俄勒冈州农村的真实故事

 如果我们赢了会是什么样子?

ROP 小组擅长于缓慢的工作,即建立一场真正获胜的运动所需的缓慢工作:成千上万的对话、事件、网络、忙碌的蜜蜂所做的真正组织需要的工作。  获胜的另一个重要部分是讲述我们的故事。

我们可能还不能主宰电波,但我们可以消除现有的主宰叙事,表现得像我们赢了一样,讲述我们的社区是谁以及它可以是谁的故事。

与陷入我们继承的虚假叙述相反, ROP 成员组织 Coastal Progressives 使用了一个小动作——一个人权英雄——来重新构建对话并讲述一个关于移民是谁的不同故事。 他们参加了 ROP 十二月厨房餐桌激进主义 通过关注人权日,并在他们的社区中纪念一位移民人权英雄。

Ginger Gouveia 和 Joanne Cvar 报告:

《世界人权宣言》第一条规定:“人人生而自由,在尊严和权利上一律平等。他们被赋予了理智和良知,应该本着兄弟情谊的精神相互对待。”

考虑到这一点,林肯县的沿海进步人士于 12 月 10 日人权日向沃尔德波特的 Senitila McKinley 颁发了今年的奖项。去年获得该奖项的 11 位沿海进步人士和县专员比尔·霍尔 (Bill Hall) 颁发了奖项,并阅读了《世界人权宣言》的相关文章,而社区成员则坐在那里,脸上洋溢着灿烂的笑容。麦金莱对这一荣誉感到惊讶和感动。

塞尼蒂拉·麦金利 (Senitila McKinley) 是一名南太平洋移民,20 岁时来到俄勒冈州的农村,抵达时不会说英语。而且,在自己学习英语的同时,她立即看到了她所在社区的需求,并在没有资金的情况下着手为俄勒冈海岸的弱势群体提供扫盲计划。

1992 年,她成立了海滨家庭扫盲学习中心,这是一个以社区为基础的非营利组织,致力于帮助儿童、成人和家庭提高阅读、写作、数学、计算机和沟通技巧。此外,Seashore 还提供免费的周六早餐、家庭晚餐、夏季食品计划、课后小吃、社区花园和所有年龄段的免费服装。

麦金利孜孜不倦地为林肯县农村的无家可归青年和家庭提供支持。塞尼蒂拉·麦金莱 (Senitila McKinley) 真正实现了她的人道主义愿景,即为成千上万的弱势青年和家庭实现人权。

看这里 获取今天发表在《纽波特纽斯时报》上的报道该事件的文章的缩写版本。 

并感谢沿海进步人士帮助我们看到并尊重我们社区的简单真理。 

祝大家节日快乐,
阿曼达

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

True Stories from Rural Oregon

 What would it look like if we were winning?

ROP groups excel at the slow work of doing what it takes to build a movement that does win: the thousands of conversations, the events, the networking, the busy bee doing of what real organizing takes.  Another big part of winning is telling our story.

We may not be able to dominate the airwaves yet, but we can chip away at the existing dominate narrative, act like we are winning, and tell our story of who our community is and who it can be.

As opposed to getting caught in a false narrative that we’ve inherited, ROP member group Coastal Progressives used one small action – a human rights hero – to reframe the conversation and tell a different story of who immigrants are. They participated in ROP’s December Kitchen Table Activism by taking note of Human Rights Day, and honoring an immigrant human rights hero in their community.

Ginger Gouveia and Joanne Cvar report:

Article I of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights states “All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood."

With this in mind, the Coastal Progressives of Lincoln County presented Senitila McKinley, of Waldport, with this year’s award on Dec.10, Human Rights Day. Eleven Coastal Progressives and County Commissioner Bill Hall, last year’s recipient of the award, presented the award, reading relevant articles from the UDHR, while members of the community sat with big smiles on their faces. McKinley was surprised and very moved by the honor.

Senitila McKinley, a South Pacific immigrant to rural Oregon at the age of 20, spoke no English when she arrived. And, while learning English herself, she immediately saw a need in her community and, without funding, set out to provide literacy programs to disadvantaged people here on the Oregon Coast.

In 1992, she established the Seashore Family Literacy Learning Center as a community-based nonprofit dedicated to helping children, adults and families improve reading, writing, math, computer and communication skills. In addition Seashore provides free Saturday Breakfasts, Family Dinners, a Summer Food Program, after-school snacks, a community garden and free clothing for all ages.

McKinley works tirelessly to support homeless youth and families in rural Lincoln County. Senitila McKinley has truly accomplished her humanitarian vision of making human rights a reality for thousands of disadvantaged youth and families.

See here for an abbreviated version of the article covering the event published today in the Newport News Times. 

And thank you to the Coastal Progressives for helping us to see, and honor, the simple truths of our communities. 

Happy Holidays to all,
Amanda

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English