, and build our skills during the Rural Organizing Intensive on Sunday, May 21st! Here are a few of the themes community leaders have made clear we need to cover this year:

Strengthening Local Democracy: School boards, county libraries, and city councils are just a few of the places that have been facing anti-democratic attacks targeting queer and trans students, houseless community members, and people of color. Many human dignity group leaders have wondered, “What is the purpose of making these meetings take seven hours and be nonfunctional? Is it to break local government?” Together, let’s map out the strategies we’re seeing the Right use to derail public infrastructure, debrief and learn about successful school board strategies, and strategize about how we can rebuild our communities’ infrastructure to meet our communities’ needs!

The Promise of Sanctuary: After decades of rural communities organizing for migrant justice and building safe and welcoming communities for all, we won a huge victory in 2021 by writing and passing the Sanctuary Promise Act. The Sanctuary Promise Act strengthens Oregon’s existing Sanctuary Law to make it illegal for local police and sheriffs to help Immigration and Customs Enforcement detain and deport people. It also creates statewide infrastructure to support families who have been impacted by detention and deportation. Unfortunately, some local law enforcement agencies haven’t heard of the new law, and it’s up to us to make sure they’re following it! Community leaders will share how they are making sure local police and sheriffs are following the new law and working with the community to share information about the resources available through the statewide Sanctuary Promise hotline. Together we will strategize about how we can build off of these victories so everyone can live their lives safely with dignity in rural Oregon and beyond!

Free, Fair, and Funded Community Media: From building and strengthening community radio stations and emerging community newspapers and bloggers bringing awareness and transparency to local government decisions, many folks across the Rural Organizing Project are working to build a stronger democracy through local media. In a moment when our communities feel especially polarized and fragmented, the “facts” we access can contradict the “facts” our neighbors are getting, which makes it all the more difficult to have a conversation about topics from housing to schools, to health care. How can we build and support media that is of, by, and for the people? Let’s find out!

Organizing for Everyone: Leaders new and experienced have requested that we bring back our Organizing for Everyone training! Learn new skills (or dust them off!) and add tools to your toolbox to build rural people power, including how to build a group that makes decisions together and shares the work, planning and running effective rural and small-town campaigns, talking to our neighbors about the issues that matter most to build a base, and the infrastructure groups need to kick ass for the long haul. We are holding a Rural Organizing Intensive on Sunday, May 21st that will include trainings and longer sessions to meet the requests for skill building!

Check out the draft agenda (so far!) for Saturday and Sunday below, and register your group today to save your spot! The early bird discount deadline is April 22nd! Have any questions? Are there ways we can help you and your group get to the Caucus? ROP coordinates carpools, community housing, child care, and interpretation, and we have funding set aside for gas money and scholarships so everyone can fully participate. Check out the Frequently Asked Questions page for more details including information about COVID precautions and physical accessibility and email Emma@rop.org if you have any questions! Let’s make a plan!

2022 Caucus: rural community leaders strategizing over lunch

Saturday, May 20th: Rural Caucus & Strategy Session – the main event!

Rural Caucus & Strategy Session (8:30 am – 5:30 pm):

More than 100 leaders from across Oregon will gather to reflect on the previous year, share strategies and skills, build relationships and analysis, and set our priorities for the year to come. Join us to strategize and strengthen the movement for democracy and justice in rural and small-town Oregon!

ROP’s 30th Anniversary Encore Celebration (5:30 pm until the cows come home!):

Join us for live music, dancing (and a lesson!), dinner, dessert, and amazing company and conversation! Help us ring in our third decade of building a bold and courageous rural movement for justice! While 2022 marked our 30th birthday, last year the Supreme Court struck down Roe the day before the Caucus, so we joined Redmond Collective Action in a demonstration for reproductive justice. This year we’re going to dance until the cows come home!

Sunday, May 21st: Rural Organizing Intensive

Rural Organizing Intensive (9 am – 1 pm):

Hungry to develop new skills and add to your organizer toolbox? Join us for a half-day for leaders and organizers of all experience levels! Choose from one of a few tracks that will help you become a better change maker, and dig in on state-level strategy around immigrant justice, community media, and more! More details coming soon!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English