التفكير في الشتاء كموجة حر في ولاية أوريغون يصل!

هذا الصيف نضع جلسة تشريعية ناجحة في ولاية أوريغون للنوم. لدينا الكثير للاحتفال به (الاندماج ، التقدم الضريبي ، إلخ. انظر https://rop.org/2009-legislative-wrap-up-highlights-and-challenges-ahead). ومع ذلك ، يعرف أي شخص يعتني به أن وضع الطفل في السرير لن يكون ناجحًا حقًا حتى يسود الصمت قليلاً. ماذا نسمع في ولاية أوريغون… ..

لا صمت.  
 
 
لا داعي لليأس! الصيف من أجل التغيير الاجتماعي من خلال المحادثات الممتعة - معارض المقاطعات وحفلات الشواء والحفلات الموسيقية الخارجية. الكثير من المناسبات الاحتفالية للحديث مع (مقابل في) جيراننا / عائلاتنا / زملائنا في العمل حول الأعمال المصرفية في المؤسسات المؤيدة للمجتمع ، ومشاريع لإطعام الجياع من خلال بنوك الطعام والحدائق المجتمعية ، والأسئلة التي تجعل الناس يتحدثون عن الكيفية أنهم يرى:
 
  يعمل المجتمع في الوقت الحالي - كيف تكون شبكة الأمان هذه والمدارس وما إلى ذلك - هل التمويل كافٍ؟
ما الذي لا يعمل في المجتمع؟ ما هو
ما الذي يجب على الجمهور (مثل الضرائب) أن يدفع ثمنه؟ من هي أكثر المصادر منطقية لدفع تلك الضرائب؟ لماذا ا؟
 
هذه أسئلة حقيقية يجب طرحها عندما نفكر في الاقتصاد الشعبي (وهو أمر يتطلب الكثير من التفكير الحقيقي). هذه الأسئلة هي أيضًا أكثر من مجرد دردشة خاملة - فهي تبني علاقات بينما تجعلنا أكثر ذكاءً (هل نعرف حقًا كيف نصلح العالم؟) وقد يوسعون تفكير الآخرين.
 
يوم الإثنين ، وقع الحاكم Kulongoski مشروعي قانون ، HB 2649 و HB 3405. (روابط إلى النص الكامل للفواتير أدناه.) وهي تشمل ثلاث زيادات ضريبية أساسية: الحد الأدنى لضريبة الشركات وضريبة الدخل للشركات (3405) وضريبة الدخل على الأفراد ذوي الدخل المرتفع (2649). هذه ستجمع ما يقدر بـ $733 مليون / سنة.
 
يتم تحدي الانتصارات الضريبية التشريعية لعام 2009 من قبل نفس "أصدقاء Mannix et al" الذين يتحدون كثيرًا لفترة طويلة. (لا تنس أبدًا أن أحد مقترحات سياسة Mannix الأولى كان حظر ضباب الديك الرومي لضمان عدم تمكن النساء من التلقيح الذاتي - وهو اقتراح من شخص ليس لديه ما يدعو للقلق ، أليس كذلك؟) المعارضة هي "Oregonians Against Job-Killing Taxes "- يشمل المشتبه بهم المعتادين (FreedomWorks ، أمريكيون من أجل الرخاء). لقد قاموا بتربية حوالي $200K وقاموا بتوظيف Kevin Mannix لجمع التوقيعات. 

إذا جمعوا التوقيعات وتأهلوا بحلول منتصف سبتمبر ، فستكون الانتخابات في 26 يناير. إنهم يتحركون بسرعة ولذا يجب أن تكون عبارة "رفض التوقيع" عبارة نغنيها في جميع الأوقات! تستخدم ولاية أوريغون "الجشع مقابل الحاجة" كملف صوتي حالي.

إذا تم تمرير استفتاءات حق النقض هذه ، فقد يؤدي ذلك إلى تشغيل مانيكس للمرة الثانية لمنصب الحاكم.  

 
دعونا نستمر في الاحتفال بجلسة تشريعية قوية من خلال توقع التحديات وبدء المحادثات الآن - ونعم ، يمكن أن يكون ذلك في محادثة شواء ممتعة.
 
بحرارة ، مارسي
 

ولكل من يتساءل - تحديثان رائعان !!!!

1. سلمت إيمي دادلي كورا لو 7 رطل و 11 أونصة في 7-11 - وهم جميعًا سعداء بشكل رائع!
2. شجعت شبكة ROPnet الأخيرة الجميع على مطالبة الحاكم بعدم نقض مشروع قانون يسمح فيوجن (منتج من الدورة التشريعية لعام 2009) بالعمل. أصبح الانصهار الآن قانونًا في ولاية أوريغون - ترقبوا ذلك.

فيما يلي بعض الروابط لمزيد من المعلومات حول الانتصارات الضريبية التصاعدية وتحدياتها:

http://www.oregonlive.com/politics/index.ssf/2009/07/tax_opponents_ready_to_launch.html 

حارس التسجيل:

http://www.registerguard.com/csp/cms/sites/web/news/cityregion/14584718-41/story.csp 

HB 2649:

http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measpdf/hb2600.dir/hb2649.en.pdf

HB 3405:

http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measpdf/hb3400.dir/hb3405.en.pdf

 

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Thinking Winter as an Oregon Heat Wave Arrives!

This Summer we tuck a successful Oregon legislative session to bed.  We have much to celebrate (fusion, tax progress etc see https://rop.org/2009-legislative-wrap-up-highlights-and-challenges-ahead).  Any caretaker knows, though, that tucking a child in bed is not really successful until silence reigns for a bit.  What are we hearing in Oregon…..

Not silence.  
 
 
No need for despair!  Summer is for social change through fun conversations – county fairs, barbecues, outside concerts. Plenty of festive occasions to talk with (vs. at) our neighbors/families/co-workers about banking in pro-community institutions, projects to feed the hungry though food banks and community gardens, and questions that get people talking about how they see:
 
  The community functioning right now – how is that safety net, the schools etc – is the funding enough?
What isn’t working in the community?  what is?
What should the public (eg taxes) be paying for?  Who are the most logical sources to pay those taxes? why?
 
These are genuine questions to pose as we think through a People’s Economy (something that requires a lot of real thinking).  These questions are also more than idle chit chat – they build relationships while they make us smarter (Do we really know how to fix the world?) and they might just expand the thinking of others.
 
On Monday, Governor Kulongoski signed two bills, HB 2649 and HB 3405.  (Links to full text of bills below.)  They include three basic tax increases:  corporate minimum tax and income tax for businesses (3405) and income tax on highest earning individuals (2649).  These would raise an estimated $733 million/year.
 
The 2009 legislative tax victories are being challenged by the same ‘pals of Mannix et al’ that challenge so much for so long.  (Never forget that one of Mannix’s first policy proposals was to outlaw turkey basters to insure that women couldn’t self-inseminate – a proposal from someone with not enough to worry about, eh?)  The opposition is "Oregonians Against Job-Killing  Taxes" – includes the usual suspects (FreedomWorks, Americans for Prosperity).  They’ve raised about $200K and have  hired Kevin Mannix to gather signatures. 

If they gather signatures and qualify by mid-September, the election would be January 26th.  They are moving fast and so ‘Decline to Sign’ should be a phrase we are singing at al moments!  Our Oregon is using "greed vs. need" as a current soundbite.

If these veto referendums pass, it could fuel Mannix’s second run for governor.  

 
Let’s keep celebrating a strong legislative session by anticipating the challenges and starting conversations now – and yes, it can be at a fun barbeque conversation.
 
warmly, Marcy
 

And for all who are wondering – two great updates!!!!

1.  Amy Dudley delivered a 7 lb, 11 oz Cora Lou on 7-11 – and they are all marvelously happy!
2.  Our recent ROPnet encouraging everyone to ask the Governor not to veto a bill allowing Fusion (a product from the 2009 legislative session) worked.  Fusion is now law in Oregon – stay tuned.

Here are some links for more information on progressive tax victories an their challenges:

http://www.oregonlive.com/politics/index.ssf/2009/07/tax_opponents_ready_to_launch.html 

Register Guard:

http://www.registerguard.com/csp/cms/sites/web/news/cityregion/14584718-41/story.csp 

HB 2649:

http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measpdf/hb2600.dir/hb2649.en.pdf

HB 3405:

http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measpdf/hb3400.dir/hb3405.en.pdf

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English