我们想要什么?!

亲爱的 ROPnet,

我们是为了正义。我们反对战争。我们赞成人权。我们反对腐败和暴行。

进步人士经常用非常广泛的术语谈论我们的使命,考虑到我们的 30 秒现场文化,这并不奇怪。然而,在 2009 年的头几个月,尤其是在 1 月的头几天,我们有机会具体描述我们想要什么以及何时需要它。 (正义!......现在!开个玩笑。)

昨天,国会宣誓就任他们作为你我代表的新职位。当然,当然,选民奥巴马将于1月20日在两周后宣誓。

ROP 将对我们新的国家和州领导层提出许多要求。一件事是 综合移民改革.这 拉萨全国委员会 国家移民40M正在向组织传播一封提醒我们所选官员的组织的登录信,我们想要快速,只是解决移民杂乱。 将您的组织添加到这封国家签名信中,以推动全面的移民改革。

不过,全面的移民改革对很多不同的人来说可能意味着很多不同的事情。幸运的是,我们在 CAUSA 的朋友分享了一个 描述 这是我们想要的那种全面移民改革的核心。它是否包括您所在社区的优先事项和关注点?

但这不仅仅是在 DC 或塞勒姆摆在桌面上的移民问题。立即开始打造您自己的本地政策平台——并登录 机械手的。然后将您的州要求带到 3 月 15 日在塞勒姆举行的年度核心小组和战略会议和 3 月 16 日民主救助大厅日,届时来自全州各地的 ROP 人员将聚集在塞勒姆的国会大厦,为我们的州政府注入健康的力量民主!

团结一致,
卡里

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

What do we want?!

Dear ROPnet,

We are for justice. We are against the war. We are in favor of human rights. We are opposed to corruption and brutality.

Progressives often talk about our missions in very broad terms, not surprising considering our 30-second spot culture. However, in these first months of 2009 and especially in these first days of January we have the opportunity to describe specifically what it is we want and when it is we want it. (JUSTICE! … NOW! Just kidding.)

Yesterday Congress was sworn into their new positions as the representatives of you and me. President-elect Obama will, of course, be sworn in two weeks on January 20th.

There are many things that ROP will demand of our new national and state leadership. One thing is Comprehensive Immigration Reform. The National Council of La Raza and the National Immigration Fourm are circulating a sign-on letter for organizations that reminds our elected officials that we want a speedy and just resolution to the immigration mess. Add your organization to this national sign-on letter to push for Comprehensive Immigration Reform.

Comprehensive Immigration Reform can mean a lot of different things to lots of different people though. Luckily, our friends at CAUSA have shared a description that gets to the heart of the kind of comprehensive immigration reform that we want.  Does it include the priorities and concerns of your communities?

But it’s not just immigration on the table in D.C. or in Salem. Start crafting your own local policy platforms now — and sign on to ROP‘s.  And then bring your state-based demands to the Annual Caucus and Strategy Session in Salem on March 15 and Democracy Bailout Lobby Day on March 16 where ROPers from around the state will converge on the Capitol in Salem to infuse our state government with a healthy dose of democracy!

In solidarity,
Kari

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English