هذا الفوز لنا

21 نوفمبر 2014

عزيزي روب نت ،

تم التقاط الصورة على اليمين الليلة الماضية في مركز العدالة الاجتماعية في سنترال أوريغون. اجتمع أكثر من خمسين شخصًا في قلب حركة الكرامة الإنسانية في وسط أوريغون للاستماع مباشرة إلى ما خطط الرئيس أوباما لفعله بإجراءاته التنفيذية بشأن إصلاح الهجرة. كانت الغرفة مليئة بقادة المهاجرين وأفراد المجتمع الذين عملوا لسنوات من أجل سياسة هجرة عادلة تتمحور حول قيمنا للكرامة الإنسانية والديمقراطية.

ما يعنيه عمل الرئيس أوباما هو أن 5 ملايين مهاجر غير شرعي مؤهلون للحصول على إقامة مؤقتة. وهذا يعني التحرر من الخوف من الترحيل ، ومن السلب بعيدًا عن عائلاتهم ومجتمعاتهم. هذا ضخم.

هؤلاء بعض القادة المحليين الذين جعلوا هذه اللحظة ممكنة. لقد نظموا بنجاح للحد من تعاون الشرطة والهجرة وفرض الجمارك (ICE) ويمكنهم أن يعلنوا بفخر أن أوريغون شريفز كانوا من أوائل الأمة في البلاد الذين رفضوا انتهاك الحقوق المدنية للمهاجرين من خلال عدم احترام بعض عقود ICE. الآن نشهد إصلاح برنامج المجتمعات الآمنة في جميع المجالات من خلال إجراء تنفيذي.

هؤلاء هم أعضاء المجتمع الذين ساروا ، وتجمعوا ، وعقدوا منتديات مجتمعية ، وجمعوا التوقيعات ، وسافروا عبر منطقة الكونغرس 2 (وأيداهو وجنوب شرق واشنطن!) كجزء من March for One Oregon في عام 2013 ، وسافروا إلى العاصمة للضغط من أجل الإغاثة. لجميع المهاجرين غير المسجلين. نظم العديد من هؤلاء الأشخاص لسنوات ، والبعض الآخر لأكثر من عقد.

هؤلاء هم الأشخاص الذين ، على الرغم من المعركة الشاقة ، استخدموا الإجراء 88 كلحظة تعليمية لتحريك مجتمعاتنا ، شخصًا بعد شخص ، نحو دعم حقوق المهاجرين وكرامتهم.

تهانينا لجميع مجموعات وقادة الكرامة الإنسانية في جميع أنحاء ريف ولاية أوريغون الذين نظموا وأجروا محادثات مع الجيران وحشدوا وبنوا زخمًا محليًا ، وانضموا إلى الآخرين في جميع أنحاء البلاد الذين خاطروا بشجاعة لجعل هذا الفوز حقيقة واقعة!

بعد أن تعذر إجبار الكونجرس على تمرير إصلاح الهجرة ، رأينا طفرة قوية في التنظيم الشعبي للمجتمعات اللاتينية والمهاجرين والحلفاء ، بالإضافة إلى الإجراء الجريء لحملة Not1More. استخدمت مجموعات كرامة الإنسان في بلدة صغيرة أوريغون وكوزا أوريغون والعديد من المنظمات الأخرى العصيان المدني والاحتجاجات وجولات الحافلات والتجمعات وأيام الضغط وغير ذلك الكثير لتحويل المد لجعل هذه اللحظة ممكنة. هذا الفوز هو شهادة على زخم الحركة الشعبية. وبسبب كل هذا العمل القوي ، اتخذ أوباما إجراءً. هذا هو فوزنا.

نحن نعلم أن الإغاثة المؤقتة لـ 5 ملايين شخص هي مجرد خطوة واحدة - خطوة كبيرة - ولكنها مجرد خطوة واحدة نحو رؤيتنا للمجتمعات حيث يمكن للجميع أن يعيشوا حياتهم بشكل كامل بأمان وكرامة. هذا انتصار علينا ، كحركة شعبية ، أن ندعي بجرأة أنه انتصارنا مع الاستمرار في النضال من أجل رؤيتنا التي تشمل الجميع ، مما يعني أننا سنبقى صامدين في تحدي العسكرة والمؤسسات العنصرية والقوانين التي ترسم الخطوط بين من يستحق. من الإغاثة ومن ليس كذلك.

لا يزال هناك الكثير لنتعلمه حول الشكل الذي سيبدو عليه هذا الإجراء التنفيذي في الممارسة العملية ، لكننا أردنا أن نشارككم بعض التحليلات التي تفصل خطة الرئيس أوباما:

Vox: أوضحت خطة الهجرة الجديدة الضخمة التي طرحها أوباما

رد كوزا أوريغون على الإغاثة الإدارية

بحرارة ، كارا

العربية

This Win is Ours

November 21st, 2014

Dear ROPnet,

The photo to the right was snapped last night at Central Oregon’s Social Justice Center. Over fifty people gathered together at the heart of Central Oregon’s human dignity movement to hear firsthand what President Obama planned to do with his executive action on immigration reform. The room was overflowing with immigrant leaders and community members who have worked for years for a fair immigration policy that is centered in our values of human dignity and democracy.

What President Obama’s action means is that 5 million undocumented immigrants qualify for temporary residency. This means freedom from the fear of deportation, from being ripped away from their families and their communities. This is huge.

These are some of the local leaders who have made this moment possible. They have organized to successfully limit police and Immigration and Custom Enforcement’s (ICE) collaboration and can proudly declare that Oregon Sheriffs were some of the first in the nation to refuse to violate immigrant civil rights by no longer honoring some ICE holds. Now we are seeing the Secure Communities program overhauled across the board by executive action.

These are the community members who have marched, rallied, held community forums, collected signatures, traveled across Congressional District 2 (and Idaho & SE Washington!) as part of the March for One Oregon in 2013, and traveled to DC to lobby for relief for all undocumented immigrants. Many of these folks have organized for years, and some for over a decade.

These are the people who, despite the uphill battle, used Measure 88 as a teaching moment to move our communities, person by person, towards supporting immigrant rights and dignity.

Congratulations to all the human dignity groups and leaders across rural Oregon who have organized, held conversations with neighbors, rallied and built local momentum, joining others across the nation who took brave risks to make this win a reality!

After Congress couldn’t be compelled to pass immigration reform, we saw a powerful surge in the grassroots organizing of Latino, immigrant, and allied communities, as well as the bold action of the Not1More Campaign. Human dignity groups in small town Oregon, Causa Oregon and so many other organizations have used civil disobedience, protests, bus tours, rallies, lobby days, and more to turn the tide to make this moment possible. This win is a testament to the momentum of a grassroots movement. It is because of all of this powerful work that Obama took action. This is our win.

We know that temporary relief for 5 million people is just one step — a big step — but just one step toward our vision of communities where everyone can live their lives fully with safety and dignity. This is a victory we, as a grassroots movement, must boldly claim as ours while continuing to fight for our vision that includes everyone, which means that we will remain steadfast in challenging militarization, racist institutions, and laws that draw lines between who is deserving of relief and who is not.

There is still much to learn about what this executive action will look like in practice, but we wanted to share with you a couple analyses that break down President Obama’s plan:

Vox: Obama’s huge new immigration plan, explained

Causa Oregon’s Response to Administrative Relief

Warmly, Cara

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English