采取行动:在 2 月 26 日,星期四,白天,让俄勒冈州的卫队驻扎在俄勒冈州

俄勒冈州国民警卫队的一半部队定于 3 月下旬/4 月初部署到伊拉克的时间不多了,因此我们已安排在 2 月 26 日星期四的一个电话日,以便您联系塞勒姆的州代表和参议员!

虽然在俄勒冈州保持俄勒冈州警卫队的运动进展顺利,在拟议的将警卫队留在家中的拟议立法(HB 2556、HR 4 和 SR 1)上获得了总共 14 个共同提案国,但我们需要认真(但有礼貌!)对州长、众议院议长、参议院议长和有能力推动立法的委员会主席施加压力。

这是要调用的人员,下面是示例脚本。请注意,还有一个免费电话号码可以拨打塞勒姆,您可以使用该号码拨打以下任一办公室 - 1-800-332-2313:
众议院议长、代表 Dave Hunt(众议院区 40/Gladstone):503-986-1200(可以确保安排 HB 2556 和 HR 4 参加听证会)
众议院规则委员会主席:Arnie Roblan 代表(众议院第 9 区/库斯湾):503-986-1409
参议院议长、参议员 Peter Courtney(参议院 11 区/塞勒姆):503-986-1600(可以确保 SR 1 被安排参加听证会)
参议院规则委员会主席:参议员 Richard Devlin(参议院第 19 区/图拉丁):503-986-1719
州长 Ted Kulongoski:503-378-4582

“您好,我的名字是有关公民(如果适用,请添加“我是选民。”)并且我是签署请愿书以将我们的俄勒冈州国民警卫队留在家中的 7200 人之一(或:我属于在俄勒冈州支持 Keep Oregon's Guard 运动的 56 个组织,或者我是运动目标的支持者)。

“我敦促您立即就(和/或支持)HB 2556 和(HR 4 或 SR 1)举行听证会。那些质疑该法案和决议是否符合宪法的人正在回避我们的卫队联邦化是否合法的问题. 将警卫部署到伊拉克和阿富汗的授权无效,州长应将警卫留在俄勒冈州。“我希望看到 HB 2556 和(HR 4 或 SR 1)在 3 月下旬部署之前通过,并且让我们的国家表明立场。如果对法律有疑问,请让法院解决。根据当前的联邦授权,我们的卫队不应被派往伊拉克或阿富汗。预算是重中之重,但在这个问题上,俄勒冈人的生命危在旦夕。”

以下是列表形式的相似点

** 1 月在国会大厦,一场由 56 个组织组成的运动提供了来自全州 7000 多名希望立法让我们的国民警卫队留在家中的人的名字。

**我们希望议长亨特和考特尼总统安排听证会,以便人们可以作证。我们相信听证会将为立法提供支持。
 

** 22 个州和华盛顿特区现在正在参与全国范围的努力,让国民警卫队留在家中。在马里兰州,参议院委员会已经同意在该法案提出几天后举行听证会。
 

**投票支持众议院联合纪念碑 (HJM) 5 不能替代通过呼吁州长在俄勒冈州保留警卫队的法案和决议。虽然立法机关“向国会发送信息”并无害处,但总督必须采取立场反对滥用国民警卫队。

共同提案俄勒冈州法案和决议的立法者是:众议员 Jules Kopel-Bailey、Michael Dembrow、Chris Edwards、Mitch Greenlick、Nick Kahl、Jim Thompson、Carolyn Tomei 和 Chip Shields。参议员是:劳里·蒙内斯-安德森、罗德·梦露、比尔·莫里塞特、黛安·罗森鲍姆、维姬·沃克和玛莎·施拉德。如果您的代表或参议员不在此列表中,请致电或写信要求他们共同发起!我们拥有的共同发起人越多,在整个系统中移动就越容易。要查找您的立法者信息,请访问 http://www.legislatorpro.com/oregon。

对于那些真正能胜任这项任务的人来说,最后一件事是:如果众议院和参议院的委员会管理人员知道人们对这些法案感兴趣,这将有所帮助。因此,请拨打这些号码并询问是否已经建立了听证会:

众议院规则管理员:Jerry Watson 503-986-1532,HB 2556 和 HR 4 参议院规则管理员:Lisa Nuss 503-986-1667,SR 1 让我们确保我们的法案和决议得到听证会!让整个国会大厦的电话响个不停! – Dan Handelman 和 Leah Bolger 参加了在俄勒冈州保持俄勒冈州卫队的运动。 http://www.pjw.info/guardhomecampaign08.html
众议院和参议院规则委员会的其他成员:
众议院规则委员会副主席:
代表 Vicki Berger (HD20-Salem):503-986-1420
代表 Tobias Read (HD27-Beaverton):503-986-1427
玛丽诺兰代表(HD36-波特兰):503-986-1900
Bill Garrard 代表(HD56-Klamath Falls):503-986-1456
代表 Bob Jenson (HD58-Pendleton):503-986-1458
Sara Gelser 代表(HD16-Corvallis):503-986-1416
参议院规则委员会副主席:参议员 Ted Ferrioli,(SD30-John Day):503-986-1730
参议员 Jason Atkinson(SD2-Grants Pass):503-986-1702
参议员 Ginny Burdick(SD18-波特兰),503-986-1718
参议员 Rick Metsger (SD26-Welches),503-986-1726

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

TAKE ACTION: KEEP OREGON’S GUARD IN OREGON CALL IN DAY, THURSDAY FEB 26

Time is running short before half of Oregon’s National Guard troops are slated to deploy to Iraq in late March/early April, so we have scheduled a call-in day this Thursday, February 26, for you to contact your state representatives and senators in Salem!

While the Campaign to Keep Oregon’s Guard in Oregon has progressed well, securing a total of 14 cosponsors on the proposed legislation to keep the guard home (HB 2556, HR 4 and SR 1), we need to put some serious (but polite!) pressure on the Governor, the Speaker of the House, the Senate President, and the committee chairs who have the ability to move the legislation forward.

Here are the people to call, and a sample script is below. Please note there is also a toll free number to call Salem, which you can use to get through to any of these offices–1-800-332-2313:
Speaker of the House, Representative Dave Hunt (House District 40/Gladstone): 503-986-1200 (can make sure HB 2556 and HR 4 get scheduled for a hearing)
Chair of the House Rules Committee: Representative Arnie Roblan (House District 9/Coos Bay): 503-986-1409
President of the Senate, Senator Peter Courtney (Senate District 11/Salem): 503-986-1600 (can make sure SR 1 gets scheduled for a hearing)
Chair of the Senate Rules Committee: Senator Richard Devlin (Senate District 19/Tualatin): 503-986-1719
Governor Ted Kulongoski: 503-378-4582

"Hello, my name is Concerned Citizen (if applicable, add "and I am a constituent.") and I am one of the 7200 people who signed a petition to keep our Oregon National Guard at home (or: I belong to one of the 56 organizations that supports the Keep Oregon’s Guard in Oregon campaign, or I am a supporter of the Campaign’s goals).

"I urge you to hold hearings on (and/or to support) HB 2556 and (HR 4 or SR 1) immediately. Those who question whether the bill and resolutions are constitutional are avoiding the question of whether the federalization of our Guard is legal. The Authorizations for the Guard to be deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan are not valid and the Governor should keep the Guard in Oregon. "I would like to see HB 2556 and (HR 4 or SR 1) passed before the late March deployment, and for our state to take a stand. If there are questions about the law, let the courts sort that out. Our Guard should not be sent to Iraq or Afghanistan under the current federal authorizations. The budget is a high priority, but for this issue, Oregonians’ lives are at stake."

Here are similar points in list form

**In January at the Capitol, a campaign of 56 organizations delivered the names of over 7000 people from across the state who want legislation to keep our Guard home.

**We want Speaker Hunt and President Courtney to schedule hearings so that the people can testify. We believe the hearings will build support for the legislation.
 

**22 states plus Washington DC are now participating in the nationwide effort to keep the Guard home. In Maryland, a Senate Committee already agreed to hold a hearing just days after the bill was introduced.
 

**Voting for House Joint Memorial (HJM) 5 is not an acceptable substitute to passing the bill and resolutions calling on the Governor to keep the Guard in Oregon. While it is not harmful for the Legislature to "send a message to Congress," the Governor must take a stand against the misuse of the National Guard.

The legislators who are co-sponsoring the Oregon bill and resolutions are: Representatives Jules Kopel-Bailey, Michael Dembrow, Chris Edwards, Mitch Greenlick, Nick Kahl, Jim Thompson, Carolyn Tomei and Chip Shields. The Senators are: Laurie Monnes-Anderson, Rod Monroe, Bill Morrisette, Diane Rosenbaum, Vicki Walker and Martha Schrader. If your representative or senator is not on this list, call or write and ask them to co-sponsor! The more co-sponsors we have, the easier it will be to move this through the system. To find your legislator’s info, go to http://www.legislatorpro.com/oregon .

One last thing for those who are really up to the task: It will help if the Committee Administrators for the House and Senate know that people are interested in these bills. So call these numbers and ask if a hearing has been set up yet:

House Rules administrator: Jerry Watson 503-986-1532, HB 2556 and HR 4 Senate Rules administrator: Lisa Nuss 503-986-1667, SR 1 Let’s be sure our bill and resolutions get hearings! Keep phones ringing all over the Capitol! –Dan Handelman and Leah Bolger for the Campaign to Keep Oregon’s Guard in Oregon. http://www.pjw.info/guardhomecampaign08.html
Other members of the House and Senate Rules Committees:
Vice-Chair House Rules Committee:
Representative Vicki Berger (HD20-Salem): 503-986-1420
Representative Tobias Read (HD27-Beaverton): 503-986-1427
Representative Mary Nolan (HD36-Portland): 503-986-1900
Representative Bill Garrard (HD56-Klamath Falls): 503-986-1456
Representative Bob Jenson (HD58-Pendleton): 503-986-1458
Representative Sara Gelser (HD16-Corvallis): 503-986-1416
Vice-Chair Senate Rules Committee: Sen. Ted Ferrioli, (SD30-John Day): 503-986-1730
Sen. Jason Atkinson (SD2-Grants Pass): 503-986-1702
Sen. Ginny Burdick (SD18-Portland), 503-986-1718
Sen. Rick Metsger (SD26-Welches), 503-986-1726

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English