参与这次立法会议的方法!

 

通过过去几个周期的大量努力,我们让俄勒冈州立法机构准备在今年通过一些强有力的立法。多项有益于俄勒冈州农村的法案正在举行听证会,并正在通过委员会进入众议院和参议院。

在此 ROPnet 中,您将找到其中一些法案的更新和参与方式。其中一些法案需要一些额外的支持来帮助它们通过,我们可能需要在会议结束后为一些法案辩护。继续阅读有关与邻居和朋友互动的工具,包括向立法者发送明信片、在家中或在塞勒姆与立法者会面、举办电话会议以及给编辑写信:

我们关注的法案详情:

平等获得道路法——所有人的驾照

2015 年众议院法案 将标准(C 类)俄勒冈州驾驶执照的资格扩大到所有俄勒冈州居民,无论其公民身份如何。在俄勒冈州的大部分农村地区,开车是必不可少的,每个人都应该获得驾照。过去两年,仅因交通违规而被驱逐出境的移民人数增加了138%。俄勒冈州需要创建 符合真实身份的许可证 到 2020 年,这意味着俄勒冈州人将需要升级他们的执照(通过更严格的要求)才能登机或进入联邦大楼。当这种变化发生时,标准驾驶执照将成为司机的次要选择。我们有一个真正的机会通过 平等使用道路法 本次立法会议。

俄勒冈州农村人已经在努力让这项法案获得通过,出现在大厅日(见右侧驾驶执照大厅日的照片!), 召集立法者收集明信片 在他们的社区。我们希望看到它在本届会议上通过,而人类尊严团体已经在制定计划,在它通过后帮助保护这项立法。

无饥饿学校

普遍获得校餐(HB 2760 和 HB 2760-1)和钟声后早餐(HB 2765 和 HB 2765-1) 将极大地扩大俄勒冈州的学校供餐,在用州资金填补缺口之前,通过最大限度地提高联邦报销金额,为几乎所有孩子免费提供学校供餐。 HB 2765 将确保高贫困率的学校在下课后提供早餐,使学生更容易享用早餐,同时保持学校使用对他们有意义的膳食服务模式的灵活性。随着立法机关考虑为 2019 年会议制定一项全面的教育资助法案,这些法案正在获得支持,并将作为更大的一揽子计划的一部分提交给学生成功联合委员会。

另外,请查看 加倍食品钱 (参议院法案 727A) 当在当地农贸市场购买新鲜水果和蔬菜时,这将增加 SNAP 福利的价值——让低收入家庭的餐桌上有更多健康食品,当地农民的口袋里也有更多的钱。

农村宽带

HB 2184 和 SB 69 通过对手机服务的小幅增税(每人每年 $4-$8)为农村宽带服务的发展提供资金。预计每年产生 $1000 万,将通过赠款和贷款分配,用于在农村地区发展宽带连接,优先考虑农村学校。该法案得到了双方和几个组织(俄勒冈州 1000 之友、俄勒冈州农业局、公民公用事业委员会和美国退休人员协会等)的支持,但面临无线运营商的反对。农村宽带到目前为止还没有得到太多关注,但可以为俄勒冈州农村提供急需的资源。致电并写信给您的代表,让他们知道该法案对您的影响。

FAMLI 权益法

SB 121 和 HB 3031 的初衷是创建一个类似于工人补偿或失业补偿基金的基金,供工人在生病、照顾生病的家庭成员或有新孩子(出生或领养)休家事假时使用 有薪酬的,支持联邦政府要求的无薪休假。原来的法案不再被考虑,但一个新的法案(HB2005)目前正在谈判中。我们还不知道新提案的确切形式,但我们知道我们州的工人和家庭迫切需要这种类型的立法。

仇恨犯罪

SB 577 更新和加强现有的仇恨犯罪立法。如果通过,它将改变定义,将针对 LGBTQI 人群的偏见犯罪和仅由一个人实施的仇恨犯罪视为偏见犯罪。它将建立一个全州范围的偏见犯罪报告程序,为州一级的协调员提供资金,并为无法从当地执法部门或法院获得帮助的受害者提供一条报告偏见犯罪的热线,并建立机制为受害者提供支持,即使案件没有导致指控。目前看来该法案将通过,但让你的立法者知道你的想法永远不会有什么坏处!

大屠杀教育

SB 664 要求俄勒冈州的所有公立中学都包括有关大屠杀的历史和意义的教育。该法案似乎会通过,我们很高兴能与全州的教师合作,解决在他们的课程中包括大屠杀教育在内的问题。你有想法吗?给我们发电子邮件告诉我们 艾玛@rop.org!

采取行动:

当人类尊严团体联系他们的立法者时(在这里找到你的代表) 为了表达对将对俄勒冈州农村产生影响的政策的支持,他们还努力让邻居、朋友和社区成员参与到这个过程中,壮大我们的团体并吸引更多人参与进来,以长期支持人类尊严和正义。以下是团体建立地方运动的一些方式,现在通过政策,在未来捍卫它并最终增加我们团体参与的人数:

  • 收集明信片和联系方式! 流通收集签名 驾照明信片.请记住,在明信片上签名的人将帮助我们捍卫这场胜利(当它过去时)并继续为我们社区的移民权利工作。在邮寄明信片之前,请务必记录他们的联系信息,以备将来活动之用。这里有一些 收集明信片的技巧 和一个 样本数据库 用于保存联系信息。联系 ROP (艾玛@rop.org) 如果您希望我们向您发送 明信片.

  • 组织一个代表团在家里或塞勒姆会见你的立法者。 与您的立法者讨论您的团体关心的问题,并询问他们是否打算支持这些法案。 以下是与立法者会面的一些提示.

  • 举办电话派对! 将您的团队聚集在一起,向您的立法者发出呼吁。你可以用这个 调用脚本 为所有人提供驾驶执照,或自行制作。

  • 向当地报纸的编辑提交信件.或者与您的小组聚在一起并制定一个时间表,每周一个人写一封关于重要账单的信。

  • 想做更多? 用这个 创建行动计划的工作表 特定于您的组。联系您当地的 ROP 组织者或发送电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 如果您需要这方面的帮助!

立法会议持续到6月底。加入我们 6 月 1 日农村核心小组和战略会议 庆祝一些胜利,一起制定战略,如何在会议结束前推动通过这些伟大提案中的一些,最重要的是准备建立我们的力量来捍卫我们预期的“全民驾照”胜利!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Ways to get involved this legislative session!

 

Through a lot of hard work over the past few cycles we have an Oregon legislature poised to pass some strong legislation this year. Multiple bills that benefit rural Oregon are getting hearings and are making their way through committees to the floor of the House and Senate.

In this ROPnet, you will find updates on, and ways to engage with, several of those bills. A number of these bills need some extra support to help them pass, and we will likely need to defend some after the session is over. Read on for tools to engage your neighbors and friends including sending postcards to your legislators, meeting with your legislator at home or in Salem, hosting a call party, and writing letters to the editor:

Details on the bills we are focused on:

The Equal Access to Road Act – Driver’s Licenses for ALL

House Bill 2015 expands eligibility for a standard (Class C) Oregon driver’s license to all Oregon residents regardless of citizenship status. Driving is a necessity in much of rural Oregon, and everyone deserves to have access to a driver’s license. In the past two years, the number of immigrants deported as a result of traffic violations alone increased 138%. Oregon is required to create REAL ID compliant licenses by 2020, meaning that Oregonians will need to upgrade their license (through more stringent requirements) in order to board planes or enter federal buildings. When this change happens, the standard driver’s license will be a secondary option for drivers. We have a real chance to pass the Equal Access to Roads Act this legislative session.

Rural Oregonians are already working hard to get this bill passed, showing up to lobby day (see the photo of the Driver’s Licenses Lobby Day to the right!), calling legislators and collecting postcards in their communities. We hope to see it pass this session and human dignity groups are already making plans to help protect this legislation after it passes.

Hunger-Free Schools

Universal Access to School Meals with amendments (HB 2760 and HB 2760-1) and Breakfast After the Bell with amendments (HB 2765 and HB 2765-1) would dramatically expand access to school meals across Oregon, offering school meals to nearly all kids at no charge by maximizing federal reimbursement dollars before filling the gap with state funding. HB 2765 would ensure schools with high-poverty rates serve breakfast after the bell, making breakfast far more accessible to students while maintaining flexibility for schools to use the meal service model that makes sense for them. As the legislature considers a comprehensive education funding bill for the 2019 session, these bills are gaining support and will move to the Joint Committee on Student Success as part of the larger package.

Also, check out Double Up Food Bucks (Senate Bill 727A) which will increase the value of SNAP benefits when used at local farmers’ markets for fresh fruits and vegetables – putting more healthy food on the table of low-income families and more money in the pockets of local farmers.

Rural Broadband

HB 2184 and SB 69 provide funding for the development of rural broadband service through a small tax increase ($4-$8/year per person) on cell phone service. It is expected to generate $10 million/year that would be distributed through grants and loans to develop broadband connection in rural areas, prioritizing rural schools. The bill has support from both parties and several organizations (1000 Friends of Oregon, the Oregon Farm Bureau, the Citizens’ Utility Board and the AARP to name a few), but is facing opposition from wireless carriers. Rural Broadband has not gotten much attention so far, but could provide much needed resources to rural Oregon. Call and write to your representatives to let them know how this bill could impact you.

FAMLI Equity Act

The original intent of SB 121 and HB 3031 was to create a fund, similar to worker’s compensation or unemployment compensation funds, for workers to access when sick, caring for sick family members or having a new child (born or adopted) making family leave paid, bolstering the federally required time off which is unpaid. The original bills are no longer under consideration but a new bill (HB2005) is currently being negotiated. We do not yet know the exact shape of the new proposal but we do know that this type of legislation is sorely needed by workers and families in our state.

Hate Crimes

SB 577 updates and strengthens the existing Hate Crimes legislation. If passed, it will change the definition so that bias crimes committed against LGBTQI folks and hate crimes committed by just one person are considered bias crimes. It will set up a statewide reporting process for bias crimes, provide funding for a coordinator at the state level, and a hotline for reporting bias crimes that will be available to victims who cannot get help from local law enforcement or courts, and also creates mechanisms for support for victims even when the case does not result in charges. It currently seems like this bill will pass, but it never hurts to let your legislator know what you think!

Holocaust Education

SB 664 mandates that all public secondary schools in Oregon include education about the history and meaning of the Holocaust. This bill seems like it will pass, and we are excited to work with teachers around the state to problem solve what including Holocaust Education in their curriculum could look like. Do you have ideas? Let us know by emailing us at emma@rop.org!

Take Action:

As human dignity groups contact their legislators (find you representatives here) to express support for policies that will make a difference for rural Oregon, they are also working to engage neighbors, friends and community members in the process, growing our groups and bringing more people in to support human dignity and justice for the long haul. Below are some of the ways groups are building the local movement, to pass policy now, defend it in the future and ultimately grow the number of people that our groups engage with:

  • Collect postcards, and contact information! Circulate and collect signed postcards for Driver’s Licenses. Remember, the folks who sign postcards are the people who will hlep us defend this victory (when it passes) and continue to work for immigrant rights in our communities. Before you mail the postcard, be sure to capture their contact information for future events. Here are some tips on collecting postcards and a sample database for saving contact information. Contact ROP (emma@rop.org) if you would like us to send you postcards.

  • Organize a delegation to meet with your legislator at home or in Salem. Talk to your legislator about the issues your group cares about and ask if they intend to support these bills. Here are some tips on setting up a meeting with your legislator.

  • Host a call party! Bring your group together to make calls to your legislators. You can use this call script for Driver’s Licenses For All, or make up your own.

  • Submit letters to the editor to your local paper. Or get together with your group and create a schedule where each week one person writes a letter about important bills.

  • Want to do more? Use this worksheet to create an action plan specific to your group. Contact your local ROP organizer or email emma@rop.org if you want help with this!

The legislative session lasts through the end of June. Join us at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on June 1st to celebrate some victories, strategize together about how to push a few of these great proposals passed before the session ends, and most importantly prepare to build our strength to defend the victory we anticipate on Driver’s Licenses for All!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English