فرض ضرائب على خطة الإنقاذ!

فرض ضريبة على حملة دعم قماش القنب

ملخص الحملة
يعمل Enlace مع مشروع التنظيم الريفي ، ومركز التنظيم بين الثقافات ، والوظائف العادلة ، ومجموعات أخرى على ضريبة حملة دعم قماش القنب. تسعى الحملة إلى جعل ولاية أوريغون تفرض ضرائب على الدعم غير المبرر من أموال برنامج إغاثة الأصول المتعثرة (TARP) التي تتلقاها شركات أوريغون التابعة لشركات قابضة مالية عملاقة مثل JP Morgan Chase و Bank of America في الأيام الأخيرة لإدارة بوش. ويقدر هذا الدعم بأكثر من $364 مليون.
مع استمرار تدهور الاقتصاد ، تزداد الهجمات العنصرية السياسية على المهاجرين في المقابل. مع تخوف المزيد من العمال من فقدان وظائفهم والتأمين الصحي والمعاشات التقاعدية ، يتم إلقاء اللوم على المهاجرين ظلما لهذه المشاكل وغيرها مثل المدارس المزدحمة وغرف الطوارئ في المستشفيات المكتظة. ستذهب الضريبة على إعانة الإنقاذ لهذه البنوك الضخمة نحو الخدمات البشرية التي تشتد الحاجة إليها في ولاية أوريغون وتحول النقاش العام من كبش فداء للمهاجرين والأشخاص الملونين إلى مصدر هذه الأوقات الصعبة: المؤسسات المالية الدولية الجشعة.
برنامج إغاثة الأصول المتعثرة (TARP)
في تشرين الأول (أكتوبر) 2008 ، قدم برنامج TARP أكثر من 1 تيرابايت 2 تيرابايت 350 مليار كتمويل فيدرالي لأكبر الشركات القابضة للبنوك الأمريكية. هذه هي المؤسسات المالية التي حطمت كلا من اقتصاد الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك وأدت إلى ركود عالمي. في حين أن خطة الإنقاذ كانت معفاة من الضرائب من وجهة النظر الفيدرالية ، فلا يوجد ما يمنع الدولة من فرض ضرائب على الشركات المؤسسة في تلك الولاية والتي هي شركات تابعة لمتلقي TARP. وجدت دراسة للكونجرس أن معظم أموال برنامج TARP المدفوعة كانت إعانة أو هدية لتلك المؤسسات المالية. على سبيل المثال: حصل JP Morgan Chase على $25 مليار من TARP ، وأكثر من $274 مليون منها في ولاية أوريغون. كان أكثر من $49 مليون من أموال TARP التي تلقاها JP Morgan Chase في ولاية أوريغون بمثابة دعم غير متوقع. إن رسوم 35% على الدعم داخل صناديق Oregon TARP التابعة لـ JP Morgan Chase ستحقق أكثر من $17 مليون.
تلقت سبع شركات مالية قابضة لديها شركات تابعة تم تأسيسها في ولاية أوريغون ما مجموعه أكثر من $105 مليار من TARP. زاد المبلغ الذي استلمته هذه الشركات القابضة من أصولها في ولاية أوريغون بما يزيد عن $1.6 مليار. تم تصميم أموال دافعي الضرائب هذه لتغطية الاستثمارات السيئة التي قامت بها البنوك بأموال الآخرين وتمكين مؤسسات الإقراض من تقديم قروض بشروط تمنع حبس الرهن العقاري وتسريح العمال. لكن الشركات المالية الضخمة أنفقت الكثير من أموال الإنقاذ على الاستحواذ على المنافسين والمكافآت السخية للمديرين التنفيذيين. من خلال الشروع في انهيار مالي ، لم تعرض هذه المؤسسات أصول عملائها للخطر فحسب ، بل رفعت أيضًا التكاليف الاجتماعية لولاية أوريغون.
من شأن فرض ضريبة غير متوقعة على دعم TARP للصناعة المالية في ولاية أوريغون أن يحقق ما يكفي لتغطية النقص في الخدمات الطبية الطارئة المتزايدة في ولايتنا بسبب السلوك غير المسؤول للشركات المالية القابضة لـ TARP.
عندما تفوز بالجائزة الكبرى في اليانصيب في ولاية أوريغون ، فإنك تدفع ضريبة قدرها 35% على أرباحك المفاجئة - يجب على Bank of America و JP Morgan Chase و Wells Fargo والآخرون دفع نفس المبلغ مقابل أرباحهم.

 

العربية

Tax the Bailout!

Tax the TARP Subsidy Campaign

Campaign Summary
Enlace is working with the Rural Organizing Project, the Center for Intercultural Organizing, Jobs With Justice, and other groups on the Tax the TARP Subsidy Campaign. The campaign seeks to get the State of Oregon to tax the unjustifiable subsidy from the Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP) funds received by Oregon subsidiaries of giant financial holding companies like JP Morgan Chase and Bank of America in the closing days of the Bush administration. This subsidy is estimated to be over $364 million.
As the economy continues to worsen, politically racist attacks on immigrants increase correspondingly. As more workers fear the loss of their jobs, health insurance and pensions, immigrants are unjustly blamed for these and other problems such as crowded schools and overcrowded hospital emergency rooms. The tax on the bailout subsidy of these mega-banks would go toward much needed human services in Oregon and shift the public debate from scapegoating immigrants and people of color to the source of these hard times: greedy international financial institutions.
Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP)
In October 2008, the TARP provided over $350 billion in federal funding to the largest US bank-holding companies. These are the financial institutions that have crashed both the US and Mexican economies and initiated a worldwide recession. While the bailout was tax-free from the federal standpoint, there is nothing to prevent a state from taxing the companies incorporated in that state that are subsidiaries of TARP recipients. A Congressional study has found that much of the TARP money paid out was a subsidy, or gift, to those financial institutions. For example: J.P. Morgan Chase received $25 billion from the TARP, over $274 million of it in Oregon. Over $49 million of the TARP money JP Morgan Chase received in Oregon was a windfall subsidy. A 35% charge on the subsidy within J.P. Morgan Chase’s Oregon TARP funds would yield over $17 million.
Seven financial holding companies that have subsidiaries incorporated in Oregon received a total of over $105 billion from TARP. The amount received by these holding companies increased their Oregon assets by over $1.6 billion. This taxpayer money was designed to cover the bad investments the banks made with other people’s money and enable lending institutions to provide loans with terms that would prevent home foreclosures and layoffs. But the financial heavyweights spent much of the bailout money on acquisitions of competitors and lavish executive bonuses. By initiating a financial avalanche, these institutions not only put their customers’ assets at risk, but also raised social costs for the state of Oregon.
A windfall tax on the financial industry TARP subsidy in Oregon would yield enough to cover the shortfall in increased emergency medical services in our state caused by the irresponsible conduct of the TARP financial holding companies.
When you win the lottery jackpot in Oregon, you pay a 35% tax on your windfall – Bank of America, JP Morgan Chase, Wells Fargo and the others should pay the same for theirs.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English