我们从党团会议中学到的东西

亲爱的 ROPnet,

我们对组成 ROP 的所有团体和个人以及使 ROP 第 33 届年度农村核心小组和战略会议如此精彩的人怀着满腔的爱与钦佩。 

大约有 150 人参加了今年 4 月 6 日星期六举行的核心小组会议,从那时起,我们就一直沉浸在团结互助、制定战略和共舞所带来的温暖、希望和兴奋之中。

约 150 人聚集在一起拍摄集体照。

思考如何分享我们交换的所有有力的故事和资源、建立的新关系以及激发的想法,我们不确定从哪里开始。因此,在接下来的几个月里,我们将分享 核心小组下一步行动系列将与您一起。本系列 ROPnet 将包括核心小组的故事以及您的小组在组织工作中可以使用的具体工具和资源。 请留意您的收件箱,了解即将发布的内容!与此同时,请继续阅读今年核心小组的一些亮点,包括 2024 年人类尊严奖获奖者。

党团会议上发生了什么事?

参加党团会议的约 150 人来自俄勒冈州的各个地区,代表了 36 个县中的 27 个县 — 超过 70%!不仅如此,还有来自 3 个州的人们参加了党团会议!

拉蒙·拉米雷斯向人群发表讲话。

我们以歌唱会开始这一天,了解了伍德伯恩农场工人组织的历史,由 Ramon Ramirez 和 PCUN 的 Liz Marquez 介绍。Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste 或 PCUN(发音为 p-COO-n)是俄勒冈州的农场工人工会。 点击此处收听 至 Ramon 就 ROP 和 PCUN 数十年的合作关系发表演讲并通过参加 PCUN 五一劳动节活动来延续这一传统!

与我们一起庆祝国际劳动节 5 月 1 日星期三,下午 12 点至 5 点!

塞勒姆国会大厦国际劳动节/五一节,星期三中午 12 点。2024 年 5 月 1 日。

我们将齐聚塞勒姆的俄勒冈州议会大厦,进行为期一天的有影响力的社区演讲、重要资源展台和围绕国会大厦的盛大游行。让我们团结起来,向那些努力工作、敬业奉献、推动社会前进的人们表达我们的深切谢意。2023 年是工人权利的重要里程碑,我们决心以坚定不移的决心将这一势头延续到 2024 年及以后。

让我们继续增强我们的集体力量,并大力倡导世界各地工人的权利和福祉。 在此注册参加活动!

三位领导人坐在一张桌子旁,周围围着听讲的人。

之后,我们举行了一场人类尊严领袖的开幕座谈会,然后分成十人小组,确定了我们社区面临的最大问题。我们列出了哪些决策者对这些问题有权力,以便我们制定策略,确定如何最好地向当权者施加压力。 

我们停下来,享受了多年来吃过的最好吃的波佐尔汤,Arturo Sarmiento 无线电播客 开放工作室,让人们参观电台的内部。

两个人举着碗波佐尔汤对着镜头微笑。

下午,我们庆祝了下面详述的人类尊严奖获奖者,然后分成战略会议。这些会议包括通过社区中心建设力量、为每个人组织、传递价值观信息、制定 2024 年选举战略、保护我们在地方民主中的基本自由等等!

一天结束时,我们聚在一起发表闭幕词,听 Radio Poder 的 Arturo Sarmiento 朗诵诗歌,品尝美味的墨西哥卷饼,欣赏 Orchestra La Pachanga 现场演奏!我们以最好的方式结束了这一天:尽情跳舞。🙂

人类尊严奖获奖者

在每次农村核心小组会议和战略会议上,ROP 都会向多个团体颁发人类尊严奖,以表彰和庆祝他们在过去一年中在社区中所做的有力组织工作。今年,每位获奖者都有一个昵称! 

年度最佳新秀奖:马卢尔县 Four Rivers 社区广播电台

五个人站在湖前,对着镜头微笑,举着自己的牌匾。

Four Rivers 社区广播电台的使命是:“媒体是人类繁荣的载体!“为了完成这一使命,他们正在振兴一个城镇和一个县的当地广播,而这个城镇和县最大的新闻频道都设在博伊西,而且通常根本不覆盖安大略或马卢尔县。他们的目标是在明年年中之前通过 90.7 KRFR 进行广播。这个团体特别令人印象深刻的一点是,他们在领导层过渡期间能够保持方向。驾驭冲突和前进对于人类尊严团体的长期健康至关重要!这个团体很自豪地说 他们的董事会比马卢尔县的董事会更加多元化。

变形金刚奖:像我们这样的人,瓦洛瓦县

7人手捧人类尊严奖合影。

People Like Us 成立于去年,是一家由志愿者运营的 2SLGBTQIA+ 支持非营利组织,此前该公司通过瓦洛瓦县的 Safe Harbors 为农村同性恋者提供了 7 年的支持。People Like Us 是一个多元化、多种族的农村同性恋者组织,每周举办一次同性恋青年计划,并定期举办社区建设活动,以对抗农村同性恋者的孤立。他们还致力于确保所有社区成员都能获得性别肯定的资源和护理,并获得资金。 

虽然“我们这样的人”可能是一个新组织,但这个组织有一点非常重要,那就是,即使它在组织结构之间不断转变, 其组织者和领导者保持着密切的社区联系和全县的沟通能力。 在 ROP,我们讨论数据库是健康群体的重要组成部分,这一点在去年得到了充分体现,当时他们帮助主办了瓦洛瓦县有史以来第一次骄傲游行,有超过 100 人参加,他们和其他当地组织者成功地团结了社区,阻止了禁止同性恋性教育杂志的行动。(敬请期待即将发布的更多相关信息 党团下一步行动 分期付款。)

长途传奇奖:峡谷 ICE 抵抗组织、胡德河和瓦斯科县

7 个人手捧人类尊严奖站在 ROP 横幅前合影。

2017 年,在 NORCOR 拘留所内被 ICE 拘留的人发起绝食抗议后,峡谷 ICE 抵抗组织 (GIR) 成立。三年后, GIR 与峡谷的许多其他团体一起终止了 NORCOR 与 ICE 的合同! 随着合同的结束,一些团体可能已经收拾行囊回家了,但他们并没有就此止步!通过 ICE 合同活动,他们继续着眼于长远愿景。GIR 成立了一个顾问小组,与警长、服务提供商和其他社区人物进行了无数次对话,讨论如何创造社区真正需要的资源,以及如何打破犯罪循环并优先考虑护理而不是笼子。在为哥伦比亚峡谷调解中心筹集县和地方资金后, 本次立法会期间,他们赢得了$8百万美元的州政府资金,用于峡谷住房和精神卫生资源。 

团结奖:库斯县班登包容性团体

3人手捧人类尊严奖合影。

Bandon 包容性组织 (BIG) 起源于“黑人的命也是命”运动,并创建了基础设施,使他们的组织迄今已存在了四年!BIG 已经想出了如何让受危机(在本例中是警察暴力)激励的人们参与到长期的组织中。他们的秘诀是什么?每周两次的集会和每周一次的和平圈冥想几乎从一开始就是他们的惯例。

去年夏天,他们在图书馆举办了四次儿童故事会活动,有色人种读者阅读了突出有色人种特征的故事。每次活动结束后,他们都会分发 99 本不同的儿童读物。今年,他们将再次在图书馆举办故事会活动,重点关注残疾人权益,并在社区内分发更多书籍。 今年 1 月,他们还组织了公民培训,以有趣且易于理解的方式与社区成员分享参与各个层面民主的信息。 这个模型来自 Linn Benton NAACP,看看 公民培训工具包 我们去年就和他们一起制作了!如果你正在寻找灵感来建立你的团队网站或通讯, 查看 BIG 的 漂亮的网站 并订阅他们的时事通讯,分享有关没有任何当地新闻的城镇的当地选举的信息。

请继续关注更多信息,并让我们知道您带回家了什么!

您从核心小组会议中收获了什么?请留意您的 ROP 组织者发来的电子邮件,询问您的收获,或者直接回复此电子邮件并告知我们!

热烈地,

Sidra 和 ROP 团队

简体中文

What We’re Taking Away from the Caucus

Dear ROPnet,

Our cups are full to the brim with love and admiration for all of the groups and individuals who make up ROP and who made ROP’s 33rd annual Rural Caucus and Strategy Session so incredible. 

About 150 of you joined us for this year’s caucus on Saturday, April 6th, and since then we’ve been basking in the warmth, hope, and excitement that comes from coming together to connect, strategize, and dance.

Around 150 gather for a group shot.

Reflecting on how to share all the powerful stories and resources we exchanged, the new relationships that formed, and the ideas that were sparked, we weren’t sure where to start. So, over the next several months, we’ll be sharing a Caucus Next Move Series with you. This series of ROPnets will include stories from the Caucus and concrete tools and resources that your group can use in your organizing. Keep an eye on your inbox for upcoming installments! In the meantime, read on for a few highlights from this year’s Caucus, including the 2024 Human Dignity Award Winners.

What happened at the Caucus?

The 150 or so folks at the Caucus came from every region in Oregon, with 27 of 36 counties represented – that’s over 70 percent! Not only that, but people participated in the Caucus from 3 states!

Ramon Ramirez speaks to the crowd.

We started the day together with a song session, grounding in the farmworker organizing history of Woodburn from Ramon Ramirez and Liz Marquez of PCUN. Pineros y Campesinos Unidos del Noroeste or PCUN (pronounce p-COO-n) is Oregon’s farmworker union. Click here to listen to Ramon’s speech about ROP and PCUN’s decades-long partnership, and continue that legacy by joining PCUN for May Day!

Join us in a powerful celebration of International Workers’ Day on Wednesday, May 1st from 12-5 pm!

International Workers Day / May Day at the Salem Capitol, 12pm Wednesday. May 1st, 2024.

We will gather at the Oregon State Capitol in Salem for a day of impactful community speeches, vital resource booths, and a mighty march around the Capitol Block. Let’s unite and demonstrate our deep appreciation for the hardworking and dedicated individuals who keep our society moving forward. The year 2023 marked a significant milestone for workers’ rights, and we are determined to carry that momentum forward into 2024 and beyond with unwavering determination.

Let’s continue to build our collective power and advocate fiercely for the rights and well-being of workers everywhere. Register for the event here!

Three leaders sit at a table surrounded by folks listening in.

After that we held an opening panel of human dignity leaders, and then broke out into groups of ten where we identified the biggest issues facing our communities. We mapped out which decision-makers have power over those issues so that we can strategize about how to best apply pressure to those in power. 

We took a break for the best pozole many of us had had in years, and Arturo Sarmiento of Radio Poder opened up the studio for folks to check out what the radio station looks like on the inside.

Two people smile for the camera holding up bowls of pozole.

In the afternoon, we celebrated the Human Dignity Award winners detailed below and then broke out into strategy sessions. These included Building Power through Community Hubs, Organizing for Everyone, Values-Forward Messaging, 2024 Elections Strategizing, Protecting our Fundamental Freedoms in Local Democracy, and more!

At the end of the day, we came back together for closing remarks, a poetry reading from Radio Poder’s Arturo Sarmiento, delicious burritos, and live music from Orchestra La Pachanga! We ended the day in the best way: dancing to our hearts’ content. 🙂

Human Dignity Award Winners

At every Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, ROP gives Human Dignity Awards to several groups to lift up and celebrate the powerful organizing they have done over the past year in their communities. This year, each awardee got a nickname! 

Rookie of the Year Award: Four Rivers Community Radio,  Malheur County

5 people stand in front of a lake smiling for the camera and holding up their plaque.

Four Rivers Community Radio’s mission is: “Media as a vehicle for human flourishing!” To meet this mission they are revitalizing local radio in a town and a county that’s biggest news channels are based out of Boise and often don’t cover Ontario or Malheur County at all. They aim to be on air, broadcasting via 90.7 KRFR by the middle of next year. One particularly impressive thing about this group is their ability to maintain course while going through a leadership transition. Navigating conflict and moving forwad is essential for the long-term health of a human dignity group! This group is proud to say that their board is even more diverse than Malheur County.

Transformers Award: People Like Us, Wallowa County

7 people pose for a photo holding their Human Dignity Award.

People Like Us formed this past year as a volunteer-run 2SLGBTQIA+ support nonprofit after 7 years of rural queer support through Safe Harbors in Wallowa County. People Like Us is a diverse and multiracial group of rural queer organizers that hosts a weekly Queer Youth Program and regular community-building events to combat rural queer isolation. They are also working to make sure that all community members have access to, and funds for, gender-affirming resources and care. 

While People Like Us might be a new organization, one thing that’s so important about this group is that even as it’s transitioned between configurations, the organizers and leaders who make it up have maintained close community ties and the ability to communicate county-wide. At ROP, we talk about a database being an important component of a healthy group, and this was on display this past year, both when they helped host the first-ever March for Pride in Wallowa County with over 100 people in attendance, and when they and other local organizers successfully rallied the community to prevent an effort to ban a queer sex ed zine. (Stay tuned for more on this in an upcoming Caucus Next Moves installment.)

Long-haul Legends Award: Gorge ICE Resistance, Hood River and Wasco Counties

7 people pose for a photo holding their Human Dignity Award in front of an ROP banner.

Gorge ICE Resistance (GIR) formed in response to people in ICE detention at NORCOR going on hunger strike in 2017. Three years after that, GIR, alongside many other groups in the Gorge ended NORCOR’s contract with ICE! With the contract ended, some groups might have packed up and gone home, but they didn’t stop there! Through the ICE contract campaign, they continued to keep their eye on the long-term vision. GIR formed an advisory group that had countless conversations with sheriffs, service providers, and other community figures about how to create the resources their communities truly need, and how to break down the cycle of criminalization and prioritize care over cages. After fundraising from county and local dollars for the Columbia Gorge Resolution Center, this legislative session they won $8 million in state money to go towards Gorge housing and mental health resources. 

Banding Together Award: Bandon Inclusivity Group, Coos County

3 people pose for a photo holding their Human Dignity Award.

Bandon Inclusivity Group (BIG) started out of the Black Lives Matter uprising and created infrastructure that has kept their group alive for four years so far! BIG has figured out how to take folks motivated by a crisis (in this case, police violence) and keep them involved in organizing for the long haul. Part of their secret? Twice weekly rallies and weekly peace circle meditation have been a practice of theirs since nearly the beginning.

Last summer they hosted four kids story time events at the library with readers of color reading stories highlighting characters of color. They followed each event by distributing 99 diverse kid’s books. This year they are going to focus on disability justice with story time events in the library again and even more books distributed across the community. In January, they also organized a civics training to share information with community members about participating in all levels of our democracy in a fun and accessible way. This model came from the Linn Benton NAACP, check out the Civics Training Toolkit we made with them last year! If you’re looking for inspiration in building your team’s website or newsletter, check out BIG’s beautiful website and subscribe to their newsletter which shares information about local elections in a town that does not have any local news.

Stay tuned for more and let us know what you took home!

What are you taking home from the Caucus? Keep an eye out for an email from your ROP organizer asking for your takeaways, or reply directly to this email and let us know!

Warmly,

Sidra and the ROP team

English