与凯西站在一起进行移民改革

昨天,超过 700 名支持者来到国会山告诉国会:“我们不能再等了。美国现在需要改革移民。” 

Among those hundreds was ROP's very own newly elected board chair, Kathy Paterno from member group Human Dignity Advocates in Crook County.凯西作为俄勒冈州代表团成员代表 ROP,代表团成员包括 CAUSA、PCUN 和 Mujeres Luchadores Progresistas,他们在华盛顿特区呆了四天,参加今年最大规模的移民改革倡导者和盟友会议。

Kathy 带着 ROP 给每位国会议员的一封信——包括与众议员 Walden 的实际面对面——以及在他办公室外的大厅与参议员 Wyden 的一次偶然相遇,同时他的工作人员会见了俄勒冈州团队的其他成员!这封信内容如下(全文如下):

“我们代表俄勒冈州每个县的 10,215 户家庭组成农村组织项目,呼吁您为我们的国家促进公正和人道的移民改革,尊重所有人与生俱来的人的尊严和人权。

随着经济紧张局势加剧,我们看到我们州出现了不幸的分裂。我们的移民邻居为我们的州和国家做出了巨大贡献,但由于联邦移民政策的破碎,他们正面临越来越多的不安全感和痛苦。美国公民的工资和工作条件面临下行压力,因此无法获得基本的公民和劳工权利,从而影响到我们所有人。

为了让自己摆脱这场经济危机,我们需要每个社区成员作为负责任的工人、消费者和纳税人的全面参与。只有公正和人道的移民改革才能做到这一点。”

凯西说,听到国会议员死记硬背的回应令人沮丧,但这让她更加坚定地致力于基层在实现变革中的作用。 

“这取决于我们与邻居交谈并传达我们的信息。一般来说,大多数美国人支持移民改革,但当你问他们这意味着什么时,他们会说边境墙。但是当你解释的时候人们为什么来这里的经济现实以及家庭如何被一个破碎的系统打破,然后我们的邻居开始了解移民改革的真正含义以及创造真正和公正的移民改革需要什么。” 

请花 30 秒时间与 Kathy 和 OR 团队站在一起,立即向您的参议员、代表和国会领导层发送免费传真:http://www.ReformImmigrationFORAmerica.org?p=NCLR

奥巴马总统曾表示,改革移民制度是他的当务之急,但要赢得胜利,不仅仅是让总统站在我们这边。我们需要 279 票才能通过全面的移民改革:218 名美国众议员 + 60 名参议员 + 总统签名。

这是草根组织的力量!我们将一起让改变发生!

 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Stand with Kathy for Immigration Reform

Yesterday more than 700 advocates descended on Capitol Hill to tell Congress: "We cannot wait any longer.  America needs to reform immigration now." 

Among those hundreds was ROP’s very own newly elected board chair, Kathy Paterno from member group Human Dignity Advocates in Crook County.  Kathy is representing ROP as a member of the delegation from Oregon that includes CAUSA, PCUN, and Mujeres Luchadores Progresistas who are in Washington D.C for four days to attend the largest convening of immigration reform advocates and allies of the year.

Kathy carried a letter from ROP to each Congressperson – including an actual face to face with Rep. Walden – and a chance encounter with Sen. Wyden in the hall outside his office while his staff met with the rest of the Oregon team!  The letter reads (and full text is below):

"On behalf of the 10,215 households from every county in Oregon that comprise the Rural Organizing Project, we call on you to promote Just and Humane Immigration Reform for our country that respects the inherent human dignity and human rights of all people.

As tensions heighten about the economy, we see an unfortunate division in our state.  Our immigrant neighbors, who contribute immensely to our state and country, are facing increasing insecurity and suffering due to broken federal immigration policies.  This lack of access to basic civil and labor rights affects all of us through downward pressure on wages and working conditions for US citizens.

In order to pull ourselves out of this economic crisis, we will need every community member’s full participation, as responsible workers, consumers, and taxpayers.  Only Just and Humane Immigration Reform can accomplish this."

Kathy said it was disheartening to hear rote responses from Congresspeople, but it left her with an even deeper commitment to the role of the grassroots in making change happen. 

"It’s up to us to talk to our neighbors and get our message out.  Generally the majority of Americans are supportive of immigration reform, but when you ask them what that means, they’ll say a wall on the border.  But when you explain the economic realities of why people come and how families are broken by a system that is broken, then our neighbors begin to understand what immigration reform really means and what it’s gonna take to create real and just immigration reform." 

Please take 30 seconds to stand with Kathy and the OR team by sending a free fax to your senators, representative, and congressional leadership right now: http://www.ReformImmigrationFORAmerica.org?p=NCLR

President Obama has said reforming the immigration system is a priority for him, but it’s going to take more than just having the President on our side to win.  We need 279 votes to pass comprehensive immigration reform:  218 U.S. Representatives + 60 Senators + the President’s signature.

Here’s to the POWER of grassroots organizing!  Together we will make change happen!

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English