校务委员会选举及更多!

多年来,俄勒冈州农村人一直在选举期间采取行动,以此作为长期发展人类尊严运动的机会,同时选举致力于为所有人推进民主和正义的领导人。俄勒冈州农村地区的人们正在为民主和包容锻炼自己的力量,并克服国家和地方右翼推动的恐惧和排斥政治 组织 旨在为了他们的利益而分裂我们的社区。 

今天,我们分享了一些鼓舞人心的、有说服力的例子,这些例子说明了随着 5 月特区选举的升温,俄勒冈州农村正在发生的事情,我们很好奇:您的社区正在发生什么? 跨性别者是否应该享有权利、书籍是否应该被禁止、历史应该被准确教授的问题是否正在你所在的城市讨论?通过谁?我们很想知道! 请回复并分享您的想法和更新,以及 5 月 20 日(星期六)加入我们,参加在奥尔巴尼举行的年度农村核心小组和战略会议,届时我们将汇报选举结果并制定我们从现在到 2024 年选举及以后的计划!

小镇快照

克鲁克县一起为孩子们 在一小群人分享右翼组织 Moms for Liberty 的右翼谈话要点后成立 威胁并试图恐吓教师、学校董事会成员和图书馆工作人员禁止或隔离带有酷儿角色或主题的书籍,取消最近采用的包容性小学课程, 和更多。

这次选举,Crook County Together for Kids 将在当地一家餐厅举办候选人见面会,以帮助选民获得为他们的价值观投票所需的信息,同时支持当地企业!他们在当地会议上分享有关该选举周期投票的人,如果专注于替罪者和跨性别学生,武装老师以及消除对克鲁克县学校的州监督的候选人,那将处于危险之中。

经过几个月的外部团体抨击该地区对公平和包容的承诺 南巷县 在校务委员会会议上,一个右翼反 LGBTQ+ PAC 于周二晚上在 Cottage Grove 社区中心举行了一场号称公众候选人的论坛,但最终以暴力告终。南莱恩县的人类尊严团体领导人和亲民主社区成员参加了会议,希望能够提出问题并进行有意义的对话。虽然论坛被宣传为会见候选人的地方,但只有几个候选人在那里,而且问题是写下来的,并且是手工挑选的。 

当一位观众被邀请继续反跨性别的咆哮,而一位候选人以更多的反跨性别废话回应时,观众默默地站起来,竖起大拇指,然后被论坛主持人推倒在地;一名领导人乘坐救护车离开。 这是听众中的当地人类尊严组织黑莓派协会的一篇文章。

Cottage Grove 市政厅的录像。

Cottage Grove 社区领导人呼吁支持民主的邻居加入他们的行列,参加 5 月 1 日星期一下午 5:30 举行的南巷学校董事会会议 在地区办公室 - 455 Adams Ave, Cottage Grove - 传递积极的信息,并向继续维护所有学生的权利和尊严的现任学校董事会成员提供支持! 

无数有良知的社区领袖现身并以其包容的价值观和人类尊严来对抗恐惧和排斥的政治。 您有学校董事会成员可以致谢吗?举办禁书活动并坚决反对审查制度的图书馆员?继续教授帮助学生在社区和世界中找到自己位置的课程的教师? 给他们发一封电子邮件,放一些饼干,让他们知道!正如 Howard Zinn 所说,“当数以百万计的人参与进来时,小行为就能改变世界。”

您或您的团队在这次选举中采取行动了吗?让我们知道您在做什么,我们很想知道! 5 月 20 日星期六,加入我们在奥尔巴尼举行的年度农村核心小组和战略会议,听取 5 月 16 日选举结果的汇报,并制定我们如何共同为所有俄勒冈人的安全和尊严而前进的计划!

简体中文

School Board Elections & More!

For years, rural Oregonians have taken action during elections as an opportunity to grow the movement for human dignity for the long-haul while electing leaders who work to advance democracy and justice for all. Folks across rural Oregon are exercising their muscles for democracy and inclusion and to overcome the politics of fear and exclusion being pushed by national and local Right-wing organizations that aim to divide our communities for their benefit. 

Today we share some inspiring, and some telling, examples of what’s happening in rural Oregon as the May special district elections heat up and we’re curious: what is happening in your community? Are the issues of whether trans people should have rights, books should be banned, and history should be taught accurately being discussed in your town? By whom? We’d love to know! Please reply and share your thoughts and updates, and join us Saturday, May 20th for the annual Rural Caucus & Strategy Session in Albany where we’ll debrief the election results and map our plans between now and the 2024 election and beyond!

Small Town Snapshots

Crook County Together for Kids formed after a small group of people sharing Right-wing talking points from Right-wing group Moms for Liberty began threatening and attempting to intimidate teachers, school board members, and library staff into banning or segregating books with queer characters or themes, axing a recently adopted inclusive elementary school curriculum, and more.

This election, Crook County Together for Kids are hosting candidate Meet and Greets at a local restaurant to help voters get the information they need to vote for their values while supporting a local business! They are sharing at local meetings about who is on the ballot this election cycle and what’s at stake if candidates who are focused on scapegoating queer and trans students, arming teachers, and eliminating state oversight of Crook County Schools are elected.

After months of outside groups railing against the district’s commitment to equity and inclusion at South Lane County School Board meetings, a Right-wing anti-LGBTQ+ PAC held what was billed as a public candidate forum Tuesday night at the Cottage Grove Community Center that ended in violence. Human dignity group leaders and pro-democracy community members in South Lane County attended in the hopes of getting to ask questions and engage in meaningful conversation. While the forum was advertised as a place to meet the candidates, only a couple of candidates were there, and the questions were written down and hand-picked. 

When an audience member was invited to go on an anti-transgender rant and a candidate responded with more anti-trans nonsense, audience members silently stood up and put their thumbs down, and they were shoved and tackled to the ground by the forum hosts; one leader left in an ambulance. Here’s a write-up from a local human dignity group Blackberry Pie Society who were in the audience.

Video footage of the town hall in Cottage Grove.

Cottage Grove community leaders are calling for pro-democracy neighbors to join them at the South Lane School Board’s meeting Monday, May 1st at 5:30 pm at the District Office – 455 Adams Ave, Cottage Grove – with positive messages and to offer support to the current school board members who continue to uphold the rights and dignity of all students! 

Countless community leaders of conscience are showing up and leading with their values of inclusion, and human dignity to counter the politics of fear and exclusion. Do you have school board members who could use a thank you? Librarians who held Banned Book events and are steadfast against censorship? Teachers who are continuing to teach a curriculum that helps students find their place in the community and the world? Send them an email, drop off some cookies, and let them know! As Howard Zinn said, “Small acts, when multiplied by millions of people, can transform the world.”

Are you or your group taking action this election? Let us know what you’re up to, we’d love to know! Join us Saturday, May 20th at the annual Rural Caucus & Strategy Session in Albany to debrief the May 16th election results and to make plans for how we move forward together toward safety and dignity for all Oregonians!

English