اتخاذ الإجراءات القانونية لوعد الملجأ

أقام مشروع التنظيم الريفي والتحالف المجتمعي لمقاطعة لين (CALC) اليوم دعوى قضائية ضد مدينة كوتيدج جروف وإدارة الشرطة التابعة لها لانتهاك قانون وعد الملجأ في ولاية أوريغون. من خلال التمثيل القانوني لـ Oregon Law Center ، يطلب ROP و CALC من القاضي أن يأمر Cottage Grove بالتوقف عن استخدام الموارد المحلية لمساعدة الحكومة الفيدرالية في إنفاذ قوانين الهجرة. هذه أول دعوى قضائية مرفوعة في ولاية أوريغون من هذا النوع. انقر هنا للاطلاع على البيان الصحفي أرسلنا اليوم مزيدًا من المعلومات حول قانون وعد الملجأ ، وكيف يمكن لقادة المجتمع عبر ولاية أوريغون اتخاذ إجراءات للتأكد من اتباع القانون في كل مجتمع!

مرة أخرى في عام 1987 ، كانت ولاية أوريغون أول ولاية في البلاد تمرر قانون الملاذ لحماية حقوق الإنسان من خلال جعل تطبيق القانون المحلي لفرض سياسات الهجرة الفيدرالية أمرًا غير قانوني. منذ ذلك الحين ، دعم سكان أوريغون بأغلبية ساحقة قانون الملاذ في ولايتنا. بالعمل معًا في عام 2018 ، هزمنا بسهولة Ballot Measure 105 ، وهي محاولة من قبل الحق الوطني المناهض للمهاجرين لإلغاء القانون. في عام 2021 ، مررنا قانون الوعد بالملاذ لتقوية قوانين الملجأ في ولاية أوريغون. بفضل العمل الجاد لقادة المجتمع ، بما في ذلك مجموعات كرامة الإنسان الريفية ، تمتلك ولاية أوريغون الآن أقوى سياسات الملاذ الآمن في البلد بأكمله! تعرف على المزيد حول قانون وعد الملجأ المعمول به هنا.

لسنوات عديدة ، تصدّر فندق Cottage Grove قائمة مجتمعات أوريغون المتأثرة بعمليات الاعتقال والترحيل. خلال العامين الأولين من جائحة COVID-19 ، أدارت شرطة عمان السلطانية مخزنًا للطعام من مركز بناء المجتمع في Cottage Grove. أخبرنا العديد من المهاجرين واللاجئين أنهم يعيشون في خوف دائم من أن يتم احتجازهم هم أو أفراد عائلاتهم في محطة مرور روتينية وينتهي بهم الأمر في مركز الاحتجاز الخاص في تاكوما لعدة أشهر قبل ترحيلهم. كان هذا الخوف عظيماً لدرجة أن العديد من العائلات أفادوا بأنهم لن يذهبوا إلى مواعيد الطبيب أو الوصول إلى الخدمات العامة.

لسنوات ، نظمت مجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية في منطقة Cottage Grove وجمع الأموال لمساعدة العائلات المتأثرة بالاحتجاز والترحيل ، وجمع الأموال لرعاية الأطفال والإيجار والتكاليف القانونية. مرارًا وتكرارًا ، قام المعلمون وأصحاب الأعمال ومقدمو الخدمات والجيران بتنسيق دعم الاستجابة السريعة للأطفال والأسر الذين فقدوا أحد الوالدين بسبب الترحيل.

تم تمرير قانون الوعد بالملاذ لوقف هذه المآسي وخلق بيئة يستطيع فيها كل فرد في مجتمعنا العيش بأمان وكرامة إنسانية. لقد رفعنا هذه الدعوى لأننا نعتقد الآن أن هناك حاجة إلى أمر من قاض لشرطة Cottage Grove للامتثال لقانون وعد الملجأ ، وبكل صدق ، لا يمكن لمجتمعاتنا الانتظار أكثر من ذلك.

هل أنت مستعد لمعرفة المزيد واتخاذ إجراءات في مجتمعك؟

  1. هل تعرف ما إذا كانت جهات إنفاذ القانون المحلية لديك تتبع هذا القانون الجديد؟ لقد سمعنا من مجموعات كرامة الإنسان في جميع أنحاء الولاية أن العديد من الوكالات ببساطة لا تعرف القانون. قم بإعداد اجتماع مع جهات إنفاذ القانون المحلية وتأكد من أنهم يعرفون أن قانون وعد الملجأ يحتوي على قواعد جديدة للشرطة المحلية وعمدة المقاطعات والنواب. دعونا نعرف كيف ستسير الامور!
  2. قام قانون وعد الملجأ بتمويل خط ساخن من خلال وزارة العدل حيث يمكن لأفراد المجتمع الإبلاغ عن انتهاكات قانون وعد الملجأ يمكن للعائلات المتأثرة بالاحتجاز والترحيل أن تتلقى دعمًا ماليًا فوريًا للمساعدة في تغطية الإيجار والفواتير ورعاية الأطفال. تحقق من هذه النشرة الإعلانية التي تحتوي على معلومات حول الخط الساخن!
  3. تضخيم الأخبار حول هذه الدعوى ومجموعة أدوات التنظيم القادمة (قريبًا ، ترقب!) على قوائم بريدك الإلكتروني ، ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، والمزيد!
  4. نبني قوتنا الجماعية للعمل بسرعة وفعالية لضمان أن مجتمعاتنا آمنة لجميع سكان أوريغون! كن أحد رعاة شرطة عمان السلطانية بمساهمة شهرية تبلغ $10 أو أكثر. 
  5. ترقبوا المزيد من الموارد والأدوات لاتخاذ إجراءات محلية للتأثير على مستوى الولاية! هل تمت إعادة توجيه هذا البريد الإلكتروني إليك وتريد الانضمام إلى قائمة البريد الإلكتروني للحصول على التحديثات؟ سجل هنا!

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Taking Legal Action for the Promise of Sanctuary

Today the Rural Organizing Project and Community Alliance of Lane County (CALC) filed a lawsuit against the City of Cottage Grove and its Police Department for violating Oregon’s Sanctuary Promise Act. With Oregon Law Center’s legal representation, ROP and CALC are asking a judge to order Cottage Grove to stop using local resources to assist the federal government in enforcing immigration laws. This marks the first lawsuit filed in Oregon of this kind. Click here for the press release we sent out today, more information about the Sanctuary Promise Act, and how community leaders across Oregon can take action to make sure the law is being followed in every community!

Back in 1987, Oregon was the first state in the country to pass a Sanctuary Law to protect human rights by making it illegal for local law enforcement to enforce federal immigration policies. Since then, Oregonians have overwhelmingly supported our state’s sanctuary law. Working together in 2018, we handily defeated Ballot Measure 105, an effort by the national anti-immigrant Right to repeal the law. In 2021, we passed the Sanctuary Promise Act to strengthen Oregon’s Sanctuary Laws. Thanks to the hard work of community leaders, including rural human dignity groups, Oregon now has the strongest sanctuary policies in the entire country! Learn more about the Sanctuary Promise Act in Action here.

For years, Cottage Grove has topped the list of Oregon communities impacted by detentions and deportations. During the first two years of the COVID-19 pandemic, ROP ran a food pantry out of our Community Building Center in Cottage Grove. Many migrants and refugees shared with us that they live in constant fear that they or their family members would be taken into custody at a routine traffic stop and end up in the private detention center in Tacoma for months before being deported. This fear was so great that many families shared that they weren’t going to doctor’s appointments or accessing public services.

For years, Cottage Grove-area human dignity groups have organized and fundraised to help families impacted by detention and deportation, raising money for childcare, rent, and legal costs. Time and time again, teachers, business owners, service providers, and neighbors have coordinated rapid-response support for children and families who lost a parent to deportation.

The Sanctuary Promise Act was passed to stop these tragedies and to create an environment in which everyone in our community can live with safety and human dignity. We filed this lawsuit because we now believe an order from a judge is needed for the Cottage Grove Police to comply with the Sanctuary Promise Act and, in all honesty, our communities cannot wait any longer.

Ready to learn more and take action in your community?

  1. Do you know if your local law enforcement is following this new law? We’ve heard from human dignity groups across the state that many agencies simply don’t know about the law. Set up a meeting with your local law enforcement and make sure they know that the Sanctuary Promise Act has new rules for local police, county sheriffs, and deputies. Let us know how it goes!
  2. The Sanctuary Promise Act funded a hotline through the Department of Justice where community members can report violations of the Sanctuary Promise Act and families impacted by detention and deportation can receive immediate financial support to help cover rent, bills, and childcare. Check out this flyer with information about the hotline!
  3. Amplify the news about this lawsuit and the upcoming organizing toolkit (coming soon, stay tuned!) on your email lists, social media, and more!
  4. Build our collective power to act swiftly and effectively to ensure our communities are safe for all Oregonians! Become an ROP Sustainer with a monthly contribution of $10 or more. 
  5. Stay tuned for more resources and tools to take local action for statewide impact! Was this email forwarded to you and you’d like to join our email list for updates? Sign up here!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English