为司机卡公投提交的签名

5月1日英石 今年,州长签署了司机卡法案SB833,使其成为法律。经过多年的倡导和组织,它已在两院获得批准。我们想与您分享,正如您可能听说的那样,上周反对者上交了寻求废除该法案的签名。

更多信息在新闻稿中,该新闻稿由安全道路联盟于周五晚些时候发布。这是令人失望的消息,但并不是我们第一次面临反对。保持发布!我们将分享有关后续步骤的更新信息。

即时发布

2013 年 10 月 3 日

接触:

俄勒冈州安全道路联盟发言人:

Jeff Stone,俄勒冈州苗圃协会,971-235-3868

Ron Louie,退休的希尔斯伯勒警察局长,503-523-7809

联盟回应俄勒冈州两党驾驶卡法的反对者提交公投签名

俄勒冈州安全道路联盟监控签名验证过程并保持警惕以保护公共安全法

俄勒冈州塞勒姆——今天下午,俄勒冈州议会于 2013 年通过了一项两党法律 SB833 的反对者,该法案指示交通部向通过驾驶考试并提供俄勒冈州居住证明的俄勒冈人发放驾驶证,并提交了签名给国务卿办公室努力废除该法律。

由商业、执法和信仰团体的领导人组成的俄勒冈州安全道路联盟对 SB833 反对者试图通过混淆问题并导致其实施延迟来废除两党法律表示失望。

SB 833 是一项常识性的公共安全措施,旨在提高交通安全并减少俄勒冈州道路上无照和未投保驾驶者的数量。

“俄勒冈州需要 SB 833,因为所有司机都需要能够参加驾驶考试并了解道路规则,”希尔斯伯勒警察局前局长 Ron Louie 说。 “将这项措施提交投票意味着该法律的实施将被推迟,从而使一项使俄勒冈州成为更安全的居住地的常识性措施停滞不前。”

俄勒冈州托儿所协会执行董事杰夫斯通说:“我们对少数但有发言权的少数人阻止这项公共安全措施生效感到失望。” “该小组的努力主要由一位州外捐助者资助。我们不相信他们的观点代表了俄勒冈州的大多数声音,他们准备好看到这样的法律生效以使我们的道路更安全。”

“从波特兰警察局的角度来看,”波特兰警察局局长迈克·里斯说,“这项 [法律] 将提高所有俄勒冈州司机的安全和福祉。”

尽管反对公共安全法的团体说他们有足够的签名,但这些签名现在必须由俄勒冈州国务卿审查其有效性。将两党法案送交 2014 年 11 月投票的过程在获得资格之前还有很长的路要走。安全道路联盟的合作伙伴将保持警惕,并在国务卿办公室完成验证过程时密切关注这一过程。

###

Oregon Safe Roads 是一个由来自商业、执法和信仰社区的领导人和组织组成的联盟,致力于制定确保俄勒冈州道路安全的政策。如需更多信息,请发送电子邮件至 info@oregonsaferoads.org 向联盟发送电子邮件

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Signatures turned in for Drivers Card Referendum‏

On May 1st of this year, the governor signed the Drivers Card bill SB833 into law.  It had been approved in both chambers after many years of advocacy and organizing.  We want to share with you that last week, as you may have heard, opponents turned in signatures seeking to repeal the bill.

More information is in the press release, put out late Friday by the Safe Roads Coalition.  This is disappointing news, but not the first time we have faced opposition.  Stay posted!  We will share updates as we have them about the next steps.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 3, 2013

Contact:

Oregon Safe Roads Coalition Spokespeople:

Jeff Stone, Oregon Association of Nurseries, 971-235-3868

Ron Louie, Retired Chief of Police Hillsboro, 503-523-7809

Coalition Responds to Opponents of Oregon’s Bipartisan Driver Card Law Turning in Signatures for Referendum

Oregon Safe Roads Coalition to monitor signature verification process and stay vigilant in protecting the public safety law

Salem, Ore. — This afternoon, opponents of SB833, a bipartisan law passed by the Oregon Legislature in 2013 that directs the Department of Transportation to issue driver cards to Oregonians who pass a driver’s test and provide proof of Oregon residency, submitted signatures to the Secretary of State’s office in effort to repeal the law.

The Oregon Safe Roads Coalition, made up of leaders from the business, law enforcement, and faith communities, express disappointment in SB833 opponents’ attempt to repeal the bipartisan law by confusing the issue and causing a delay in its implementation.

SB 833 is a common sense, public safety measure designed to improve traffic safety and reduce the number of unlicensed and uninsured motorists on Oregon’s roads.

“Oregon needs SB 833 because all drivers need to be able to take a driver test and know the rules of the road,” said Ron Louie, former Chief of the Hillsboro Police Department. “A referral of this measure to the ballot means that implementation of the law will be delayed, stalling a common sense measure that makes Oregon a safer place to live.”

“We are disappointed that a small but vocal minority has prevented this public safety measure from taking effect,” said Jeff Stone, Executive Director of the Oregon Association of Nurseries. “This group’s effort was funded primarily from one out of state donor.  We do not believe that their views represent the majority voice in Oregon that is ready to see laws like this take effect to make our roads safer.”

“From the perspective of the Portland Police Bureau,” remarked Mike Reese, Chief of the Portland Police Bureau, “this [law] will enhance the safety and well-being of all Oregon drivers.”

Although the opposition group to the public safety law say they have enough signatures, those signatures must now be reviewed by the Oregon Secretary of State for validity.  The process to send the bipartisan law to the November 2014 ballot still has a long way to go before being qualified.  Safe Roads Coalition partners will stay vigilant and will be watching the process very closely as the Secretary of State’s office goes through the verification process.

###

Oregon Safe Roads is a coalition of leaders and organizations from the business, law enforcement, and faith communities working on policies to keep Oregon’s roads safe. For more information, please email the coalition at info@oregonsaferoads.org

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English