权力俱乐部的真相:配对教育和行动

今年二月,亚什兰高中的真相力量俱乐部在 Instagram 上与我们联系,分享他们的播客, 茶、吐司和真相.他们如何在播客中将无家可归和黑人青年的无谓谋杀等问题联系起来,同时还通过组织活动呼吁社区采取行动,例如为面临扫荡的无家可归社区成员提供补给活动,以及创作壁画,这给我们留下了深刻的印象。改变了亚什兰、俄勒冈和美国的有色人种有权势的人。 在 6 月的《乡村根源崛起》一集中,我们精选了来自 茶、吐司和真相 在亚什兰挖掘无家可归的人.在 Rural Roots Rising 的第二季结局中,我们采访了三位强大的社区领袖,他们创造了 茶、吐司和真相 了解更多关于他们将教育、媒体和组织交织在一起的方式! 在您当地的电台、您最喜欢的播客平台或在 农村rootsrising.org! 

描绘学生绘制政治抗议标志的图形

Truth to Power 成立的目标是创建一个播客,解决当今亚什兰青少年面临的问题,同时将社区中的行动与他们在广播中报道的每个主题配对。 2020 年 11 月,就在他们成立几个月后,当 19 岁的黑人艾丹·埃里森 (Aidan Ellison) 被一名白人开枪打死时,他震惊了。权力的真相知道他们必须帮助建立社区对这种种族主义暴力行为的反应,因此他们组织了一个名为“亲爱的白人:让我们谈谈种族主义”的研讨会。

“亲爱的白人”收到了大量的积极响应,但也遭到社区成员的反对,他们认为亚什兰不应该谈论种族主义。正如伊兹在采访中所说的那样:“人们就像,'你不应该穿这个。我们镇上好像什么都没有发生。没有种族主义。'”这并没有阻止他们,而是帮助明确了研讨会的必要性!事实上,在第一次研讨会后,有很多人询问是否有录音,或者是否有其他方式参与,俱乐部决定举办一系列研讨会。经过三场研讨会以及对纪录片的放映和讨论 13日,Truth to Power 制定了继续行动的计划。他们开始制作一集专注于阿什兰和艾丹谋杀案的系统性种族主义的播客节目,并决定他们也想为他创作一幅壁画。

通过这个过程,Truth to Power 接触到了 Aidan 的母亲,Andrea。当他们为壁画项目做准备时,俱乐部成员与安德里亚坐下来谈论她希望艾丹如何被记住。权力真相的领导人之一安雅分享说:“我们现在正在努力制作壁画……我们现在正试图获得其他人的许可,其他 BIPOC [黑人、土著和有色人种]来自亚什兰社区做出了惊人的事情并为亚什兰带来了惊人的东西。所以整幅壁画是对艾丹一生的一种庆祝,也是对艾丹一生的尊重,但同时……确保像,[BIPOC Ashland 高中毕业生的] 成就在这里不被忽视。”他们计划包括的其他亚什兰高中毕业生之一是这本书的作者米歇尔亚历山大, 新吉姆·克劳:色盲时代的大规模监禁.

组织三个研讨会、一幅壁画和一个播客听起来可能足以让一个小组承担,但这只是真相力量正在开展的许多项目的皮毛!在他们的小组中有大约 20 名活跃成员,Truth to Power 已经分成小团队来处理心理健康、青少年死亡、Zoom 学校、初恋等话题。他们一直在为人们创造空间,让他们学习新技能,并根据每个俱乐部成员的兴趣,在“权力的真相”的工作中尝试不同的角色。在最新一集中的农村根源崛起中,“权力的真相”分享了他们的“看到无家可归者”一集,并谈到了当真相到权力的大多数成员以前从未参与过播客创建过程的任何部分时,他们正在开发协作流程来创建媒体的方式。 

Tea, Toast, and Truth 的第一个合作剧集“Seeing Homeless”是作为一个大团体一起制作的,目的是让成员培养技能并了解他们最有兴趣在播客制作过程中扮演的角色。正如 Anya 在我们的采访中所分享的那样,“我认为我们从 [创作‘Seeing Homeless’] 中获得了很多东西,我们希望在未来的播客制作中做出改变。所以我认为虽然产品也很棒,但是作为一个团队一起做的体验,并且在某些方面拥有第一个产品对于将团队聚集在一起并弄清楚我们真正想要的方式更有价值合作。”

真理力量俱乐部的标志

与我们在 ROP 合作的许多人类尊严团体一样,Truth to Power 正在学习并在当地社区产生影响,同时他们正在建立新的关系并扩大其成员和支持者的基础。在我们的采访中,Izzy 分享说,制作播客扩大了他们的声音,并为他们提供了一个空间来获得反馈并与他们没有直接合作的社区成员进行对话。 Izzy 说,“我认为我们只是添加了一些我们自己和我们自己的个人喜欢的观点、故事、情感和兴趣,知道这一点非常强大,就像我们有那么多的控制权,我们就像,能够以如此美丽的方式表达自己,并获得公众的反馈。”

在您当地的电台、您最喜欢的播客平台或在 Truth to Power 自己的话中聆听他们的故事 农村rootsrising.org! 如果您有兴趣收听更多有关 Tea、Toast 和 Truth 的内容,您可以收听完整的剧集 Spotify, 锚定调频,或按照真理开机 Facebook 和 Instagram

我们的第二季 Rural Roots Rising 探索了全州以社区为基础的、代际的、协作的农村媒体。您知道我们应该联系的农村媒体制作人吗? Truth to Power 的工作是否激励您对社区中最重要的问题采取行动?您的团队是否正在努力解决如何讲述改变您的社区对当地问题的看法的故事?联系我们 monicap@rop.org 我们很想听听您在做什么或支持您弄清楚从哪里开始!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Truth to Power Club: Pairing Education and Action

This February, Ashland High School’s Truth to Power Club reached out to us on Instagram to share about their podcast, Tea, Toast, and Truth. We were impressed by how they connected the dots between issues like houselessness and the senseless murders of Black youth within the podcast while also calling the community into action through organizing campaigns, like supply drives for houseless community members facing sweeps, and creating a mural holding up the powerful folks of color who have changed Ashland, Oregon, and the US. In June’s episode of Rural Roots Rising, we featured an episode from Tea, Toast, and Truth that dug into houselessness in Ashland. For the second season finale of Rural Roots Rising, we interviewed three of the powerful community leaders who create Tea, Toast, and Truth to learn more about the ways they are intertwining education, media, and organizing! Listen to “Behind the Scenes with Tea, Toast, and Truth” on your local station, your favorite podcasting platform, or at ruralrootsrising.org! 

graphic depicting students drawing political protest sign

Truth to Power was founded with the goal of creating a podcast that tackled the issues teens in Ashland are facing today, while pairing action out in the community with each topic they covered on the air. In November of 2020, just a few months after they formed, Ashland was shocked when Aidan Ellison, a 19-year-old Black man who was playing music in his car, was shot and killed by a white man. Truth to Power knew they had to help build the community response to this act of racist violence and so they organized a workshop called “Dear White Folks: Let’s Talk About Racism.”

“Dear White People” received tons of positive responses, but also pushback from community members who didn’t think Ashland should be talking about racism. As Izzy put it in the interview: “People were like, ‘you shouldn’t be putting this on. There is like nothing going on wrong in our town. There is no racism.’” This didn’t deter them, but instead helped make clear how needed the workshop was! In fact, so many people reached out after the first workshop asking if there was a recording, or if there would be other ways to participate, that the club decided to host a whole series of workshops. After three workshops and a screening and discussion of the documentary 13th, Truth to Power made plans for continued action. They started work on a podcast episode focused on systemic racism in Ashland and Aidan’s murder, and decided they also wanted to create a mural in his honor.

Through this process, Truth to Power reached out and was able to connect with Aidan’s mother, Andrea. As they prepared for the mural project, members of the club sat down with Andrea to talk about her hopes for how Aidan would be remembered. Anya, one of Truth to Power’s leaders, shared: “We are hard at work on the mural right now… And we are right now trying to get permission from other people, other BIPOC [Black, Indigenous, and People of Color] from the Ashland community who have done amazing things and brought amazing things to Ashland. And so the whole mural is kind of a celebration of Aidan’s life and honoring Aidan’s life, but then also …making sure that like, [BIPOC Ashland Highschool graduates’] achievements aren’t overlooked here.” One of the other Ashland High School graduates they are planning to include is Michelle Alexander, author of the book, The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration, in the Age of Colorblindness.

Organizing three workshops, a mural, and a podcast might sound like enough for one group to take on, but this just scratches the surface of the many projects that Truth to Power is working on! With about 20 active members in their group, Truth to Power has split into small teams to tackle topics such as mental health, teen deaths, Zoom school, first love and more. They have been making space for people to learn new skills and try out different roles in Truth to Power’s work based on what each club member is interested in. In the latest episode of Rural Roots Rising, Truth to Power shares about the making of their “Seeing Homeless” episode and touches on the ways they are developing collaborative processes to create media when most of Truth to Power’s members had never participated in any part of the podcast creation process before. 

Tea, Toast, and Truth’s first collaborative episode “Seeing Homeless” was produced together as a big group to allow members to build skills and learn which roles in the podcast-making process they were most interested in taking on. As Anya shares in our interview, “There was a lot of things I think that we gained from [creating ‘Seeing Homeless’] that we wanted to change in our future podcast making. So I think that while the product was amazing too, just the experience of doing it together as a group, and having that first one was in some ways even more valuable to kind of bring the group together and figure out how we wanted to all actually collaborate.”

logo for Truth to Power Club

Like so many human dignity groups that we work with at ROP, Truth to Power is learning as they go and are making a difference in the local community, at the same time that they are building new relationships and growing their base of members and supporters. In our interview, Izzy shared that making the podcast has amplified their voices and given them a space to get feedback and be in conversation with community members they aren’t working with directly. Izzy said, “I think we’re just adding a little bit of ourselves and our own personal like opinions and stories and emotions and interests, which is pretty powerful to know that, like we have that much control, and we’re just like, able to just express ourselves in such a beautiful way and also get feedback from the public.”

Listen to their story in Truth to Power’s own words on your local station, your favorite podcasting platform, or at ruralrootsrising.org! And if you’re interested in listening to more of Tea, Toast, and Truth, you can listen to full episodes on Spotify, Anchor FM, or follow Truth to Power on Facebook and Instagram

Our second season of Rural Roots Rising has been an exploration of community-based, intergenerational, collaborative, rural media from across the state. Do you know a rural media maker we should connect with? Has Truth to Power’s work inspired you to take action on the issues that matter most in your community? Is your group grappling with how to tell stories that shift the way your community thinks about local issues? Reach out to us at monicap@rop.org and we’d love to hear what you are up to or support you in figuring out where to start!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English