与农村组织研究员在一起的一年!

农村组织奖学金的第二批已经结束,我们惊讶于研究员致力于帮助他们的社区在比我们任何人预期的更困难的一年中蓬勃发展!在全球大流行、全州燃烧的野火以及导致美国国会大厦极右翼叛乱的总统选举中,农村组织研究员以如此真诚和热情出现在我们的虚拟研究员空间中。 在为期一年的计划中,每个月,研究员都会制定策略,想象各种可能性,并相互分享他们社区如何采取行动的故事!

变焦通话的屏幕截图,研究员在每个摄像头窗口中微笑

当我们计划第二批团契时,我们将其结构化为专注于组织在团契社区举行的务虚会,但团契是在大流行关闭面对面聚会后立即开始的,因此我们转向了完全虚拟的团契. 研究员每月聚会一次,以加深我们对农村社区需求的集体理解,并提高我们的变革技能。 除了在家里做自己的组织工作外,研究员们还参与了更广泛的 ROP 网络的项目,在全州范围内打电话与成员团体讨论选举行动,帮助创建关于俄勒冈州投票措施的广播公共服务公告,将于 20 日播出全州的社区广播电台等等!他们致力于使我们的虚拟奖学金成为有意义的联系和成长的空间,使 2020-2021 年农村组织奖学金成为去年的一个强大亮点! 

以下是农村组织研究员对他们的经历所说的话!

人像照片

莱斯利

尤马蒂拉县

团契中是否有某个时刻改变了您对某事的看法? 

当我意识到事情发生了变化的那一刻,我意识到只需要一个人就可以有所作为。一个人开始组织可以改变一切。我从没想过我能有所作为,现在我知道我可以。在我的脑海里种下了一颗种子。在Fellowship之前,我一直在想“哦,也许我们应该这样做”,但不知道组织是什么或如何去做。我会听到“成为改变”,但这意味着什么?但作为一名研究员,当需要改变的事情发生时,我觉得已经准备好帮助领导组织。我必须为此感谢奖学金,因为我以前从来不会舒服地这样做。 

关于联谊会,您最喜欢的事情之一是什么? 

关于奖学金我最喜欢的是我与其他研究员的关系! 

人像照片

乔希

波尔克县

关于联谊会,您最喜欢的事情之一是什么? 

关于团契我最喜欢的是人!老实说,认识每个人真是太高兴了。我真的很惊讶我与 Fellowship 中的所有人的联系如此紧密,因为我们每个月只在网上见面一次,但总的来说和所有这些了不起的人在一起真的很有趣。

您去年的组织亮点之一是什么? 

我对今年在西俄勒冈大学食品储藏室所做的工作感到非常满意。当我们不得不在大流行开始时(人们可以选择自己的物品和数量)改变我们的购物模式,向人们提供准备好的盒子时,我对我们的客户感到非常失望,因为我知道这对他们来说有多重要。我为自己付出了很多额外的工作并组织志愿者而感到非常自豪,即使其他人认为这不是一个好主意,但要弄清楚如何安全地回到我们的购物模式来支持尊严和食物在人们最需要的时候访问我们的学生社区。 

人像照片

林肯县

团契中是否有某个时刻改变了您对某事的看法?

老实说,对我来说变化最大的时刻是我们关于 大众教育.长期以来,我一直在领导,因为我被教导要领导。但现在?我知道的更好。我知道教育应该对每个人都是平等的,而且老师并不是房间里唯一有能力的人。在我学到的所有信息中,我认为这会让我印象最深刻。教育有很多方式,我们越能让人们掌握学习,就越好。 

关于联谊会,您最喜欢的事情之一是什么? 

关于奖学金,我最喜欢的事情绝对是能够结识其他领导者——尤其是我自己人口之外的领导者。我住在一个白人人口众多的地区,能够结识与我不同的有经验的人,这比我在当地所做的任何领导工作都教会了我更多。革命不只是一种人;这是许多不同种族、背景和传统教育水平的人。它很多,而且 ROP Fellowship 真的为我开车回家。 

人像照片

索菲亚

林肯县 

团契中是否有某个时刻改变了您对某事的看法? 

奖学金向我展示了即使你会觉得这不是你谈论某事的地方,你还是不得不说,因为没有其他人会这样做。这一直困扰着我,所以我不是坐在那里等待事情发生,而是与负责人交谈,让他们知道我对某事的感受,然后我开始想办法改变它。

您去年的组织亮点之一是什么? 

我向整个学区发送了一封电子邮件,与他们谈论学生如何觉得他们在学校不安全,以及该学区在强制佩戴口罩和其他措施以保护我们免受 COVID-19 侵害方面做得不好。它引起了一场大骚动,这表明我有能力做一些重要的事情,即使它像参与我所在的地区一样小。

人像照片

约旦

道格拉斯县

团契中是否有某个时刻改变了您对某事的看法? 

在整个奖学金期间,有很多时刻鼓励我思考如何实施我的组织以及如何让社区中的其他组织者参与进来。我们的团契会议 策略图表 将许多在解决问题时经常“浮动”的努力和目标编织在一起,这次会议确实帮助我奠定了如何从坚实的基础解决未来问题的基础。

关于联谊会,您最喜欢的事情之一是什么? 

与俄勒冈州农村地区的其他年轻组织者建立关系并了解他们在社区中领导的工作都非常鼓舞人心,这得益于研究员们对我自己组织的支持,以及分享资源和想法,了解其他组织可能在我自己的农村社区。

人像照片

罗伯托

克鲁克县

团契中是否有某个时刻改变了您对某事的看法? 

有一个时刻改变了我对某事的看法,是在参加锻炼时,我的一位同行说:“我们不应该以 LGBTQ+ 的身份‘出柜’。不得不‘出柜’意味着我们不同于常态,而不是 LGBTQ+ 只是一种可接受的存在方式。”作为一个社会,我们已经规定必须将如此私人的东西公之于众,才能被接受为群体的一部分。这就是我将在我所在的团体中尝试改变的事情! 

关于联谊会,您最喜欢的事情之一是什么? 

关于奖学金,我最喜欢的事情之一是能够与年轻人谈论我们都面临的逆境,试图帮助彼此找到克服这些逆境的方法。 

人像照片

基恩

Umatilla 印第安保留地联盟部落 

团契中是否有某个时刻改变了您对某事的看法? 

奖学金让我成为能源正义领导力研究所的领导者,这让我真正站了起来。它向我展示了我可以有所作为,并且我真的很关心我的环境。我从小就知道,我想帮助我的环境,作为一个美洲原住民,我承诺我会保护和培育我的土地。所以这就是我打算继续做的事情!

您去年的组织亮点之一是什么? 

我很自豪能够自己组织我的口罩捐赠,因为这确实是一项巨大的成就。我制作了 400 多个口罩,并将它们送到了亚基马和纳瓦霍国家!这太令人难忘了,因为我能够提升我的计划并实现它,这感觉太棒了。而且我已经能够与我可以计划、执行并完成任务的其他研究员建立联系!

人像照片

珍妮

克拉索普县  

团契中是否有某个时刻改变了您对某事的看法? 

在获得奖学金之前,我的某些部分曾经认为我需要接受某种特殊培训或证书才能成为“真正的”组织者。但在这次团契之旅中,我开始认识到,内心和自下而上的合作是推动变革并向权力说出真相的动力。我对使用自己的声音更有信心,无需道歉。 

我还从我的 Fellowship 同行那里学到了很多东西,听了他们每个人为倡导社区所做的工作。它让我意识到我们每个人都有能力发起变革,我们的声音也有力量,组织不一定是一个完美的、线性的计划,而是随着我们塑造它的含义而不断发展。建立集体力量可以简单地从厨房餐桌上的谈话开始。 

您去年的组织亮点之一是什么? 

对我来说,一个组织亮点是能够参与电话银行并与 ROP 网络中的人联系以获得 STAND 指南。它真的帮助我熟悉了许多与 ROP 相关的不同人类尊严团体,并获得了与我们社区中正在进行的一系列草根组织的联系的感觉。我留下的许多电话都充满活力和灵感,并感觉到我可以通过帮助订购 STAND 指南分发,在支持我们农村社区的民主进步方面发挥小作用,尤其是考虑到如此重要的选举周期。

如何支持农村组织奖学金: 

申请成为农村组织研究员!

我们将在接下来的几个月内宣布有关农村组织奖学金第三批的详细信息!如果您有兴趣加入即将到来的奖学金计划,请通过电子邮件告诉我们 Fellowship@rop.org 当应用程序再次开放时,我们将直接与您联系!  

提名农村组织奖学金!

我们正在兴奋地计划和准备我们的下一批 ROP 研究员!你能帮我们找到他们吗?你认识一个计划罢工或行动的年轻活动家吗?学校是否有新兴的青年领袖领导小组或俱乐部?是否有一个年轻人拥有社区组织者的所有本能,他会在全州的同龄人社区中茁壮成长并组织技能培养?通过电子邮件告诉我们 Fellowship@rop.org

维持农村组织团契!

成为每月捐助者或向 ROP 赠送一次性礼物以帮助资助奖学金。 ROP 网络的财政支持使奖学金计划成为可能。你可以捐赠 在线这里 或将支票邮寄到 PO Box 664, Cottage Grove, OR 97424。 

与 ROP 研究员一起度过了多么美好的一年。感谢您支持和投资建设农村领导力的所有方式! 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

What a year with the Rural Organizing Fellows!

The second cohort of the Rural Organizing Fellowship has come to a close and we are amazed by the Fellows’ commitment to helping their communities thrive in a year that was more difficult than any of us could have anticipated! In the midst of a global pandemic, wildfires burning across the state, and a presidential election that led to a Far-Right insurrection at the US Capitol, the Rural Organizing Fellows showed up with such heart and passion to our virtual Fellowship spaces. Each month in the yearlong program, fellows developed strategies, imagined possibilities, and shared stories with each other of how their communities were taking action!

Screenshot of zoom call with Fellows smiling in each camera window

When we were planning for this second cohort of the Fellowship, we structured it to focus on organizing retreats held in the Fellows’ communities, but the Fellowship started right after the pandemic shut down in-person gatherings, so we shifted to a fully virtual Fellowship. The Fellows gathered monthly to deepen our collective understanding of what rural communities need and to grow our change-making skills. Alongside doing their own organizing work at home, the Fellows also jumped into projects with the broader ROP network, making calls around the state to talk with member groups about election action, helping to create radio public service announcements about Oregon’s ballot measures to air on 20 community radio stations around the state, and much more! Their commitment to making our virtual Fellowship a space of meaningful connection and growth made the 2020-2021 Rural Organizing Fellowship a powerful bright spot in the last year! 

Here’s what the Rural Organizing Fellows had to say about their experience!

Portrait Photo

Lesley

Umatilla County

Was there a moment in the Fellowship that shifted how you thought about something? 

The moment I knew something shifted for me was when I realized all it takes is one person to make a difference. One person to start organizing could change everything. I never thought I would be able to make a difference and now I know I can. There was a seed planted in my head. Before the Fellowship I always thought about “oh maybe we should do this,” but didn’t know what organizing was or how to do it. I would hear “be the change,” but what does that mean? But while being a Fellow, when something would happen that needed to change, I felt ready to help lead the organizing. I have to thank the Fellowship for that because I never would have been comfortable doing that before. 

What was one of your favorite things about the Fellowship? 

My favorite thing about the Fellowship was the relationships I made with the other Fellows! 

Portrait Photo

Josh

Polk County

What was one of your favorite things about the Fellowship? 

My favorite thing about the Fellowship was the people! It was honestly such a pleasure to get to know everyone. I was really surprised by how connected I felt to all the people in the Fellowship because we only met once a month or so online, but it was overall just so fun to be with all these incredible people.

What was one of your organizing highlights from the last year? 

I’m really happy with the work I did at the Food Pantry at Western Oregon University this year. When we had to change our shopping model at the start of the pandemic (where people get to choose their own items and amounts) to giving people prepared boxes, I was so disappointed for our customers because I know how much that matters to them. I’m extremely proud of myself for putting in a lot of extra work and taking on organizing volunteers, even when others thought it wasn’t a good idea, to figure out how to safely go back to our shopping model to support dignity and food access for our student community when people needed it most. 

Portrait Photo

Des

Lincoln County

Was there a moment in the Fellowship that shifted how you thought about something?

Honestly, the moment that shifted the most for me was our lesson about popular education. For so long I had been leading as I had been taught to lead. But now? I know better. I know that education should be equal for everyone, and teachers aren’t the only capable ones in the room. Of all the information I learned, I think this will stick with me the most. Education comes in so many ways, and the more we can get learning back in the hands of the people, the better. 

What was one of your favorite things about the Fellowship? 

My favorite thing about the Fellowship was definitely the ability to meet other leaders– especially ones outside of my own demographic. I live in a very heavily white populated area, and being able to meet experienced people different than me taught me way more than any leadership thing I could have done locally. The revolution is not just one type of person; it is many people of all races, backgrounds, and traditional education levels. It is many, and the ROP Fellowship really drove that home for me. 

Portrait Photo

Sophia

Lincoln County 

Was there a moment in the Fellowship that shifted how you thought about something? 

The Fellowship showed me that even though you will feel like it’s not your place to speak about something, you kind of have to because nobody else is going to do it. That stuck with me, so instead of just sitting around waiting for things to happen, I talk to the person that’s in charge and let them know how I feel about something and then I start figuring out how to change it.

What was one of your organizing highlights from the last year? 

I sent an email to the entire school district talking to them about how students felt they were unsafe at school and that the district was not doing a good job at enforcing mask-wearing and other things to protect us from COVID-19. It caused a big ruckus and that showed me that I have the power to do something that matters even if it’s as small as engaging in my district.

Portrait Photo

Jordan

Douglas County

Was there a moment in the Fellowship that shifted how you thought about something? 

There have been plenty of moments throughout the Fellowship that encouraged me to think about how to operationalize my organizing and how to engage other organizers in my community. Our Fellowship session on Strategy Charting weaved together a lot of efforts and goals that are often “floating” while addressing an issue, and this session really helped me in grounding how I address future issues from a solid foundation.

What was one of your favorite things about the Fellowship? 

Building relationships with other young organizers around rural Oregon and hearing about the work they are leading in communities has been inspirational, both by the supportive camaraderie from the Fellows for my own organizing as well as sharing resources and ideas for what other organizing might be possible in my own rural community.

Portrait Photo

Roberto

Crook County

Was there a moment in the Fellowship that shifted how you thought about something? 

A moment that shifted how I thought about something was while participating in an exercise, one of my peers said “We shouldn’t have to ‘come out’ as LGBTQ+. Having to ‘come out’ means we are different from the norm instead of LGBTQ+ just being an acceptable way to be.” As a society, we have dictated that something so personal must be made public in order to be accepted as a part of a group. That’s something I will try to change in groups I am a part of! 

What was one of your favorite things about the Fellowship? 

One of my favorite things about the Fellowship was being able to talk to young adults about adversities we all face to try to help each other find ways to overcome those adversities. 

Portrait Photo

Keyen

Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation 

Was there a moment in the Fellowship that shifted how you thought about something? 

The Fellowship connected me to becoming a leader with the Energy Justice Leadership Institute and that really brought me to my feet. It showed me that I can make a difference and that I really care about my environment. I have always known since I was small, that I wanted to help my environment and as a Native American, I promised my land I would protect and nurture it. So that’s what I plan to keep doing!

What was one of your organizing highlights from the last year? 

I am very proud that I was able to organize my face mask donation by myself because that was truly a big accomplishment. I made over 400 face masks and sent them to the Yakima and Navajo nations! It was so memorable because I was able to lift up my plan and make it happen which felt so great. And I have been able to relate with the other Fellows that I can plan, do it, and get things done!

Portrait Photo

Janie

Clatsop County  

Was there a moment in the Fellowship that shifted how you thought about something? 

Before the Fellowship there was some part of me that used to think that I needed to have some kind of special training or credentials in order to be a “real” organizer. But through the journey of this Fellowship, I have come to recognize that heart and working together from the bottom up is what drives change and speaks truth to power. I feel more confident in using my own voice, without apology. 

I also learned a lot from my Fellowship peers, hearing about the work they each are doing to advocate for their communities. It made me realize that we each have the power to initiate change, that our voices have power and that organizing doesn’t have to be a perfect, linear plan but is constantly evolving as we shape what it means. Building collective power can simply start with a conversation at a kitchen table. 

What was one of your organizing highlights from the last year? 

An organizing highlight for me was being able to participate in phone banking and connecting with folks in the ROP network for the STAND guides. It really helped me to get familiar with many of the diverse human dignity groups ROP is connected with and gain a sense of connection to a range of grassroots organizing going on in our communities. I left many of the calls feeling energized and inspired and a sense that I could be playing a small role in supporting the advancement of democracy in our rural communities through helping get STAND guides ordered for distribution, especially in light of such an important election cycle.

How to support the Rural Organizing Fellowship: 

Apply to be a Rural Organizing Fellow!

We’ll be announcing details in the coming months about the 3rd cohort of the Rural Organizing Fellowship! Let us know if you’re interested in being a part of the upcoming Fellowship program by emailing Fellowship@rop.org and we’ll reach out directly when applications open up again!  

Nominate for the Rural Organizing Fellowship!

We are excitedly planning and preparing for our next cohort of ROP Fellows! Can you help us find them? Do you know a young activist planning walkouts or actions? Are there emerging youth leaders leading groups or clubs at school? Is there a young person who has all the instincts of a community organizer who would thrive with a community of peers around the state and organizing skill-building? Let us know by emailing Fellowship@rop.org

Sustain the Rural Organizing Fellowship!

Become a monthly donor or give a one-time gift to ROP to help fund the Fellowship. The financial support of the ROP network is what makes the Fellowship program possible. You can donate online here or mail a check to PO Box 664, Cottage Grove, OR 97424. 

What a wonderful year with the ROP Fellows. Thank you for all the ways you support and invest in building rural leadership! 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English