新民主的小镇行动

距离 11 月 3 日还有 27 天,ROP 网络中的许多团体都在努力为选举做准备。我们知道没有任何候选人会提供灵丹妙药的解决方案,但选出具有为所有人提供安全和热情社区愿景的候选人是我们许多人参与推进民主的一种简单方式。通过与我们的邻居合作,我们可以创造我们想要的未来。这将意味着确保我们以创纪录的数量行使我们的投票权,确保每个想要投票的人都可以投票,然后确保每张选票都被计算在内。

与每次选举一样,新民主主义小镇行动 (STAND) 选举指南为俄勒冈州农村人提供有关投票措施、代表您的人以及今年 11 月投票的其他问题的信息。本指南还让社区成员参与讨论如何让我们的社区更接近我们都想要的繁荣的俄勒冈农村! 2020 年 STAND 选举指南的数字版本现已提供 英语西班牙语 在 rop.org/stand。如果您已经订购了纸质指南,它们很快就会到货。还没下单?请尽快通过 (503)-543-8417 与我们联系或发送电子邮件至 emma@rop.org,因为我们可能会用完!

与其他选举不同,今年我们面临着一系列重叠的危机:持续的 COVID-19 大流行、席卷社区的野火、对邮政系统的袭击、大规模失业、政治动荡以及我们社区的严重两极分化。在全州范围内的对话中,我们不断听到两个大问题:一月份我们还会有民主吗?我们如何为围绕选举的暴力升级做好准备?

想一起解决这些问题吗? 明天(太平洋标准时间 10 月 8 日星期四)下午 4 点到 530 点加入我们的虚拟教学:青年活动家和长者应对我们的政治危机。 农村组织项目和来自全国各地的其他强大组织将与全国长老理事会的成员一起讨论我们政治时刻的危险和机遇。我们将关注 11 月 3 日,以及我们如何在选举前和选举后面对危机时建立团结和转型。 在此处注册以加入对话! 有关此教学以及 ROP 的其他培训和战略课程的更多信息,请访问 rop.org/strategysession。

不管当前的环境或危机如何,我们知道与我们的朋友和邻居交谈,即使是那些我们不同意的人,仍然是我们最重要的工作。我们可能有不同的政治或哲学,但我们都对家庭、健康、家庭有着共同的担忧,并在影响我们生活的决策中拥有发言权。随着 COVID-19 和政治动荡的额外挑战,您的团队如何围绕选举进行组织?您使用哪些创造性的方式与社区中的人谈论选举?请发送电子邮件至 emma@rop.org 告诉我们!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Small Town Actions for a New Democracy

With 27 days to go until November 3rd, many groups across the ROP network are working hard in the lead up to the election. We know that no one candidate will provide a magic bullet solution, but electing candidates with a vision of safe and welcoming communities for all is one simple way for many of us to participate in advancing democracy. By working together with our neighbors, we can create the future we want. It’s going to mean making sure that we exercise our right to vote in record numbers, making sure that everyone who wants to vote can, and then making sure that every vote is counted.

Like every election, the Small Town Actions for a New Democracy (STAND) Election Guide provides information by and for rural Oregonians about ballot measures, who represent you, and other issues up for a vote this November. This guide also engages community members in a conversation about how to move our communities closer to the thriving rural Oregon that we all want! The digital version of the 2020 STAND Election Guide is now available in both English and Spanish at rop.org/stand. If you have already ordered paper guides, they will arrive shortly. Haven’t placed your order yet? Reach out to us at (503)-543-8417 or email emma@rop.org ASAP because we may run out!

Unlike other elections, this year we are facing a series of overlapping crises: the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, wildfires tearing through our communities, attacks on the postal system, massive unemployment, political unrest, and deep polarization in our communities. In conversations across the state, we keep hearing two big questions: Will we still have democracy come January? How do we prepare for escalating violence around the elections?

Want to grapple with these questions together? Join us tomorrow, Thursday, October 8th, from 4-530 PM PST, for the Virtual Teach-In: Youth Activists and Elders Take on Our Political Crisis. Rural Organizing Project and other powerful organizations from across the country will be joining members of The National Council of Elders to engage in conversation about the perils and opportunities of our political moment. We will focus on November 3rd and how we can build solidarity and transformation in the face of crisis, both leading up to and following the election. Register here to join the conversation! For more information about this teach-in, along with other trainings and strategy sessions from ROP, go to rop.org/strategysession.

No matter the current context or crisis though, we know that talking with our friends and neighbors, even those that we disagree with, is still our most important work. We may have different politics or philosophies, but we all share common concerns for our homes, health, families, and having a voice in the decisions that affect our lives. How has your group been organizing around the election with the added challenges of COVID-19 and political unrest? What creative ways have you been using to talk to people in your community about the election? Let us know by emailing us at emma@rop.org!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English