成功!罗斯堡回应全州压力!

2013 年 10 月 30 日

亲爱的 ROPnetters:

周一,我们呼吁采取行动 鼓励罗斯堡市兑现他们对占领罗斯堡的承诺,并将合法的无家可归者营地列入市议会议程以供讨论。打了几十个电话,立即发送了许多电子邮件。  到周一当天结束时,占领罗斯堡的组织者终于接到了城市经理兰斯·科利的电话,他渴望在几个月的沉默后安排市议会会议。  我们很高兴农村组织项目网络开始行动,响应占领罗斯堡的请求!

许多电子邮件都发送给了城市经理兰斯·科利 (Lance Colley),讨论了为什么全州的农村人关心罗斯堡的反应。下面是一封来自 June Forsyth Kenagy 的电子邮件,她是 Linn 县 Albany Peace Seekers 的摇滚明星 ROPer,她将这场斗争与当地社区的价值观联系起来。

恭喜,ROP 团队!

来自斯卡普斯的欢呼,
杰西卡

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

尊敬的城市经理科利,
只是写信要求您尽快将有关城市对无家可归者营地的财政支持列入议会议程的讨论!寒冷的天气来了。你想让这些无家可归的人中的一个,也许是一个兽医,死于寒冷吗?
在像美国这样的富裕国家和像道格拉斯这样的好县,人们只能在街上睡觉和执行所有身体机能,这是不道德的。
我们在黎巴嫩建立了一个男人的家,一个女人的家,并为黎巴嫩的家庭建立了几套公寓,但这座城市不支持我们,令他们感到羞耻。该计划目前正在努力生存。
需求很大。非营利组织无法单独完成这项工作。他们和我们在黎巴嫩的人一样,需要城市的支持。税收应该支持那些沉迷于精神或身体疾病而无法独自生活的人。
圣经用 2,000 多节经文敦促富裕的人“照顾穷人、寡妇、孤儿、陌生人、麻风病人或被遗弃的人”。
你怎么能做得少?

琼·福赛思·肯纳吉

* * * * * *

 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Success! Roseburg responds to statewide pressure!‏

October 30th, 2013

Dear ROPnetters:

Monday we put out a call for action to encourage the City of Roseburg to follow through with their commitment to Occupy Roseburg and to put a legal homeless campground on the City Council agenda for discussion.  Dozens of calls were made and many emails were sent immediately.  By the end of the day Monday, Occupy Roseburg organizers finally got a call from City Manager Lance Colley who was eager to schedule the City Council meeting after months of silence.  We are thrilled that the Rural Organizing Project network kicked into action, answering Occupy Roseburg’s plea for support!

Many emails were sent to City Manager Lance Colley addressing why rural folks around the state care about how Roseburg responds.  Below is an email sent from June Forsyth Kenagy, a rockstar ROPer with Albany Peace Seekers in Linn County, who ties the struggle back to her local community’s values.

Congratulations, Team ROP!

Cheering from Scappoose,
Jessica

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Dear City Manager Colley,
Just writing to request you put a discussion about city financial support for a homeless camp on your Council Agenda, ASAP! The cold weather is coming. Do you want one of these homeless guys, maybe one who is a vet, to die of the cold?
It is immoral that in a rich country like the US, and a fine county like Douglas, human beings are left to sleep and perform all bodily functions on the street.
We established a home for men, one for women, and a couple apartments for families in Lebanon, but the city did not support us, to their shame. The program is currently struggling to survive.
The need is great. Non-profits can’t do the job alone. They, like us in Lebanon, need city support. Tax dollars should support those who are too addicted, too mentally or physically ill, to make it alone.
The Bible devotes over 2,000 verses to urging those who are well-off to “take care of the poor, the widow, the orphan, the stranger, the leper or outcast.”
How can you do less?

June Forsyth Kenagy

* * * * * *

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English