الحرب في الوطن

22 أكتوبر 2014

الحرب في الداخل والخارج 

قبل أسابيع قليلة أرسلنا إليكم رسالة تبحث في الحرب في الخارج وما قد يكون حربًا لا نهاية لها في الرئاسة القادمة. يمكنك قراءة شبكة ROPnet هنا.

اليوم هو اليوم الوطني للاحتجاج على وحشية الشرطة.  لنتحدث أكثر عن وجه الحرب في الوطن.

كشفت مقالة حديثة على موقع theFreeThoughtProject.com أن عدد الأشخاص الذين قتلوا على أيدي الشرطة في السنوات العشر الماضية أعلى من عدد الجنود الأمريكيين الذين قتلوا في حرب العراق:

في العقد الماضي وحده بلغ عدد القتلى على أيدي الشرطة 5000 شخص. عدد القتلى من الجنود منذ بداية حرب العراق ، 4489.

كما يكشف عن احتمال تعرضك للقتل على يد ضابط شرطة بنسبة 29 مرة أكثر من احتمال تعرضك للقتل على يد إرهابي.  تحقق من المادة كاملة هنا.

أضف إلى ذلك فائض المعدات العسكرية التي يتم منحها الآن لتطبيق القانون المحلي في المقاطعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد ولدينا مقومات الحرب في الداخل.

رسم خريطة انتشار عتاد الجيش الفائض

مقاطعة ديشوتيس ، على سبيل المثال ، لديها الآن 40 بندقية هجومية ، و 40 قطعة درع للجسم ، و 30 قطعة رؤية ليلية ، و 3 قاذفات قنابل يدوية ، وعربة مصفحة. مقاطعة كلاكاماس بها العديد مما سبق ومركبة مقاومة للألغام أيضًا. انقر على الصورة أعلاه للحصول على تفاصيل حول مقاطعتك.

لسنوات عديدة ، عملت شرطة عمان السلطانية وجماعات الكرامة الإنسانية على إقامة الروابط بين الحروب في الخارج والحروب في الداخل: فضح السياسات التي تقصف البلدان الأخرى وترحيل الأشخاص من المهاجرين الملونين (الآن أكثر من مليوني عملية ترحيل منذ أن أصبح أوباما رئيسًا). بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تقوم مجموعات كرامة الإنسان في أكثر من اثنتي عشرة مقاطعة بإشراك عمدتها المحليين في محادثات - وممارسة الضغط - حول علاقات العمدة المحلية مع سلطات الهجرة والجمارك. ساعد هذا الضغط في كسب الأخبار الوطنية هذا العام حيث صرح عمداء ولاية أوريغون في جميع أنحاء الولاية علنًا أنهم لن يحترموا بعد الآن احتجاز ICE دون أمر قضائي ، مما يعني أنهم لن يحتفظوا بشخص ما في السجن لمجرد أن يأتي ICE لاصطحابه. هذا انتصار كبير.

مع عيون وآذان على فيرغسون والصحافة التي تغطي جرائم قتل الشباب السود من قبل سلطات إنفاذ القانون المحلية (وضباط الشرطة ينزلون دون محاكمة) ، الآن هو الوقت المثالي للضغط من أجل إحداث تحول في نفسيتنا الوطنية. هذه فرصة حقيقية لأخذ عملنا في كشف الحروب في الداخل والخارج إلى مستوى آخر.

إحدى النتائج الكبيرة لجولة شرطة عمان السلطانية الأخيرة مع وليدة إماريشا حول "لماذا لا يوجد المزيد من السود في ولاية أوريغون؟: تاريخ خفي" هي الاهتمام بإشراك سلطات إنفاذ القانون المحلية بشأن الأنظمة الموجودة لديهم للتصدي للعنف والظلم ضد الملونون والمهاجرون والمصابون بأمراض عقلية ويتصدون للعسكرة المحلية. تشمل الأسئلة ما يلي:

  • هل توجد سياسات و / أو ممارسات و / أو تدريب مطبق لتتبع العنف والحوادث التي يتعرض لها الأشخاص الملونون والمشردون والمصابون بأمراض عقلية والمجتمعات المهمشة الأخرى؟ هل يوجد مجلس مراجعة مدني أو أي شكل آخر من أشكال الرقابة الخارجية معمول به؟
  • كيف يتعامل عمداء الشرطة وإنفاذ القانون المحلي حاليًا مع سلطات الهجرة والجمارك (ICE) - ما هي المعلومات التي يقدمونها ، وما هي طرق تعاونهم؟
  • ما نوع المعدات العسكرية التي يمتلكونها؟ ما هو نوع التدريب القتالي الذي حصلوا عليه؟ ما هي القواعد التي توجه الاستخدام المستقبلي لهذه المعدات؟ ما هو دور المواطن في صنع القرار؟

تقوم شرطة عمان السلطانية بتجميع نشاط طاولة المطبخ الذي يوفر الأدوات والأسئلة للجلوس مع تطبيق القانون المحلي.  ما هي الأسئلة التي تود إضافتها إلى القائمة؟

أرسل لنا تفكيرك عن طريق البريد الإلكتروني cara@rop.org.

بحرارة ، كارا

ملاحظة: ولا تنسى! مشروع الاستماع الريفي في ولاية أوريغون قيد التنفيذ! أفضل طريقة لمعرفة ما يحدث في مجتمعاتنا هي السؤال! قم بتنزيل الاستطلاع هنا بتنسيق الإنجليزية و الأسبانية والمساعدة في جمع المعلومات والقصص حول تجارب الأشخاص ذوي الدخل المنخفض والمجتمعات الملونة في مجتمعاتنا المحلية. ستقوم شرطة عمان السلطانية بتجميع نتائج الولاية ومشاركة المعلومات مع مجموعتك حول نتائج الاستطلاع في مقاطعتك. بريد الالكتروني Jessica@rop.org لمزيد من المعلومات أو الاتصال على 8417-543-503. لقد جمعنا بالفعل أكثر من 150 دراسة - لنصل إلى 500.

العربية

The War at Home

October 22nd, 2014

The War At Home and Abroad 

A few weeks ago we sent you a message looking at the war abroad and what is likely to be endless war into the next presidency.  You can read that ROPnet here.

Today is the National Day of Protest Against Police Brutality.  Let’s talk more about the face of the war at home.

A recent article on theFreeThoughtProject.com revealed that the number of people murdered by police in the last 10 years is higher than the number of US soldiers killed in the Iraq war:

In the last decade alone the number of people murdered by police has reached 5,000. The number of soldiers killed since the inception of the Iraq war, 4489.

It also reveals that you are 29 times more likely to be killed by a police officer than you are by a terrorist.  Check out the full article here.

Couple this with the surplus military equipment that is now being gifted to local law enforcement in counties across the country and we have the makings of a war at home.

Mapping the Spread of the Military’s Surplus Gear

Deschutes County, for example, now has 40 assault rifles, 40 body armor pieces, 30 night vision pieces, 3 grenade launchers and 1 armored vehicle.   Clackamas County has several of the above and a mine resistant vehicle as well. Click on the above image for details about your county.

For years ROP and human dignity groups have been making the links between the wars abroad and the wars at home: exposing policies that bomb other countries and deport people of color immigrants (now over 2 million deportations since Obama became President).  In addition, human dignity groups in over a dozen counties have been engaging their local sheriffs in conversations – and applying pressure – around local sheriff’s relationships with Immigration and Customs Enforcement.  This pressure helped win national news this year as Oregon sheriffs all over the state publicly stated they will no longer honor ICE holds without a warrant, meaning they will no longer keep someone in jail just so ICE can come pick them up. This is a huge victory.

With eyes and ears on Ferguson and press covering the murders of young black men by local law enforcement (and police officers getting off without so much as a trial), now is the perfect time to push for a shift in our national psyche. This is a real opportunity to take our work exposing the wars at home and aboard to another level.

One big outcome of the most recent ROP Tour with Walidah Imarisha on “Why Aren’t There More Black People in Oregon?: A Hidden History” is interest in engaging local law enforcement on what systems they have in place to address violence and injustice against people of color, immigrants, people with mental illness and addressing local militarization.  Questions include:

  • Are there policies, practices and/or training in place to track violence against and incidences with people of color, homeless, people with mental illness and other marginalized communities?  Is there a civilian review board or another form of external oversight in place?
  • How are sheriffs and local law enforcement currently engaging with Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) – what information are they providing, what ways are they collaborating?
  • What kind of military equipment do they have? What kind of combat training have they had? What rules guide future use of such equipment?  What is the role of citizen decision-making?

ROP is putting together a Kitchen Table Activism that provides the tools and questions to sit down with your local law enforcement.  What questions would you add to the list?

Send us your thinking by emailing cara@rop.org.

Warmly, Cara

PS- And don’t forget! The Rural Oregon Listening Project is under way! The best way to know what is happening in our communities is to ask! Download the survey here in English and Spanish and help collect information and stories on the experiences of low income folks and communities of color in our local communities.  ROP will compile results for the state and share information back with your group about the survey results in your county. Email Jessica@rop.org for more information or call 503-543-8417.  We have already collected over 150 surveys – let’s reach 500.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English