国内战争

2014 年 10 月 22 日

国内外战争 

几周前,我们向您发送了一条消息,关注国外的战争以及下一任总统可能会发生的无休止的战争。你可以阅读那个ROPnet 这里.

今天是全国抗议警察暴行日。  让我们更多地谈谈国内战争的面貌。

最近在 FreeThoughtProject.com 上的一篇文章透露,过去 10 年被警察杀害的人数高于在伊拉克战争中阵亡的美军士兵人数:

仅在过去十年中,被警察谋杀的人数就达到了 5,000 人。自伊拉克战争开始以来阵亡的士兵人数, 4489.

它还表明,您被警察杀害的可能性是被恐怖分子杀害的 29 倍。  在此处查看全文。

再加上现在赠送给全国各县当地执法部门的剩余军事装备,我们就有了在国内发动战争的条件。

绘制军队剩余装备的分布图

例如,德舒特县现在有 40 支突击步枪、40 件防弹衣、30 件夜视仪、3 个榴弹发射器和 1 辆装甲车。克拉克马斯县有上述几种车辆以及防雷车辆。 单击上图了解有关您所在县的详细信息。

多年来,ROP 和人类尊严组织一直在将国外战争与国内战争联系起来:揭露轰炸其他国家和驱逐有色人种移民的政策(自奥巴马就任总统以来,驱逐出境人数已超过 200 万)。此外,十多个县的人类尊严团体一直在与当地治安官就当地治安官与移民和海关执法局的关系进行对话并施加压力。这种压力帮助今年赢得了全国新闻,因为俄勒冈州各地的警长公开表示,他们将不再尊重 ICE 没有逮捕令的情况,这意味着他们将不再将某人关进监狱,以便 ICE 可以来接他们。 这是一个巨大的胜利。

眼睛和耳朵都在弗格森身上,媒体报道了当地执法部门对年轻黑人男子的谋杀(警察未经审判就下车), 现在是推动我们民族心理转变的最佳时机.这是一个真正的机会,可以让我们的工作将国内外战争的曝光提升到另一个层次。

最近与 Walidah Imarisha 进行的关于“为什么俄勒冈州没有更多黑人?:一段不为人知的历史”的 ROP 巡回演出的一大成果是有兴趣让当地执法部门了解他们有哪些系统来解决针对暴力和不公正的问题有色人种、移民、精神疾病患者和解决当地军事化问题。问题包括:

  • 是否有政策、实践和/或培训来跟踪针对有色人种、无家可归者、精神疾病患者和其他边缘化社区的暴力和发生率?是否有民事审查委员会或其他形式的外部监督?
  • 治安官和当地执法部门目前如何与移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 合作——他们提供什么信息,他们以什么方式合作?
  • 他们有什么样的军事装备?他们接受过什么样的战斗训练?哪些规则指导未来使用此类设备?公民决策的作用是什么?

ROP 正在组织一个厨房餐桌活动,提供工具和问题来与您当地的执法部门坐下来讨论。  您会在列表中添加哪些问题?

通过电子邮件向我们发送您的想法 cara@rop.org.

温暖的卡拉

PS-不要忘记! 俄勒冈州农村听力项目正在进行中! 了解我们社区正在发生的事情的最好方法是询问!在此处下载调查 英语西班牙语 并帮助收集有关当地社区低收入人群和有色人种社区经历的信息和故事。 ROP 将为该州汇编结果,并与您的小组分享有关您所在县的调查结果的信息。电子邮件 杰西卡@rop.org 了解更多信息或致电 503-543-8417。我们已经收集了超过 150 份调查问卷——让我们达到 500 份。

简体中文

The War at Home

October 22nd, 2014

The War At Home and Abroad 

A few weeks ago we sent you a message looking at the war abroad and what is likely to be endless war into the next presidency.  You can read that ROPnet here.

Today is the National Day of Protest Against Police Brutality.  Let’s talk more about the face of the war at home.

A recent article on theFreeThoughtProject.com revealed that the number of people murdered by police in the last 10 years is higher than the number of US soldiers killed in the Iraq war:

In the last decade alone the number of people murdered by police has reached 5,000. The number of soldiers killed since the inception of the Iraq war, 4489.

It also reveals that you are 29 times more likely to be killed by a police officer than you are by a terrorist.  Check out the full article here.

Couple this with the surplus military equipment that is now being gifted to local law enforcement in counties across the country and we have the makings of a war at home.

Mapping the Spread of the Military’s Surplus Gear

Deschutes County, for example, now has 40 assault rifles, 40 body armor pieces, 30 night vision pieces, 3 grenade launchers and 1 armored vehicle.   Clackamas County has several of the above and a mine resistant vehicle as well. Click on the above image for details about your county.

For years ROP and human dignity groups have been making the links between the wars abroad and the wars at home: exposing policies that bomb other countries and deport people of color immigrants (now over 2 million deportations since Obama became President).  In addition, human dignity groups in over a dozen counties have been engaging their local sheriffs in conversations – and applying pressure – around local sheriff’s relationships with Immigration and Customs Enforcement.  This pressure helped win national news this year as Oregon sheriffs all over the state publicly stated they will no longer honor ICE holds without a warrant, meaning they will no longer keep someone in jail just so ICE can come pick them up. This is a huge victory.

With eyes and ears on Ferguson and press covering the murders of young black men by local law enforcement (and police officers getting off without so much as a trial), now is the perfect time to push for a shift in our national psyche. This is a real opportunity to take our work exposing the wars at home and aboard to another level.

One big outcome of the most recent ROP Tour with Walidah Imarisha on “Why Aren’t There More Black People in Oregon?: A Hidden History” is interest in engaging local law enforcement on what systems they have in place to address violence and injustice against people of color, immigrants, people with mental illness and addressing local militarization.  Questions include:

  • Are there policies, practices and/or training in place to track violence against and incidences with people of color, homeless, people with mental illness and other marginalized communities?  Is there a civilian review board or another form of external oversight in place?
  • How are sheriffs and local law enforcement currently engaging with Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) – what information are they providing, what ways are they collaborating?
  • What kind of military equipment do they have? What kind of combat training have they had? What rules guide future use of such equipment?  What is the role of citizen decision-making?

ROP is putting together a Kitchen Table Activism that provides the tools and questions to sit down with your local law enforcement.  What questions would you add to the list?

Send us your thinking by emailing cara@rop.org.

Warmly, Cara

PS- And don’t forget! The Rural Oregon Listening Project is under way! The best way to know what is happening in our communities is to ask! Download the survey here in English and Spanish and help collect information and stories on the experiences of low income folks and communities of color in our local communities.  ROP will compile results for the state and share information back with your group about the survey results in your county. Email Jessica@rop.org for more information or call 503-543-8417.  We have already collected over 150 surveys – let’s reach 500.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English