يقف خارجا! من أجل عدالة النوع الاجتماعي

لقد تغيرت حقائق الحياة اليومية للمثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميول الجنسية والمتحولين جنسياً في ولاية أوريغون كثيرًا منذ أن نظمت شرطة عمان السلطانية المجتمعات الريفية لأول مرة لهزيمة الإجراء 9 - الإجراء المناهض للمثليين والذي سعى إلى تعريف المثلية الجنسية على أنها `` غير طبيعية ومنحرفة ''. "وأمر وكالات الدولة من فعل أي شيء" للترويج للأجندة الجنسية المثلية ".

تقول أليسون إليز كليفلاند ، مديرة مركز النوع الاجتماعي في مقاطعة لين: "لقد منحتنا [القوانين الجديدة] نجاحًا هامشيًا في المناطق التي لم يكن لدينا فيها حماية من قبل". "قبل سن القوانين في عام 2008 ، لم يكن هناك ... سوى عدد قليل من الرموز البريدية التي توفر الحماية من التمييز في مكان العمل والإسكان وفي بعض الأمور المدنية. مع ظهور هذه القوانين ، تمكنا من الدفاع عن الناس في جميع أنحاء الولاية في المناطق التي كان من الممكن أن تكون ميؤوسًا منها مسبقًا. لقد حققنا بعض الإنجازات المهمة للغاية ، لكننا بحاجة إلى تعزيز اللغة في القوانين الحالية ومواصلة التواصل والتعليم في عوالم البلديات والشركات ". لا يزال التمييز ضد الجنس والأقليات الجنسية حقيقيًا جدًا وحاضرًا. في الواقع ، تقدم أليسون دعوى التمييز الخاصة بها اليوم.

النبأ السار هو أنه في جميع أنحاء المناطق الريفية في ولاية أوريغون ، يتقدم أشخاص جدد ومجموعات جديدة ويدافعون عن العدالة بين الجنسين.

تنظم سوزان تشابمان من مقاطعة يونيون فصل PFLAG جديد في مقاطعة الاتحاد التي ستلتقي للمرة الأولى في وقت لاحق من هذا الشهر: "الآن هو الوقت المثالي لبدء هذه المحادثات في مجتمعنا. لدي الكثير من المخاوف في قلبي تجاه الشباب ، خاصة مع التحيز الذي يواجهونه ، خاصة في المدارس الثانوية. أريد أن أكون متاحًا كمورد لمساعدة العائلات والشباب. أريد أن أحدث فرقًا بطريقة إيجابية ".

عضو مقاطعة كولومبيا من أجل الكرامة الإنسانية Kevin W. يحضر مجموعة من سبعة شباب من تحالف مثلي الجنس المستقيم الذي تم تشكيله حديثًا في مدرسة Scappoose الثانوية للحقوق الأساسية تبرز أوريغون! ليوم لوبي المساواة والتجمع في سالم يوم الجمعة لتعزيز قانون مكافحة التنمر في ولاية أوريغون لحماية الشباب المثليين الذين يتعرضون للتنمر لمجرد كونهم هم. "بصفتي رجلًا مثليًا يعيش في وارن ، أعتقد أنه من المهم أن تكون مقاطعة كولومبيا مواكبة للعصر. يعد تشكيل GSA في المدرسة الثانوية مثالًا جيدًا على مدى تقدم مجتمعنا وأنه لا يميز. من خلال دعم مشاركة الطلاب في برنامج Stand Out! الحدث ، فإننا نظهر دعم مجتمعنا لمجموعة GSA وشباب مجتمعنا ".

في الحقوق الأساسية في أوريغون تبرز! ليوم لوبي المساواة، سيتعلم المشاركون جميع خصوصيات وعموميات قانون المدارس الآمنة في ولاية أوريغون (HB 2599) ويستمعون إلى المسؤولين المنتخبين مثل وزيرة الخارجية كيت براون والممثلة تينا كوتيك. كما أقامت BRO زيارات مع المشرعين الذين سيصوتون على قانون المدارس الآمنة في ولاية أوريغون. يرجى التفكير في الانضمام إلى شركاء شرطة عمان السلطانية في BRO لهذا الحدث المهم. لم يتبق سوى 24 ساعة للتسجيل!

ثم انضم إلى النشطاء الريفيين الآخرين الملتزمين بالكرامة الإنسانية للجميع في جلسة التجمع الريفي والاستراتيجية في شرطة عمان السلطانية يومي 15 و 16 مارس في سالم ، أوريغون. في ورشة عمل العدالة بين الجنسين ، سنقوم بتقييم كيف تطورت حركة حقوق المثليين منذ أن بدأت شرطة عمان السلطانية في عام 1991. سننظر في التغييرات في اللغة ، والتحالفات الجديدة التي تم تشكيلها ، وتجارب سكان أوريغون الريفيين - كذلك كما يحدث هذا العام وكيف يمكنك المشاركة. سجل اليوم

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Standing Out! for Gender Justice

The realities of day-to-day life for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered Oregonians has changed a lot since ROP first organized rural communities to defeat Measure 9 – the anti-gay ballot measure which sought to define homosexuality as ‘abnormal and perverse’ and enjoin state agencies from doing anything to ‘promote the homosexual agenda.’

“[New laws] have given us a marginal success in areas where we didn’t have protections before,” says Allison Elise Cleveland, director of The Gender Center Inc. in Lane County.  “Before laws enacted in 2008, there were… only a few zip codes that offered protection from discrimination in the workplace, in housing and in some civil matters.  With the advent of these laws we’ve been able to advocate for people around the state in areas that beforehand would have been hopeless.  We’ve achieved some very important milestones, but we need to strengthen language in existing laws and continue outreach and education into municipalities and corporate worlds.”  Discrimination against gender and sexual minorities is still very real and present.  In fact, Allison is filing her own discrimination suit today.

The good news is that across rural Oregon, new people and new groups are stepping up and standing up for gender justice.

Suzann Chapman from Union County is organizing a new PFLAG chapter in Union County that will meet for the first time later this month:  “Now is the perfect time to start these conversations in our community.  I have a lot of concerns in my heart for the youth, especially, with the prejudice they encounter, especially in the highschools.  I want to be available as a resource to help families and youth.  I want to make a difference in a positive way.”

Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity member Kevin W. is bringing a group of seven youth from the Scappoose high school’s newly formed Gay Straight Alliance to Basic Rights Oregon’s Stand Out! For Equality lobby day and rally in Salem this Friday to strengthen Oregon’s anti-bullying law to protect LGBT youth who are bullied just for being who they are.  “As a gay man living in Warren, I think it’s important that Columbia County catches up with the times.  Formation of the GSA in the high school is a good example of how progressive our community has become and that it does not discriminate.  By supporting students’ participation in the Stand Out! event, we are showing our community support for the GSA group and our community’s youth.”

At Basic Rights Oregon’s Stand Out! For Equality lobby day, participants will learn all the ins and outs of the Oregon Safe Schools Act (HB 2599) and hear from elected officials like Secretary of State Kate Brown and Representative Tina Kotek.  BRO has also set up visits with the lawmakers who will vote on the Oregon Safe Schools Act.  Please consider joining ROP’s partners at BRO for this important event.  There are just 24 hours left to register!

And then join other rural activists committed to human dignity for all at the ROP Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on March 15th & 16th in Salem, OR.  At the Gender Justice workshop we will take stock of how the LGBT rights movement has evolved since ROP began in 1991.  We’ll look at the changes in language, the new alliances that have been formed, and the experiences of rural Oregonians – as well as what’s happening this year and how you can be involved. Register today

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English