巴勒斯坦战争对俄勒冈州农村地区的影响:核心小组的下一步行动

亲爱的 ROPnet,

4 月 6 日,在农村核心小组和战略会议上,来自全州各地的领导人齐聚一堂,参加了名为 "从全球到地方:聚焦战争、和平与气候变化 "的分组会议。我们重点讨论了 从气候变化到军事化边界和无休止的海外战争,全球挑战如何深深影响着小城镇和农村社区。 我们从伍德本回到家后不久,媒体上就出现了大学生抗议者的身影!本期 ROPnet 分享了学生组织背后的一些背景,以及从全球到地方核心小组战略会议的收获。

在头三周,美联社 记录了至少 75 起美国校园抗议活动中的逮捕事件。57 所高校逮捕了近 3000 人。

大学校园里发生了什么?以下是简要介绍,同样来自《华盛顿邮报》。 美联社:

学生抗议活动须知

  • 发生了什么? 学生抗议以色列-哈马斯战争 在许多大学校园里出现 示威者在 四月,哥伦比亚大学。
  • 为什么: 学生们抗议战争造成的死亡人数,并且 呼吁大学分离 从任何推进以色列在加沙军事行动的公司中撤资。
  • 在校园里 在全国各地的学生举行抗议活动之际,学生记者们正在 报道同龄人 在不确定的时刻

现在是一个令人难以置信的起义时刻。我们可以而且确实在捍卫抗议权利的同时,谴责反犹太主义、仇视伊斯兰教以及任何其他仇恨行为或言论。和平抗议是全美国的价值观--农村组织项目数十年来一直秉承这一价值观,而在当今这个时代,我们也迫切需要和平抗议。 超过 65 名准军事组织 "人民权利 "的成员刚刚参加了本州的政治竞选。 从取消公共机构和私营企业的种族隔离,到制止越南战争和解决气候变化的根源,大学生历来领导着全国性的运动。

请观看前 ROP 董事会成员乔-刘易斯(Joe Lewis)接受采访,分享他在肯特州立大学抗议越南战争时被枪杀的故事。.

今天,与 20 世纪 60 年代一样,校园抗议是对美国军事支持内塔尼亚胡战争的自然反应。缓和抗议活动的方法是结束美国对战争的支持,而不是派遣国民警卫队或警察去攻击孩子、教授和抗议者。占领图书馆和校园其他地方的学生们呼吁为巴勒斯坦人民争取尊严、正义和解放。具体目标包括终止美国对以色列政府的军事援助,以及要求他们所在的大学撤出对以色列国和所有维持以色列种族隔离的以色列和国际公司的投资。这一高校撤资呼吁受到了成功的撤资运动的启发,该运动与许多其他策略一起,导致了南非种族隔离制度在 20 世纪 90 年代的终结。

虽然有少数几次备受关注的行动导致了与警察的冲突或玻璃窗被打破、 卫报》报道 自 4 月中旬以来,美国有 97% 次校园示威活动是和平的,而在这 20 次非和平抗议活动中,有 10 次 "涉及抗议者在警察干预期间与执法人员发生冲突"。

为和平与正义而行动的不仅仅是学生。在俄勒冈州农村地区和世界各地,人们都在大声疾呼。 早在本世纪初,俄勒冈农村地区的人们同样大声疾呼,战争不是解决问题的办法。 组织者强调,对伊拉克和阿富汗的战争不会让在 9/11 袭击中丧生的人们重获新生,也不会让美国人民更加安全。今天,内塔尼亚胡在过去 8 个月中对加沙发动的全面进攻并没有让哈马斯在 10 月 7 日从其家人手中劫走的大多数人质回家。此外,无论是当时还是现在、 组织者使用战争成本(或战争代价)的语言来表达他们的观点。

本世纪初,我们是如何使用 "Co$st of War "框架的?

"我们所有的社区都在努力满足基本需求。卡特里娜飓风的灾难表明,我们的安全网是多么的支离破碎,我们的政府是多么的无力照顾我们。与此同时,伊拉克战争消耗了超过 $347 亿美元,俄勒冈州消耗了超过 $27 亿美元"。

- 摘自 ROP 2006 年分发的工具

查看 2006 年用于收集故事的完整调查样本请点击此处.您还可以聆听前 ROP 董事会主席凯西-帕特诺(Kathy Paterno)分享以下内容 2000 年代使用战争成本框架的影响。 这一框架是今年春季农村核心小组会议和战略会议讨论的主要议题。

今日战争计数器

这 战争费用计数器 来自美国巴勒斯坦人民权利运动 该计数器有助于根据当地情况确定军事资金来源。这个计数器估算了美国政府通过联邦税款从您所在地区的纳税人那里向以色列军队提供的资金总额。图表显示了哪些需求可以得到资助,如医疗保健、教育和住房。本世纪初,这个计数器只能显示县一级的数字,而现在这个计数器可以显示全国、州或市一级的数字。也许你们(读者)中有人找到了现在的县级计数器,可以与大家分享?

农村核心小组和战略会议的收获:

四月份在伍德本,我们讨论了战争成本运动及其在地方、州、国家和国际层面的有效性。各小组提出了将各种问题联系起来的重要性。

例如, 奥尔巴尼的 Peaceseekers 有一张传单(他们跑到车里拿出来给大家看),上面描述了气候危机与臃肿的军事预算之间的联系。 传单称,"美国军方是世界上最大的温室气体工业制造者"。 在此查看完整的宣传单,并打印出来与您的社区分享! 人们还分享了他们与住房正义组织者以及致力于增加心理健康资源、学校、儿童保育等方面资金的人们建立联盟的工作!

尤其是在大选年,在场的每个人都认为,小镇社区开展这项工作具有不可思议的价值,因为国会领导人经常指出农村社区支持战争努力。但这与我们农村人的经历并不相符。

谈话结束时,每个人都想出了许多办法来采取行动,将这些全球性问题带回农村社区,并支持俄勒冈州农村地区在国家层面发表意见!正如我们今年早些时候强调的那样 自 2023 年 10 月以来,至少有 11 个县的团体采取了支持和平的行动。 主办集会、守夜或游行,写信或致电国会议员是参与这一问题的最常用方式。(请将您的公告、照片或视频发送到农村组织项目 Facebook 和/或 Instagram,我们可以转发!)。人们还提出了其他富有创意的和平组织方式。以下是几个亮点:

向各级民选官员施压:

  • 突出战争的代价: 在院子里竖起一块大牌子,上面用魔术贴贴上数字,让邻居们了解社区在海外战争上花费的资金和死亡人数。一些人建议将气候不作为的成本也加进去!
    • 这 战争费用计数器 美国争取巴勒斯坦权利运动的《美国政府向以色列军方提供的资金计数器》对于根据当地情况确定军方资金来源非常有用。这个计数器估算了美国政府通过联邦税款从您所在地区的纳税人那里向以色列军方提供的资金总额。该图表显示了哪些需求可以得到资助,如医疗保健、教育和住房。
  • 通过市议会决议,呼吁停止军事援助。 这与 战争费用计数器 上文提到的国家军事资金与地方预算短缺之间的联系。

鼓励社区对话,分享可靠信息:

  • 举办电影放映活动 核心小组领导人推荐的一部电影:
  • 国土报 是以色列的一个新闻来源,领导人分享了他们用来了解该地区最新动态的信息。
  • 不,谢谢 是一款应用程序,智能手机用户可以通过扫描商店里的产品,轻松查看哪些公司正在抵制他们的产品,从而选择避免购买哪些公司的产品,转而购买本地产品。

最后、 社交媒体的挑战和益处是全球运动建设的重要组成部分 以及我们无法控制 Facebook、Instagram 或 X 等社交媒体平台。领导们分享了一些技巧,例如在直接消息中分享内容,以及更改设置以查看 Instagram 过滤掉的政治内容(进入个人资料,点击右上角的三条横线按钮→向下滚动到内容偏好设置→政治内容→选择 "不限制政治内容")。我们还讨论了在社交媒体之外接触社区的方法,包括打电话、发传单,对于步行的小社区来说,人行道上的粉笔也很方便!

您的小组有没有发现有用的工具或资源? 通过电子邮件与我们分享 艾玛@rop.org 我们可以通过以下网址将他们添加到这份生机勃勃的名单中 www.rop.org → 资源 巴勒斯坦团结资源!

热烈地,

艾玛和 ROP 团队

附注:虽然核心小组讨论中没有提到这个问题,但我最近与本德的犹太社区成员就以色列和巴勒斯坦问题进行了一次对话。还有谁正在或希望就正在发生的事情进行针对犹太人的对话?我很乐意与他们交流,交换故事!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

The Co$t of War in Palestine on Rural Oregon: Caucus Next Moves

Dear ROPnet,

On April 6th at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, leaders from across the state gathered in a breakout session called “Global to Local: Honing in on War, Peace, and Climate Change.” We focused on how global challenges, from climate change to militarized borders and endless wars abroad, deeply affect small towns and rural communities. Shortly after we got home from Woodburn, college student protesters filled the media! This ROPnet shares some context behind that student organizing, as well as takeaways from the Global to Local Caucus strategy session.

In just the first three weeks, The Associated Press recorded at least 75 instances of arrests being made at U.S. campus protests. Nearly 3,000 people have been arrested at 57 colleges and universities.

What’s happening on college campuses? Here’s the quick rundown, also from the Associated Press:

What to know about student protests

This moment is one of incredible uprising. We can and do condemn antisemitic, Islamophobic, and any other hateful actions or statements while defending the right to protest. Peaceful protests are an all-American value — one that the Rural Organizing Project has embraced for decades and one that we desperately need in a time when more than 65 members of a paramilitary group, People’s Rights, just ran for political office in our state. College students have historically led national movements, from desegregating public institutions and private businesses, to stopping the war in Vietnam and addressing the root causes of climate change.

Check out this interview of former ROP board member Joe Lewis sharing his story of being shot at Kent State while protesting the war in Vietnam.

Today, like in the 1960s, campus protests are a natural response to US military support for Netanyahu’s war. The way to de-escalate the protests is to end US support for the war, not send in the National Guard or police to attack kids, professors, and protesters. Students occupying libraries and other parts of their campuses are calling for dignity, justice, and liberation for the Palestinian people. Specific goals include an end to US military aid for the Israeli government, and for their colleges to withdraw investments from the State of Israel and all Israeli and international companies that sustain Israeli apartheid. This call for college divestment is inspired by the successful divestment movement that, along with many other tactics, led to the end of South African Apartheid in the 1990s.

While a handful of highly publicized actions have led to clashes with police, or broken windows, the Guardian reports that 97% of campus demonstrations in the US since mid-April have been peaceful, and 10 of those 20 non-peaceful protests “involved protesters fighting with law enforcement during police interventions.”

Students aren’t the only ones showing up for peace and justice. Across rural Oregon and around the world, people are raising their voices. Back in the early 2000s, rural Oregonians similarly raised our voices loud and clear that war is not the answer. Organizers emphasized that the war against Iraq and Afghanistan would not bring back the lives lost in the 9/11 attacks or make people in the US safer. Today, Netanyahu’s all-out assault on Gaza in the last 8 months has not brought home the majority of the hostages that Hamas horrifically stole from their families on October 7th. Additionally, both then and now, organizers are using language around the cost of war (or co$t of war) to bring their point home.

How did we use “Co$st of War” framing in the early 2000s?

“All of our communities are struggling to meet basic needs. The disaster of Hurricane Katrina demonstrated just how broken our safety net is and how unable our government is to take care of us. Meanwhile, the War in Iraq has consumed over $347 billion and over $2.7 billion in Oregon.”

– excerpt from a tool ROP distributed in 2006

Check out the full survey sample used to collect stories in 2006 here. You can also listen to former ROP board chair, Kathy Paterno, sharing about the impact of using cost of war framing in the 2000s. This framing was a major topic of discussion at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session this spring.

Today’s Co$t of War counter

The cost of war counter from the US Campaign for Palestinian Rights has been useful for grounding military funding in a local context. This counter estimates the total funds the U.S. government sends to the Israeli military from taxpayers in your area, through federal tax dollars. The graphic shows what needs could be funded instead, such as healthcare, education, and housing. In the early 2000s, this counter was available at the county level, whereas this one is currently able to show national, state, or city numbers. Perhaps one of you (readers) has found a present-day county-by-county counter that you can share?

Takeaways from the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session:

In Woodburn in April, we discussed the cost of war campaign and its effectiveness at the local, state, national, and international level. Groups raised the importance of connecting the dots across issues.

For example, Albany Peaceseekers have a flyer (that they ran and grabbed from their car to show everyone) that describes the connections between the climate crisis and the bloated military budget. The flyer states that “the US military is the single largest industrial producer of greenhouse gases in the world.” Check out the full flyer and print it to share with your community here! Folks also shared about their work building coalitions with housing justice organizers and with folks working for increased funding for mental health resources, schools, childcare, and more!

Particularly during an election year, everyone in the room agreed that there is incredible value in small-town communities doing this work because congressional leaders often point to rural communities as those supporting the war effort. But that’s not accurate to our experience as rural people.

By the end of the conversation, everyone had many ways to take action that bring these global issues home to rural communities and support rural Oregon being heard on the national level! As we highlighted earlier this year, groups in at least 11 counties have taken action in support of peace since October 2023. Hosting rallies, vigils, or marches, and writing or calling our congresspeople are some of the most popular ways to engage on this issue. (Send us your announcements, photos, or videos to Rural Organizing Project Facebook and/or Instagram and we can repost them!) Folks are also coming up with other creative ways to organize for peace. Here are a few highlights:

Pressure elected officials at every level:

  • Highlight the cost of war: Set up a big yard sign with velcro numbers to update your neighbors on the amount of money spent by your community on wars abroad, and the number of lives lost. Some suggested adding in the costs of climate inaction as well!
    • The cost of war counter from the US Campaign for Palestinian Rightshas been useful for grounding military funding in a local context. This counter estimates the total funds the U.S. government sends to the Israeli military from taxpayers in your area, through federal tax dollars. The graphic shows what needs could be funded instead, such as healthcare, education, and housing.
  • Pass a resolution calling for an end to military aid through your city council. This is particularly effective in conjunction with the cost of war counter mentioned above to draw the connection between national military funding and local budget shortfalls.

Encourage community conversation and share credible information:

  • Host a film screening of one of the films recommended by leaders at the Caucus:
  • Ha’aretz is an Israeli news source that leaders shared they are using to stay up to date on what’s going on in the region.
  • No Thanks is an app that allows smartphone users to easily see which companies have active boycotts against them by scanning the product at the store so you can make choices of which companies to avoid, and opt for local products instead.

Lastly, the challenges and benefits of social media came up as a key part of global movement building as wellWe do not control social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, or X. Leaders shared tricks such as sharing content in direct messages and changing your settings to see political content otherwise filtered out by Instagram (go to your profile, click the three horizontal lines button in the top right corner → scroll down to content preferences → political content → select “do not limit political content”’). We also discussed ways to reach out to your community beyond social media including calling people on the phone, distributing flyers, and for small walkable communities: sidewalk chalk can be handy too!

Do you have tools or resources your group is finding useful? Share them with us by emailing emma@rop.org and we can add them to this living list at www.rop.org → resources → Palestine solidarity resources!

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP Team

P.S. While this didn’t come up in the Caucus discussion, I recently hosted a conversation on Israel and Palestine with members of my Jewish community here in Bend. Who else is having or wanting to have Jewish-specific conversations about what’s going on? I would love to connect and swap stories!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English