把声音调大!

7 月 1 日,俄勒冈州西北部的 285 个家庭和个人将被赶出家园。

大多数驱逐行动将发生在哥伦比亚县,失业率为 15.4%。 随着经济危机的加深,很明显,我们需要的是为受灾最严重的邻国提供更多支持,而不是更少。我们需要一种方法来确保我们社区中每个人的基本生活水平,其中包括穷人、残疾人和老年人。

 但在这种经济中,我们如何负担得起呢?俄勒冈州公共政策中心刚刚发布了一份情况说明书,向我们表明有必要增加收入以避免更多的削减。 众议院法案 2649 和 3405很快就会提交给立法机构,这将使我们能够通过对最富有的人和公司加税来避免一些削减。 (立即致电您的代表以支持这些法案!)

但一刀切—— 俄勒冈州西北部的 HUD 补贴住房援助 ——好像已经实施了。上周,ROP 接到了来自 迈克·库克 蒂拉穆克县。 迈克与俄勒冈州曼萨尼塔的 NeahCasa 社区住房信托合作, 并打电话告诉我们,他的数十名客户已经开始收到来自西北房屋委员会的令人不安的信件,通知他们他们的住房援助将于 7 月 1 日结束。

ROP 成员团体 Latinos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor 的 Martha Olmstead 也在圣海伦斯的社区行动小组负责过渡性住房计划。 在与接受支持的家庭一起工作多年后,她已经准备好用她所拥有的一切来保护这 285 名客户。每次有人带着 HUD 终止信进来时,她都会鼓励他们写自己的私人信件,说明他们为什么需要这个住房。 然后她制作了数十份影印件并将它们发送给 HUD 和民选官员。 她现在开始听到每个人的回应,从当地社区领袖到俄勒冈州参议员杰夫默克利。

自从迈克·库克打来电话以来 来自整个地区的住房倡导者齐聚一堂,提高音量! 一个由活动家和社会服务提供者组成的特设小组发出的新闻稿导致 提高知名度的文章 在南县聚光灯下,同一团体现在正在施加压力,要求 HUD 介入以填补资金缺口。

2009 年我们生活在一个新的现实中,我们的声音确实很重要,但前提是我们让他们听到。所以让我们在这方面树立一个真正的先例, 并把音量调得更大!

作为人类尊严的信徒,我们知道要使我们的民主发挥作用,就必须达到基本的生活标准。如果我们想扭转经济形势并从基层建立强大的社区,这是第一步。

那你还在读书干什么?开始工作!

我们需要尽可能多地致电 HUD,以及我们的俄勒冈州参议员和 David Wu(如果您住在第 1 区)。告诉他们俄勒冈州农村人应该并且需要比这更好的。告诉他们我们必须在俄勒冈州预算中找到资金来让人们留在家里。

接触:
HUD 俄勒冈州外勤办公室主任 Roberta Ando: (971) 222-2600
参议员 Ron Wyden、参议员 Jeff Merkley 和第一选区代表 David Wu: 拨打 Capitol Switchboard 免费电话 1-800-828-0498 并询问上述任何代表。

如果您已拨打电话,请通过 cara@rop.org 告诉我们,让我们让这种状态回到正轨!

附注。看 这里 租客收到的信的副本。

简体中文

Turn UP the Volume!

On July 1st, 285 families and individuals in the Northwest part of Oregon will be turned out of their homes.

Columbia County, where most of those evictions will take place, has an unemployment rate of 15.4%. As the economic crisis deepens, it becomes clear that what we need is more support for our neighbors that have been hardest hit, not less. We need a way to ensure a basic standard of living for everybody in our community, and that includes the poor, the disabled, and the elderly.

 But how will we afford it in this economy? The Oregon Center for Public Policy has just released a fact sheet that shows us that it is necessary to raise more revenue in order to avoid even more cuts. House Bills 2649 and 3405, coming before the legislature very soon, will allow us to avoid some cuts by raising taxes on the most wealthy and on corporations. (Call your representatives now to support these bills!)

But one cut – for HUD-subsidized housing assistance in northwest Oregon – seems to have already been implemented. Last week, ROP got a call from Mike Cook of Tillamook County. Mike works with the NeahCasa community housing trust out of Manzanita, Oregon, and called to inform us that dozens of his clients had started to come in with distressing letters from the NW Housing Authority, informing them that their housing assistance would end on July 1st.

Martha Olmstead of ROP member group Latinos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor also runs the transitional housing program at Community Action Team in Saint Helens. After working for years with families receiving support to step by slow step to get them into housing, she is ready to defend these 285 clients with all that she’s got. Every time somebody comes in with a HUD termination letter, she encourages them to write their own personal letter about why they need this housing. Then she makes dozens of photocopies and blasts them off to HUD and elected officials. She’s now starting to hear responses from everybody from local community leaders to Oregon Senator Jeff Merkeley.

Since the initial call from Mike Cook, housing advocates from across the region have come together to turn up the volume! A press release sent out by an ad-hoc group of activists and social service providers led to a visibility-raising article in the South County Spotlight, and the same group is now building pressure to get HUD to step in to fill a funding gap.

We’re living a new reality in 2009, one where our voices do count, but only when we make them heard. So let’s set a real precedent on this one, and turn the volume up even MORE!

As believers in Human Dignity, we know that a basic standard of living is required in order for our democracy to function. This is the first step if we want to turn this economy around and build strong communities from the grassroots up.

So what are you still reading for? Get to work!

We need as many calls as possible going out to HUD, and to our Oregon Senators and David Wu if you live in House District 1. Tell them that rural Oregonians deserve and need better than this. Tell them that we have GOT to find funding in the Oregon state budget to keep folks in their homes.

Contact:
Roberta Ando, Field Office Director at HUD Oregon: (971) 222-2600
Senator Ron Wyden, Senator Jeff Merkley, and 1st District Representative David Wu: Call the Capitol Switchboard tollfree at 1-800-828-0498 and ask for any of the above representatives.

Let us know at cara@rop.org if you’ve made the call, and let’s get this state back on track!

PS. See here for a copy of the letter that renters are getting.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English