核心小组的主题、思考和故事

最重要的是,关于核心小组,我意识到我在激进主义中找到了自己的家。我找到了我的家人。我找到了我的前辈 Ramon Ramirez 和 Marcy Westerling。我了解了我们的历史。我张开双臂被收养了。我已经看到了一条路径和工具,我有一个计划。 ——詹妮弗·特纳,克拉马斯

代表 66 个人类尊严团体和俄勒冈州 36 个县中的 27 个县的 150 多人在 48 小时内召开了一个周末的战略、联系、运动建设和讲故事。

由我们在 PCUN(俄勒冈州农场工人工会)的朋友、人类尊严领袖、小镇占领者、移民权利活动家和组织者主持,他们在周末分析社会运动,分享我们社区的故事和战略,并规划我们在这一年中如何共同前进来。请参阅下面我们周末的照片之旅!

以下是今年农村核心小组与战略会议的一些主题:

我们正在建立一个长期的社会运动。  社会变革不是从某个时刻、职业或行动中发生的。在我们的社区中,我们正在朝着永久性建设,开发我们需要的基础设施来扩大我们的运动并长期参与其中。

这不仅关乎团结,还关乎信任。 在我们的社区——农场工人和人类尊严领袖、占领者和移民权利活动家——的工作不仅关乎彼此的团结,还关乎信任。这是关于听到彼此的故事,看到我们的差异,一起打破面包(或玉米饼!),并在我们共同的故事中拥抱复杂性。

我们正在朝着改变迈出真正的步伐。  我们的工作是为了应对当前的危机,但它也是为了建立我们需要和应得的社区,以培养对正义和民主的长期愿景。我们正在我们的城镇和县创造可以向外扩散的具体胜利! (我们采取了接下来的步骤来做到这一点!)

查看下面的照片,这些照片记录了我们周末的活动。  向下滚动以阅读来自 Klamath Falls 的一位核心小组与会者的反思。请继续关注 ROPnets 以及研讨会和分组讨论的后续步骤。

热烈地,
卡拉、阿曼达、凯拉、杰西和安迪
(ROP 组织者和实习生)

ROP Caucus 2012 摄影之旅
非常感谢 Jerry Atkin 记录了我们的周末。

农场工人之旅
我们的周末开始于参观农场工人的住房。 PCUN 的工作人员将 40 名 ROPER 带到田间,向他们展示农场工人在这些农场生活所面临的条件。狭小、发霉的房间,没有自来水或暖气,每月租金为 $1500。之后,我们被带到 Farmworker Housing Development Corporation 美丽的 Farmworker Housing Development 展示他们如何将他们的价值观付诸行动!

维也纳通讯社
星期五晚上,我们加入了农场工人的每月 Viernes Comunitario,在那里我们了解了奇卡诺运动的历史。

党团150强1党团150强2
星期六,我们为农村核心小组和战略会议聚集了 150 人!

 马西·拉蒙主题演讲
两位农村运动领袖的主题演讲让我们了解了运动历史。 ROP 创始人 Marcy Westerling 和 PCUN 总裁 Ramon Ramirez 就 ROP 和 PCUN 合作的历史相互采访。

脱口秀
小镇组织者分享了他们的社区面临的问题以及如何长期建立永久性的组织基础设施。

欢迎轨道
欢迎社区轨道讨论了使我们的社区更欢迎移民和所有边缘化社区的策略。

占据轨道
民主经济体/占领俄勒冈州农村轨道制定了围绕债务、私有化、公民联合的下一步工作,并分享了在选举季节长期建立权力的战略。

马西奖
在我们周六晚上的聚会上,PCUN 向 ROP 创始人 Marcy Westerling 颁发了一项奖励农场工人斗争盟友的奖项。

占用早餐
周日上午,人类尊严领袖和农村占领者分享了加强我们的联系和影响的想法。

卡帕斯工作大队
我们与 CAPACES 领导学院工作队一起结束了我们的周末。在广播电台参观完之后,ROPers 开始清理工作,为绝缘人员做好准备、清除杂草、修建通往花园床的小路等等!

人类尊严领袖和小镇占领者对 ROP 农村核心小组和战略会议的思考:
本周末的农村组织项目年度核心小组可以与我参加过的任何企业培训或激励活动相媲美。你太棒了。

调查无法开始衡量我这个周末所经历的意识扩张。我的话也不够用。我无法用言语来赞美餐桌上的素食艺术,更不用说把食物放在那里的了不起的人了。祝福农民工!

最重要的是,关于核心小组,我意识到我在激进主义中找到了自己的家。我找到了我的家人。我找到了我的前辈 Ramon Ramirez 和 Marcy Westerling。我了解了我们的历史。我张开双臂被收养了。我已经看到了一条路径和工具,我有一个计划。 PCUN 的亲切和慷慨也让我对共同的事业感到欢迎。 PCUN 的优秀活动家带我们参观了农场工人的住房。共用浴室一个月$1000,没有自来水。这里。在我们俄勒冈州的家中。这些在俄勒冈州伍德本。我们还能在哪里批准这一点?我感谢 PCUN 向我展示了这一现实,并告诉我农场工人的平均寿命是 49 岁。 (美国人的平均寿命为 73 岁)。怀孕的农场工人妇女的流产次数是其他妇女的两倍。

感谢 PCUN,因为在打开我的眼睛并扩大了我的护理能力之后,您向我展示了您创建的社区住房以及您领导力建设的可持续架构。你让我见到了一些你培养出来的年轻领导者,我见证了那些分享奋斗和牢不可破的纽带的人的自豪感和价值观。我走过你的街道,陶醉于我找到的社区。 ROP 和 PCUN 向我展示了拉丁裔社区和 LGBTQ 社区如何在人权的共同价值中找到共同点。我们都是人(不是人格)!很荣幸成为您的客人。

对我个人而言,最重要的事情是对我的目的有了新的认识和透彻的理解。还有我对多用途的倾向。我得出的结论是,跟随我的喜悦去采取不同的行动是可以的,因为我所有意图的背后只是一个事实。每一件让我感动的事情,每一个让我流泪和采取行动的问题都是社会正义和人权之一。我在激进主义中找到了自己的家。我找到了我的家人。我期待着分享那些有远见的人所需要的工作和仔细的计划。我受到我这一代领导人所创造的东西的启发。拉蒙·拉米雷斯和马西·韦斯特林在丛林中开辟了一条小路。 Cara Shufelt、Jessica Campbell、Amanda Aguilar Shank、Keyla Almazan 和 Dancer Davis 以及无数其他人将这条小径变成了一条小路。感谢那些走在前面和现在并排走的人,我只需要把脚放在路上,和我的朋友们一起快乐地行动。谢谢大家♥Somos Una!

-詹妮弗·特纳
占领克拉马斯,克拉马斯福尔斯,或

简体中文

Themes, Reflections & Stories from the Caucus

Most importantly about the Caucus, I realized that I’ve found my home in activism. I’ve found my family. I’ve found my fore-bearers, Ramon Ramirez and Marcy Westerling. I’ve learned our history. I’ve been adopted with open arms. I’ve been shown a path and given tools and I have a plan. – Jennifer Turner, Klamath

Over 150 people, representing 66 human dignity groups and 27 of Oregon’s 36 counties, convened over 48 hours for a weekend of strategy, connection, movement building and story telling.

Hosted by our friends at PCUN (Oregon’s farmworker union), human dignity leaders, small town Occupiers, immigrant rights activists and organizers spent the weekend analyzing social movements, sharing stories and strategies across our communities and mapping out how we move forward together in the year to come.  See the photo tour below of our weekend!

Here are just a few of the themes that came out of this year’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session:

We are building a social movement for the long haul.  Social change doesn’t happen from a single moment, occupation or action.  In our communities, we are building towards permanence, developing the infrastructure we need to expand our movement and be in this for the long haul.

It’s not just about solidarity, it’s about trust. Working across our communities – farmworkers and human dignity leaders, occupiers and immigrant rights activists –  is not just about solidarity with each other, it’s about trust. It’s about hearing each other’s stories, seeing our differences, breaking bread (or tortillas!) together, and embracing the complexity in our shared stories.

We are making real steps toward change.  Our work is about responding to the crises of the moment but it is also about building the communities we need and deserve to foster a longer term vision of justice and democracy.   We are creating concrete wins in our towns and counties that can ripple outward! (And we took home next steps to do that!)

Check out the photos below that document our weekend of activities.  Scroll down to read the reflections of one Caucus attendee from Klamath Falls.  Stay tuned for ROPnets and next steps from the workshops and breakouts.

Warmly,
Cara, Amanda, Keyla, Jess & Andy
(ROP Organizers & Intern)

ROP Caucus 2012 Photo Tour
Many thanks to Jerry Atkin for documenting our weekend.

Farmworker tour
We started out our weekend with a tour of farmworker housing. PCUN’s staff took 40 ROPers out into the fields to show them the conditions farmworkers face living on these farms. Cramped, moldy rooms without running water or heat that are rented out for $1500 per month. Afterward, we were taken to the Farmworker Housing Development Corporation’s beautiful farmworker housing development to demonstrate how they are putting their values into action!

Viernes Comunitario
Friday evening we joined farmworkers for their monthly Viernes Comunitario where we learned about the history of the Chicano movement.

Caucus 150 strong 1Caucus 150 strong 2
Saturday we gathered 150 strong for the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session!

 Marcy Ramon keynote
A keynote by two rural movement leaders grounded us in movement history. ROP Founder, Marcy Westerling & PCUN President, Ramon Ramirez interview each other about the history of ROP & PCUN working together.

Talk Show
Small town organizers share about the issues their communities face and how to build permanent organizing infrastructure for the long haul.

welcoming track
The Welcoming Communities track discusses strategies for making our communities more welcoming for immigrants, and all marginalized communities.

occupy track
The Democratic Economies/Occupy Rural Oregon track developed next steps for work around debt, privatization, Citizens United and shared strategies on building power for the long haul in election season.

marcy award
At our Saturday night party, PCUN honors ROP Founder Marcy Westerling with an award for allies to the farmworker struggle.

occupy breakfast
Sunday morning human dignity leaders and rural occupiers shared ideas for strengthening our connections and our impact.

Capaces work brigade
We closed out our weekend together with a CAPACES Leadership Institute work brigade. After a tour around the radio station, ROPers were put to work cleaning up in preparation for the insulation crew, clearing weeds, building paths to garden beds, and more!

Reflections on the ROP Rural Caucus & Strategy Session from a human dignity leader and small town Occupier:
The Rural Organizing Project Annual Caucus this weekend rivaled any corporate training or motivational event I’ve ever attended. You are amazing.

Surveys can’t begin to measure the expansion of consciousness I experienced this weekend. My words are inadequate too. I don’t have the words to praise the vegetarian food art on the table meal after meal let alone the remarkable people that put the food there. Bless the Farmworkers!

Most importantly about the Caucus, I realized that I’ve found my home in activism. I’ve found my family. I’ve found my fore-bearers, Ramon Ramirez and Marcy Westerling. I’ve learned our history. I’ve been adopted with open arms. I’ve been shown a path and given tools and I have a plan. The graciousness and generosity of PCUN also made me feel welcomed to a shared cause. PCUN’s wonderful activists gave us a tour of farm worker housing. $1000 a month for shared bathrooms and no running water. Here. In our Oregon home. These were in Woodburn Oregon. Where else do we sanction this? I thank PCUN for showing me this reality and for informing me that the average lifespan of a farmworker is 49 years old. (The average American lives to 73). Pregnant farmworker women have twice the number of miscarriages as other women.

Thank you PCUN because after opening my eyes and expanding my capacity to care, you showed me the community housing you’ve created and the sustainable architecture of your leadership building. You let me meet some of the young leaders you’ve produced and I witnessed the pride and values of people that share struggle and unbreakable bonds. I walked your streets and reveled in the community I found. ROP and PCUN showed me how the Latino community and the LGBTQ community found commonality in the shared value of human rights. We’re all people (not personhoods)!  I’m so honored to have been your guest.

The most important thing that happened for me personally is a new awareness and thorough understanding of my purpose. And my tendency toward multipurposes. I’ve concluded that it’s okay to follow my joy towards diverse actions because underlying all of my intentions is just one truth. Every single thing that moves me, every issue that has moved me to tears and to action has been one of social justice and human rights. I’ve found my home in activism. I’ve found my family. I look forward to sharing in the work and careful planning required by those with a long view. I’m inspired by what has been created by the leaders of my generation. Ramon Ramirez and Marcy Westerling bushwhacked a trail. Cara Shufelt, Jessica Campbell, Amanda Aguilar Shank, Keyla Almazan and Dancer Davis and countless others made the trail into a path. Thanks to those that walked ahead and those that now walk along side, I just have to put my feet on the path in joyful action with my friends. Thank you all ♥ Somos Una!

-Jennifer Turner
Occupy Klamath, Klamath Falls, OR

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English