迎接新一季的乡村声音!

昨天在州首府, 爱国者祈祷试图扰乱紧急会议 而立法者 通过了针对有被驱逐风险的租户的救济法案 我们中的许多人为此而奋斗。鉴于农村和城市组织者一直面临的威胁、恐吓和暴力,我们希望提升我们今年赢得的胜利,并确保您能够获得 这些安全和安保工具.请不要犹豫与我们联系 安全@rop.org 支持在您的组织中尽可能保证彼此的安全。

特别是鉴于最近塞勒姆的抗议活动,我们非常自豪地与您分享对农村组织项目第一年制作农村根源崛起、我们的每月广播节目和播客的一些反思! 创建此播客的驱动力之一是用我们自己的话提供农村故事。为了回应我们社区的不完整覆盖方式 在媒体中,我们开始挑战农村等于白人和极右翼的农村刻板印象,并更准确地讲述俄勒冈州农村人是谁。我们的社区是复杂的、多种族的、多代人的,跨越巨大的差异并建立从海岸到瓦洛瓦山脉的联系。

本月我们将进入第二季,为了开始工作,我们的赛季以员工反思对话开始。 ROP 幕后花絮 揭开节目的帷幕,并研究 ROP 网络如何以及为何决定以这种方式专注于讲故事和广播合作伙伴关系。

如果您不熟悉 Rural Roots Rising,让我们为您补充一下。 这是一个每月 29 分钟的广播节目和播客,将故事和讲故事的人编织在一起,这些故事和讲故事的人在俄勒冈州农村进行了勇敢和创造性的组织。当我们看到农村新闻源被跨国公司收购或完全破产时,Rural Roots Rising 是我们战略的一部分,该战略源自 ROP 30 年历史中发展起来的广播关系,并得到了农村领导人的支持。 我们的网络致力于为我们的小城镇和农村社区建立和维护准确且可访问的本地媒体。 听众可以在我们的网站上找到播客 农村根崛起 网站并查看与我们合作在俄勒冈州 14 个县播放该节目的 19 个农村广播电台的列表!您还可以在 Spotify、Stitcher 或任何获得播客的地方订阅和收听播客。

听 ROP 幕后花絮,您将从 ROP 工作人员 Jess、Hannah 和 Emma 那里听到更多关于 Rural Roots Rising 的起源,以及我们通过跳入播客创作的各个层面而获得的技能。 我们了解到,分享故事对讲述者和倾听者都有强大的影响。 我们捕捉到的故事反映了我们运动的进步和成功,并激励我们自己和彼此为正义和民主而进行新的和持续的组织。

除了在整个 ROP 网络中分享故事之外,我们还努力使 Rural Roots Rising 成为希望创建自己的媒体的农村社区的资源。 当网络呼吁我们支持社区媒体时,我们希望通过分享这些技能来确保我们在公共场合学习,因为我们磨练了这些技能,并帮助建立全州人民可以借鉴和适应的资源。您有兴趣加入我们制作农村媒体吗?联系我们 info@RuralRootsRising.org.我们很高兴与您合作!

在我们的第一季中,我们将数十位乡村故事讲述者直接播放到世界各地听众的客厅和汽车中,打破了冠状病毒大流行加剧的孤立感,并激励继续努力建立乡村社区力量:

布伦达·弗洛雷斯 (Raíces, Umatilla 县), 胡安·纳瓦罗 (留在这里,威拉米特山谷中部), 玛莎·维尔杜斯科 (胡德河拉丁裔网络,哥伦比亚河峡谷), 凯蒂库克 (农村之声,吉列姆县), 米里亚姆·巴尔加斯·科罗娜 (Unidos Bridging Community,Yamhill 县), 布鲁斯·莫里斯 (KPOV-高沙漠社区电台,德舒特县) 纳夫尼特·考尔 (创新法实验室和马里恩县 Dasmesh Darbar Sikh Temple), 格温·特里斯 (马克斯维尔遗产解说中心,瓦洛瓦县), 哈里·麦克科马克 (本顿县 Sunbow 农场), 玛蒂娜·勒弗斯 (Berea Kids Eat,肯塔基州) 安娜·伊莉莎·威尔逊 (俄勒冈州农村行动,Umatilla 和 Morrow 县), 阿图罗·萨米恩托 (威拉米特山谷中部的 Radio Poder 照片在这里), 卡罗尔纽曼 (克拉索普县海岸社区电台), 康妮·萨尔达娜 (KSKQ 社区电台,杰克逊县), 阿德里安娜水瓶座 (俄勒冈州中部多样性项目,德舒特县), 吉安娜·埃斯皮诺萨 (瓦洛瓦县), 珍妮尔·威克斯 (农村多样性联盟,哈尼县), 桑德拉·沃茨 (湖县), MiriKoltuv 和科琳·纳尔逊 (联合县), 乔·刘易斯 (哥伦比亚县人类尊严联盟,哥伦比亚县), 扎卡里股票 (克拉索普县), 苏珊娜·法尔 (阿肯色州), 金·施密斯、凯尔西·奥利维拉和凯莉·黄 (杰斐逊县马德拉斯钥匙俱乐部), 帕姆·里斯 (健康机会经济社区,Umatilla 县), 基恩·辛格 (部落青年委员会,Umatilla 印第安保留地联盟部落), 莱斯利·鲁宾斯坦和凯茜·贝拉维塔 (黑莓派协会,莱恩县), 莫妮卡·皮尔森 (北海岸进步行动,克拉索普县),和 丽塔·申克尔伯格 (弯曲城议员选择,Deschutes County)。

如果你已经读到这里,我希望我的预测是正确的,你想安顿下来听 ROP 幕后花絮 以及《乡村根源崛起》的其他剧集! 了解您当地的广播电台何时播放 ROP 幕后花絮 在 农村根源崛起.org!

如果您有兴趣与在您所在地区制作媒体或建立权力的其他俄勒冈州农村人联系,请联系 info@RuralRootsRising.org 涉足。最后,如果可以的话, 请捐赠给 ROP,以便我们可以继续扩大我们在 Rural Roots Rising 方面的工作并与当地合作 广播电台和农村媒体创作者!

这个月, 您支持 ROP 网络的财务贡献, 乡村振兴等工作 可以加倍!通过柯林斯基金会的慷慨捐赠,新的和增加的 ROP 捐款被一对一匹配,最高可达 $25,000。一个 $100 的贡献在 12 月增长到 $200!捐赠标志将带您到我们的网站进行在线捐赠。 

如果你已经捐赠了——谢谢!

感谢你们在我们迈向繁荣的俄勒冈州农村的过程中所做的一切,

Emma、Hannah、Meredith 和 ROP 团队

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Welcoming a New Season of Connecting Rural Voices!

Yesterday at the State Capital, Patriot Prayer attempted to disrupt the emergency session while legislators passed the relief bill for tenants at risk of eviction that many of us fought so hard for. In light of the threats, intimidation, and violence that organizers both rural and urban have been facing, we want to lift up the victories we have won this year and also make sure you have access to these safety and security tools. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at safety@rop.org for support in keeping each other as safe as possible in your organizing.

Especially in light of the recent protests in Salem, we’re so proud to share with you some reflections on the Rural Organizing Project’s first year of producing Rural Roots Rising, our monthly radio show and podcast! One of the driving forces in creating this podcast was to provide rural stories in our own words. In response to the incomplete ways our communities are covered in the media, we set out to challenge rural stereotypes that say rural equals white and Far Right, and tell a more accurate story of who rural Oregonians are. Our communities are complex, multiracial, and multigenerational, working across vast differences and building connections from the coast to the Wallowa Mountains.

This month we’re launching into season two and to get things started, our season opens with a reflective staff conversation. Behind the Scenes with ROP peels back the curtain on the show and examines how and why the ROP network decided to focus on storytelling and radio partnerships in this way.

If you’re not familiar with Rural Roots Rising, let us fill you in a bit. It’s a monthly 29-minute radio show and podcast that weaves together stories and storytellers engaged in courageous and creative organizing across rural Oregon. As we see rural news sources being bought up by multinational corporations or going under completely, Rural Roots Rising is one part of our strategy drawn from radio relationships developed over ROP’s 30-year history and supported by rural leaders. Our network is committed to building and sustaining accurate and accessible local media for our small towns and rural communities. Listeners can find the podcast on our Rural Roots Rising website and check out the list of 19 rural radio stations we partner with to air the program across 14 Oregon counties! You can also subscribe and listen to the podcast on Spotify, Stitcher, or wherever you get your podcasts.

Listening to Behind the Scenes with ROP, you’ll hear more about the origins of Rural Roots Rising from ROP staff members Jess, Hannah, and Emma and the skills we have gained by leaping into the many layers of podcast creation. We learned that sharing stories has a powerful impact on both the teller and the listener. The stories we have captured reflect the progress and successes in our movement and inspire ourselves and each other to take on new and sustained organizing for justice and democracy.

Beyond sharing stories from across the ROP network, we have also worked hard to make Rural Roots Rising a resource for rural communities looking to create their own media. When the network called on us to bolster community media, we wanted to make sure we were learning in public by sharing out these skills as we honed them and helping build resources that people around the state could pull from and adapt. Are you interested in joining us in making rural media? Reach out to us at info@RuralRootsRising.org. We’re excited to work with you!

In our first season, we broadcast dozens of rural storytellers straight into the living rooms and car rides of listeners worldwide, breaking isolation that the coronavirus pandemic intensified and inspiring continued work to build rural community power:

Brenda Flores (Raíces, Umatilla County), Juan Navarro (Here to Stay, mid-Willamette Valley), Martha Verduzco (Hood River Latino Network, Columbia River Gorge), Katie Cook (Rural Voices, Gilliam County), Miriam Vargas Corona (Unidos Bridging Community, Yamhill County), Bruce Morris (KPOV-High Desert Community Radio, Deschutes County) Navneet Kaur (Innovation Law Lab and Dasmesh Darbar Sikh Temple, Marion County), Gwen Trice (Maxville Heritage Interpretive Center, Wallowa County), Harry MacCormack (Sunbow Farm, Benton County), Martina LeForce (Berea Kids Eat, Kentucky) Ana Elisa Wilson (Oregon Rural Action, Umatilla and Morrow Counties), Arturo Sarmiento (Radio Poder in the mid-Willamette Valley pictured here), Carol Newman (Coast Community Radio, Clatsop County), Connie Saldaña (KSKQ Community Radio, Jackson County), Adriana Aquarius (Central Oregon Diversity Project, Deschutes County), Gianna Espinoza (Wallowa County), Janelle Wicks (Rural Alliance for Diversity, Harney County), Sandra Watts (Lake County), MiriKoltuv and Colleen Nelson (Union County), Joe Lewis (Columbia County Coalition for Human Dignity, Columbia County), Zachary Stocks (Clatsop County), Suzanne Pharr (Arkansas), Kim Schmith, Kelsey Olivera, and Kelly Huang (Madras Key Club, Jefferson County), Pam Reese (Economic Community for Healthy Opportunity, Umatilla County), Keyen Singer (Tribal Youth Council, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation), Leslie Rubenstein and Cathy Bellavita (Blackberry Pie Society, Lane County), Monica Pearson (North Coast Progressive Action, Clatsop County), and Rita Schenkelberg (Bend City Councilor-elect, Deschutes County).

If you’ve read this far, I hope that I’m right in predicting that you want to settle in for a listen to Behind the Scenes with ROP and other episodes of Rural Roots Rising! Find out when your local radio station is playing Behind the Scenes with ROP at ruralrootsrising.org!

If you are interested in connecting with other rural Oregonians who are making media or building power in your area, reach out to info@RuralRootsRising.org to get involved.And finally, if you can, please donate to ROP so that we can continue expanding our work on Rural Roots Rising and partnering with local radio stations and rural media creators!

This month, your financial contribution in support of the ROP network, Rural Roots Rising and other work could be doubled! New and increased contributions to ROP are being matched one to one up to $25,000 by a generous gift from the Collins Foundation. A $100 contribution grows to $200 in December! The donate sign will take you to our website to make an online contribution. 

If you have already donated–thank you!

With gratitude for all you do as part of our movement towards a thriving rural Oregon,

Emma, Hannah, Meredith, and the ROP Team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English