迈向更好的选举结果(和新朋友!)

迈向更好的选举结果(和新朋友!)

活动是什么? 2012 年大选的选票将在 10 月的第三周邮寄。在这个选举周期中,我们面临 9 项投票措施——一些可以推进民主,一些做出大胆承诺但似乎收效甚微,还有一些是对公共利益的公开攻击。我们还将被要求确定谁将在白宫、华盛顿特区的众议院代表我们,以及谁将填补州和地方席位。统计数据显示,影响某人投票的最佳方式是从他们信任的人那里获得信息——朋友、家人、邻居、另一位扶轮社成员等。如果将文学作品送到他们家,社区成员更有可能阅读反对邮寄或在公共场所领取。

本月,您的小组将通过邮件收到英文和西班牙文的 STAND 选民指南。 本月的厨房餐桌行动是为了让您当地的团体计划投票。  您的计划可以像 10 月 20 日和 21 日周末的敲门声、投票派对或向您所在县的选民打电话一样简单。无论您决定如何做,请考虑您和您的团体如何影响我们社区将在这个选举周期中做出的决定,并与选民建立关系,以促进我们人类尊严团体在未来几年的工作。

为什么这个活动?来自选举机构的典型选民联系时间短且有针对性。我们接到电话询问我们投票的方式,如果这是竞选呼叫者喜欢的方向,我们可能会接到另一个(或很多!)电话轻推(唠叨)我们上交选票。在所有这些敲门声和电话响起之后,该运动将结果打包 - 永远不会让人类尊严团体领导人有机会找出我们一些不为人知的进步邻居可能是谁。

它不必是这样的。多年来,人类尊严团体已经制定了与邻居建立关系、进行对话和鼓励参与的策略,同时诚实地对待我们民主的围困状态。邻居打来的友好电话只是检查一下我们是否对我们的选票有疑问或通过选民指南放弃,这对建立关系、选民投票率和我们团体的知名度有很大帮助。

完成活动的步骤:
1. 与您的小组分享此 KTA 并制定计划。查看以下想法和选项,了解如何与邻居互动并积极识别可能有兴趣与您合作的新进步人士!

2. 查看 STAND 选民指南并决定您的本地团体是否想要添加插入! STAND 选民指南将于 9 月中旬邮寄。讨论您是否想添加有关当地种族的任何其他信息,或者您是否想从您当地的人类尊严团体中加入个人笔记。 ROP 可以提供本地组插入的样本。

3. 为您的小组设定日期和时间,在 10 月 20 日和 21 日周末进行“敲门”!制定一份潜在志愿者名单,看看他们是否可以在社区附近走动,将 STAND 选民指南送到家门口几个小时。在 ROP 告诉我们,我们将帮助在您所在的县传播信息。 ROP 可以支持您的“敲门”计划,所以只需给我们打电话,我们将通过它与您交谈!

4. 致电您所在县的新兴美国选民——ROP 将支付 STAND 选民指南的印刷和邮寄费用!在这个选举周期中,正在崛起的美国选民引起了很多关注,因为他们可能会投票给进步人士,但只有在被提醒的情况下。崛起的美国选民——包括未婚女性、年轻人和有色人种——占投票人口的 50%,但投票率较低。如果您的团体承诺通过“礼貌”电话提醒人们上交选票并跟踪通话结果,ROP 将支付费用并将 STAND 选民指南邮寄给您所在县的选民。 我们越早收到您的回复,ROP 就越有可能确保您所在的县参与其中。让我们马上知道!

5. 不要忘记你的立场是什么?候选人问卷旨在帮助选民批判性地思考候选人。  在此处下载副本。 随身携带几份到候选人论坛。将它们插入您的 STAND 选民指南以进行广泛分发。它们旨在传递给选民,以用于评估候选人。

6. 考虑一项活动,为您的小组的“退出投票”计划添加更多内容,例如投票派对!与您所在团体的盟友举行一次聚会,讨论问题和候选人,用亲民主的视角分析选票,并填写选票。


Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) 是农村组织项目的月度项目。该理论认为,当一小群人聚集在整个俄勒冈州完成相同的行动时,基本步骤和任务可以产生强大的集体成果。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Strolling Toward Better Election Results (and new friends!)

Strolling Toward Better Election Results (and new friends!)

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?  Ballots for the 2012 General Election will arrive in the mail during the 3rd week in October.  This election cycle we face 9 ballot measures – some that could advance democracy, some that make bold promises but seem to deliver little, and some that are overt attacks on the common good.  We will also be asked to determine who is going to represent us in the White House, in the House of Representatives in DC, and who will fill state and local seats. Statistics show that the best way to impact someone’s vote is to receive information from someone they trust – a friend, family member, neighbor, another Rotary member, etc.  Community members are more likely to read literature if it is dropped off at their house as opposed to mailed or picked up at a public venue.

This month your group will receive their STAND Voter Guides in English and Spanish in the mail. This month’s Kitchen Table Activism is to make your local group’s plan to get out the vote.  Your plan can be as easy as a knock and drop on the weekend of October 20th and 21st, a ballot party, or calls to voters in your county.  However you decide to do it, consider how you and your group can influence the decisions that our communities will make this election cycle AND build relationships with voters for the work of our human dignity groups for the years to come.

WHY THIS ACTIVITY? Typical voter contact from electoral machinery is short and targeted.  We get calls asking which way we are voting and if it’s the direction the campaign caller likes, we may get another (or many!) calls nudging (nagging) us to turn in our ballots.  After all those doorknocks and calls are made, the campaign packs up the results – never giving human dignity group leaders a chance to find out who some of our unknown progressive neighbors might be.

It doesn’t have to be this way.  Over the years human dignity groups have developed strategies for building relationships with neighbors, having conversations, and inspiring participation while being honest about the state of siege of our democracy.  A friendly call from a neighbor just checking in to see if we have questions about our ballot or dropping by a voter guide can goes far in building relationships, voter turnout, and visibility for our groups.

STEPS TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:
1. Share this KTA with your group and make a plan. Review the ideas and options below for ways you can be engaging your neighbors and actively identifying new progressives who might be interested in working with you if asked!

2. Review the STAND Voter Guide and decide if your local group would like to add an insert! STAND Voter Guides will arrive in the mail in mid-September. Discuss if you would like to add any additional information on local races or if you would like to put a personal note in from your local human dignity group.  ROP can provide samples of local group inserts.

3. Set a date and time for your group to do a “knock and drop” on the weekend of Oct. 20th and 21st! Develop a list of potential volunteers and see if they are available to walk around neighborhoods delivering STAND Voter Guides to doorsteps for a couple hours.  Let us know at ROP and we will help spread the word in your county.  ROP can support your plan for a “knock and drop” so just give us a call and we will talk to you through it!

4. Make calls to the Rising American Electorate in your county – ROP will pay for the printing and mailing of STAND Voter Guides! There is a lot of attention surrounding the Rising American Electorate this election cycle as they are folks likely to vote progressive, but only if reminded.  The Rising American Electorate – including unmarried women, young people, and people of color – make up 50% of the voting population, but have lower turnout rates.  If your group commits to making “courtesy” calls to remind folks to turn in their ballot and tracks call results, ROP will pay for and mail the STAND Voter Guide to voters in your county. The sooner we hear back from you on this, the more likely it is that ROP can make sure your county gets to participate. Let us know right away!

5. Don’t forget about the What Do You STAND For? Candidate Questionnairedesigned to help voters think critically about candidates.  Download a copy here. Take several copies with you to candidate forums. Insert them into your STAND Voter Guides for broad distribution.  They are meant to be passed out to voters to use to evaluate candidates.

6. Consider an activity to add a little more meat to your group’s Get Out The Vote plan, like a Ballot Party! Hold a get-together with your group’s allies to discuss the issues and candidates, analyze the ballot with a pro-democracy lens, and fill out your ballots.


Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly project of the Rural Organizing Project. The theory is that basic steps and tasks can lead to powerful collective results as small groups of people gather to complete the same action throughout the state of Oregon.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English