支持林肯县的寻求庇护者

两年前,在林肯县,Acompañar 因社区需要而成立。寻求庇护者为前往他们的移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 约会支付高昂的费用,当地领导人齐心协力解决了这个问题。现在,两年后,他们已经扩展到筹集资金并继续建立相互支持的系统。继续阅读以了解更多关于他们是如何开始的、他们赢得的胜利以及他们接下来的工作!对在您的社区工作感到兴奋吗?通过电子邮件联系您友好的 ROP 组织者 monicap@rop.org!

Acompañar 成立时有一个简单的想法:“我能帮上什么忙?” 2019 年,Ginger Gouveia 看到寻求庇护者在美墨边境停留的消息,陷入思考生活在林肯县的像她这样的人如何改变寻求庇护者的生活的想法。她想过去边境为支持那里人们的组织做志愿者,然后她得知住在林肯县的许多寻求庇护者在移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 的约会中受到虐待,并且正在努力获得前往尤金的可靠且负担得起的交通工具或波特兰进行每月登记和法庭听证会。

Ginger 开始与她的邻居交谈,并很快了解到住在林肯县的许多寻求庇护者是土著危地马拉人,特朗普政府将这些人列为优先拘留和驱逐出境者。由于没有公共交通工具,也没有驾照,人们在尤金的 ICE 现场办公室的每月预约需要支付 $200-500 的费用,而在波特兰的移民法庭听证会上则需要支付高达 $1,000 的费用。

Ginger 与她的邻居和朋友讨论了这件事,他们一起提出了一份司机名单,可以免费接送寻求庇护者往返他们的登记预约。

建立区域骑行和支持网络

在 ROP 的 2019 年农村核心小组和战略会议上,Ginger 与其他支持该地区寻求庇护者和移民的人类尊严团体建立了联系。他们共同开发了一个从纽波特开始并驱车前往科瓦利斯的班车网络,来自林恩县和本顿县的司机将在那里完成从科瓦利斯到尤金或波特兰的旅程,然后在任命或法庭听证会后再次返回。组织一条往返数百英里的穿梭路线是他们完成的第一个障碍之一。通过路线设定,他们还看到需要对所有司机进行培训,这样每个人都知道如果他们被 ICE 拦下或骚扰,他们会如何应对。 

Acompañar 为需要搭便车的寻求庇护者与经过培训并准备开车的人建立了通信系统,克服了使用英语、西班牙语和妈妈语(该地区寻求庇护者使用的主要危地马拉土著语言)工作的挑战. Acompañar 将在寻求庇护社区中具有可信赖关系的讲西班牙语和母语的人作为调度员排列,能够找出谁需要从何时何地搭车,然后可以获取该信息并将人们与可用的司机匹配。从 2019 年夏季到 2020 年春季,Acompañar 每月为 9 名寻求庇护者提供稳定的乘车服务,总计约 80 次班车行程,轻松记录超过 10,000 英里。

蓝色背景上的白鸽图像作为 Acompañar 标志

2020 年 3 月,COVID-19 关闭了该州,经过数周的不确定后,位于尤金的 ICE 办公室完全关闭。虽然说英语的司机从新闻中知道关闭,但 ICE 拒绝明确传达关于与寻求庇护者的预定月度会议的预期变化,这增加了全球大流行的压力,因为经常错过预定的 ICE 约会导致立即拘留或驱逐出境。 Acompañar 和 ROP 联系了参议员默克利的办公室,询问他们是否可以直接与 ICE 的区域主管取得联系,以书面形式做出取消每月亲自办理登机手续的决定。由于 Acompañar 与他们合作的家庭建立了良好的关系,他们能够在 ICE 办公室翻译和分享有关改变期望的信息,并迫使 ICE 官员发出一封信,通知家人新的基于电话的程序.通过这一切来回,他们开始听说寻求庇护者因大流行而面临的新斗争。

应对新出现的社区需求

林肯县的寻求庇护者大多在海鲜包装厂或服务行业工作,为迎合旅游经济的酒店和餐馆配备人员。当 COVID-19 来袭时,这两个行业都陷入了停顿。许多人失业,大多数人没有资格参加任何类型的援助计划,因为大多数计划需要美国公民身份。林肯县(以及该州其他任何地方)的大部分信息仅以英语提供,后来又以英语和西班牙语提供,这让应对全球大流行变得更加困难。获取有关如何保护您的家人和社区免受 COVID-19 侵害的信息、社区中可用的资源以及其他重要信息未翻译成危地马拉土著人所说的语言,例如 Mam。

Acompañar 开始筹集资金购买大米、豆类和玉米粉,以帮助家庭维持生计。邻居们开始捐赠他们的刺激性支票,其他人开始向社区其他人伸出援手。随着危机的继续,Yachats 社区长老会提出赞助资金,以便捐助者可以进行免税捐款,纽波特的第一浸信会为每月两次分发食物和其他必需品提供空间。 Acompañar 开始与 Lincoln County Food Share 合作扩大他们分享的食物数量,Ollala 中心帮助提供其他支持服务,包括口译以及在 Mam 中创建和传播信息视频。在整个大流行期间,对于由于土著语言使用者面临的障碍而被排除在许多机会之外的人来说,获得服务和可靠的信息非常困难。当疫苗可用时,Acompañar 与 Ollala 中心合作,协调在第一浸信会教堂举办的临时疫苗诊所与 Mam 翻译。

在大流行的第一年,Acompañar 筹集了超过 $110,000,全年为数百个家庭提供服务。 从每月两次分发与文化相关的食物和现金购买其他必需品开始,他们的工作最终扩展到兜风、分享礼券以及通过移动热点访问互联网以支付账单和进行远程医疗预约。

继续建立支持系统

Acompañar 正在继续建立社区和相互支持的系统。最近,他们听说有人因为尾灯损坏或其他轻微的驾驶违规而被拦下,因此他们筹集资金帮助人们修理尾灯。 Acompañar 希望重新启动乘车网络,让人们在尤金接受 ICE 预约,他们的下一个项目是帮助打破获得驾驶执照的障碍。 Acompañar 正在与当地的一家驾驶教育公司进行安排,与 Mam 讲授的教练一起提供驾驶课程,并筹款以帮助家庭支付课程费用。

当人类尊严团体像 Acompañar、COVID-19 和其他紧急情况这样深入当地社区时,可能会引发强有力的人类尊严运动。 您的社区面临哪些挑战?什么事件或对话引发了一场为您的人类尊严团体发起的新运动?在过去的一年里,你学到了什么改变了你的团队集中精力的方式? 通过电子邮件告诉我们 monicap@rop.org.我们很乐意分享关于您的团队一直在做什么的故事并支持您的工作!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Supporting Asylum-Seekers in Lincoln County

Two years ago in Lincoln County, Acompañar formed out of community need. Asylum seekers were paying exorbitant rates for rides to their Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) appointments and local leaders got together to fix that. Now, 2 years later, they have expanded to raising funds and continuing to build systems of mutual support. Read on to learn more about how they got started, the victories they have won and what they are working on next! Excited to get to work in your community? Reach out to your friendly ROP organizer by emailing monicap@rop.org!

Acompañar was founded with a simple thought: “What can I do to help?” In 2019, Ginger Gouveia watched the news of asylum-seekers stopped at the US-Mexico border and felt stuck contemplating how people like her who live in Lincoln County could make a difference in the lives of asylum-seekers. She thought about going to the border to volunteer for organizations supporting people there, and then she learned that many asylum-seekers living in Lincoln County were experiencing abuse at Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) appointments and struggling to get reliable and affordable transportation to Eugene or Portland for monthly check-ins and court hearings.

Ginger began having conversations with her neighbors and soon learned that many of the asylum-seekers living in Lincoln County were Indigenous Guatemalans, which were prioritized by the Trump administration for detention and deportation. With no public transportation, or access to drivers licenses, folks were paying $200-500 per ride for their monthly appointments at the ICE field office in Eugene and up to $1,000 to get to immigration court hearings in Portland.

Ginger talked to her neighbors and friends about this and together they came up with a list of drivers that could shuttle asylum seekers to and from their check-in appointments free of charge.

Building a Regional Ride & Support Network

At ROP’s 2019 Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, Ginger connected with other human dignity groups who support asylum-seekers and migrants in the region. Together they developed a shuttle network that started in Newport and drove to Corvallis where drivers from Linn and Benton Counties would complete the trip from Corvallis to Eugene or to Portland, and then back again after the appointment or court hearing. Organizing a shuttle route that spanned several hundred miles round trip was one of the first hurdles they accomplished. With the route set, they also saw the need to implement training for all of their drivers so everyone would know how to respond if they were pulled over or hassled by ICE. 

Acompañar set up a communication system for asylum-seekers needing rides to the folks who were trained and ready to drive, overcoming the challenges of working across English, Spanish, and Mam (the main Indigenous Guatemalan language spoken by asylum-seekers in the area). Lining up Spanish and Mam speakers with trusted relationships in the asylum seeking community as dispatchers, Acompañar was able to find out who needed a ride from where and when and could then take that information and match people with an available driver. From the summer of 2019 until spring of 2020, Acompañar provided consistent monthly rides to 9 asylum-seekers which amounted to roughly 80 shuttle trips, logging easily over 10,000 miles.

Image of a white dove on blue background as Acompañar logo

In March 2020, COVID-19 shut down the state and after multiple weeks of uncertainty, the ICE office in Eugene fully closed. While the English-speaking drivers knew about the shutdown from the news, ICE refused to communicate clearly about the changing expectations around scheduled monthly meetings with asylum-seekers, which added to the stress of a global pandemic because oftentimes missing a scheduled ICE appointment leads to immediate detention or deportation. Acompañar and ROP reached out to Senator Merkley’s office to ask if they could get in direct contact with ICE’s regional director to get their decisions about canceling in-person monthly check-ins in writing. Thanks to Acompañar’s established relationships with the families they were working with, they were able to translate and share out the message about changing expectations at the ICE office, and also pressure ICE officials to send out a letter notifying families of the new phone-based procedures. Through all of this back and forth, they started hearing about the new struggles asylum-seekers were facing because of the pandemic.

Responding to Emerging Community Needs

Lincoln County’s asylum-seeking population mostly works in seafood packing plants or in the service industry, staffing hotels and restaurants that cater to the tourist economy. When COVID-19 struck, both industries came to a grinding halt. Many were out of work and most were not eligible for any type of assistance programs since most programs require US citizenship. Making navigating a global pandemic even more difficult, most of the information in Lincoln County (and everywhere else in the state) was available only in English, and later in English and Spanish. Getting information about how to protect your family and your community from COVID-19, what resources are available in the community, and other critical pieces of information weren’t translated into languages Indigenous Guatemalan people speak, such as Mam.

Acompañar began to raise money to buy bulk rice, beans, and masa to help families scrape by. Neighbors began donating their stimulus checks and others started reaching out to the rest of the community for donations. As the crisis continued, Yachats Community Presbyterian Church offered to sponsor the funds so donors could make tax deductible donations, and the First Baptist Church in Newport provided space for twice monthly distributions of food and other necessities. Acompañar began working with Lincoln County Food Share to expand the amount of food they were sharing, and the Ollala Center helped with other support services including interpretation and creating and circulating informational videos in Mam. Throughout the pandemic, access to services and reliable information has been incredibly difficult for people who are excluded from many opportunities because of their documentation status on top of the barriers indigenous language-speakers face. When vaccines became available, Acompañar collaborated with the Ollala Center to coordinate pop-up vaccine clinics held at the First Baptist Church with Mam interpreters.

In the first year of the pandemic, Acompañar raised over $110,000 and served hundreds of families throughout the year. Beginning with a twice-monthly distribution of culturally relevant food and cash for other necessities, their work eventually expanded to a coat drive, sharing gift certificates, and internet access through a mobile hotspot to pay bills and make telehealth appointments.

Continuing To Build Systems of Support

Acompañar is continuing to build community and systems of mutual support. Most recently, they heard about folks getting pulled over for busted tail lights or other small driving infractions, so they raised funds to help people fix their tail lights. Acompañar hopes to restart the ride network to get folks to ICE appointments in Eugene and their next project is helping break down the barriers for obtaining driver’s licenses. Acompañar is making arrangements with a local driver’s education company to provide  driving lessons with Mam speaking instructors, plus fundraising to help families pay for the lessons.

When human dignity groups are deeply embedded in their local community like Acompañar, COVID-19 and other emergencies can lead to powerful campaigns for human dignity. What challenges are coming up in your community? What event or conversation sparked a new campaign for your human dignity group? What have you learned in the past year that has changed the way your group focuses their energy? Let us know by emailing monicap@rop.org. We’d love to share stories about what your group has been up to and to support your work!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English