欢迎旅行车!

为什么要开展这项活动?

随着夏季的到来,许多团体都计划举办骄傲节、六月节或夏季烧烤。其他人则在县集市或当地农贸市场设立展位。夏天是结识新朋友的好时机,将他们添加到您清理过的县数据库中(如果你错过了上个月的 KTA,请点击这里),并邀请他们在您的团队中扮演有意义的角色!

刚刚结束艰难的选举?许多学校和图书馆董事会的新成员以及在特区选举中当选的其他人将于 7 月就职,他们需要在公开会议上给予支持和关注。这个夏天让我们玩得开心,结交新朋友!

什么是活动?

“迎宾马车”是一个团队角色,可以由您的一个或多个团队成员扮演。本月的活动是利用欢迎马车的力量欢迎新人加入您的人类尊严小组!

受欢迎的马车团队负责人可以协调与支持者的沟通,以确保人们始终如一地听到团队的声音,并被邀请担任有意义的角色。此外,他们还会协调欢迎新人加入您的小组,例如在活动中闲逛以与人聊天并通过电话、邮件或电子邮件跟进新联系人以分享有关小组的更多信息并了解他们的兴趣。

我们知道,如果我们没有成长,我们就会随着人们变得忙碌、承担新责任或需要搬出州而萎缩。与您的团队一起制定计划,确定您想要接触的对象和方式,并让它变得有趣! 

如何完成活动:

1. 与您的领导团队坐下来制定计划:

  • 什么 您的目标是将新人带入您的团队吗?您是否正在尝试扩大您的一般支持者名单,他们会收到您的电子邮件并发出强烈的行动号召?您是否试图让已经在您的领域内的人在您正在开展的活动中承担更大的领导角色?
  • 在哪里 你很高兴见到这些新朋友吗?是否有您想在其中设立展位的社区活动?你想自己做烧烤吗?您是否已在本月举办骄傲节或六月节活动?你是不是在为特区选举敲门的时候遇到了一群有趣的人却没有找到他们的联系方式?

2. 打印您的签到表! 你可以用这个 模板签到表 作为起点。剪贴板和一堆备用笔也很适合带!

3. 团队练习! 经过多年的社会疏远,在世界上结识新朋友可能会感到尴尬。在活动前的会议上与每个人进行预演,以便人们摆脱蜘蛛网。您想如何向新朋友介绍您的团队?当邻居找你聊天时,你最想问他们什么?练习让人们注册,这样你们就可以保持联系。

4. 去的时间! 向所有来到您的活动或展位的人致以热烈的欢迎和注册邀请!这样您就可以在活动结束后与遇到的人保持联系。

5. 更新您的数据库。 上个月的 KTA 鼓励团体清理他们的数据库 所以它可以使用了。每个月保持更新,以确保它始终是一个有用的工具!

6.跟进你遇到的人! 为了让人们参与进来,我们需要继续与他们交谈!您可以向遇到的每个人发送参加下一次会议或活动的邀请。你可以把名单分给你的队友,并邀请每个新人喝咖啡讨论他们希望如何更多地参与。或者你可以给他们发一张感谢卡来参加你的烧烤,并分享你的联系信息。

7. 让我们知道 进展如何,以便我们可以与俄勒冈州农村地区的人们分享您的经验!向我们发送便条、照片或语音备忘录至 艾玛@rop.org.我们很乐意听取您的意见!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Welcome Wagon!

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?

With the arrival of summer, many groups have plans to host Pride, Juneteenth, or a summer barbeque. Others are setting up a booth at the county fair or local farmers market. Summer is a great time to meet new people, add them to your cleaned-up county database (if you missed last month’s KTA, check it out here), and invite them into meaningful roles with your group!

Just finished up a tough election push? Many new members of school and library boards and others elected in the special district elections will be inaugurated in July and will be needing a supportive and watchful presence in public meetings. Let’s have some fun and make some new friends this summer!

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?

A “welcome wagon” is a group role that can be played by one or many of your team members. This month’s activity is to welcome new people into your human dignity group by harnessing the power of the welcome wagon!

A welcome wagon team lead could coordinate communication with supporters to make sure folks are hearing from the group consistently and being invited into meaningful roles. Additionally, they coordinate welcoming new people into your group, such as strolling around events to chat with people and following up with new contacts via phone, mail, or email to share more information about the group and learn their interests.

We know that if we aren’t growing we’re shrinking as people get busy, take on new responsibilities, or need to move out of state. Make a plan with your team for who you want to reach and how, and make it fun! 

HOW TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

1. Sit down with your leadership team and make a plan:

  • What are your goals in bringing new people into your group? Are you trying to grow your list of general supporters who get your emails and show up with big calls to action? Are you trying to get people who are already in your sphere to take on greater leadership roles within the campaign you are running?
  • Where are you excited to meet these new people? Are there community events where you want to have a booth? Do you want to throw your own barbeque? Are you already hosting a Pride or Juneteenth event this month? Did you meet a bunch of interesting people while you were door-knocking for the special district elections but didn’t catch their contact info?

2. Print your sign-in sheets! You can use this template sign-in sheet as a starting point. A clipboard and a bunch of spare pens are great to bring too!

3. Practice as a team! After many years of social distancing, meeting new people out in the world can feel awkward. Do a run-through with everyone at a pre-event meeting so folks can shake the cobwebs off. How do you want to present your group to new people? What are you most eager to ask your neighbors about when they approach you to chat? Practice asking folks to sign up so you can stay in touch.

4. Go time! Greet everyone who comes to your event or booth with a warm welcome and an invitation to sign up! That way you can keep in touch with people you meet after the event.

5. Update your database. Last month’s KTA encouraged groups to clean up their database so it’s ready for use. Keep it updated every month to make sure it stays a useful tool!

6. Follow up with the people you met! To keep people engaged we need to continue talking with them! You could send everyone you met an invitation to your next meeting or event. You could split up the list amongst your teammates and invite each new person to coffee to discuss how they would like to be more involved. Or you could send them a quick thank you card for coming to your barbeque, and share your contact information.

7. Let us know how it went so we can share your experiences with folks across rural Oregon! Send us a note, a photo, or a voice memo to emma@rop.org. We’d love to hear from you!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English