2010 年 4 月 KTA:USSF – 从奥尔巴尼到底特律的运动大楼

“所有有远见的人、思想家、推动者和信徒都应该开始做好准备,立即前往底特律。” 

— Maureen Taylor,美国社会论坛底特律协调员

什么是活动?  运动建筑!  为了改变世界,我们需要人们团结起来,要求并做出改变的协调运动。  这场运动必须比我们现在所拥有的运动更强大、更具战略性和更好的网络化。  幸运的是,今年春季和夏季,在俄勒冈州农村和全国范围内开展更强大的运动的机会比比皆是。 

四月的 KTA 由三部分组成:

1.      确保您的社区在 ROP 中有代表 农村核心小组和战略会议 这个 4 月 10 日 在奥尔巴尼,我们将在那里推进民主经济的家乡战略。  现在报名还不晚!

2.      决定您的小组是否愿意派代表与 ROP 董事会成员杰西卡·坎贝尔一起参加 5 月 8 日在波特兰举行的人民运动大会 (PMA)。  PMA 是一种新型聚会,旨在将社区聚集在一起,就他们肯定哪些价值观以及他们希望我们的社会正义运动采取哪些行动做出决定。  全国各地都有 PMA,将把他们的决议带到美国社会论坛。

3.      加入 ROP 美国底特律社会论坛 这个 6 月 22 日nd – 26.  底特律的 USSF 将是第二个nd 美国社会论坛,将把来自美国各地的运动领袖和草根社区聚集在经济危机的零起点。 

为什么要开展这项活动?  人民运动大会是将我们运动中的不同社区和问题聚集在一起的机会——为种族正义、反贫困、青年、环境正义、工人权利、酷儿权利、移民正义等而努力的团体。  参与者将讨论共同的价值观,并深思熟虑并决定至少一项我们都可以承诺采取的共同行动。  虽然这听起来很简单,但在广泛多样的群体中聚集在一起,集体决定和同意,共同采取行动……这可能是朝着真正的运动建设和我们有潜力利用的人民力量迈出的一大步。  这是 5 月 8 日的预期结果.  这就是来自俄勒冈州的代表将带到底特律参加美国社会论坛全国人民运动大会的内容。    

人民运动大会的核心是行动的决议。基本模板是:

因为这些条件存在:

因为这些机会是可能的:

我们致力于此行动:

并呼吁美国的其他人加入我们。

这是底特律人民运动大会最近的一个例子:

因为 JP Morgan Chase 是 RJ Reynolds 的主要投资者,他们依赖于北卡罗来纳州烟草田的工人,这些工人基本上没有证件,通常处于奴隶劳动条件,

而且因为大通银行是取消底特律房屋抵押品赎回权的主要银行之一

有 20,000 人参加美国社会论坛

我们呼吁以信仰为主导的游行和静坐,工会、宗教团体和个人同时从大通撤资,直到银行迫使雷诺兹与种植者和工人签署协议,并与底特律的房主广泛重新谈判抵押贷款。我们还呼吁密歇根州州长宣布暂停止赎。

俄勒冈州人民运动大会的希望不是把门槛设得太低,只同意群体之间的最低共同点,而是利用这个过程来倾听我们之间的深层联系,什么共同的根本原因可能会让我们团结起来,解决这些问题的创造性行动可能是什么样的,以及所有群体可以采取什么样的集体行动。通过的决议随后将被带到底特律的美国社会论坛。

美国社会论坛将于 6 月在底特律举行为期 4 天的为期 4 天的为期 4 天的为期 4 天的为期 4 天的为期 4 天的为期 4 天的活动,汇集来自全国各地的 20,000 多名活动家和组织者。来自 USSF 的组织者: 美国社会论坛 (USSF) 是一个运动构建过程。它不是一个会议,而是一个为人民提出解决经济和生态危机的方案的空间。 USSF 是我们努力建立强大的多种族、多部门、跨代、多元化、包容性、国际主义运动的下一个最重要步骤,该运动改变了这个国家并改变了历史。我们必须声明我们希望我们的世界是什么样子,我们必须开始规划到达那里的路径。 USSF 提供了相互学习经验和斗争的空间,分享我们对社区面临的问题的分析,建立关系,并与我们的国际兄弟姐妹结盟以制定如何重新规划我们的世界的战略。

完成活动的步骤:

  1. 来到 ROP 核心小组 4月10日 在奥尔巴尼。  成为我们为民主经济和俄勒冈农村地区更强大的运动制定的愿景和集体战略的一部分。  会见主题演讲者和 USSF 和 PMA 组织者 斯蒂芬妮·吉尤 来自亚特兰大的 Project South。  今天注册!   
  2. 了解更多关于 人民运动大会 5 月 8 日在波特兰和 美国社会论坛 6 月 22-26 日在底特律.  决定您的小组是否以及如何参加任一聚会。
  3. 为 5 月 8 日在波特兰举行的人民运动大会注册您的小组 到 4 月 17 日. (在 http://pma.creatingdemocracy.org/registration 注册)
  4. 在 4 月 17 日前提交决议 波特兰的 PMA 分享您的团队和社区的愿景和行动策略。  所有决议将由参与小组审查,然后在 5 月 8 日的 PMA 上讨论.  有关撰写决议的详细信息,请访问 http://pma.creatingdemocracy.org/writing-a-resolution。  要观看最近在底特律举行的 PMA 上通过的亮点和决议的报告,请访问 http://pma.creatingdemocracy.org/
  5. 作为一个小组,在 5 月 2 日前审查所有其他小组的决议并与他们分享意见或疑虑nd.  这将使每个参与团体有机会建立一个更强大的决议,在 PMA 之前将我们运动的不同部分联系起来。 
  6. 如果有兴趣,请于 5 月 8 日派一名代表作为决策者前往波特兰的 PMA.  ROP 董事会成员 Jessica Campbell 将代表 ROP,如果您无法派代表前往波特兰,她也可以与您的小组进行交流。 
  7. 在底特律注册美国社会论坛。  并让 ROP 知道您有兴趣前往,以便我们为 ROP 特遣队制定计划,包括可能从西北到底特律的包车!
  8. 向您的小组和 ROP 汇报:这些聚会如何帮助建立我们的运动?你从他们那里得到了什么?关于我们如何更好地协调我们未来的工作和行动以在美国和世界范围内建立更强大的运动有什么想法?
简体中文

April 2010 KTA: USSF – Movement Building from Albany to Detroit

“It’s imperative that all of the visionaries, the thinkers, the movers, the believers should start getting yourself ready and on your way to Detroit right now.” 

— Maureen Taylor, US Social Forum Detroit Co-Coordinator

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?  Movement building!  To change the world, we need a coordinated movement of people joining together and demanding and making change.  This movement has got to be stronger, more strategic, and better networked than what we’ve got now.  Fortunately, this spring and summer, opportunities abound for building a stronger movement – here in rural Oregon and nationally. 

April’s KTA is a three part-er:

1.      Make sure that your community is represented at ROP’s Rural Caucus and Strategy Session this April 10th in Albany where we’ll be advancing Hometown Strategies for a Democratic Economy.  It’s not too late to register!

2.      Decide if your group would like to send a representative to the People’s Movement Assembly (PMA) on May 8th in Portland along with ROP Board Member Jessica Campbell.  The PMA is a new kind of gathering that is intended to bring a community together to make decisions about what values they affirm and what actions they want our social justice movement to take.  There are PMAs happening around the country that will bring their resolutions to the US Social Forum.

3.      Join ROP at the US Social Forum in Detroit this June 22nd – 26th.  The USSF in Detroit will be the 2nd Social Forum in the US and will bring movement leaders and grassroots communities from every part of the US together at ground zero of the economic crisis. 

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?  The People’s Movement Assembly is a chance to bring the different communities and issues in our movement together – groups who work for racial justice, anti-poverty, youth, environmental justice, workers’ rights, queer rights, immigrant justice, and more.  Participants will talk about common values and deliberate and decide on at least one shared action that we can all commit to taking.  Though this might sound simple, coming together and collectively deciding and agreeing, across a broad diversity of groups, to all take action together… this could be a huge step towards real movement building and the people power that we have the potential to harness.  This is the hoped-for outcome of May 8th.  And it’s what representatives from Oregon will be bringing to Detroit for the National People’s Movement Assembly at the US Social Forum.    

The heart of the People’s Movement Assemblies are resolutions for action. The basic template is:

Because these conditions exist:

And because these opportunities are possible:

We commit to this action:

And call on others in the US to join us.

Here’s a recent example from the People’s Movement Assembly in Detroit:

Because JP Morgan Chase is a major investor in R J Reynolds who relies on workers, largely undocumented, often in slave labor conditions, in the tobacco fields of North Carolina,

And because Chase is among the major banks foreclosing the homes of Detroiters

With 20,000 people here for the US Social Forum

We call for a faith-led march and sit-in, where unions, religious groups, and individuals disinvest simultaneously from Chase until the bank pressures RJ Reynolds to sign an agreement with growers and workers, and also widely renegotiates mortgages with Detroit homeowners. We also call on the Michigan governor to declare a moratorium on foreclosures.

The hope for the People’s Movement Assembly in Oregon is not to set the bar low and only agree to the lowest common denominator among groups, but to use this process to listen to what our deep connections might be, what common root causes might unite us, what creative actions that address these might look like, and what one collective action all groups can take. The resolutions that are passed will then be taken onto Detroit for the US Social Forum.

The US Social Forum will bring together over 20,000 activists and organizers from across the country for 4 days in June in Detroit.  From the organizers of the USSF: The US Social Forum (USSF) is a movement building process. It is not a conference but it is a space to come up with the peoples’ solutions to the economic and ecological crisis. The USSF is the next most important step in our struggle to build a powerful multi-racial, multi-sectoral, inter-generational, diverse, inclusive, internationalist movement that transforms this country and changes history. We must declare what we want our world to look like and we must start planning the path to get there. The USSF provides spaces to learn from each other’s experiences and struggles, share our analysis of the problems our communities face, build relationships, and align with our international brothers and sisters to strategize how to reclaim our world.

STEPS TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

  1. Come to the ROP Caucus on April 10th in Albany.  Be part of our visioning and collective strategizing for democratic economy and a stronger movement in rural Oregon.  Meet keynote speaker and USSF and PMA organizer Stephanie Guilloud from Project South in Atlanta.  Register today!   
  2. Learn more about the People’s Movement Assembly on May 8th in Portland and the US Social Forum in Detroit June 22-26th.  Decide if and how your group might want to participate in either gathering.
  3. Register your group for the People’s Movement Assembly in Portland on May 8th by April 17th. (Register at http://pma.creatingdemocracy.org/registration)
  4. Submit a resolution by April 17th to the PMA in Portland that shares your group and community’s vision and strategy for action.  All resolutions will be reviewed by participating groups and then discussed at the PMA on May 8th.  For details on writing resolutions, go to http://pma.creatingdemocracy.org/writing-a-resolution.  To watch a report back of highlights and resolutions passed at the recent PMA in Detroit go to http://pma.creatingdemocracy.org/
  5. As a group, review all other groups’ resolutions and share comments or concerns with them by May 2nd.  This will give each participating group a chance to build a stronger resolution that connects with different segments of our movement prior to the PMA. 
  6. If interested, send one representative as a decision maker to the PMA in Portland on May 8th.  ROP Board Member Jessica Campbell will be representing ROP and she will also be able to communicate with your group if you are not able to send a representative to Portland. 
  7. Register for the US Social Forum in Detroit.  And let ROP know that you’re interested in going so that we can make plans for the ROP contingent, including a possible chartered bus from the NW to Detroit!
  8. Debrief with your group and ROP: How did these gatherings help build our movement? What did you get out of them? What are ideas on how we can better coordinate our work and actions in the future to build a stronger movement across the US and world?
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English