为庇护的承诺采取法律行动

今天,莱恩县农村组织项目和社区联盟 (CALC) 就 Cottage Grove 市及其警察局违反俄勒冈州的《庇护承诺法》提起诉讼。 在俄勒冈州法律中心的法律代理下,ROP 和 CALC 要求法官命令 Cottage Grove 停止使用当地资源来协助联邦政府执行移民法。这是俄勒冈州首次提起此类诉讼。 单击此处查看新闻稿 我们今天发出了有关《庇护承诺法》的更多信息,以及俄勒冈州的社区领袖如何采取行动以确保每个社区都遵守法律!

早在 1987 年,俄勒冈州就成为美国第一个通过庇护法来保护人权的州,规定地方执法部门执行联邦移民政策是非法的。从那以后,俄勒冈人以压倒性多数支持我们州的庇护法。在 2018 年的共同努力下,我们轻而易举地击败了第 105 号投票议案,这是国家反移民权利组织为废除该法律所做的努力。 2021年,我们通过了 避难所承诺法 加强俄勒冈州的庇护法。由于包括农村人类尊严团体在内的社区领袖的辛勤工作,俄勒冈州现在拥有全国最强大的庇护政策! 在这里了解更多关于庇护承诺法案的信息.

多年来,Cottage Grove 一直位居受拘留和驱逐出境影响的俄勒冈社区名单之首。在 COVID-19 大流行的头两年,ROP 在我们位于 Cottage Grove 的社区建设中心经营了一个食品储藏室。许多移民和难民与我们分享,他们一直生活在恐惧中,担心他们或他们的家人会在例行的交通站点被拘留,并最终在被驱逐出境之前被关在塔科马的私人拘留中心几个月。这种恐惧是如此之大,以至于许多家庭都表示他们不会去看医生或获得公共服务。

多年来,Cottage Grove 地区的人类尊严团体一直在组织和筹款,以帮助受拘留和驱逐出境影响的家庭,为儿童保育、租金和法律费用筹集资金。一次又一次,教师、企业主、服务提供者和邻居协调为失去父母被驱逐出境的儿童和家庭提供快速反应支持。

通过了《庇护承诺法》,以制止这些悲剧,并创造一个环境,使我们社区中的每个人都能安全地生活并享有人类尊严。我们提起这起诉讼是因为我们现在认为 Cottage Grove 警察需要法官的命令才能遵守《庇护承诺法》,老实说,我们的社区不能再等了。

准备好了解更多信息并在您的社区采取行动了吗?

  1. 您知道您当地的执法部门是否遵守这项新法律吗?我们从全州的人类尊严团体那里听说,许多机构根本不了解法律。与当地执法部门召开会议,确保他们知道《庇护承诺法》对当地警察、县治安官和代表制定了新规定。让我们知道怎么回事!
  2. 《庇护承诺法》通过司法部资助了一条热线,社区成员可以举报违反《庇护承诺法》的行为 受拘留和驱逐出境影响的家庭可以立即获得经济支持,以帮助支付房租、账单和儿童保育费用。 查看此传单,了解有关热线的信息!
  3. 在您的电子邮件列表、社交媒体等上放大有关此诉讼和即将推出的组织工具包(即将推出,敬请期待!)的新闻!
  4. 建立我们的集体力量,迅速有效地采取行动,确保我们的社区对所有俄勒冈人来说都是安全的!成为每月贡献 $10 或更多的 ROP Sustainer。 
  5. 请继续关注更多资源和工具,以采取当地行动以产生全州影响!这封电子邮件是否已转发给您并且您想加入我们的电子邮件列表以获取更新? 在此注册!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Taking Legal Action for the Promise of Sanctuary

Today the Rural Organizing Project and Community Alliance of Lane County (CALC) filed a lawsuit against the City of Cottage Grove and its Police Department for violating Oregon’s Sanctuary Promise Act. With Oregon Law Center’s legal representation, ROP and CALC are asking a judge to order Cottage Grove to stop using local resources to assist the federal government in enforcing immigration laws. This marks the first lawsuit filed in Oregon of this kind. Click here for the press release we sent out today, more information about the Sanctuary Promise Act, and how community leaders across Oregon can take action to make sure the law is being followed in every community!

Back in 1987, Oregon was the first state in the country to pass a Sanctuary Law to protect human rights by making it illegal for local law enforcement to enforce federal immigration policies. Since then, Oregonians have overwhelmingly supported our state’s sanctuary law. Working together in 2018, we handily defeated Ballot Measure 105, an effort by the national anti-immigrant Right to repeal the law. In 2021, we passed the Sanctuary Promise Act to strengthen Oregon’s Sanctuary Laws. Thanks to the hard work of community leaders, including rural human dignity groups, Oregon now has the strongest sanctuary policies in the entire country! Learn more about the Sanctuary Promise Act in Action here.

For years, Cottage Grove has topped the list of Oregon communities impacted by detentions and deportations. During the first two years of the COVID-19 pandemic, ROP ran a food pantry out of our Community Building Center in Cottage Grove. Many migrants and refugees shared with us that they live in constant fear that they or their family members would be taken into custody at a routine traffic stop and end up in the private detention center in Tacoma for months before being deported. This fear was so great that many families shared that they weren’t going to doctor’s appointments or accessing public services.

For years, Cottage Grove-area human dignity groups have organized and fundraised to help families impacted by detention and deportation, raising money for childcare, rent, and legal costs. Time and time again, teachers, business owners, service providers, and neighbors have coordinated rapid-response support for children and families who lost a parent to deportation.

The Sanctuary Promise Act was passed to stop these tragedies and to create an environment in which everyone in our community can live with safety and human dignity. We filed this lawsuit because we now believe an order from a judge is needed for the Cottage Grove Police to comply with the Sanctuary Promise Act and, in all honesty, our communities cannot wait any longer.

Ready to learn more and take action in your community?

  1. Do you know if your local law enforcement is following this new law? We’ve heard from human dignity groups across the state that many agencies simply don’t know about the law. Set up a meeting with your local law enforcement and make sure they know that the Sanctuary Promise Act has new rules for local police, county sheriffs, and deputies. Let us know how it goes!
  2. The Sanctuary Promise Act funded a hotline through the Department of Justice where community members can report violations of the Sanctuary Promise Act and families impacted by detention and deportation can receive immediate financial support to help cover rent, bills, and childcare. Check out this flyer with information about the hotline!
  3. Amplify the news about this lawsuit and the upcoming organizing toolkit (coming soon, stay tuned!) on your email lists, social media, and more!
  4. Build our collective power to act swiftly and effectively to ensure our communities are safe for all Oregonians! Become an ROP Sustainer with a monthly contribution of $10 or more. 
  5. Stay tuned for more resources and tools to take local action for statewide impact! Was this email forwarded to you and you’d like to join our email list for updates? Sign up here!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English