SB 1070 – 又苦又微甜的一天

 

今天,即 2010 年 7 月 29 日,一项针对居住在亚利桑那州社区的无证人士的法律生效,SB1070。
 
昨天,当法院废除了法律中最恶劣的部分时,我们赢得了重大胜利。在法院作出裁决之前,人民的声音总是会响起,因此有了这一进展迹象,我们将继续与这项不公正法律的其余部分作斗争。
 
ROP 和 HDG 在让人类尊严和民主的价值观成为我们穿越文化变革海洋的指南方面有着悠久的历史。当我们为基本的人类尊严庆祝这一小小的胜利并准备好继续在我们自己的社区中传播仇恨的楔子时,让我们花一点时间重新调整我们所知道的真实情况。  
 
 
像 SB 1070 这样的零碎移民法并不代表我们的价值观:
  1. 这项法律撕裂了社区.这些法律和计划利用人们对移民的恐惧和刻板印象,使我们的社区不那么安全。他们通过使用诸如“犯罪外星人”之类的术语来试图创造“我们和他们”,从而使我们的邻居失去人性。该法律通过使移民成为罪犯并将为无证人士提供搭便车或房屋定为重罪,从字面上创造了“我们”与“他们”的对立。楔子不会建立社区。
  2. 该法律没有针对 根本原因:美国和拉丁美洲的经济崩溃。我们看到由于公民担心没有足够的工作、足够的资金或足够的空间而产生的仇恨。繁荣的阴云已经消散,社会断层线清晰可见。移民在本国或在美国作为潜在的受剥削工人都没有经济保障。这是关于美国的经济政策,而不是关于试图养家糊口或在我们的城镇谋生的人们。
  3. 该法律针对特定人群进行主要基于种族的迫害.尽管最恶劣的种族定性元素被阻止成为法律,但 SB1070 仍然通过警察和 ICE 的合作针对拉丁裔人口。不管法律的意图是什么,结果是 白人至上主义团体 正在与反移民团体结盟,进行武装边境巡逻。行动胜于雄辩;既不代表人类尊严,也不代表欢迎社区。

ROP 和 Human Dignity Groups 合作良好:打破仇恨并为我们指明未来方向的资源:
  1. 奇妙的一页文档来自 社区变革中心 这着眼于法院阻止了什么,现在是什么法律以及我们需要做什么。简单有效。
  2. Sweet Honey in the Rock,我们是一个民族音乐视频。只为享受。
  3. ROP 参与的安全社区项目制作了这部关于当地警察和 ICE 合作的街头戏剧,标题为: 注定的婚礼
  4. 北美拉丁美洲大会 制作了这篇文章,追溯了 SB1070 的历史以及法律、国家、经济和监狱系统之间的关系。对情况的彻底阅读。
行动很重要:团结我们从俄勒冈州到亚利桑那州的声音
我们产生了持久的影响。我们在过去几个月中要求制定更公正和人道的移民政策并反对 SB 1070 中如此明确规定的政策的工作是昨天成功的一部分。有可能使我们的社区朝着移民正义的积极愿景迈进。现在,我们继续前进!
  1. 重新提高您对当地移民司法工作的警惕,努力阻止 “安全社区”,并努力建立一个 欢迎俄勒冈州.
  2. 现在花一点时间给您当地的报纸写一封信,阐述 SB1070 不代表我们价值观的一种方式,并分享您对您所在社区的移民的支持。请参阅下面的样本信。 
***
样本信:
我很高兴 AZ SB1070 至少有一部分被法院屏蔽了;它表明存在着对移民正义的积极愿景的运动。不幸的是,博尔顿法官批准了一项规定,将“窝藏”或“运输”无证移民定为犯罪。这是一项危险的规定,将对倡导者、人权工作者、教会领袖,尤其是混合身份的家庭产生影响。现在,让美国公民与无证的亲人住在一起,或者开车送他们去上班、上学、去医院甚至去移民办公室处理他们的身份,这将是一种犯罪。我希望我们的立法者知道 SB1070 并不代表我们的社区价值观。我想要一个我们欢迎移民并高度重视多样性的社区。我想住在一个没有人害怕被家人剥夺的地方。我想支持我作为移民居住在我们镇上的邻居、朋友和父母同胞。这些法律对我们国家来说是一条糟糕的道路,需要废除。
您的姓名、地址和电话。
 
 
 

 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

SB 1070 – A day both bitter & slightly sweet

 

Today, July 29, 2010, a law takes effect that targets undocumented people living in Arizona’s communities, SB1070.
 
Yesterday, we won a significant victory when the courts struck down the most egregious parts of the law. The peoples’ voices always rise before the court’s decisions, so with this sign of progress we will continue fighting the remainder of this unjust law.
 
ROP and HDGs have a long history of letting values of human dignity and democracy be our guide through the seas of cultural change. As we celebrate this small victory for basic human decency & prepare ourselves to continue the work of diffusing the wedge of hate in our own communities, let’s take a minute to realign with what we know to be true.  
 
 
Piecemeal immigration laws like SB 1070 do not represent our values:
  1. This law tears communities apart. These laws and programs play on people’s fears and stereotypes about immigrants and make our communities less safe.  They dehumanize our neighbors through use of terms like "criminal alien" that seek to create an "us and them". This law literally creates an "us" versus "them" by making immigrants out to be criminals and making it a felony to give rides to or homes to undocumented people. Wedges do not build community.
  2. This law doesn’t address the root causes: economic collapse in the US and in Latin America. We see hatred rising out of citizen’s fear that there is not enough jobs, enough money or enough space. The clouds of prosperity have evaporated and left the social fault lines visible. And immigrants have no economic security either in their home countries or as potentially exploited workers here in the US. This is about US economic policy, not about the people trying to feed their families or make a life in our towns.
  3. This law targets a specific population of people for persecution based mainly on race. Despite the fact that the most egregious racial profiling elements were blocked from becoming law, SB1070 still targets the Latino population through police and ICE collaboration. No matter what the laws intentions, the outcome is that white supremacist groups are aligning with anti-immigrant groups to do armed border patrols. Actions speak louder than words; and neither represent human dignity or welcoming communities.

ROP and Human Dignity Groups are in good company: resources that break through hate and inform our directions for the future:
  1. Fantastic one page document from the Center for Community Change that looks at What was Blocked by the courts, What is now law and What we need to do.  Simple & effective.
  2. Sweet Honey in the Rock, Are We a Nation Music Video. Just to enjoy.
  3. The Safe Communities Project, which ROP is a part of, produced this piece of street theater about the collaboration between local police and ICE titled: The Doomed Wedding
  4. The North American Congress on Latin America produced this article tracing the history of SB1070 and the between the law, the nation, the economy and prison system. A thorough read on the situation.
Action matters: Uniting our voices from Oregon to Arizona
We made a lasting impact. Our work over the past months to demand a more just and humane immigration policy and to stand against the policies laid out so starkly in SB 1070 are a part of yesterday’s success. It is possible to move our communities toward a positive vision of immigration justice. Now, we move forward!
  1. Renew your vigilance to working on your local immigration justice efforts, working to stop "Secure Communities", and working to build a Welcoming Oregon.
  2. Take a minute right now to write a letter to your local newspaper expanding on one of the ways that SB1070 does not represent our values and share your support for immigrants in your own community. See below for a sample letter. 
***
Sample letter:
I’m glad that at least part of AZ SB1070 was blocked by the courts; it shows that there is movement for a positive vision for immigration justice.  Unfortunately Judge Bolton allowed to stand a provision that makes it a crime to "harbor" or "transport" an undocumented immigrant. This is a dangerous provision that will have consequences for advocates, human rights workers, church leaders and especially mixed-status families.  It will now be a crime for a U.S. citizen to live with a loved one who is undocumented, or to drive them to work, to school, to a hospital or even to an immigration office to deal with their status.  I want our law makers to know that SB1070 does not represent our communities values. I want a community where we welcome immigrants and we hold high the importance of diversity. I want to live in a place where no one lives in fear of being ripped from their family. I want to support my neighbors, friends and fellow parents that live in our town as immigrants. These laws are a bad path for our country and need to be repealed.
Your name, address, and phone.
 
 
 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English