俄勒冈州农村政治艺术的力量

 

  2018 年 8 月 31 日 亲爱的 ROPnet,  

随着俄勒冈州的农村人在全州范围内起义要求结束对其家人、朋友和邻居的拘留和驱逐,标志、海报、T 恤和其他艺术品中呈现的创造力和力量的结合为我们的生活带来了美感和清晰度。消息。  

将政治艺术融入我们的行动可以扩大我们的组织。在 5 月的 ROP 年度核心小组会议上,创作了左侧图像的当地政治艺术家布赖恩·希思 (Brian Heath) 带来了模板和颜料,以便参与核心小组的人可以制作自己的海报、横幅和 T 恤,并将带有我们信息的图像带回家农村抵抗。在全州 NORCOR 团结行动 5 月,人们在监狱前被 ICE 非人道拘留,我们的艺术提供了强大的视觉效果来增强我们的信息。当被 ICE 拘留的人乘坐巴士前往该机构时,这些图像就显得尤为重要,他们在 NORCOR 下车时能够看到抵抗和支持的迹象。他们认出了我们的 T 恤和标志,后来从 NORCOR 内部打电话告诉我们!每年,本顿县的领导人都会举办团结集会,当地团体和社区成员齐聚一堂

分享他们的正义工作,并通过音乐、美食和政治戏剧来庆祝。去年,博览会受到白人民族主义者的干扰,他们还在博览会开始前在公园周围散布仇外和种族主义信息。今年,当地领导人早早出现,在公园周围的人行道上用粉笔画出美丽的图像和爱与团结的信息,在人们到达时定下基调,并明确表示他们正在进入一个欢迎所有人的空间!家庭和社区成员在公园里走来走去,欣赏彼此的面部彩绘、分享食物和组织策略,并指出人行道上的粉笔画及其作为我们每个人的社区象征的意义。

为准备 在谢里登守夜 于 2018 年 6 月 18 日举行,如右图所示的图像旨在增强工发组织桥接社区和其他当地守夜组织者的信息:保持家庭在一起。来自俄勒冈州各县的年轻组织者也加入了制作自己的海报和标牌,这些海报和标志带有爱的图像和信息,并使家人团聚。

帮助我们建立我们的乡村政治艺术图书馆!您是否看到艺术有助于治愈和赋予当地社区权力?我们想知道您所在社区的政治艺术是什么样的。向我们发送可以通过网络分享的图片和故事,如果您有一个谷仓供 Brian 画画,请告诉我们,因为他正在为一些农村抵抗艺术寻找更大的画布。团结可以存在于任何画布上! 

从 9 月 30 日到 10 月 6 日加入我们,为期 7 天的旅程要求结束拘留和驱逐出境。 我们将从谢里登步行到 NORCOR,要求释放所有被监禁的移民,结束与 FCI Sheridan 的 ICE 联系,并结束与 NORCOR 的 ICE 合同。这是制作标志、T 恤和横幅并将艺术的力量带入我们为移民伸张正义的乡村之旅的绝佳机会!

我们请 Brian 与我们分享他的一些技巧、窍门和购物建议,以促进您的创意团结。在下面查看它们! 

热烈地,

Caroline 和 ROP 团队

在家可以做的项目:

  • 标志和横幅
  • T恤
  • 粉刷你的谷仓或屋顶
  • 拼贴画
  • 人体艺术

内容提示:

  • 图像具有很强的影响力。文字有帮助,但文字越少,传达的信息越有效
  • 专注于图像和徽标来表达您的想法
  • 你不必说同一种语言来理解艺术中的信息
  • 选择正面的图片和短语来与您的观众建立联系

收集用品的提示:

  • 美元商店很方便购买价格合理的标签板和标记
  • 五金店是下一个最实惠的站点
  • 将您的标签板切成两半以获得两个标志。它们也更容易携带!
  • 如果您的标牌一侧很光滑,请在另一侧更吸水的地方涂漆
  • 避免使用水性标记,因为它在雨天无法使用
  • 喷上透明涂层(在艺术商店很便宜)以抵御天气
  • 使用坚固的标签板来承受油漆
  • 丙烯酸漆比天妇罗漆更好更强
  • 您可以将窗口用作跟踪图像的灯台
  • 剪影使非艺术家可以重新创建简单、大胆的图像
  • 床单可以涂漆并变成横幅,在二手商店很容易找到

 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

The Power of Political Art in Rural Oregon

 

  August 31st, 2018   Dear ROPnet,  

As rural Oregonians rise up around the state to demand an end to the detention and deportation of their family members, friends and neighbors, the combined creativity and power present in the signs, posters, t-shirts and other artwork brings beauty and clarity to our messages.  

Incorporating political art into our actions can amplify our organizing. At ROP’s annual caucus in May, Brian Heath, a local political artist who created the image to the left, brought stencils and paints so that caucus-goers could create their own posters, banners, and t-shirts and carry home images with our message of rural resistance. At the statewide NORCOR solidarity action in May, an action in front of the jail where folks are being inhumanely detained by ICE, our art provided powerful visuals to enhance our message. These images were all the more important when people detained by ICE were driven to the institution in a bus, and they were able to see the signs of resistance and support as they were being dropped off at NORCOR. They recognized us for our t-shirts and signs and called later from inside NORCOR to tell us!    Every year, leaders in Benton County host the Solidarity Fair, where local groups and community members come together

to share about their justice work and celebrate through music, food and political theater. Last year, the fair was disrupted by white nationalists, who also chalked xenophobic and racist messages around the park prior to the start of the fair. This year, local leaders showed up early and chalked beautiful images and messages of love and solidarity on the sidewalks surrounding the park, setting the tone as people arrived and making it clear they were entering a space where all were welcome! Families and community members walked around the park admiring each other’s face paint, sharing food and organizing strategies and pointing out the images chalked onto the sidewalks and their significance as symbols of a community by and for each of us.

In preparation for the vigil at Sheridan held on June 18, 2018, images like the one shown to the right were created to enhance the message of UNIDOS Bridging Communities and other local vigil organizers: KEEP FAMILIES TOGETHER. Young organizers from counties across Oregon also joined in making their own posters and signs with images and messages of love and keeping families together.

Help us build our library of rural political art! Have you seen art help heal and empower your local community? We want to know what political art is looking like in your community. Send us pictures and stories we can share through the network, and let us know if you have a barn for Brian to paint, as he is seeking a larger canvass for some rural resistance art. Solidarity can live on any canvas! 

Join us from September 30th to October 6th, for a 7-day journey to demand an end to detention and deportation. We will walk from Sheridan to NORCOR to demand the release of all migrants from incarceration, to end the ICE contact at FCI Sheridan, and to end the ICE contract at NORCOR. This is a great opportunity to create signs, t-shirts and banners and bring the power of art to our rural journey for immigrant justice!

We asked Brian to share some of his tips, tricks and shopping advice with us to fuel your creative solidarity. Check them out below! 

Warmly,

Caroline and the ROP Team

Projects You Can Do At Home:

  • Signs and banners
  • T-shirts
  • Paint your Barn or Roof
  • Collages
  • Body Art

Content Tips:

  • Images have a strong impact. Words help, but the fewer words the more effective your message
  • Focus on images and logos to represent your ideas
  • You don’t have to speak the same language to understand messages in art
  • Choose positive images and phrases to connect with your audience

Tips for Gathering Supplies:

  • Dollar stores are handy for affordable tag board and markers
  • Hardware stores are the next most affordable stop
  • Cut your tag board in half for two signs. They are easier to carry, too!
  • If you get tagboard that is slick on one side, paint on the other side where it’s more absorbent
  • Avoid water-based markers, which won’t hold up in rainy weather
  • Spray with clear coat (which is inexpensive at art stores) to withstand through weather
  • Use strong tag board to withstand painting
  • Acrylic paint is better and stronger than tempra paint
  • You can use a window as a light table for tracing images
  • Silhouettes make simple, bold images that non-artists can recreate
  • Bedsheets can be painted and turned into banners and are easy to find at second hand stores

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English