支持拆除温彻斯特大坝!

亲爱的 ROPnet,

自从我们第一次制造 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图 团结一心,全州领导人继续要求为所有人提供清洁饮用水,因为他们知道健康的人才能造就健康的社区。今天,我们想分享最新消息,并借此机会支持道格拉斯县社区权利组织发起的拆除温彻斯特大坝的运动。您可能还记得我们 今年秋季,ROPnet 将组织全州开展水资源组织工作!请继续阅读,了解他们如何从几乎没有人考虑大坝到有 112 人参加市政厅并表达对拆除大坝的支持!

为什么要拆除温彻斯特大坝?

位于北安普夸河上的温彻斯特大坝破坏了当地的生态系统,并以多种方式对社区构成了极大的危险。首先,俄勒冈州水资源部门在 2013 年对大坝进行的最后一次检查指出“大坝存在紧急安全问题 - 立即采取行动”,但并未立即采取行动。大坝还干扰了当地濒危鱼类的迁徙,因为其鱼梯预计将在 2024 年的报告中被评为该州最差的 10 个鱼梯之一。不仅如此,它的唯一用途是休闲娱乐,它所创造的湖泊仅供大约 100 名在大坝上游拥有房屋的富裕土地所有者使用。拆除大坝将释放北安普夸河的水域,为道格拉斯县居民提供渔业、旅游和其他经济机会,并造福整个流域的饮水者、鱼类和水生生物。

组织工作涉及哪些方面?

2023 年初,罗斯堡几乎没有人考虑过有 134 年历史的温彻斯特大坝,更不用说对拆除它发表意见了。就在那时,一群社区成员聚集在一起,他们厌倦了私人财产权压倒社区需求的方式,并制定了改变这一现状的计划。 

首先,该组织在罗斯堡及其周边地区举行了一系列直接行动,以提高人们对大坝的认识,并找到更多有共同价值观的人来支持这项活动。他们在市中心的大坝附近集会,并给编辑写信。接下来, 该小组建立了一个网站 并使用社交媒体将人们引导至该页面。该网站的统计数据显示,罗斯堡的 10% 以上人口现已访问过该网站,当地报纸将该大坝评为 2023 年 #2 年度故事!

2024 年 3 月,112 人参加了美国参议员 Jeff Merkley 在 Umpqua 社区学院举行的市政厅会议,通过举手表决, 十分之九的居民要求参议员拆除大坝! 

该组织目前已进入活动的第三阶段,旨在向政府官员施压,要求他们拆除大坝,以维护自然和社区的权利。 如果你住在俄勒冈州,你可以访问他们的网站并使用此工具快速向几位负有拆除大坝法律义务的政府官员发送电子邮件。今天就花点时间支持道格拉斯县社区权利吧! 

您是否正在开展一项活动,希望俄勒冈州各地农村人类尊严领袖的参与能对您有所帮助?您是否希望获得支持制定行动计划?请联系 ROP 艾玛@rop.org 让我们知道你在做什么!

热烈地,
艾玛和 ROP 团队

附言:如果您将参加今年的农村核心小组会议和战略会议,请留意道格拉斯县社区权利成员凯文 (Kevin),他将出席会议并很乐意与您交谈!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Support Winchester Dam Removal!

Dear ROPnet,

In the years since we first made the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon together, leaders around the state have continued to demand clean water for all, knowing that healthy people make healthy communities. Today we want to share an update and an opportunity to support the campaign to remove the Winchester Dam by Community Rights Douglas County. You might remember this campaign from our ROPnet this fall about water organizing around the state! Read on to learn how they went from few people thinking about the dam at all to getting 112 people to attend a town hall and express their support for its removal!

Why take out the Winchester Dam?

The Winchester Dam, which is on the North Umpqua River, disrupts local ecosystems and poses incredible danger to the community in multiple ways. Firstly, the dam’s last inspection in 2013, conducted by the Oregon Water Resources Department, stated “urgent dam safety issues – action now” but no prompt action was taken. The dam also interferes with the migration of native, endangered fish, as its fish ladder is expected to be rated among the worst 10 fish ladders in the state in the 2024 report. Not only that, its only use is recreational and the lake it creates is only accessible to about 100 wealthy landowners who own homes just upstream of the dam. Taking the dam out would free the waters of the North Umpqua, opening up fishing, tourism, and other economic opportunities for Douglas County residents as well as benefiting water drinkers, fish, and aquatic life throughout the entire watershed.

What has the organizing involved?

At the beginning of 2023, few people in Roseburg thought about the 134-year-old Winchester Dam, let alone had an opinion about its removal. That’s when a group of community members came together who were fed up with how private property rights were overpowering community needs and they made a plan to change this story. 

First, the group held a series of direct actions in and around Roseburg to increase awareness about the dam and find more people with shared values to support the campaign. They rallied near the dam, downtown, and wrote letters to the editor. Next, the group made a website and used social media to direct people to the page. Statistics from the website show that more than 10% of Roseburg’s population have now visited the site, and the local newspaper rated the dam the #2 story of the year in 2023!

In March of 2024, 112 people attended US Senator Jeff Merkley’s town hall at Umpqua Community College, and by a show of hands, 9 out of 10 residents asked the Senator to remove the dam! 

The group is now in the third phase of the campaign, which is to pressure public officials to support the rights of nature and the community by taking down the dam. If you live in Oregon, you can go to their website and use this tool to quickly send emails to several public officials with a legal duty to remove this dam. Take a moment to support Community Rights Douglas County today! 

Are you working on a campaign that could benefit from rural human dignity leaders across Oregon pitching in? Do you want support making your action plan? Reach out to ROP at emma@rop.org and let us know what you’re up to!

Warmly,
Emma and the ROP Team

P.S. If you’ll be at this year’s Rural Caucus and Strategy Session, keep an eye out for Kevin, a member of  Community Rights Douglas County, who will be attending and would love to chat with you!

English