قف مع كاثي لإصلاح الهجرة

بالأمس نزل أكثر من 700 من المدافعين عن الكابيتول هيل ليقولوا للكونغرس: "لا يمكننا الانتظار أكثر من ذلك. أمريكا بحاجة إلى إصلاح الهجرة الآن". 

من بين هؤلاء المئات كانت رئيسة مجلس إدارة شرطة عمان السلطانية المنتخبة حديثًا ، كاثي باتيرنو من مجموعة أعضاء منظمة الكرامة الإنسانية في مقاطعة كروك. تمثل كاثي شرطة عمان السلطانية كعضو في الوفد من ولاية أوريغون الذي يضم CAUSA و PCUN و Mujeres Luchadores Progresistas الموجودين في واشنطن العاصمة لمدة أربعة أيام لحضور أكبر اجتماع لمناصري وحلفاء إصلاح الهجرة لهذا العام.

حملت كاثي رسالة من شرطة عمان السلطانية إلى كل عضو في الكونجرس - بما في ذلك مواجهة فعلية وجهًا لوجه مع النائب والدن - ولقاء بالصدفة مع السناتور وايدن في القاعة خارج مكتبه بينما التقى فريق عمله ببقية فريق أوريغون! تقرأ الرسالة (والنص الكامل أدناه):

"بالنيابة عن 10215 أسرة من كل مقاطعة في ولاية أوريغون والتي تشكل مشروع التنظيم الريفي ، ندعوكم إلى تعزيز الإصلاح العادل والإنساني للهجرة لبلدنا الذي يحترم الكرامة الإنسانية المتأصلة وحقوق الإنسان لجميع الناس.

مع تصاعد التوترات بشأن الاقتصاد ، نرى انقسامًا مؤسفًا في دولتنا. يواجه جيراننا المهاجرون ، الذين يساهمون بشكل كبير في دولتنا وبلدنا ، انعدام الأمن والمعاناة المتزايدة بسبب سياسات الهجرة الفيدرالية المخالفة. هذا النقص في الوصول إلى الحقوق المدنية وحقوق العمل الأساسية يؤثر علينا جميعًا من خلال الضغط الهبوطي على الأجور وظروف العمل لمواطني الولايات المتحدة.

من أجل إخراج أنفسنا من هذه الأزمة الاقتصادية ، سنحتاج إلى مشاركة كاملة من كل فرد من أفراد المجتمع ، كعاملين مسؤولين ومستهلكين ودافعي ضرائب. فقط إصلاح الهجرة العادل والإنساني يمكنه تحقيق ذلك ".

قالت كاثي إنه كان من المحبط أن تسمع ردودًا عن ظهر قلب من أعضاء الكونغرس ، لكنها تركتها مع التزام أعمق بدور القواعد الشعبية في إحداث التغيير. 

"الأمر متروك لنا للتحدث مع جيراننا وإيصال رسالتنا. بشكل عام ، يدعم غالبية الأمريكيين إصلاح الهجرة ، ولكن عندما تسألهم ماذا يعني ذلك ، سيقولون لك جدارًا على الحدود. ولكن عندما تشرح الحقائق الاقتصادية لسبب قدوم الناس وكيف تحطمت العائلات بسبب نظام محطم ، ثم يبدأ جيراننا في فهم ما يعنيه إصلاح الهجرة حقًا وما الذي يتطلبه الأمر لإنشاء إصلاح حقيقي وعادل للهجرة ". 

يُرجى تخصيص 30 ثانية للوقوف مع كاثي وفريق غرفة العمليات عن طريق إرسال فاكس مجاني إلى أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ والممثلين وقيادة الكونغرس الآن: http://www.ReformImmigrationFORAmerica.org؟

قال الرئيس أوباما إن إصلاح نظام الهجرة يمثل أولوية بالنسبة له ، لكن الأمر سيستغرق أكثر من مجرد وجود الرئيس إلى جانبنا للفوز. نحتاج إلى 279 صوتًا لتمرير الإصلاح الشامل للهجرة: 218 نائبًا أمريكيًا + 60 عضوًا في مجلس الشيوخ + توقيع الرئيس.

إليكم قوة التنظيم على مستوى القاعدة الشعبية! معا سنحدث التغيير!

 

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Stand with Kathy for Immigration Reform

Yesterday more than 700 advocates descended on Capitol Hill to tell Congress: "We cannot wait any longer.  America needs to reform immigration now." 

Among those hundreds was ROP’s very own newly elected board chair, Kathy Paterno from member group Human Dignity Advocates in Crook County.  Kathy is representing ROP as a member of the delegation from Oregon that includes CAUSA, PCUN, and Mujeres Luchadores Progresistas who are in Washington D.C for four days to attend the largest convening of immigration reform advocates and allies of the year.

Kathy carried a letter from ROP to each Congressperson – including an actual face to face with Rep. Walden – and a chance encounter with Sen. Wyden in the hall outside his office while his staff met with the rest of the Oregon team!  The letter reads (and full text is below):

"On behalf of the 10,215 households from every county in Oregon that comprise the Rural Organizing Project, we call on you to promote Just and Humane Immigration Reform for our country that respects the inherent human dignity and human rights of all people.

As tensions heighten about the economy, we see an unfortunate division in our state.  Our immigrant neighbors, who contribute immensely to our state and country, are facing increasing insecurity and suffering due to broken federal immigration policies.  This lack of access to basic civil and labor rights affects all of us through downward pressure on wages and working conditions for US citizens.

In order to pull ourselves out of this economic crisis, we will need every community member’s full participation, as responsible workers, consumers, and taxpayers.  Only Just and Humane Immigration Reform can accomplish this."

Kathy said it was disheartening to hear rote responses from Congresspeople, but it left her with an even deeper commitment to the role of the grassroots in making change happen. 

"It’s up to us to talk to our neighbors and get our message out.  Generally the majority of Americans are supportive of immigration reform, but when you ask them what that means, they’ll say a wall on the border.  But when you explain the economic realities of why people come and how families are broken by a system that is broken, then our neighbors begin to understand what immigration reform really means and what it’s gonna take to create real and just immigration reform." 

Please take 30 seconds to stand with Kathy and the OR team by sending a free fax to your senators, representative, and congressional leadership right now: http://www.ReformImmigrationFORAmerica.org?p=NCLR

President Obama has said reforming the immigration system is a priority for him, but it’s going to take more than just having the President on our side to win.  We need 279 votes to pass comprehensive immigration reform:  218 U.S. Representatives + 60 Senators + the President’s signature.

Here’s to the POWER of grassroots organizing!  Together we will make change happen!

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English