欢迎加入团队,玛莎!

今年的核心会议将于 4 月 6 日星期六在伍德伯恩举行,这将是一场正式会议。 确保注册您的团体 周五之前帮助 ROP 组织者准确统计椅子、膳食、儿童保育、口译和住宿的人数。有疑问吗?给西德拉发电子邮件: sidra@rop.org

我们很高兴向 ROP 员工团队介绍最新成员: 玛莎·维尔杜斯科-奥尔特加! 

Martha 于 2017 年加入 ROP 董事会,并担任主席直至此次交接。她是胡德河拉丁裔网络的创始人和领导者之一,也是支持峡谷 NORCOR 地区监狱绝食抗议者运动的主要领导人。经过多年组织终止 NORCOR 与移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 的合同,他们在 2021 年取得了成功!除了与这些团体一起组建和组织之外,玛莎还组织了聚集了数百人的社区文化庆祝活动,策划了支持梦想家的集会,并动员支持俄勒冈州的亲移民立法。玛莎的心、奉献精神和非凡的直觉使她成为令人难以置信的董事会主席,我们很高兴她能够过渡到员工团队。

玛莎把一只小山羊举到镜头前!

玛莎已经在努力开设 ROP 最新的现场办事处,并且 胡德里弗移民帮助中心 (IHC) 代表 胡德河拉丁裔网络 和ROP。 IHC 将充当社区中心和全方位服务中心。规划将包括文化活动、领导技能培养以及心理和健康服务方面的协助。 

该中心位于 1406 12th St, Suite 2,将于 2024 年 3 月 18 日起在新空间开业并开始提供服务。盛大开业将于 4 月中旬举行!要了解有关 IHC 的更多信息, 在哥伦比亚社区连接中阅读这篇文章,也包含在下面! 

关于移民帮助中心还有很多值得分享的内容,并且 玛莎迫不及待地想在 4 月 6 日星期六在伍德伯恩举行的农村核心小组和战略会议上与大家讨论这个问题! 在这里注册参加核心小组!

胡德里弗拉丁裔网络移民帮助中心将于 3 月 18 日开放

科尔·古德温

俄勒冈州胡德里弗,2024 年 2 月 29 日 –胡德河拉丁裔网络农村组织项目 于 2024 年 2 月 28 日下午 3:30 收到位于俄勒冈州胡德里弗 1406 12th St, Suite 2 的新移民帮助中心 (IHC) 的钥匙。IHC 将充当社区中心和全方位服务,文化活动、领导技能发展以及心理和健康服务援助链接。

胡德河拉丁裔网络是几个人五十多年来的努力成果,旨在为拉丁裔社区寻求更多代表。在峡谷,很大一部分人口是具有独特需求的移民和临时工,他们是不平等现象的代言人。 

该中心预计将于 2024 年 3 月 18 日开始在新空间开业并开始提供服务。盛大开业将于 4 月中旬举行。

“胡德里弗县是俄勒冈州拉丁裔人口最多的县之一(32.11胡德里弗县的TP3T被认定为西班牙裔)。尽管胡德里弗很受欢迎且旅游胜地,但它仍然是一个乡村地区,因此我们不具备都会区所拥有的所有服务。移民帮助中心将帮助弥补哥伦比亚峡谷拉丁裔的服务差距。”Martha 'Tita' Verduzco-Ortega 说道。 

“国际健康委员会将帮助为最弱势群体赋权并为其提供支持。我们将确保他们取得成功,”维尔杜斯科-奥尔特加说,“欢迎所有移民。” 

如果没有安布尔·罗塞 (Ambër Rôsé)、何塞·比比安 (Jose Bibian)、阿图罗·莱瓦 (Arturo Leyva)、塞缪尔·穆里略 (Samuel Murillo)、莫妮卡·罗梅罗 (Monica Romero)、帕蒂·韦尔杜斯科 (Patti Verduzco) 等人的支持,这些活动和示威活动将不一样,他们是巩固这场运动的基础。

IHC 将向社区提供多项服务,包括: 

社区帮助、工人权利、租户权利和移民资源

社区成员可以走进或预约来学习和解决诸如租户权利、雇员补偿、如何登记投票、公民身份流程和绿卡支持等问题,以及出现的任何其他问题和担忧。随着办公室的不断发展,他们还将拥有移民律师和其他法律服务可供咨询。

Verduzco-Oretega 说:“我们将进行筛查,并帮助指导人们获得经济适用房、租金援助、公用事业援助、防风雨、身体、行为和心理健康资源,以及他们需要帮助的任何其他方面。” 

IHC 还希望围绕心理健康和其他敏感话题创造文化变革。

“从文化上来说,移民倾向于不谈论他们的需求和挣扎,我们来这里是为了帮助改变这种状况,并让人们知道寻求帮助是可以的,”韦尔杜斯科-奥尔特加说。 

他们还希望未来与墨西哥领事馆建立联系,让“El Consulado Movil”更频繁地来到峡谷。 “我们接到很多人打来的电话,请求帮助预约墨西哥驻波特兰领事馆。我们希望让我们的员工能够更轻松地完成这一过程。”Verduzco-Ortega 说道。 

培训中心

IHC 将举办社区课程,帮助培养经济知识和劳动力技能,并为年轻人提供媒体培训。 

“我们申请了一笔拨款,为我们的办公室提供六台计算机来帮助培训,”Verduzco-Oretega 说。

文化资源和活动中心

IHC希望举办并支持当地的文化活动。该中心将成为农场工人和移民见面的场所,并提供组织和响应社区不断变化的优先事项所急需的基础设施。

领导力社区和运动孵化器

该中心旨在支持和聚集下一代组织者。 

Verduzco-Oretega 表示:“我们将提供一个会议空间,培养多代领导层齐聚一堂,制定战略并分享技术、解决问题并确定社区解决方案。”

Verduzco 强调,该项目是通过广大社区的辛勤工作以及 HRLN 与农村组织项目的合作才得以实现的。 

“他们一直保护我们,直到我们获得非营利地位,”Verduzco-Oretega 说。 “我们的梦想和热情是帮助我们的员工,ROP 为 HRLN 的所有人提供了实现这些梦想的机会。”

农村组织项目是一个全州范围的组织,支持俄勒冈州的多问题、以农村为中心的基层基础。 ROP 成立于 1992 年,致力于建立和支持人类尊严的共同标准:相信所有社区的平等价值、平等诉诸司法的需要以及自决权。  

“我们正在申请赠款,并欢迎人们向帮助中心提供任何捐款和支持,”Verduzco-Oretega 说。

向 HRLN 电子邮件捐款 hoodriverlatino@gmail.com。如需联系 HRLN,请致电 541-490-5579 或发送电子邮件 hoodriverlatino@gmail.com

简体中文

Welcome to the team, Martha!

This year’s Caucus will be on Saturday, April 6th in Woodburn, and it’s going to be one for the books. Make sure to register your group by Friday to help ROP organizers get an accurate head count for chairs, meals, childcare, interpretation and housing. Have questions? Email Sidra at sidra@rop.org

We are so excited to introduce the newest member to the ROP staff team: Martha Verduzco-Ortega! 

Martha joined the ROP Board in 2017 and served as Chair until this transition. She is one of the founders and leaders of Hood River Latino Network and was a key leader in the campaigns to support hunger strikers at the NORCOR regional jail in the Gorge. After years of organizing to end NORCOR’s contract with Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), they were successful in 2021! In addition to forming and organizing with these groups, Martha has also organized community cultural celebrations that have brought together hundreds of people, planned rallies in support of Dreamers, and mobilized support for pro-immigrant legislation in Oregon. Martha’s heart, commitment, and extraordinary instincts have made her an incredible Board Chair, and we are thrilled for her to be transitioning onto the staff team.

Martha holds a baby goat up to the camera!

Martha has already been hard at work opening ROP’s newest field office and Immigrant Help Center (IHC) in Hood River on behalf of Hood River Latino Network and ROP. The IHC will act as a community hub and wrap-around service center. Programming will include cultural events, leadership skills development, and assistance in navigating mental and health services. 

The Center, located at 1406 12th St, Suite 2, will open and begin offering services in its new space starting March 18th, 2024. The grand opening will take place in mid-April! To read more about the IHC, read this article in the Columbia Community Connection, which is also included below! 

There is so much more to share about the Immigrant Help Center, and Martha can’t wait to chat with folks about it at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on Saturday, April 6 in Woodburn! Register here for the Caucus!

Hood River Latino Network Immigrant Help Center to Open March 18

By Cole Goodwin

Hood River, Ore., February 29, 2024 –Hood River Latino Network and the Rural Organizing Project received the keys for their new Immigrant Help Center (IHC) at 1406 12th St, Suite 2, in Hood River, OR on Feb. 28, 2024 at 3:30 p.m. The IHC will act as a community hub and wrap-around services, cultural events, leadership skills development, and a link for assistance to mental and health services.

Hood River Latino Network has been the labor of several people for more than half of a decade seeking more representation for the Latino community. In the Gorge, where a large portion of the population are immigrants and temporary workers with unique needs, they are the voice in the face of inequalities. 

The Center is expected to open and begin offering services in its new space starting March 18th, 2024. Their grand opening will take place in mid-April.

“Hood River County has one of the highest Latino populations in Oregon (32.1% of Hood River County identifies as Hispanic). And as popular and touristy as Hood River is, it is still a rural area, so we don’t have all the services that the Metro area has. The Immigration Help Center will help bridge the gap in services for Latinos in the Columbia Gorge,” said Martha ‘Tita’ Verduzco-Ortega. 

“The IHC will help empower and advocate for the most vulnerable. We are going to make sure they are set up to be successful,” said Verduzco-Ortega, “All immigrants are welcome.” 

The events and demonstrations would not be the same without the support of people like Ambër Rôsé, Jose Bibian, Arturo Leyva, Samuel Murillo, Monica Romero, Patti Verduzco, and so many more who have been fundamental in the consolidation of this movement.

The IHC will offer a number of services to the community including: 

Community Help, Workers Rights, Renter’s Rights, and Immigration Resources

Community members can walk in or make appointments to learn and navigate issues like tenant rights, employee workers’ compensation, how to register to vote, the citizenship process, and green card support, as well as any other questions and concerns that arise. They will also have an immigration attorney and other law services available for consultation as the office continues to establish itself.

“We will do screenings and help guide people through the process of accessing affordable housing, rent assistance, utility assistance, weatherization, physical, behavioral, and mental health resources, and anything else they need help with,” said Verduzco-Oretega. 

The IHC also hopes to create cultural changes around talking about mental health and other sensitive topics.

“Culturally, there is a tendency for immigrants to not talk about their needs and struggles, we are here to help change that, and let people know it’s okay to ask for help,” said Verduzco-Ortega. 

They also hope to build connections with the Mexican Consulate in the future and bring “El Consulado Movil” more often to the Gorge. “We take a lot of calls from people asking for help in making an appointment with the Mexican Consulate in Portland. We want to make the process a bit easier for our people” said Verduzco-Ortega. 

Training Hub

The IHC will host community classes that help build economic literacy and workforce skills as well as media training for youth. 

“We applied for a grant that would provide our office with six computers to help with training,” said Verduzco-Oretega.

Cultural Resource and Event Hub

The IHC hopes to hold and support local cultural events. The center will serve as a place for farm workers and migrants to meet and provide the infrastructure that is critically needed to organize and be responsive to changing priorities in the community.

Leadership Community and Campaign Incubator

The Center aims to support and bring together the next generation of organizers. 

“We will provide a meeting space to foster multi-generational leadership to come together to strategize and share techniques, to problem solve, and identify community solutions,” said Verduzco-Oretega.

Verduzco emphasized that the project was made possible through the larger community’s hard work and HRLN’s partnership with the Rural Organizing Project. 

“They’ve taken us under their wing until we gain non-profit status,” said Verduzco-Oretega. “Our dream and passion is to help our people and ROP has given all of us at HRLN the opportunity to make those dreams come true.”

Rural Organizing Project is a statewide organization that supports a multi-issue, rural-centered, grassroots base in Oregon. Founded in 1992, ROP works to build and support a shared standard of human dignity: the belief in the equal worth of all communities, the need for equal access to justice, and the right to self-determination.  

“We’re applying for grants and welcome any donations and support people can offer to the help center,” said Verduzco-Oretega.

To donate to HRLN email hoodriverlatino@gmail.com. To connect with HRLN call 541-490-5579 or email hoodriverlatino@gmail.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English