安全和热情的社区

在 2020 年,作为创建 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图由 80 多个自主的人类尊严团体组成的 ROP 网络一致认为,为了繁荣,农村社区必须安全并欢迎所有人,无论其背景如何。在过去的一年里,人类尊严团体继续通过网络将这一目标变为现实。

今年在哥伦比亚县,斑鸠菊平等与种族正义 (VERJ) 将他们的权力集中在通过一项 Vernonia 市支持平等和包容的决议。 VERJ 由每周举行的 Black Lives Matter 集会组成,以应对 2020 年乔治·弗洛伊德 (George Floyd) 和其他黑人和棕色人种被警察杀害的事件。 在制定了他们提出的决议、与议员一对一会面并在市议会会议上发言后,Vernonia 一致通过了他们的决议,今年他们一直确保按照他们的设想实施! 经过他们所有的辛勤工作,全州的其他人类尊严团体已经能够在他们自己的当地组织中使用斑鸠菊决议,这要归功于 ROP 网络中的联系。

路边集会上的人们举着“黑人的命也是命”的标语

为了支持 ROP 继续长期组织,请考虑为我们的工作做出贡献,为所有人创建安全和热情的社区。

尤马蒂拉县今年也庆祝了胜利! 2021 年 1 月 19 日,当地组织者与 彭德尔顿社区行动联盟 发出他们的声音并向他们施压 彭德尔顿市议会一致投票反对保留纪念邦联领导人的历史街道名称! 这一变化实际上为彭德尔顿的有色人种在镇上感到更安全铺平了道路,因为如果没有他们的组织,彭德尔顿的新人行道就会被打上同盟的名字。

理事会与举着标语说没有仇恨的人会面

在海岸,林肯县的组织者成立了 Acompañar,以应对寻求庇护者在尤金移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 办公室任命时遇到的虐待。在 2019 年 ROP 的农村核心小组和战略会议上,Acompañar 与邻近县的组织者建立了联系,这使得与林肯、本顿、林恩和莱恩县的当地领导人合作成为可能。多亏了这些关系, 在整个大流行期间,Acompañar 与 ROP 网络中的合作伙伴合作,向 Eugene ICE 办公室施压,要求他们在寻求庇护者的约会从面对面更改为电话会议和语音邮件登记时进行更清晰的沟通.

ROP 继续对抗种族主义并赢得地方胜利,使全州的社区更加安全。 您的团队在当地采取了哪些措施来维护民主并确保当地社区对所有人都安全、热情和包容? 不确定从哪里开始在您的社区采取行动?我们很乐意听取您的意见!联系您友好的当地组织者或发送电子邮件至 Monica P monicap@rop.org.

为了在我们继续这项重要工作的过程中支持 ROP,请做出对您有意义的经济贡献,并帮助我们为每个社区成员真正感到安全的俄勒冈州农村铺平道路。 您的支持将有助于在未来几年保持 ROP 的强大! 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Safe and Welcoming Communities

In 2020 as part of creating the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon, the ROP network of more than 80 autonomous human dignity groups, agreed that in order to thrive, rural communities must be safe and welcoming to all people, regardless of their background. This past year, human dignity groups have continued to organize that goal into reality across the network.

This year in Columbia County, Vernonia Equality & Racial Justice (VERJ) focused their power on passing a Resolution at the City of Vernonia Supporting Equality and Inclusion. VERJ formed out of weekly Black Lives Matter rallies organized in response to the 2020 murder of George Floyd and other Black and brown people killed by police. After crafting their proposed resolution, meeting with councilors one on one, and speaking at city council meetings, Vernonia passed their resolution unanimously and this year they have been making sure it gets implemented as they envisioned! After all of their hard work, other human dignity groups across the state have been able to use the Vernonia resolution in their own local organizing thanks to the connections made across the ROP network.

People at a roadside rally holding Black Lives Matter signs

To support ROP in continuing to organize for the long haul, please consider contributing to our work creating safe and welcoming communities for all people.

Umatilla County also celebrated a victory this year! On January 19th, 2021, local organizers with the Pendleton Community Action Coalition made their voices heard and pressured the Pendleton City Council to unanimously vote against preserving historic street names that celebrated Confederate leaders! This change literally paved the way for people of color in Pendleton to feel safer around town because without their organizing, new sidewalks in Pendleton would have been stamped with Confederates’ names.

Council Meeting with folks holding signs saying no hate

On the coast, organizers in Lincoln County formed Acompañar in order to respond to the abuses that asylum seekers were experiencing in appointments at the Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) office in Eugene. At ROP’s Rural Caucus and Strategy Session in 2019, Acompañar connected with organizers in neighboring counties which made it possible to collaborate with local leaders in Lincoln, Benton, Linn, and Lane counties. Thanks to those relationships, Acompañar collaborated throughout the pandemic with partners across the ROP network in pressuring the Eugene ICE office to communicate more clearly as asylum seekers’ appointments changed from in-person to phone meetings and voicemail check-ins.

ROP continues to confront racism and win local victories that make communities safer all over the state. What is your group doing locally to uphold democracy and ensure local communities are safe, welcoming and inclusive to all people? Unsure where to start taking action in your community? We’d love to hear from you! Reach out to your friendly local organizer or email Monica P at monicap@rop.org.

To support ROP as we continue this important work, please make a financial contribution that is meaningful to you and help us pave the way to a rural Oregon where every community member truly feels safe. Your support will help keep ROP strong for years to come! 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English