在谢里登联邦监狱守夜以抵抗 ICE

在过去的一个月里, 移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 将数百名儿童从父母身边带走,并将他们分别安置在全国各地的拘留设施中.被监禁的移民人数的急剧增加导致 ICE 转向五个联邦监狱,以容纳 1,600 多名移民,其中包括许多寻求庇护的移民。 123 名移民和寻求庇护者现在被不公正地拘留在俄勒冈州 Yamhill 县的 Sheridan 联邦惩教所 (FCI). 在被拒绝进入几天后,律师终于能够会见被拘留在 Sheridan FCI 的 10 人俄勒冈州的农村人聚集在一起要求伸张正义并结束 ICE 撕裂家庭的行为。 加入我们 在星期一 在谢里登守夜,声援被关押在联邦监狱围墙后的人.
位于 Yamhill 县的移民权利组织 Unidos Bridging Community 和其他当地团体在听到他们县的联邦监狱被用来监禁移民和难民的消息后立即采取行动。

 

在星期天 下午,Unidos 与 52 人在监狱附近举行了守夜活动,他们还共同举办了一场全州守夜活动。 下周一.阅读有关由工发组织、农村组织项目、峡谷 ICE 抵抗组织、Yamhill 县民主党、移民正义跨信仰运动、波特兰移民权利联盟和 Causa 组织的守夜活动的更多信息 脸书活动在这里检查守夜 支持以下 FCI Sheridan 工作的详细信息和其他方式。 

工发组织和多个地方和全州组织正在努力为被拘留在 FCI Sheridan 的人争取法律资源,为被拘留者提供即时支持,并反对特朗普政府将父母和孩子分开的“零容忍”政策。从在峡谷工作的人的经验中学习 在 NORCOR 终止 ICE 合同,他们正在全州范围内开展工作,以终止使用公共机构和联邦监狱来拘留移民、难民和寻求庇护者。

以下是全州人类尊严团体和领导人可以支持 FCI Sheridan 工作的方式:

参加 6 月 18 日星期一下午 5:30-7:00 在俄勒冈州谢里登举行的守夜活动! 来自全州的俄勒冈人将于本周一聚集在一起,要求立即停止使用 FCI Sheridan 拘留移民和难民。 敬请留意脸书活动,了解地点详情.

这是一个全州范围的聚会,所以请带上一个包含您所在城镇或县名称的标志,以表明我们在俄勒冈州农村地区的团结。请发电子邮件 cara@rop.org 让我们知道您是否参加,以便我们也可以将您所在的县/团体包括在参与社区的名册中。

捐款支持在 FCI Sheridan 被拘留的移民和难民: Unidos 正在为电话和小卖部物品筹集资金。 在他们的网页上捐款在这里 并在笔记中加入“For Sheridan”。或者,您可以将支票邮寄给 Unidos 309 NE Third St. Suite 1, McMinnville 或 97128 并确保在备注行中包含“For Sheridan”。

作为 FCI Sheridan 法律响应的一部分,支持和/或志愿服务: 创新法律实验室正在寻找志愿律师、法律助理、心理健康提供者、社区资源人员、口译员和其他人,以寻求协调一致的法律回应。 在此处注册以自愿参与并支持法律响应.

信仰领袖采取行动: 来自 Yamhill 县和宗教间移民正义运动 (IMIrJ) 的当地神职人员正在协调一项信仰回应。 如果您是神职人员,请在写给 FCI Sheridan 的这封信上签名 星期日.此外,神职人员可以通过向 FCI Sheridan 发送电子邮件来注册访问被 ICE 拘留的移民和难民 ron@imirj.org.

就在上个月,作为 ROP 农村核心小组和战略会议的一部分,农村 俄勒冈州人在达尔斯集会,要求终止当地公共监狱 NORCOR 的 ICE 合同.本周一,我们将再次团结起来,声援被 ICE 拘留并关押在 FCI Sheridan 的移民和难民。 ICE拘留人数的急剧增加意味着联邦机构将越来越多地求助于我们的公共机构、地方监狱和联邦监狱来监禁移民和难民。全州的俄勒冈州农村居民抵制使用我们的机构拘留和驱逐我们的邻居。加入 ROP 和 Unidos 在星期一 在谢里登守夜并继续关注 网络 在接下来的几周内,我们将获得抵抗 ICE 和反击的更新和策略!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Vigil at Sheridan Federal Prison to Resist ICE

In the last month, Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) has torn hundreds of children away from their parents and placed both in separate detention facilities across the country. The sharp increase in the number of immigrants incarcerated has led ICE to turn to five federal prisons to house over 1,600 immigrants, including many seeking asylum. 123 immigrants and asylum seekers are now unjustly detained at Sheridan Federal Correctional Institution (FCI) in Yamhill County, OR. After days of being denied access, lawyers were finally able to meet with 10 of the people detained at Sheridan FCIRural Oregonians are coming together to demand justice and an end to ICE ripping families apart. Join us on Monday for a vigil in Sheridan in solidarity with those detained behind the walls of the federal prison.
Unidos Bridging Community, a Yamhill County-based immigrant rights organization, along with other local groups, jumped into action when they heard the news that the federal prison in their county was being used to incarcerate immigrants and refugees.

 

On Sunday afternoon, Unidos held a vigil with 52 people near the prison and they are also co-hosting a statewide vigil this coming Monday. Read more about the vigil, organized by Unidos, Rural Organizing Project, Gorge ICE Resistance, Yamhill County Democrats, Interfaith Movement for Immigrant Justice, Portland Immigrant Rights Coalition, and Causa on the facebook event hereCheck out the vigil details and other ways to support the work at FCI Sheridan below. 

Unidos and multiple local and statewide organizations are working to secure legal resources for those detained at FCI Sheridan, provide immediate support for those detained and to push back against the Trump Administration’s “zero-tolerance” policy that separates parents and children. Learning from the experience of those working in the Gorge to end the ICE contract at NORCOR, they are building upon the statewide work to end of the use of public institutions and federal prisons to detain immigrants, refugees and asylum seekers.

Here are the ways that human dignity groups and leaders around the state can support the work at FCI Sheridan:

Join the vigil on Monday, June 18th from 5:30-7:00 pm in Sheridan, OR! Oregonians from all over the state will be gathering together this Monday to demand an immediate end to the use of FCI Sheridan for detention of immigrants and refugees. Stay tuned via the facebook event for details on location.

This is a statewide gathering, so please bring a sign that includes the name of your town or county to show our solidarity across rural Oregon. Please email cara@rop.org to let us know if you are attending so we can also include your county/group in the roster of participating communities.

Donate to support immigrants and refugees detained at FCI Sheridan: Unidos is collecting funds for phone calls and commissary items. Donate on their webpage here and include “For Sheridan” in the notes. Alternatively, you can mail a check to Unidos at 309 NE Third St. Suite 1, McMinnville OR 97128 and be sure to include “For Sheridan” in the memo line.

Support and/or volunteer as part of the legal response at FCI Sheridan: Innovation Law Lab is seeking volunteer attorneys, legal assistants, mental health providers, community resource people, interpreters and others for a coordinated legal response. Sign up here to volunteer with and support the legal response.

Faith leaders take action: Local clergy from Yamhill County and Interfaith Movement for Immigrant Justice (IMIrJ) are coordinating a faith response. If you are a member of clergy sign onto this letter to FCI Sheridan by Sunday. In addition, clergy can sign up to do a visit to immigrant and refugees detained by ICE at FCI Sheridan by sending an email to ron@imirj.org.

Just last month, as part of ROP’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session, rural Oregonians rallied in The Dalles to demand an end to the ICE contract at NORCOR, a local public jail. This Monday we will come together again in solidarity with immigrants and refugees detained by ICE and held at FCI Sheridan. The sharp increase in the number of people detained by ICE means that the federal agency will increasingly turn to our public institutions, local jails and federal prisons to incarcerate immigrants and refugees. Rural Oregonians across the state are resisting the use of our institutions to detain and deport our neighbors. Join ROP and Unidos on Monday for a vigil in Sheridan and stay tuned to ROPnet over the next few weeks for updates and strategies to resist ICE and fight back!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English