弗格森之路——与苏珊娜·法尔的对话

2015 年 4 月 21 日

亲爱的 ROPnetters,

农村组织项目很高兴下周将运动战略家 Suzanne Pharr 带到俄勒冈州,以促进与 ROP 领导人和成员的对话!重点将是通往弗格森之路。

弗格森不只是突然出现在不公正的景观中。我们的客厅对话将描绘这条道路上的一些标志,从动产奴隶制开始,到右翼和新自由主义的角色结束。然后我们将一起讨论我们如何共同组织以建造一条不同的道路。

Suzanne Pharr 是来自南方的长期组织者和全国知名的战略运动思想家。苏珊娜是一位老派的女同性恋/女权主义者,她在佐治亚州霍格山的一个农场出生,是八个孩子中最小的一个。她认为种族主义、性别歧视和经济不公有着千丝万缕的联系,我们必须同时努力消除它们——从根本上,直奔它们的根源。苏珊娜于 1981 年在阿肯色州创立了妇女项目,1982 年是新地南方人的联合创始人,并于 1999-2004 年担任汉兰达中心主任。她是一名组织者和政治战略家,成年后一直致力于建立基础广泛的社会和经济正义运动。她是《同性恋恐惧症:性别歧视的武器》和《权利时代:解放反思》的作者。最接近我们的心的是,Suzanne 在 90 年代在俄勒冈州生活了几年,并帮助启动了 ROP。多年来,她一直非常关注我们的工作。

客厅对话将在全州的这些社区进行:
4 月 27 日星期一:奥尔巴尼
4 月 28 日,星期二:Grants Pass
4 月 29 日,星期三:雷德蒙德
4 月 30 日星期四:塞勒姆

空间有限,因此一旦我们达到容量,我们将不得不将人们拒之门外。一些对话仍有一些空间,所以如果您有兴趣参加,请联系 cara@rop.org 或致电 503-438-8638,我们会通知您有空。

在 ROP 组织的战略时刻,ROP 将 Suzanne 带到了俄勒冈州。 2005 年,Suzanne 帮助我们设想了从塞勒姆到波特兰的真相、正义和社区步行。 2010 年,Suzanne 主持了一系列关于经济的对话,这得益于 Suzanne 将大局思维和与美国各地运动的联系、农村社区右翼组织的专业知识、经验和对基层组织力量的承诺的独特结合,以及她出色的引导技巧。我们很高兴再次欢迎她来到俄勒冈州!

尽我所能,
卡拉

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

The Road to Ferguson – Conversations with Suzanne Pharr‏

April 21st, 2015

Dear ROPnetters,

The Rural Organizing Project is thrilled to be bringing movement strategist Suzanne Pharr to Oregon next week to facilitate conversations with ROP leaders and membership! The focus will be The Road to Ferguson.

Ferguson didn’t just pop up on the landscape of injustice. Our living room conversations will chart some of the markers on this road, beginning with chattel slavery and ending with the role of the Right and Neoliberalism. We will then talk together about how we collectively can organize to build a different road.

Suzanne Pharr is a long time organizer and nationally renowned strategic movement thinker from the South. Suzanne is an old school lesbian/feminist who was born the youngest of eight children on a farm in Hog Mountain, Georgia. She believes that racism, sexism and economic injustice are inextricably connected and we must work on their dismantlement simultaneously— radically, going right to their roots. Suzanne founded the Women’s Project in Arkansas in 1981, was a co-founder of Southerners on New Ground in 1982, and was the director of the Highlander Center 1999-2004. She is an organizer and political strategist who has spent her adult life working to build a broad-based social and economic justice movement. She is the author of Homophobia: A Weapon of Sexism, and In the Time of the Right: Reflections on Liberation. Closest to our hearts, Suzanne lived in Oregon for several years in the 90s and helped start ROP. She has stayed very close to our work over the years.

Living Room Conversations will be happening in these communities across the state:
Monday, April 27th: Albany
Tuesday, April 28th: Grants Pass
Wednesday, April 29th: Redmond
Thursday, April 30th: Salem

Space is limited so once we reach capacity we will have to turn people away. Several of the conversations still have some space, so if you are interested in attending please contact cara@rop.org or call 503-438-8638 and we will let you know availability.

ROP has brought Suzanne out to Oregon at strategic moments in ROP’s organizing. In 2005, Suzanne helped us envision what became the Walk for Truth, Justice, and Community from Salem to Portland. In 2010, Suzanne led a series of conversations on the economy that benefited from Suzanne’s unique combination of big picture thinking and connections to movements around the US, expertise on the Right’s organizing in rural communities, experience and commitment to the power of grassroots organizing, and her excellent facilitation skills. We are thrilled to once again welcome her to Oregon!

All my best,
Cara

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English