认为冬天是俄勒冈州的热浪来了!

今年夏天,我们将一场成功的俄勒冈州立法会议收场。我们有很多值得庆祝的事情(融合、税收进展等,见 https://rop.org/2009-legislative-wrap-up-highlights-and-challenges-ahead).然而,任何看护人都知道,在沉默统治一段时间之前,将孩子塞在床上并不是真正成功的。我们在俄勒冈州听到了什么......

不是沉默。  
 
 
没必要绝望!夏季是通过有趣的对话来改变社会的——县集市、烧烤会、户外音乐会。很多节日场合可以聊天 (vs. at) 我们的邻居/家庭/同事关于亲社区机构的银行业务,通过食品银行和社区花园为饥饿的人提供食物的项目,以及让人们谈论如何做的问题 他们 看:
 
  社区目前正在运作——安全网、学校等如何——资金是否足够?
什么在社区中不起作用?什么是?
公众(例如税收)应该支付什么费用?谁是缴纳这些税款最合乎逻辑的来源?为什么?
 
这些是我们在思考人民经济(需要大量真正思考的事情)时提出的真正问题。这些问题也不仅仅是闲聊——它们在让我们变得更聪明的同时建立关系(我们真的知道如何修复世界吗?),而且它们可能只是扩展他人的想法。
 
周一,库隆戈斯基州长签署了两项法案,HB 2649 和 HB 3405。(链接到下面的法案全文。)其中包括三项基本增税:企业最低税和企业所得税 (3405) 以及收入最高的个人所得税(2649)。这些预计每年将筹集 $7.33 亿。
 
2009 年立法税收的胜利正受到同样的“曼尼克斯等人的伙伴”的挑战,这些挑战如此之久。 (永远不要忘记,曼尼克斯的第一个政策建议是取缔火鸡巴斯特以确保女性不能自我受精——这是一个没有足够担心的人的建议,嗯?)反对者是“俄勒冈人反对就业税“ – 包括通常的嫌疑人(FreedomWorks,Americans for Prosperity)。他们筹集了大约 $200K,并聘请了 Kevin Mannix 来收集签名。 

如果他们在 9 月中旬收集签名并获得资格,选举将在 1 月 26 日举行。他们的动作很快,所以“拒绝签约”应该是我们一直在唱的一句话!我们的俄勒冈州正在使用“贪婪与需要”作为当前的配音。

如果这些否决公投获得通过,可能会推动曼尼克斯第二次竞选州长。  

 
让我们通过预测挑战并立即开始对话来继续庆祝强有力的立法会议 - 是的,它可以是一个有趣的烧烤对话。
 
热情地,玛西
 

对于所有想知道的人 - 两个伟大的更新!!!!

1. Amy Dudley 在 7 月 11 日交付了 7 磅 11 盎司的 Cora Lou——他们都非常高兴!
2. 我们最近的 ROPnet 鼓励每个人要求州长不要否决一项允许 Fusion(2009 年立法会议的产品)起作用的法案。 Fusion 现在是俄勒冈州的法律 – 请继续关注。

以下是有关累进税收胜利及其挑战的更多信息的一些链接:

http://www.oregonlive.com/politics/index.ssf/2009/07/tax_opponents_ready_to_launch.html 

注册守卫:

http://www.registerguard.com/csp/cms/sites/web/news/cityregion/14584718-41/story.csp 

HB 2649:

http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measpdf/hb2600.dir/hb2649.en.pdf

HB 3405:

http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measpdf/hb3400.dir/hb3405.en.pdf

 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Thinking Winter as an Oregon Heat Wave Arrives!

This Summer we tuck a successful Oregon legislative session to bed.  We have much to celebrate (fusion, tax progress etc see https://rop.org/2009-legislative-wrap-up-highlights-and-challenges-ahead).  Any caretaker knows, though, that tucking a child in bed is not really successful until silence reigns for a bit.  What are we hearing in Oregon…..

Not silence.  
 
 
No need for despair!  Summer is for social change through fun conversations – county fairs, barbecues, outside concerts. Plenty of festive occasions to talk with (vs. at) our neighbors/families/co-workers about banking in pro-community institutions, projects to feed the hungry though food banks and community gardens, and questions that get people talking about how they see:
 
  The community functioning right now – how is that safety net, the schools etc – is the funding enough?
What isn’t working in the community?  what is?
What should the public (eg taxes) be paying for?  Who are the most logical sources to pay those taxes? why?
 
These are genuine questions to pose as we think through a People’s Economy (something that requires a lot of real thinking).  These questions are also more than idle chit chat – they build relationships while they make us smarter (Do we really know how to fix the world?) and they might just expand the thinking of others.
 
On Monday, Governor Kulongoski signed two bills, HB 2649 and HB 3405.  (Links to full text of bills below.)  They include three basic tax increases:  corporate minimum tax and income tax for businesses (3405) and income tax on highest earning individuals (2649).  These would raise an estimated $733 million/year.
 
The 2009 legislative tax victories are being challenged by the same ‘pals of Mannix et al’ that challenge so much for so long.  (Never forget that one of Mannix’s first policy proposals was to outlaw turkey basters to insure that women couldn’t self-inseminate – a proposal from someone with not enough to worry about, eh?)  The opposition is "Oregonians Against Job-Killing  Taxes" – includes the usual suspects (FreedomWorks, Americans for Prosperity).  They’ve raised about $200K and have  hired Kevin Mannix to gather signatures. 

If they gather signatures and qualify by mid-September, the election would be January 26th.  They are moving fast and so ‘Decline to Sign’ should be a phrase we are singing at al moments!  Our Oregon is using "greed vs. need" as a current soundbite.

If these veto referendums pass, it could fuel Mannix’s second run for governor.  

 
Let’s keep celebrating a strong legislative session by anticipating the challenges and starting conversations now – and yes, it can be at a fun barbeque conversation.
 
warmly, Marcy
 

And for all who are wondering – two great updates!!!!

1.  Amy Dudley delivered a 7 lb, 11 oz Cora Lou on 7-11 – and they are all marvelously happy!
2.  Our recent ROPnet encouraging everyone to ask the Governor not to veto a bill allowing Fusion (a product from the 2009 legislative session) worked.  Fusion is now law in Oregon – stay tuned.

Here are some links for more information on progressive tax victories an their challenges:

http://www.oregonlive.com/politics/index.ssf/2009/07/tax_opponents_ready_to_launch.html 

Register Guard:

http://www.registerguard.com/csp/cms/sites/web/news/cityregion/14584718-41/story.csp 

HB 2649:

http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measpdf/hb2600.dir/hb2649.en.pdf

HB 3405:

http://www.leg.state.or.us/09reg/measpdf/hb3400.dir/hb3405.en.pdf

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English