مواضيع وتأملات وقصص من المؤتمر

والأهم من ذلك فيما يتعلق بالتجمع الانتخابي ، أدركت أنني وجدت بيتي في النشاط. لقد وجدت عائلتي. لقد وجدت حاملي الصدارة ، رامون راميريز ومارسي ويسترلينج. لقد تعلمت تاريخنا. لقد تم تبنيها بأذرع مفتوحة. لقد تم عرض مسار وإعطائي الأدوات ولدي خطة. - جينيفر تورنر ، كلاماث

اجتمع أكثر من 150 شخصًا ، يمثلون 66 مجموعة كرامة إنسانية و 27 من 36 مقاطعة في ولاية أوريغون ، على مدار 48 ساعة لعطلة نهاية أسبوع من الإستراتيجية والتواصل وبناء الحركة ورواية القصص.

استضافها أصدقاؤنا في PCUN (اتحاد عمال المزارع في ولاية أوريغون) ، أمضى قادة الكرامة الإنسانية وسكان المدن الصغيرة ونشطاء حقوق المهاجرين والمنظمون عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في تحليل الحركات الاجتماعية ومشاركة القصص والاستراتيجيات عبر مجتمعاتنا ورسم خرائط لكيفية المضي قدمًا معًا في العام ليأتي. شاهد جولة الصور أدناه في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع!

فيما يلي عدد قليل من الموضوعات التي خرجت من جلسة المؤتمر الريفي والاستراتيجية لهذا العام:

نحن نبني حركة اجتماعية على المدى الطويل.  لا يحدث التغيير الاجتماعي من لحظة أو احتلال أو فعل. في مجتمعاتنا ، نحن نبني نحو الاستمرارية ، ونطور البنية التحتية التي نحتاجها لتوسيع حركتنا ونبقى في هذا على المدى الطويل.

الأمر لا يتعلق فقط بالتضامن ، إنه يتعلق بالثقة. إن العمل عبر مجتمعاتنا - عمال المزارع وقادة الكرامة الإنسانية والمحتلون ونشطاء حقوق المهاجرين - لا يتعلق فقط بالتضامن مع بعضنا البعض ، إنه يتعلق بالثقة. يتعلق الأمر بسماع قصص بعضنا البعض ، ورؤية اختلافاتنا ، وكسر الخبز (أو التورتيلا!) معًا ، واحتضان التعقيد في قصصنا المشتركة.

نحن نتخذ خطوات حقيقية نحو التغيير.  يدور عملنا حول الاستجابة لأزمات اللحظة ولكنه يتعلق أيضًا ببناء المجتمعات التي نحتاجها ونستحقها لتعزيز رؤية طويلة المدى للعدالة والديمقراطية. نحن نحقق مكاسب ملموسة في مدننا ومقاطعاتنا يمكن أن تمتد إلى الخارج! (وقد اتخذنا الخطوات التالية إلى المنزل للقيام بذلك!)

تحقق من الصور أدناه التي توثق عطلة نهاية الأسبوع من الأنشطة.  قم بالتمرير لأسفل لقراءة انعكاسات أحد الحاضرين في المؤتمر من كلاماث فولز. ترقبوا شبكات ROPnets والخطوات التالية من ورش العمل والاختراق.

بحرارة
كارا وأماندا وكيلا وجيس وآندي
(منظمو شرطة عمان السلطانية والمتدرب)

جولة تصويرية لفريق شرطة عمان السلطانية 2012
شكرا جزيلا لجيري أتكين لتوثيق عطلة نهاية الأسبوع.

جولة الفلاح
بدأنا عطلة نهاية الأسبوع بجولة في سكن عمال المزارع. أخذ موظفو PCUN 40 من أفراد الشرطة البوليسية إلى الحقول لتوضيح الظروف التي يواجهها عمال المزارع الذين يعيشون في هذه المزارع. غرف ضيقة ومتعفنة بدون مياه جارية أو تدفئة يتم تأجيرها مقابل $1500 شهريًا. بعد ذلك ، تم اصطحابنا إلى تطوير إسكان عمال المزارع الجميل التابع لشركة Farmworker Housing Development Corporation لتوضيح كيفية قيامهم بوضع قيمهم موضع التنفيذ!

Viernes Comunitario
انضممنا مساء الجمعة إلى عمال المزارع في برنامجهم الشهري Viernes Comunitario حيث تعلمنا عن تاريخ حركة Chicano.

كتلة 150 قوية 1تجمع 150 قويا 2
اجتمعنا يوم السبت 150 فردًا لحضور جلسة التجمع الريفي والاستراتيجية!

 مارسي رامون الكلمة الرئيسية
لقد أرسى لنا خطاب رئيسي من قبل اثنين من قادة الحركة الريفية في تاريخ الحركة. مؤسس شرطة عمان السلطانية ، مارسي ويسترلينج ورئيس PCUN ، رامون راميريز يقابلان بعضهما البعض حول تاريخ عمل شرطة عمان السلطانية و PCUN معًا.

برنامج حواري
يشارك منظمو المدن الصغيرة حول المشكلات التي تواجه مجتمعاتهم وكيفية بناء بنية تحتية تنظيمية دائمة على المدى الطويل.

ترحيبي
يناقش مسار مجتمعات الترحيب استراتيجيات لجعل مجتمعاتنا أكثر ترحيبًا بالمهاجرين وجميع المجتمعات المهمشة.

تحتل المسار
طور مسار الاقتصادات الديمقراطية / احتل ريف أوريغون الخطوات التالية للعمل حول الديون والخصخصة و Citizens United واستراتيجيات مشتركة لبناء القوة على المدى الطويل في موسم الانتخابات.

جائزة مارسي
في حفلنا الليلي يوم السبت ، يكرم PCUN مؤسس شرطة عمان السلطانية مارسي ويسترلينج مع جائزة لحلفاء كفاح عمال المزارع.

تناول الإفطار
تبادل قادة الكرامة الإنسانية والمحتلون الريفيون صباح الأحد أفكارًا لتقوية روابطنا وتأثيرنا.

سعات عمل اللواء
لقد أنهينا عطلة نهاية الأسبوع مع فريق عمل معهد CAPACES للقيادة. بعد جولة حول المحطة الإذاعية ، تم تكليف ROPers بأعمال التنظيف استعدادًا لطاقم العزل وإزالة الأعشاب الضارة وبناء مسارات لأسرّة الحدائق والمزيد!

تأملات في جلسة المؤتمر الريفي والاستراتيجية في شرطة عمان السلطانية من زعيم كرامة الإنسان وسكان بلدة صغيرة:
تنافس المؤتمر السنوي لمشروع التنظيم الريفي في نهاية هذا الأسبوع على أي تدريب مشترك أو حدث تحفيزي حضرته على الإطلاق. أنت رائع.

لا يمكن أن تبدأ الاستطلاعات في قياس توسع الوعي الذي عشته في نهاية هذا الأسبوع. كلماتي غير كافية أيضا. ليس لدي الكلمات التي أشيد بفن الطعام النباتي على المائدة بعد الوجبة ، ناهيك عن الأشخاص الرائعين الذين وضعوا الطعام هناك. باركوا عمال المزارع!

والأهم من ذلك فيما يتعلق بالتجمع الانتخابي ، أدركت أنني وجدت بيتي في النشاط. لقد وجدت عائلتي. لقد وجدت حاملي الصدارة ، رامون راميريز ومارسي ويسترلينج. لقد تعلمت تاريخنا. لقد تم تبنيها بأذرع مفتوحة. لقد تم عرض مسار وإعطائي الأدوات ولدي خطة. كما أن كرم وكرم PCUN جعلني أشعر بالترحيب في قضية مشتركة. قدم لنا نشطاء PCUN الرائعون جولة في سكن عمال المزارع. $1000 شهريًا للحمامات المشتركة ولا توجد مياه جارية. هنا. في منزلنا في ولاية أوريغون. كانت هذه في Woodburn Oregon. في أي مكان آخر نعاقب هذا؟ أشكر PCUN لإظهار هذا الواقع لي وإعلامي أن متوسط عمر عامل المزرعة هو 49 عامًا. (يبلغ متوسط أعمار الأمريكيين 73 عامًا). تتعرض العاملات في المزارع الحوامل إلى ضعف عدد حالات الإجهاض التي تتعرض لها النساء الأخريات.

شكرًا لك PCUN لأنه بعد فتح عيني وتوسيع قدرتي على الرعاية ، أظهرت لي الإسكان المجتمعي الذي أنشأته والهندسة المعمارية المستدامة لمبنى قيادتك. لقد سمحت لي بمقابلة بعض القادة الشباب الذين أنتجتهم وشاهدت فخر وقيم الأشخاص الذين يتشاركون في النضال والروابط غير القابلة للكسر. سرت في شوارعك واستمتعت بالمجتمع الذي وجدته. أظهر لي ROP و PCUN كيف وجد المجتمع اللاتيني ومجتمع LGBTQ قواسم مشتركة في القيمة المشتركة لحقوق الإنسان. نحن جميعًا بشر (ولسنا شخصيات)! يشرفني أن أكون ضيفك.

أهم شيء حدث لي شخصيًا هو وعي جديد وفهم شامل لهدفي. وميلي نحو تعدد الأغراض. لقد استنتجت أنه من المقبول أن أتبع فرحتي تجاه الأفعال المتنوعة لأن الكامنة وراء كل نواياي هي مجرد حقيقة واحدة. كل شيء يحركني ، كل قضية دفعتني إلى البكاء والعمل كانت قضية تتعلق بالعدالة الاجتماعية وحقوق الإنسان. لقد وجدت منزلي في النشاط. لقد وجدت عائلتي. إنني أتطلع إلى المشاركة في العمل والتخطيط الدقيق المطلوبين من قبل أصحاب الرؤية الطويلة. لقد ألهمني ما ابتكره قادة جيلي. قام رامون راميريز ومارسي ويسترلينج باختراق درب. Cara Shufelt و Jessica Campbell و Amanda Aguilar Shank و Keyla Almazan و Dancer Davis وعدد لا يحصى من الآخرين جعلوا الدرب في طريق. بفضل أولئك الذين ساروا إلى الأمام وأولئك الذين يمشون الآن جنبًا إلى جنب ، علي فقط أن أضع قدمي على الطريق في عمل بهيج مع أصدقائي. شكرا لكم جميعا ♥ سوموس أونا!

- جينيفر تورنر
احتل كلاماث ، كلاماث فولز ، أوريغون

العربية

Themes, Reflections & Stories from the Caucus

Most importantly about the Caucus, I realized that I’ve found my home in activism. I’ve found my family. I’ve found my fore-bearers, Ramon Ramirez and Marcy Westerling. I’ve learned our history. I’ve been adopted with open arms. I’ve been shown a path and given tools and I have a plan. – Jennifer Turner, Klamath

Over 150 people, representing 66 human dignity groups and 27 of Oregon’s 36 counties, convened over 48 hours for a weekend of strategy, connection, movement building and story telling.

Hosted by our friends at PCUN (Oregon’s farmworker union), human dignity leaders, small town Occupiers, immigrant rights activists and organizers spent the weekend analyzing social movements, sharing stories and strategies across our communities and mapping out how we move forward together in the year to come.  See the photo tour below of our weekend!

Here are just a few of the themes that came out of this year’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session:

We are building a social movement for the long haul.  Social change doesn’t happen from a single moment, occupation or action.  In our communities, we are building towards permanence, developing the infrastructure we need to expand our movement and be in this for the long haul.

It’s not just about solidarity, it’s about trust. Working across our communities – farmworkers and human dignity leaders, occupiers and immigrant rights activists –  is not just about solidarity with each other, it’s about trust. It’s about hearing each other’s stories, seeing our differences, breaking bread (or tortillas!) together, and embracing the complexity in our shared stories.

We are making real steps toward change.  Our work is about responding to the crises of the moment but it is also about building the communities we need and deserve to foster a longer term vision of justice and democracy.   We are creating concrete wins in our towns and counties that can ripple outward! (And we took home next steps to do that!)

Check out the photos below that document our weekend of activities.  Scroll down to read the reflections of one Caucus attendee from Klamath Falls.  Stay tuned for ROPnets and next steps from the workshops and breakouts.

Warmly,
Cara, Amanda, Keyla, Jess & Andy
(ROP Organizers & Intern)

ROP Caucus 2012 Photo Tour
Many thanks to Jerry Atkin for documenting our weekend.

Farmworker tour
We started out our weekend with a tour of farmworker housing. PCUN’s staff took 40 ROPers out into the fields to show them the conditions farmworkers face living on these farms. Cramped, moldy rooms without running water or heat that are rented out for $1500 per month. Afterward, we were taken to the Farmworker Housing Development Corporation’s beautiful farmworker housing development to demonstrate how they are putting their values into action!

Viernes Comunitario
Friday evening we joined farmworkers for their monthly Viernes Comunitario where we learned about the history of the Chicano movement.

Caucus 150 strong 1Caucus 150 strong 2
Saturday we gathered 150 strong for the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session!

 Marcy Ramon keynote
A keynote by two rural movement leaders grounded us in movement history. ROP Founder, Marcy Westerling & PCUN President, Ramon Ramirez interview each other about the history of ROP & PCUN working together.

Talk Show
Small town organizers share about the issues their communities face and how to build permanent organizing infrastructure for the long haul.

welcoming track
The Welcoming Communities track discusses strategies for making our communities more welcoming for immigrants, and all marginalized communities.

occupy track
The Democratic Economies/Occupy Rural Oregon track developed next steps for work around debt, privatization, Citizens United and shared strategies on building power for the long haul in election season.

marcy award
At our Saturday night party, PCUN honors ROP Founder Marcy Westerling with an award for allies to the farmworker struggle.

occupy breakfast
Sunday morning human dignity leaders and rural occupiers shared ideas for strengthening our connections and our impact.

Capaces work brigade
We closed out our weekend together with a CAPACES Leadership Institute work brigade. After a tour around the radio station, ROPers were put to work cleaning up in preparation for the insulation crew, clearing weeds, building paths to garden beds, and more!

Reflections on the ROP Rural Caucus & Strategy Session from a human dignity leader and small town Occupier:
The Rural Organizing Project Annual Caucus this weekend rivaled any corporate training or motivational event I’ve ever attended. You are amazing.

Surveys can’t begin to measure the expansion of consciousness I experienced this weekend. My words are inadequate too. I don’t have the words to praise the vegetarian food art on the table meal after meal let alone the remarkable people that put the food there. Bless the Farmworkers!

Most importantly about the Caucus, I realized that I’ve found my home in activism. I’ve found my family. I’ve found my fore-bearers, Ramon Ramirez and Marcy Westerling. I’ve learned our history. I’ve been adopted with open arms. I’ve been shown a path and given tools and I have a plan. The graciousness and generosity of PCUN also made me feel welcomed to a shared cause. PCUN’s wonderful activists gave us a tour of farm worker housing. $1000 a month for shared bathrooms and no running water. Here. In our Oregon home. These were in Woodburn Oregon. Where else do we sanction this? I thank PCUN for showing me this reality and for informing me that the average lifespan of a farmworker is 49 years old. (The average American lives to 73). Pregnant farmworker women have twice the number of miscarriages as other women.

Thank you PCUN because after opening my eyes and expanding my capacity to care, you showed me the community housing you’ve created and the sustainable architecture of your leadership building. You let me meet some of the young leaders you’ve produced and I witnessed the pride and values of people that share struggle and unbreakable bonds. I walked your streets and reveled in the community I found. ROP and PCUN showed me how the Latino community and the LGBTQ community found commonality in the shared value of human rights. We’re all people (not personhoods)!  I’m so honored to have been your guest.

The most important thing that happened for me personally is a new awareness and thorough understanding of my purpose. And my tendency toward multipurposes. I’ve concluded that it’s okay to follow my joy towards diverse actions because underlying all of my intentions is just one truth. Every single thing that moves me, every issue that has moved me to tears and to action has been one of social justice and human rights. I’ve found my home in activism. I’ve found my family. I look forward to sharing in the work and careful planning required by those with a long view. I’m inspired by what has been created by the leaders of my generation. Ramon Ramirez and Marcy Westerling bushwhacked a trail. Cara Shufelt, Jessica Campbell, Amanda Aguilar Shank, Keyla Almazan and Dancer Davis and countless others made the trail into a path. Thanks to those that walked ahead and those that now walk along side, I just have to put my feet on the path in joyful action with my friends. Thank you all ♥ Somos Una!

-Jennifer Turner
Occupy Klamath, Klamath Falls, OR

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English