这场胜利是我们的

2014 年 11 月 21 日

亲爱的 ROPnet,

右边的照片是昨晚在俄勒冈州中部的社会正义中心拍摄的。五十多人聚集在俄勒冈州中部人类尊严运动的中心,亲耳聆听奥巴马总统计划在移民改革方面采取的行政行动。房间里挤满了移民领袖和社区成员,他们多年来一直致力于制定以我们人类尊严和民主价值观为中心的公平移民政策。

奥巴马总统的行动意味着500万无证移民有资格获得临时居留权。这意味着免于被驱逐出境的恐惧,免于被家人和社区剥夺。这是巨大的。

这些是使这一刻成为可能的一些地方领导人。他们组织起来成功地限制了警察与移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 的合作,并且可以自豪地宣布,俄勒冈州警长是全国第一批通过不再尊重某些 ICE 持有而拒绝侵犯移民公民权利的警长。现在,我们看到安全社区计划通过行政行动全面改革。

这些社区成员参加了游行、集会、举行社区论坛、收集签名、穿越国会第 2 区(以及爱达荷州和华盛顿东南部!)作为 2013 年俄勒冈一号游行的一部分,并前往华盛顿游说救济适用于所有无证移民。这些人中的许多人已经组织了多年,有些人已经组织了十多年。

这些人尽管经历了艰苦的战斗,但仍将第 88 号措施用作教学时刻,以逐人推动我们的社区支持移民权利和尊严。

祝贺俄勒冈州农村的所有人类尊严团体和领导人组织起来,与邻居进行对话,团结起来并建立当地的势头,加入全国其他勇敢冒险使这场胜利成为现实的人!

在国会无法被迫通过移民改革后,我们看到了拉丁裔、移民和相关社区的草根组织的强大浪潮,以及 Not1More 运动的大胆行动。俄勒冈小镇的人类尊严团体、Causa Oregon 和许多其他组织利用公民抗命、抗议、巴士游览、集会、游说日等来扭转局势,使这一刻成为可能。这场胜利证明了草根运动的势头。正是因为所有这些强有力的工作,奥巴马才采取了行动。这是我们的胜利。

我们知道,为 500 万人提供临时救济只是一步——一大步——但只是朝着我们的社区愿景迈出的一步,让每个人都可以安全和有尊严地过上充实的生活。这是一场我们作为草根运动的胜利,我们必须大胆地宣称自己是我们的,同时继续为我们包括每个人的愿景而奋斗,这意味着我们将坚定不移地挑战军事化、种族主义制度和法律,在谁值得救济,谁不是。

关于这项行政行动在实践中的样子还有很多需要了解,但我们想与您分享一些分析,这些分析打破了奥巴马总统的计划:

Vox:奥巴马的庞大新移民计划,解释

Causa Oregon 对行政救济的回应

温暖的卡拉

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

This Win is Ours

November 21st, 2014

Dear ROPnet,

The photo to the right was snapped last night at Central Oregon’s Social Justice Center. Over fifty people gathered together at the heart of Central Oregon’s human dignity movement to hear firsthand what President Obama planned to do with his executive action on immigration reform. The room was overflowing with immigrant leaders and community members who have worked for years for a fair immigration policy that is centered in our values of human dignity and democracy.

What President Obama’s action means is that 5 million undocumented immigrants qualify for temporary residency. This means freedom from the fear of deportation, from being ripped away from their families and their communities. This is huge.

These are some of the local leaders who have made this moment possible. They have organized to successfully limit police and Immigration and Custom Enforcement’s (ICE) collaboration and can proudly declare that Oregon Sheriffs were some of the first in the nation to refuse to violate immigrant civil rights by no longer honoring some ICE holds. Now we are seeing the Secure Communities program overhauled across the board by executive action.

These are the community members who have marched, rallied, held community forums, collected signatures, traveled across Congressional District 2 (and Idaho & SE Washington!) as part of the March for One Oregon in 2013, and traveled to DC to lobby for relief for all undocumented immigrants. Many of these folks have organized for years, and some for over a decade.

These are the people who, despite the uphill battle, used Measure 88 as a teaching moment to move our communities, person by person, towards supporting immigrant rights and dignity.

Congratulations to all the human dignity groups and leaders across rural Oregon who have organized, held conversations with neighbors, rallied and built local momentum, joining others across the nation who took brave risks to make this win a reality!

After Congress couldn’t be compelled to pass immigration reform, we saw a powerful surge in the grassroots organizing of Latino, immigrant, and allied communities, as well as the bold action of the Not1More Campaign. Human dignity groups in small town Oregon, Causa Oregon and so many other organizations have used civil disobedience, protests, bus tours, rallies, lobby days, and more to turn the tide to make this moment possible. This win is a testament to the momentum of a grassroots movement. It is because of all of this powerful work that Obama took action. This is our win.

We know that temporary relief for 5 million people is just one step — a big step — but just one step toward our vision of communities where everyone can live their lives fully with safety and dignity. This is a victory we, as a grassroots movement, must boldly claim as ours while continuing to fight for our vision that includes everyone, which means that we will remain steadfast in challenging militarization, racist institutions, and laws that draw lines between who is deserving of relief and who is not.

There is still much to learn about what this executive action will look like in practice, but we wanted to share with you a couple analyses that break down President Obama’s plan:

Vox: Obama’s huge new immigration plan, explained

Causa Oregon’s Response to Administrative Relief

Warmly, Cara

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English