بصيرة وشرسة: مؤتمر عام 2015!

29 يونيو 2015

منذ ما يزيد قليلاً عن أسبوعين ، اجتمع أكثر من 120 من قادة القرى والبلدات الصغيرة في جلسة التجمع والاستراتيجية الريفية التي استضافتها PCUN ، واتحاد عمال المزارع في ولاية أوريغون وواحد من أطول حلفاء شرطة عمان السلطانية. قمنا معًا بتكريم روح مؤسس شرطة عمان السلطانية مارسي ويسترلنغ من خلال الغناء والغوص بعمق في بناء حركة واستراتيجية تنظيم جريئة ومبتكرة ومثيرة!

قبل 23 عامًا ، عقدت مارسي ويسترلنغ أول جلسة تجمع ريفي واستراتيجية. في ذلك التجمع ، قررت 20 مجموعة كرامة إنسانية من جميع أنحاء ريف ولاية أوريغون تشكيل مشروع التنظيم الريفي. في كل عام منذ ذلك الحين ، اجتمعت مجموعات كرامة الإنسان من جميع أنحاء الولاية لتجمع لتقييم العام الماضي ووضع الخطط للعام المقبل. نحن نضع الإستراتيجيات ، نحتفل ، ونكرم عمل حركتنا معًا. في هذا العام ، خصصنا المؤتمر لمارسي ، وبروحها ، ركزنا على الشكل الذي سيبدو عليه العام المقبل وما نوع الاستراتيجيات التنظيمية المبتكرة التي سنجربها في مجتمعاتنا المحلية!

خرج الحاضرون قائلين إن عطلة نهاية الأسبوع كانت ملهمة وقوية وراقية ومليئة بالصداقة الحميمة والوحدة ومكانًا لاستكشاف أفكار جديدة ومقاربات جديدة للوصول إلى مجتمعاتهم. غادر الناس وهم يعرفون أن هناك آخرين في المدن في جميع أنحاء الولاية يشاركوننا قيمنا ، ويتحركون جميعًا معًا نحو العدالة والكرامة الإنسانية. هذه هي الطاقة والإلهام التي يستعيدها الأشخاص إلى منازلهم للتنظيم للعام المقبل.

خلال الأسابيع القليلة القادمة ، سوف نشارك الملخصات من الجلسات الإستراتيجية المختلفة والأمور البارزة الأخرى من المؤتمر. ابقَ عينك على ROPNET!

بدأت عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الحزبية يوم الجمعة بجولة في إسكان العمال الزراعيين. ذهب الأشخاص في الجولة إلى المزارع المجاورة للتعرف على الطرق التي يحارب بها PCUN ، اتحاد عمال المزارع في ولاية أوريغون ، وينظمه من أجل الإسكان الإنساني. استكشفت الجولة بعد ذلك تشكيل شركة Farmworker Housing Development Corporation التي قامت ببناء مجمعات سكنية جميلة لعمال المزارع في Woodburn ، كاملة مع مختبرات الكمبيوتر والملاعب! في ذلك المساء ، اجتمع PCUN و ROPers معًا لتناول عشاء لذيذ وفيلم وثائقي ومناقشة حول Health Care for All Oregon.

يوم السبت ، الحدث الرئيسي ، اجتمع أكثر من 120 شخصًا ليوم مليء بالإثارة! بدأنا في تكريس المؤتمر لمارسي. ناقشنا بعمق اللحظة التي نحن فيها ؛ لحظة مليئة بالأمل والإلهام مع بناء الحركة من أجل Black Lives Matter ، ولكن أيضًا مع الاعتراف بوجود حركة مضادة متزايدة وإمكانية لرد فعل عنيف.

القبضة الحزبية

رحب بنا رامون راميريز ، رئيس PCUN ، في قاعة اتحاد PCUN وقادنا في أغنية بناءً على طلب مارسي.

السعادات يتحدث

الكلمة الرئيسية لكاثلين سادات ، الحفاظ على الأمل حيا: ما يلزم لبناء حركة ، الغوص في لحظتنا في الوقت المناسب. مع العنصرية والعنصرية أخيرًا نقاش وطني ، حفرت كاثلين في تعميق الظلم الطبقي الذي لا يزال بمنأى عن الخطاب الوطني.

لوحة تجمع

أتاحت محادثة حوض السمك التي شارك فيها العديد من قادة القرى والبلدات الصغيرة الفرصة للحاضرين في التجمع للتعلم من عملهم المذهل ، والدروس التي تعلم كيفية تنظيمهم ، وما الذي يلهمهم!

من اليسار إلى اليمين: كاثلين سعدات ، هانا سوهل من Rogue Climate في مقاطعة جاكسون ، دارسي بيدورثا من منظمة Human Dignity Advocates في مقاطعة Crook County ، وأليكس بود من منظمة Together for Josephine ومجموعة عمل العدالة العرقية في مقاطعة جوزفين ، وإليوت فينسترا من جماعة جوزفين كاونتي العنصرية مجموعة عمل العدالة ، وابل فالاداريس من معهد القيادة CAPACES.

ورشة عمل التجمع

انقسم الجميع إلى مجموعات صغيرة للحديث عن حركتنا. كيف يمكننا بناء ثقافة حركة أكثر حبًا؟ ما الذي نحتاجه لنشعر بالدعم في تنظيمنا؟ كيف يمكن أن يبدو التواصل المباشر مع المجموعات المجاورة في نفس المنطقة من الولاية والعمل معًا؟

بعد مأدبة غداء لذيذة ومُنحت جوائز كرامة الإنسان لأربع مجموعات بارزة (ترقبوا مستقبل ROPNET!) ، أطلقنا رسميًا أصوات منظمة Rural Organizing Voices! أصوات المنظمة الريفية عبارة عن تجميع عبر الإنترنت للتاريخ والمقالات والمقابلات والموارد من تشكيل وتنظيم شرطة عمان السلطانية. شاهد الحاضرون المؤتمرين مقطع فيديو رواه مارسي ويسترلينغ حول أصول شرطة عمان السلطانية واستمعوا إلى مقابلة صوتية مع ديف تولير تصف التنظيم لهزيمة مقترح سجن خاص في جنوب أوريغون في عام 1996. انقر هنا للتحقق من أصوات المنظمات الريفية!

بعد ذلك ، كان أمام الحاضرين في التجمع خيار كبير للقيام به بين مسارين من جلسات الإستراتيجية! ترقب الملاحظات من كل جلسة قريبًا!

1. المجتمع والمرونة في وجه اليمين
يسلط حشد جماعات "الوطنيين" والميليشيات في جنوب ولاية أوريغون الضوء على حركة الميليشيات المتنامية على المستوى الوطني ، والتي تغذيها الأزمة الاقتصادية المستمرة والغضب المتوقع للعمال والمحاربين القدامى. مع استمرار نمو الحوار الوطني حول العرق ، يمكننا أن نتوقع أن نرى رد فعل عنيفًا متزايدًا ، خاصة في ولايات مثل أوريغون التي أطلق عليها العنصريون البيض اسم "الوطن الأبيض". مع تضاؤل تمويل إدارات العمدة والاستجابة للطوارئ ، يقدم اليمين بدائل ملموسة: الميليشيات ، وموارد استعداد المجتمع ، والدورات التدريبية ، والمزيد. كيف نبني تحالفات مجتمعية واسعة للتغلب على الاستقطاب؟ كيف يمكننا إبقاء خطوط الاتصال مفتوحة ودرجات الحرارة منخفضة خلال لحظات الأزمات المجتمعية؟

  • أمسك العلم: كيف نطالب بالمساحة في مجتمعاتنا مع وضع قيمنا في المقدمة ، والتحقق من صحة المعاناة التي تشعر بها مجتمعاتنا ، وتلبية الاحتياجات الفورية لجيراننا حيث تتفكك شبكات الأمان الاجتماعي من حولنا؟ سنقوم بعصف ذهني لتنظيم استراتيجيات لخلق وتطوير رؤى مجتمعية بديلة تركز على كرامة الإنسان والديمقراطية للجميع.
  • مقاطعة تلو الأخرى: مواجهة الحق من OCA إلى حراس القسم: ما هي الاستراتيجيات التي يستخدمها اليمين لبناء قاعدته ، وتطوير القادة ، وبناء القوة السياسية في ريف ولاية أوريغون؟ سنلقي نظرة شاملة على الاستراتيجيات السياسية لليمين لبناء قاعدتهم ، وتطوير القادة ، وبناء القوة السياسية من خلال إدارات شريف ولجان المقاطعات في ريف أوريغون ، ووضع خطوات ملموسة تالية لاستراتيجيات تنظيم مجموعة الكرامة الإنسانية التي تدعم قيم الديمقراطية والكرامة الإنسانية والعدالة.

II. أجندة الشعب لريف أوريغون
تتعرض مجتمعاتنا لأشكال مختلفة من الإكراه ، ونعمل معًا على بناء رؤية مجتمعية تتغلب على هذه الأشكال من الإكراه. سنناقش في هذا المسار استراتيجيات لتعزيز رؤيتنا للعدالة والكرامة الإنسانية في العام المقبل. ما هي الخطوات التالية لتنظيم كرامة العمال في ريف ولاية أوريغون؟ ما هي فرصنا في التنظيم من أجل العدالة العرقية وحقوق المهاجرين ، مع معالجة ردود الفعل العنصرية والمناهضة للمهاجرين؟ ما هي مداخل عمل الإصحاح البيئي وربط النقاط بكرامة الإنسان والديمقراطية والمجتمعات الريفية الصحية؟ تشمل الاختراقات:

  • $15 الحد الأدنى للأجور: ما هي قيمة العمال؟
  • من حياة السود إلى حقوق المهاجرين: كيف يظهر ريف أوريغون من أجل العدالة العرقية
  • ريف أوريغون على الخطوط الأمامية لتغير المناخ والعدالة البيئية

عدنا سويًا لإغلاق القوقاز بجولة أخرى من الغناء. أقام الناس من جميع أنحاء الولاية لتناول العشاء والتأمل والمناقشة. استمر التخطيط الاستراتيجي حتى الليل!

يوم الأحد ، دارا سيلفرمان مع الظهور من أجل العدالة العرقية (SURJ) يسرت دورة تدريبية واستراتيجية حول كيفية تنظيم البيض من أجل العدالة العرقية! ناقش الحاضرون الطرق التي يتخذون بها إجراءات على المستوى المحلي ، وتعلموا كيف يشارك الناس في جميع أنحاء البلاد في لحظة بناء الحركة هذه ، وغادروا مع الإلهام والأفكار حول كيفية النهوض بعملهم في المنزل!

تدريب سورج - داراتدريب سورج - المجموعة 1تدريب سورج - المجموعة 2

شكراً لكثير من منظمي ونشطاء المدن الريفية والصغيرة الذين يعملون من أجل العدالة والكرامة الإنسانية في مجتمعاتهم! وشكراً لكم على جلسة الإستراتيجية والتجمع الريفي المذهلة هذا العام! لقد قمنا معًا ببناء حركة رائعة حقًا في الوطن نجمع منها القوة لمواصلة عملنا في السنوات القادمة!

بحرارة ، جيسيكا وكارا

العربية

Visionary and Fierce: the 2015 Caucus!‏

June 29th, 2015

Just over two weeks ago, over 120 rural and small town leaders convened at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session hosted by PCUN, Oregon’s farm worker union and one of ROP’s longest allies. Together we honored the spirit of ROP’s founder Marcy Westerling through song and diving deep into bold, innovative, exciting movement building and organizing strategy!

23 years ago, Marcy Westerling convened the first Rural Caucus & Strategy Session. It was at that Caucus that 20 human dignity groups from across rural Oregon decided to form the Rural Organizing Project. Every year since, human dignity groups from around the state have convened for a gathering to assess the last year and make plans for next year. We strategize, we celebrate, and we honor our movement work together. This year, we dedicated the Caucus to Marcy and, in her spirit, we focused in on what our next year will look like and what kind of innovative organizing strategies we are going to try in our home communities!

Attendees came away saying that the weekend was Inspiring, powerful, uplifting, full of camaraderie and unity, and a place to explore new ideas, new approaches for reaching their communities. Folks left knowing that there are others in towns across the state who share our values, all moving together toward justice and human dignity. This is the energy and inspiration folks take back home to organize for the next year.

Over the next few weeks, we will share summaries from the various strategy sessions and other highlights from the Caucus. Keep an eye on ROPNET!

The Caucus weekend kicked off on Friday with a tour of farmworker housing. Folks on the tour went out to neighboring farms to learn about the ways that PCUN, Oregon’s farmworker union, fights and organizes for humane housing. The tour then explored the formation of the Farmworker Housing Development Corporation that has built beautiful farmworker housing complexes in Woodburn, complete with computer labs and playgrounds! That evening, PCUN and ROPers got together for a delicious dinner, a documentary, and discussion about Health Care for All Oregon.

On Saturday, the main event, over 120 folks convened for an action-packed day! We started off dedicating the Caucus to Marcy. We discussed in depth the moment we are in; a moment of great hope and inspiration as the movement builds for Black Lives Matter, but also acknowledging that there is a growing counter-movement and potential for backlash.

caucus fists

Ramon Ramirez, President of PCUN, welcomed us to the PCUN Union Hall and led us in song, at Marcy’s request.

saadat speaking

Kathleen Saadat’s keynote, Keeping Hope Alive: what it takes to build a movement, dove into our moment in time. With race and racism finally a national discussion, Kathleen dug into a deepening class inequity that is still untouched by national discourse.

caucus panel

A fishbowl conversation featuring several rural and small town leaders offered the Caucus attendees the opportunity to learn from their incredible work, the lessons that inform how they organize, and what inspires them!

From left to right: Kathleen Saadat, Hannah Sohl from Rogue Climate in Jackson County, Darcy Bedortha from the Human Dignity Advocates of Crook County, Alex Budd from Together for Josephine and the Josephine County Racial Justice Working Group, Eliot Feenstra from the Josephine County Racial Justice Working Group, and Abel Valladares from the CAPACES Leadership Institute.

caucus workshop

Everyone broke up into small groups to talk about our movement. How can we build a more loving movement culture? What do we need to feel supported in our organizing? What could it look like to connect directly with neighboring groups in the same region of the state and work together?

After a delicious lunch and Human Dignity Awards were awarded to two four outstanding groups (keep an eye out for a future ROPNET!), we officially launched Rural Organizing Voices! Rural Organizing Voices is an online compilation of history, essays, interviews, and resources from ROP’s formation and organizing. Caucus attendees watched a video narrated by Marcy Westerling about ROP’s origins and listened to an audio interview with Dave Toler describing the organizing to defeat a private prison proposal in Southern Oregon in 1996. Click here to check out Rural Organizing Voices!

Caucus attendees then had a big choice to make between two tracks of strategy sessions! Keep an eye out for notes from each session soon!

I. Community and Resilience in the Face of the Right
The mobilization of “patriot” and militia groups to Southern Oregon shines a spotlight on a nationally growing militia movement, fueled by an ongoing economic crisis and the predictable anger of working people and veterans. As the national conversation on race continues to grow, we can expect to see a growing backlash, especially in states like Oregon that are named by white supremacists as “the white homeland”. As funding for sheriffs departments and emergency response dwindle, the Right is offering concrete alternatives: militias, community preparedness resources, trainings, and more. How do we build broad community coalitions to overcome polarization? How can we keep lines of communication open and temperatures low during moments of community crisis?

  • Capture the Flag: How do we claim space in our communities with our values at the forefront, validate the suffering our communities are feeling, and meet the immediate needs of our neighbors as social safety nets disintegrate around us? We will brainstorm organizing strategies for creating and advancing alternative community visions that center on human dignity and democracy for all.
  • County-by-County: Countering the Right from the OCA to the Oath Keepers: What strategies are the Right employing to build their base, develop leaders, and build political power in rural Oregon? We will take a comprehensive look at the Right’s political strategies to build their base, develop leaders, and build political power through Sheriff’s departments and County Commissions in rural Oregon, and develop concrete next steps for human dignity group organizing strategies that uphold the values of democracy, human dignity, and justice.

II. A People’s Agenda for Rural Oregon
Our communities are under different forms of duress, and together we are building a vision of community that overcomes these forms of duress. In this track we will discuss strategies for advancing our vision for justice and human dignity in the next year. What are next steps for workers dignity organizing in rural Oregon? What are our opportunities to organize for racial justice and immigrant rights, while addressing anti-immigrant and racist backlash? What are the entry points for environmental justice work and connecting the dots to human dignity, democracy, and healthy rural communities? Breakouts include:

  • $15 Minimum Wage: How much more are workers worth?
  • From Black Lives Matter to Immigrant Rights: How Rural Oregon Shows Up for Racial Justice
  • Rural Oregon on the Frontlines of Climate Change & Environment Justice

We came back together to close out the Caucus with another round of singing. Folks from across the state stayed for dinner, reflection, and discussion. The strategizing continued well into the night!

On Sunday, Dara Silverman with Showing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ) facilitated a training and strategy session on how to organize white folks for racial justice! Attendees discussed ways they are taking action locally, learned how folks across the country are engaging in this movement building moment, and left with inspiration and ideas about how to advance their work at home!

surj training - darasurj training - group 1surj training - group 2

Thank you to the many rural and small town organizers and activists who work for justice and human dignity in their communities! And thank you for an incredible Rural Caucus & Strategy Session this year! Together we have built a truly remarkable movement home from which to gather strength to carry our work on into the years to come!

Warmly, Jessica & Cara

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English