مرحبًا بك في الفريق، مارثا!

سوف يعقد المؤتمر الانتخابي لهذا العام يوم السبت 6 أبريل في وودبرن، وسيكون واحدًا للكتب. تأكد من تسجيل مجموعتك بحلول يوم الجمعة لمساعدة منظمي شرطة عمان السلطانية في الحصول على إحصاء دقيق للكراسي والوجبات ورعاية الأطفال والترجمة الفورية والسكن. هل لديك أسئلة؟ البريد الإلكتروني سيدرا في sidra@rop.org

نحن متحمسون جدًا لتقديم أحدث عضو إلى فريق موظفي شرطة عمان السلطانية: مارثا فيردوزكو أورتيجا! 

انضمت مارثا إلى مجلس إدارة شرطة عمان السلطانية في عام 2017 وعملت كرئيسة حتى هذا التحول. وهي أحد مؤسسي وقادة شبكة Hood River Latino وكانت رائدة رئيسية في حملات دعم المضربين عن الطعام في سجن NORCOR الإقليمي في منطقة Gorge. بعد سنوات من التنظيم لإنهاء عقد NORCOR مع إدارة الهجرة والجمارك (ICE)، نجحوا في عام 2021! بالإضافة إلى تشكيل وتنظيم هذه المجموعات، نظمت مارثا أيضًا احتفالات ثقافية مجتمعية جمعت مئات الأشخاص، وخططت لتجمعات لدعم الحالمين، وحشدت الدعم للتشريعات المؤيدة للمهاجرين في ولاية أوريغون. إن قلب مارثا والتزامها وغرائزها الاستثنائية جعلها رئيسة مجلس إدارة رائعة، ونحن سعداء للغاية لانتقالها إلى فريق العمل.

مارثا تحمل عنزة صغيرة أمام الكاميرا!

لقد بذلت مارثا جهدًا كبيرًا في العمل لافتتاح أحدث مكتب ميداني لشرطة عمان السلطانية مركز مساعدة المهاجرين (IHC) في نهر هود باسم شبكة نهر هود لاتينو و شرطة عمان السلطانية. ستعمل IHC كمركز مجتمعي ومركز خدمة شامل. ستشمل البرامج فعاليات ثقافية وتنمية المهارات القيادية والمساعدة في التنقل في الخدمات العقلية والصحية. 

سيتم افتتاح المركز، الذي يقع في 1406 شارع 12، الجناح 2، وسيبدأ في تقديم الخدمات في مساحته الجديدة اعتبارًا من 18 مارس 2024. وسيتم الافتتاح الكبير في منتصف أبريل! لقراءة المزيد عن IHC، اقرأ هذه المقالة في اتصال مجتمع كولومبيا، والذي تم تضمينه أيضًا أدناه! 

هناك الكثير مما يمكن مشاركته حول مركز مساعدة المهاجرين، و لا تستطيع مارثا الانتظار للدردشة مع الناس حول هذا الموضوع في جلسة التجمع والاستراتيجية الريفية يوم السبت 6 أبريل في وودبرن! سجل هنا للتجمع!

سيتم افتتاح مركز مساعدة المهاجرين التابع لشبكة Hood River Latino في 18 مارس

بقلم كول جودوين

نهر هود، أوريغون، 29 فبراير 2024 –شبكة نهر هود لاتينو و ال مشروع التنظيم الريفي حصلوا على مفاتيح مركز مساعدة المهاجرين (IHC) الجديد في 1406 شارع 12، الجناح 2، في Hood River، أو في 28 فبراير 2024 الساعة 3:30 مساءً، وسيكون IHC بمثابة مركز مجتمعي وخدمات شاملة، الفعاليات الثقافية، وتنمية المهارات القيادية، ورابط للمساعدة في الخدمات النفسية والصحية.

لقد كانت شبكة Hood River Latino بمثابة عمل للعديد من الأشخاص لأكثر من نصف عقد من الزمان سعياً للحصول على مزيد من التمثيل للمجتمع اللاتيني. وفي منطقة الوادي، حيث يشكل المهاجرون والعمال المؤقتون من ذوي الاحتياجات الفريدة نسبة كبيرة من السكان، فإنهم يمثلون الصوت في مواجهة عدم المساواة. 

ومن المتوقع أن يتم افتتاح المركز والبدء في تقديم الخدمات في مساحته الجديدة اعتبارًا من 18 مارس 2024. وسيتم الافتتاح الكبير في منتصف أبريل.

"تحتوي مقاطعة هود ريفر على واحدة من أكبر التجمعات السكانية اللاتينية في ولاية أوريغون (32.1% من مقاطعة هود ريفر تُعرف بأنها من أصل إسباني). وعلى الرغم من شهرتها وسياحتها مثل نهر هود، إلا أنها لا تزال منطقة ريفية، لذلك لا تتوفر لدينا جميع الخدمات التي تتمتع بها منطقة المترو. قالت مارثا "تيتا" فيردوزكو أورتيجا: "سيساعد مركز مساعدة الهجرة في سد الفجوة في الخدمات المقدمة لللاتينيين في منطقة كولومبيا جورج". 

"ستساعد المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية في تمكين الفئات الأكثر ضعفاً والدفاع عنها. وقالت فيردوزكو أورتيجا: "سوف نتأكد من إعدادهم ليكونوا ناجحين. نرحب بجميع المهاجرين". 

لن تكون الأحداث والمظاهرات هي نفسها دون دعم أشخاص مثل أمبير روزي، وخوسيه بيبيان، وأرتورو ليفا، وصامويل موريللو، ومونيكا روميرو، وباتي فيردوزكو، وغيرهم الكثير الذين لعبوا دورًا أساسيًا في تعزيز هذه الحركة.

ستقدم المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية عددًا من الخدمات للمجتمع بما في ذلك: 

مساعدة المجتمع، وحقوق العمال، وحقوق المستأجر، وموارد الهجرة

يمكن لأعضاء المجتمع الحضور أو تحديد مواعيد للتعرف على المشكلات والتعامل معها مثل حقوق المستأجر، وتعويضات العمال والموظفين، وكيفية التسجيل للتصويت، وعملية المواطنة، ودعم البطاقة الخضراء، بالإضافة إلى أي أسئلة ومخاوف أخرى قد تنشأ. سيكون لديهم أيضًا محامي هجرة وخدمات قانونية أخرى متاحة للتشاور مع استمرار المكتب في تأسيس نفسه.

قال فيردوزكو أوريتيجا: "سنقوم بإجراء فحوصات ونساعد في توجيه الأشخاص خلال عملية الوصول إلى السكن الميسور التكلفة، والمساعدة في الإيجار، والمساعدة في المرافق، والتجوية، وموارد الصحة البدنية والسلوكية والعقلية، وأي شيء آخر يحتاجون إلى المساعدة فيه". 

تأمل IHC أيضًا في إحداث تغييرات ثقافية حول الحديث عن الصحة العقلية والمواضيع الحساسة الأخرى.

وقالت فيردوزكو-اورتيجا: "من الناحية الثقافية، هناك ميل لدى المهاجرين لعدم التحدث عن احتياجاتهم ومعاناتهم، ونحن هنا للمساعدة في تغيير ذلك، ولجعل الناس يعرفون أنه من المقبول طلب المساعدة". 

ويأملون أيضًا في بناء اتصالات مع القنصلية المكسيكية في المستقبل وإحضار "El Consulado Movil" في كثير من الأحيان إلى الوادي. "نتلقى الكثير من المكالمات من الأشخاص الذين يطلبون المساعدة في تحديد موعد مع القنصلية المكسيكية في بورتلاند. قال فيردوزكو أورتيجا: “نريد أن نجعل العملية أسهل قليلاً لشعبنا”. 

مركز التدريب

ستستضيف المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية فصولاً مجتمعية تساعد في بناء المعرفة الاقتصادية ومهارات القوى العاملة بالإضافة إلى التدريب الإعلامي للشباب. 

قالت فيردوزكو-أوريتيجا: "تقدمنا بطلب للحصول على منحة تزود مكتبنا بستة أجهزة كمبيوتر للمساعدة في التدريب".

الموارد الثقافية ومركز الأحداث

وتأمل IHC في إقامة ودعم الفعاليات الثقافية المحلية. سيكون المركز بمثابة مكان لعمال المزارع والمهاجرين للالتقاء وتوفير البنية التحتية اللازمة للتنظيم والاستجابة للأولويات المتغيرة في المجتمع.

مجتمع القيادة وحاضنة الحملة

ويهدف المركز إلى دعم وجمع الجيل القادم من المنظمين. 

وقالت فيردوزكو-أوريتيجا: "سنوفر مساحة للاجتماعات لتعزيز القيادة بين الأجيال المتعددة للعمل معًا لوضع الاستراتيجيات ومشاركة التقنيات وحل المشكلات وتحديد الحلول المجتمعية".

وشدد فيردوزكو على أن المشروع أصبح ممكنًا بفضل العمل الجاد الذي قام به المجتمع الأكبر وشراكة HRLN مع مشروع التنظيم الريفي. 

وقالت فيردوزكو أوريتيجا: "لقد وضعونا تحت جناحهم حتى حصلنا على وضع غير ربحي". "حلمنا وشغفنا هو مساعدة موظفينا، وقد منحتنا شرطة عمان السلطانية جميعًا في HRLN الفرصة لتحقيق هذه الأحلام."

مشروع التنظيم الريفي هو منظمة على مستوى الولاية تدعم قاعدة شعبية متعددة القضايا تتمحور حول الريف في ولاية أوريغون. تأسست شرطة عمان السلطانية عام 1992، وتعمل على بناء ودعم معيار مشترك للكرامة الإنسانية: الإيمان بالقيمة المتساوية لجميع المجتمعات، والحاجة إلى المساواة في الوصول إلى العدالة، والحق في تقرير المصير.  

قال فيردوزكو-أوريتيجا: "نحن نتقدم بطلب للحصول على المنح ونرحب بأي تبرعات ودعم يمكن أن يقدمه الأشخاص لمركز المساعدة".

للتبرع إلى البريد الإلكتروني HRLN hoodriverlatino@gmail.com. للتواصل مع HRLN اتصل بالرقم 541-490-5579 أو أرسل بريدًا إلكترونيًا hoodriverlatino@gmail.com

العربية

Welcome to the team, Martha!

This year’s Caucus will be on Saturday, April 6th in Woodburn, and it’s going to be one for the books. Make sure to register your group by Friday to help ROP organizers get an accurate head count for chairs, meals, childcare, interpretation and housing. Have questions? Email Sidra at sidra@rop.org

We are so excited to introduce the newest member to the ROP staff team: Martha Verduzco-Ortega! 

Martha joined the ROP Board in 2017 and served as Chair until this transition. She is one of the founders and leaders of Hood River Latino Network and was a key leader in the campaigns to support hunger strikers at the NORCOR regional jail in the Gorge. After years of organizing to end NORCOR’s contract with Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), they were successful in 2021! In addition to forming and organizing with these groups, Martha has also organized community cultural celebrations that have brought together hundreds of people, planned rallies in support of Dreamers, and mobilized support for pro-immigrant legislation in Oregon. Martha’s heart, commitment, and extraordinary instincts have made her an incredible Board Chair, and we are thrilled for her to be transitioning onto the staff team.

Martha holds a baby goat up to the camera!

Martha has already been hard at work opening ROP’s newest field office and Immigrant Help Center (IHC) in Hood River on behalf of Hood River Latino Network and ROP. The IHC will act as a community hub and wrap-around service center. Programming will include cultural events, leadership skills development, and assistance in navigating mental and health services. 

The Center, located at 1406 12th St, Suite 2, will open and begin offering services in its new space starting March 18th, 2024. The grand opening will take place in mid-April! To read more about the IHC, read this article in the Columbia Community Connection, which is also included below! 

There is so much more to share about the Immigrant Help Center, and Martha can’t wait to chat with folks about it at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on Saturday, April 6 in Woodburn! Register here for the Caucus!

Hood River Latino Network Immigrant Help Center to Open March 18

By Cole Goodwin

Hood River, Ore., February 29, 2024 –Hood River Latino Network and the Rural Organizing Project received the keys for their new Immigrant Help Center (IHC) at 1406 12th St, Suite 2, in Hood River, OR on Feb. 28, 2024 at 3:30 p.m. The IHC will act as a community hub and wrap-around services, cultural events, leadership skills development, and a link for assistance to mental and health services.

Hood River Latino Network has been the labor of several people for more than half of a decade seeking more representation for the Latino community. In the Gorge, where a large portion of the population are immigrants and temporary workers with unique needs, they are the voice in the face of inequalities. 

The Center is expected to open and begin offering services in its new space starting March 18th, 2024. Their grand opening will take place in mid-April.

“Hood River County has one of the highest Latino populations in Oregon (32.1% of Hood River County identifies as Hispanic). And as popular and touristy as Hood River is, it is still a rural area, so we don’t have all the services that the Metro area has. The Immigration Help Center will help bridge the gap in services for Latinos in the Columbia Gorge,” said Martha ‘Tita’ Verduzco-Ortega. 

“The IHC will help empower and advocate for the most vulnerable. We are going to make sure they are set up to be successful,” said Verduzco-Ortega, “All immigrants are welcome.” 

The events and demonstrations would not be the same without the support of people like Ambër Rôsé, Jose Bibian, Arturo Leyva, Samuel Murillo, Monica Romero, Patti Verduzco, and so many more who have been fundamental in the consolidation of this movement.

The IHC will offer a number of services to the community including: 

Community Help, Workers Rights, Renter’s Rights, and Immigration Resources

Community members can walk in or make appointments to learn and navigate issues like tenant rights, employee workers’ compensation, how to register to vote, the citizenship process, and green card support, as well as any other questions and concerns that arise. They will also have an immigration attorney and other law services available for consultation as the office continues to establish itself.

“We will do screenings and help guide people through the process of accessing affordable housing, rent assistance, utility assistance, weatherization, physical, behavioral, and mental health resources, and anything else they need help with,” said Verduzco-Oretega. 

The IHC also hopes to create cultural changes around talking about mental health and other sensitive topics.

“Culturally, there is a tendency for immigrants to not talk about their needs and struggles, we are here to help change that, and let people know it’s okay to ask for help,” said Verduzco-Ortega. 

They also hope to build connections with the Mexican Consulate in the future and bring “El Consulado Movil” more often to the Gorge. “We take a lot of calls from people asking for help in making an appointment with the Mexican Consulate in Portland. We want to make the process a bit easier for our people” said Verduzco-Ortega. 

Training Hub

The IHC will host community classes that help build economic literacy and workforce skills as well as media training for youth. 

“We applied for a grant that would provide our office with six computers to help with training,” said Verduzco-Oretega.

Cultural Resource and Event Hub

The IHC hopes to hold and support local cultural events. The center will serve as a place for farm workers and migrants to meet and provide the infrastructure that is critically needed to organize and be responsive to changing priorities in the community.

Leadership Community and Campaign Incubator

The Center aims to support and bring together the next generation of organizers. 

“We will provide a meeting space to foster multi-generational leadership to come together to strategize and share techniques, to problem solve, and identify community solutions,” said Verduzco-Oretega.

Verduzco emphasized that the project was made possible through the larger community’s hard work and HRLN’s partnership with the Rural Organizing Project. 

“They’ve taken us under their wing until we gain non-profit status,” said Verduzco-Oretega. “Our dream and passion is to help our people and ROP has given all of us at HRLN the opportunity to make those dreams come true.”

Rural Organizing Project is a statewide organization that supports a multi-issue, rural-centered, grassroots base in Oregon. Founded in 1992, ROP works to build and support a shared standard of human dignity: the belief in the equal worth of all communities, the need for equal access to justice, and the right to self-determination.  

“We’re applying for grants and welcome any donations and support people can offer to the help center,” said Verduzco-Oretega.

To donate to HRLN email hoodriverlatino@gmail.com. To connect with HRLN call 541-490-5579 or email hoodriverlatino@gmail.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English