选举日发生了什么以及之后几天应该发生什么。

农村组织项目分享的一个想法。 
由 ROP 领袖 Mike Edera 制作。
 
11 月 2 日星期二发生了什么?
 
 一个男人在路上发现了一条被碾过的响尾蛇。这条蛇几乎没有生命,男人把它带回家。他把蛇放在一个盒子里,给它食物和水,让它保持温暖。蛇慢慢恢复。有一天,男人打开盒子给蛇一些食物,结果被蛇咬了一口!
 
“你怎么可以这样对我?”男人尖叫。 “我收留了你,救了你一命!”
 
“你能指望什么?”蛇说。 “我是蛇!”
 
自 2009 年以来,巴拉克奥巴马和民主党在众议院和参议院的多数派都采取了一条又一条的蛇。
 
银行系统是显而易见的。当民主党找到垂死的银行家时,他们处于乞丐的位置,愿意同意政府提出的任何建议。当数以百万计的普通人被经济崩溃摧毁时,他们得到了恢复健康。在伊拉克和阿富汗的共和党战争中,名誉扫地、毁灭性的战争也是如此。民主党将战争视为自己的战争,继续每年投票支持近一万亿美元的所谓“国防”相关支出,尽管大多数美国人已经两次投票支持结束这些悲惨的冲突。 4 月下旬,BP 石油灾难是美利坚帝国三腿凳——金融、军国主义、能源——崩溃的第三条腿。政府聘请了海岸警卫队、内政部和美国环保署作为犯罪集团 BP 石油集团的公关人员。大石油像大银行和军工联合体一样摆脱了困境。 

上周二,民主党经历了他们的蛇咬时刻。金融、国防和能源行业发现自己受美国人民及其政府的摆布,并摆脱了套索,下定决心不再将自己置于那种境地。他们在竞选活动中投入了历史上最多的资金。他们利用最高法院的公民联合决定隐瞒巨额捐款的来源,但能源、金融和“国防”行业的影响已经与共和党竞选活动联系在一起。 

除了血腥、无聊和可预测的细节,这几乎就是 2010 年选举的故事。选举之夜的两条评论值得重复。迈克尔摩尔这样说:你把你的房子租给一群兄弟会男孩,他们把它扔了八年。您将它们扔掉并聘请承包商来修复损坏。两年后,没有什么是真正固定的。你要生谁的气?
 
 汤姆哈特曼有一个更令人不寒而栗的观察。他称 2010 年为一个实验。共和党战略家和他们的金融赞助人试图了解媒体噪音、操纵、歪曲和谎言的程度究竟会如何混淆和恐慌所谓的“独立”和无知的大型选民群体——那些倾向于投掷飞镖在董事会和最情绪化的声音。什么样的极端愚蠢、不诚实的候选人会被大多数懒得投票的人所接受?他们从这个中得到了他们的数据。
 
11 月 3 日之后会发生什么?
 
ROP 网络中的 Human Dignity 团体可以在未来两年内做出重大贡献。为什么?大多数进步组织旨在参与选举或在权力立法中心工作。人类尊严组织旨在影响俄勒冈州偏远社区中的邻居。我们在选举之间的时间里尽最大努力,当噪音水平较低时,更有机会讲述真实的人们试图应对我们新的、非常困难的现实的故事。为了有效,以下是人类尊严团体中的人们应该考虑的两种策略:
 
做我们的功课。
我们需要确保我们“在宗教上”做好公民的基本政治工作。团体应该确保每个月我们都会聚在一起写信给我们的地方、州和联邦代表——无论发生什么事情。我们应该寻求联系并了解我们当地的立法人员,并与他们建立某种关系——甚至是敌对关系。每周我们都会收到当地媒体的来信和评论文章。我们需要使用我们接触的任何在线社交媒体来传达我们关于社区建设、人权、和平和经济正义的信息。最重要的是,我们需要让我们的朋友参与我们的团队。
 
如果我们只是作为一个群体来做这些基本的、简单的行为,我们将拥有比我们作为孤立的个体面对时代时强大一百倍的集体声音。这就是我们需要带给我们的朋友的信息——共同努力打破孤立并放大我们的声音。
 
讲述俄勒冈州农村的故事。
共和党人已经发现,在这些艰难时期,人们非常渴望听到自己的故事,以至于有些人甚至会接受莎拉佩林扮演普通人的明显虚假行为。
 
我们自己的故事,以及我们邻居的故事,都更加引人入胜,因为它们是真实的。在接下来的两年里,通过客厅对话、社区会议和其他策略,我们可以为我们的邻居创造空间来分享他们正在经历的事情。我们可以让更大的进步运动听到这些故事。正是从这些故事和经验中建立了当地社区,并组织了未来的选举和政治胜利。一场建立在真正的邻里关怀基础上的运动,是一种能够对抗强大的、受伤的和危险的企业力量对我们民主的攻击的运动。
 
农村组织项目分发:www.rop.org, cara@rop.org, 503-543-8417
 
加入我们 12 月 4 日星期六 下午 1 点与全国运动领导人举行关于右翼的选举汇报和计划:面对右翼的社区和复原力。其次是 ROP 的 Roots & Wings 庆典 那天晚上。 单击此处了解更多详细信息并立即回复.

 

简体中文

What happened on election day and what should happen in the days after.

A thought piece shared by the Rural Organizing Project. 
Crafted by ROP Leader Mike Edera.
 
What Happened on Tuesday November 2?
 
 A man finds a rattlesnake that has been run over on a road.  The snake is barely alive, and the man takes it home. He puts the snake in a box, gives it food and water, keeps it warm. Slowly the snake recovers. One day the man opens the box to give the snake some food and gets bit!
 
“How can you do this to me?” the man screams. “I took you in, and saved your life!”
 
“What do you expect?” the snake said. “I’m a snake!”
 
Since 2009, Barack Obama and the Democratic majority in the House and Senate have taken in snake after flattened snake.
 
The banking system was the obvious one. When the Democrats found the dying bankers, they were in the position of beggars willing to agree to anything the government proposed. They were nursed back to health while millions of regular people were destroyed by the economic collapse. Likewise for the discredited, ruinous Republican wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. The Democrats adopted the wars as their own, continued to vote for almost a trillion dollars per year in so-called ‘defense’ related spending, despite the fact that most Americans had voted twice for an end to these miserable conflicts. In late April, the BP oil catastrophe was the third leg of collapse in the American Empire’s three legged stool – finance, militarism, energy. The administration hired out the Coast Guard, the Interior Department, and the EPA to act as PR flacks for the criminal BP oil conglomerate. Big oil was let off the hook in the same way as big banks and the military industrial complex. 

Last Tuesday, the Democrats experienced their snake- bite moment. Having found themselves at the mercy of the US people and their government, and having slipped the noose, the finance, defense, and energy industries resolved to never put themselves in that position again. They pumped the most money in history into an electoral campaign. They used the Supreme Court’s Citizens United decision to hide the origins of the massive contributions, but already the influence of energy, finance, and ‘defense’ industries is being tied to the Republican campaign. 

That’s pretty much the story of the 2010 elections, barring the gory, boring, and predictable details. Two commentaries from election night are worth repeating. Michael Moore put things this way: You rent your house out to a bunch of frat boys, who trash it for eight years. You throw them out and hire a contractor to fix up the damage. Two years later, nothing is really fixed. Who are you going to be pissed off at?
 
 Thom Hartmann had a more chilling observation. He called 2010 an experiment. The Republican strategists and their financial patrons were trying to see just what level of media noise, manipulation, distortion, and lying would work to confuse and panic the large so-called ‘independent’ and clueless voter block – the people who tend to throw a dart at the board and go with the most emotional voices.  What extreme of imbecilic, dishonest candidate will be palatable to the majority of people who bother to vote? They got their data out of this one.
 
What Should Happen After November 3?
 
The Human Dignity groups in the ROP network could make a big contribution in the next two years. Why?  Most progressive organizations are designed to participate in elections or work at the legislative centers of power. Human Dignity groups are designed to influence their neighbors in the out-of-the-way communities of rural Oregon. We do our best work in the time between elections, when the noise level is lower, and there is a greater chance to tell the stories of real people trying to cope with our new, very difficult reality. In order to be effective, here are two strategies that people in Human Dignity Groups should consider:
 
Do our homework.
We need to make sure that we ‘religiously’ do the basic political work of engaged citizens. Groups should make sure that each month we get together for letter writing to our local, state, and federal representatives – no matter what else is going on. We should seek to contact and get to know our local legislative staff people and build some kind of relationship with them – even an adversarial one. Every week we should get letters and opinion pieces in local press. We need to use whatever on-line social media we engage with to get out our message of community building, human rights, peace, and economic justice. And most importantly, we need to get our friends involved in our groups.
 
If we just do these basic, simple acts as a group, we will have a collective voice that is one hundred times more powerful than if we face the times as isolated individuals. And that’s the message we need to bring to our friends –  work together to break isolation and amplify our voices.
 
Tell the story of rural Oregon.
The Republicans have figured out that people are so hungry for their own stories to be heard during these tough times that some will even settle for the patently fake act of Sarah Palin playing the role of just-plain-folks.
 
Our own stories, and the stories of our neighbors, are far more compelling, because they are real. Over the next two years, through living room conversations, community meetings and other strategies, we can create spaces for our neighbors to share what they are going through. We can make these stories be heard by the larger progressive movement. It is out of these stories and experiences that local community is built, and also that future electoral and political victories are organized. A movement that is built on real neighbor-to-neighbor caring, is a movement that can counter the assault on our democracy by  powerful, wounded, and dangerous corporate forces .
 
Circulated by the Rural Organizing Project: www.rop.org, cara@rop.org, 503-543-8417
 
Join us on Saturday, Dec. 4th for an election debrief and program on the Right with national movement leaders:  Community and Resilience in the Face of the Right at 1pm.  Followed by ROP’s Roots & Wings Celebration that evening. Click here for more details and to RSVP now.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English