رفقاء التنظيم الريفي يعملون بجد في جميع أنحاء ولاية أوريغون!

عمال دوليون سعداء باليوم العالمي! في عيد العمال هذا ، أردنا الاحتفال بالعمل القوي الذي قام به زملاء منظمة ROP في المناطق الريفية في جميع أنحاء ولاية أوريغون لتعزيز الكرامة الإنسانية والديمقراطية. تابع القراءة لمعرفة المزيد والتعرف على الزملاء في جلسة المجموعة الريفية والاستراتيجية في الأول من يونيو! اليوم (الأول من مايو) هو الموعد النهائي لتلقي خصم التسجيل المبكر ، لذا سجل مجموعتك اليوم!

زملاء التنظيم الريفي ، وموظفو شرطة عمان السلطانية ، ومنظمي الاتحاد في قاعة اتحاد PCUN في وودبرن في معتكفنا في شهر مارس

بدأت شرطة عمان السلطانية أول برنامج زمالة التنظيم الريفي في أكتوبر مع عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في The Dalles ، ركزت مقاطعة واسكو على بناء الحركة من أجل حقوق المهاجرين. منذ ذلك الحين ، عقدنا خلوتين إضافيتين في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع ، ركز كل منهما على أجزاء من الحركة المتنامية من أجل العدالة والكرامة الإنسانية ، مما وفر مساحة للزملاء لمشاركة التقدم في عملهم المحلي مع بعضهم البعض وبناء مهارات تنظيمية للعودة معهم إلى الوطن. . في ديسمبر ، ركزنا على حركات حقوق السكان الأصليين والسكان الأصليين وسافرنا إلى محمية الينابيع الدافئة لزيارة المتحف في وورم سبرينغز والتعرف على الحوكمة القبلية من كارينا ميلر ، وهي عضو في مجلس وارم سبرينغز القبلي.

سبق معتكفنا في آذار / مارس أسبوع من الضغط والمشاركة المدنية في مبنى الكابيتول في سالم من قبل العديد من الزملاء ، والمشاركة في يومين من اللوبي ، وزيارة موظفي المنظمات الحليفة ، والاجتماع مع المشرعين الذين يمثلون كل ركن من أركان ولاية أوريغون الريفية. انضم الزملاء وقادة شرطة عمان السلطانية من جميع أنحاء ولاية أوريغون إلى أكثر من 600 شخص في يوم اللوبي بقيادة Causa للحصول على تراخيص القيادة للجميع (AKA Equal Access to Roads Act ، House Bill 2015) في 26 مارس. أجرى KMUZ-FM مقابلة مع ماريا وروسي وخوان وكورتني على برنامج Willamette Wake-Up مع ميلاني زيرمر ، وتحدثوا عن شرطة عمان السلطانية وزمالة التنظيم الريفي ووقت الزملاء في الهيئة التشريعية في سالم. استمع إلى المقابلة الإذاعية هنا!

في أحدث معتكف لنا في Silverton ، ركز الزملاء على تنظيم العمال ودور النقابات. لقد أمضينا يومًا في Woodburn في قاعة اتحاد PCUN للاستماع من قادة ومنظمي Oregon AFL-CIO و Salem-Keizer Education Association و PCUN و SEIU 503 والرابطة الأمريكية لأساتذة الجامعات وكيم فيلنر ، كاتب ومدير سابق لـ اتحاد الكتاب الوطني وتحالف المنظمين الوطنيين.

يعمل جميع الزملاء في مشروع تنظيم في مجتمعاتهم المحلية (أو في حالة زكاري ، في جميع أنحاء الولاية!). فيما يلي بعض التحديثات الموجزة حول ما كانوا على وشك القيام به. يمكنك مقابلة الزملاء شخصيًا ومعرفة المزيد عن مشاريعهم بتفاصيل مثيرة في جلسة المؤتمر الريفي والاستراتيجية لهذا العام في الأول من يونيو!

 

زاكاري في معتكف الزمالة في مارس واللافتة التي سترتفع في متاحف Oregon HORSE

يعيش Zachary Stocks في أستوريا ويعمل على ذلك بناء شبكة من المتاحف المحلية في جميع أنحاء المناطق الريفية في ولاية أوريغون الذين يلتزمون صراحة بأن تكون مساحات مفتوحة وآمنة ومرحبة للحوار بين جميع أفراد المجتمع حول القضايا ذات الاهتمام ومجالات الفرص. تسمى الشبكة منظمات التراث من أجل العدالة الاجتماعية الريفية (Oregon HORSE) ولن تعمل المواقع المشاركة بشكل وثيق مع أعضاء مجتمعاتهم فحسب ، بل ستخلق أيضًا الموارد والأدوات وتشاركها مع بعضها البعض عبر الولاية. المتاحف الخمسة الأولى التي انضمت إلى Oregon HORSE هي Clatsop County Historical Society (Astoria) ، ومتحف Coos للتاريخ (Coos Bay) ، ومتحف AR Bowman / متحف Crook County التاريخي (Prineville) ، ومركز Maxville Heritage Interpretive (جوزيف) ، و Columbia Gorge Discovery. مركز (داليس). سيزور زاكاري كل متحف ومجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية في كل منطقة خلال فصل الصيف لإجراء اتصالات واستضافة الدورات التدريبية وبناء شراكات بين المجموعات والمتاحف المحلية. هل تريد مجموعتك إقامة اتصالات مع المتاحف المحلية؟ تحدث مع زاكاري في المؤتمر أو تواصل مع cathy@rop.org للتواصل!

الزملاء الذين يزورون المتحف في وورم سبرينغز مع جايلين وكارينا ميلر (وسط ، واقفًا)

جايلين (إلى اليسار) مع جزء من فريق التخطيط للتوعية من خلال الفن

يعيش Jaylyn Suppah في Warm Springs ويعمل لصالح القبائل الكونفدرالية لحكومة Warm Springs القبلية. جمعت Jaylyn مجموعة عمل من خمس نساء من Warm Springs Tribe للتخطيط لسلسلة من الوعي من خلال الفن ورش العمل التي تستخدم مختلف الأشكال الفنية التقليدية والحديثة للمساعدة في عملية العدالة التصالحية وتضميد الجراح للبالغين والشباب القبليين الموجودين حاليًا في نظام الإفراج المشروط والمراقبة. تتمثل فكرة سلسلة ورش العمل هذه في مساعدة الأشخاص الذين يكافحون من أجل التعافي من الإدمان أو الحكم على نوع من الإدانة الجنائية للتفكير في تاريخ وثقافة الأسرة والقبلية واستخدام تلك الأفكار للنمو والتعلم والتحرك بشكل مختلف في العالم يتقدم. لقد حصلوا على دعم القاضي المحلي والعاملين تحت المراقبة وجلبوا عددًا من أفراد المجتمع لمشاركة معارفهم والتبرع بمهاراتهم والتطوع بوقتهم.

ماريا (الثالثة من اليمين في الصف الأمامي) مع مجموعة طلاب مركز رعاية الأطفال والكبار الذين جندتهم لحضور يوم اللوبي 26 مارس في سالم وتسليم بطاقات بريدية موقعة إلى المشرعين.

تنهي ماريا ميجيا بوتيرو سنتها الأخيرة في المدرسة الثانوية من خلال أخذ دروس جامعية في كلية سنترال أوريغون المجتمعية وستغادر ولاية أوريغون في سبتمبر لبدء الكلية بمنحة دراسية كاملة في جامعة ميامي (نأمل أن تعود إلى أوريغون بسرعة!). تعاونت ماريا مع روسي (زميل آخر في شرطة عمان السلطانية ، انظر أدناه!) لبناء نادي للحالمين والطلاب المهاجرين والحلفاء في COCC. يعمل النادي على دعم حقوق كل شخص يعيش في ولاية أوريغون ، بغض النظر عن وضع الهجرة الخاص به. حصل نادي Dreamers Club مؤخرًا على اعتراف رسمي وتمويل من الكلية! أحضرت ماريا ووالدتها ، التي تحضر أيضًا COCC ، شاحنة محملة بالطلاب إلى سالم للحصول على تراخيص القيادة لجميع Lobby Day للدفاع عن الحق في التقدم للحصول على رخصة قيادة والحصول عليها لجميع سكان ولاية أوريغون. عملت ماريا أيضًا مع جوان وروسي (كلاهما من زملاء شرطة عمان السلطانية) لتطوير وتقديم ورشتي عمل مختلفتين حول الهجرة في مؤتمر الطلاب الملونين على مستوى الولاية في مونماوث في الخريف ومؤتمر القيادة الطلابية الشمالية الغربية على مستوى الولاية في سالم في فبراير. جنبًا إلى جنب مع الزملاء الآخرين ، أمضت ماريا أسبوعًا في شهر مارس في مبنى الكابيتول لتتعلم من الموظفين العاملين في المنظمات المتحالفة في الهيئة التشريعية ، والمشاركة في يوم لوبي لا في تحالف الغاز الطبيعي المسال ، والاجتماع مع المشرعين للتعرف على كيفية عمل حكومة ولاية أوريغون وكيفية عمل سكان أوريغون. يمكن أن تشارك بنشاط للتأثير على صنع السياسات.

روسي (على اليسار) مع ماريا وهانا وكورتني وخوان يسجلون مقابلة حول زمالة التنظيم الريفي في استوديو KMUZ

تخرج روسي فالدوفينوس من مدرسة مدراس الثانوية العام الماضي وهو الآن طالب في كلية سنترال أوريغون المجتمعية (COCC). جنبا إلى جنب مع ماريا ، أنشأ روسي نادي الطلاب للحالمين والطلاب المهاجرين والحلفاء في COCC. تقوم حاليًا بتجميع معلومات اعرف حقوقك لمشاركتها في الأعمال التجارية المحلية والمراكز المجتمعية لأفراد المجتمع غير الموثقين ، وتحديداً حول حقوقهم في مكان العمل وكيفية حماية أنفسهم وبعضهم البعض. أمضت روسي أسبوع 26 مارس في المناصرة التشريعية وعادت منذ ذلك الحين إلى مبنى الكابيتول لمواصلة دعوتها ، والضغط من أجل الحصول على رخص القيادة للجميع. جنبًا إلى جنب مع تنظيمها ، واعرف عملك الحقوقي ، وإنشاء وتسهيل ورش عمل مع جوان وماريا ، أصبحت تشارك بشكل متزايد في العمل الحكومي الطلابي في COCC وعلى مستوى الولاية من خلال مجلس الطلاب في رابطة طلاب أوريغون واللجنة التنفيذية. أعلنت روسي للتو أنها ترشح نفسها لمنصب رئيس جمعية طلاب أوريغون في COCC للعام الدراسي القادم من 19 إلى 20 عامًا!

خوان (في الوسط) يدلي بشهادته في الهيئة التشريعية لولاية أوريغون

نشأ خوان نافارو بالقرب من سالم في مقاطعة ماريون الريفية ، وتخرج من جامعة ويسترن أوريغون في مونماوث ، وهو حاليًا طالب دراسات عليا في جامعة ولاية أوريغون في كورفاليس. منذ تطوير وتقديم العديد من ورش العمل حول الهجرة جنبًا إلى جنب مع ماريا وروسي في مؤتمر الطلاب الملونين على مستوى الولاية ومؤتمر القيادة الطلابية الشمالية الغربية على مستوى الولاية ، قاد جوان ورش عمل لمجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية والتجمعات والمنظمات المجتمعية في المنطقة. خلال أسبوع الزملاء للعمل التشريعي والأنشطة التعليمية في مبنى الكابيتول في مارس ، مثل الطلاب المهاجرين وأدلى بشهادته في جلسة استماع حول أهمية المساواة في الرسوم الدراسية. أكمل خوان مؤخرًا فترة تدريب في سالم في وزارة التعليم العالي بولاية أوريغون. كما أنه يعمل محليًا لإشراك المجموعات التي تنظم حول أولوياته القصوى: تمرير تشريعات رخص القيادة للجميع والاستعداد للدفاع عنها إذا ذهبت إلى ورقة الاقتراع. جمع خوان عدة مئات من البطاقات البريدية الموقعة للمشرعين من أجل الحملة!

 

شاركت سهله في نقاش حول التنظيم في معتكف مارس

يقع مقر سهلا دينتون في كوتيدج جروف بمقاطعة لين ، وهو أحد قادة مجتمع كوتيدج جروف المتحد (CGCU) ، والذي تم تنظيمه بنجاح لمنع متجر سكاكين النازيين الجدد من اكتساب النفوذ في المجتمع. نظمت سهله و CGCU وقادتا سلسلتين من ورش العمل حول العدالة العرقية التي ركزت على القراءات ومقاطع الفيديو والصدق الشجاع للريفيين وأصحاب المدن الصغيرة الملونين حول ما كانت عليه تجاربهم في المجتمع للتخلص من المواقف الدفاعية وإعداد مجموعة كاملة للتنظيم. بعد أن أدى العمل التنظيمي لـ CGCU إلى النجاح وغادر Wolfclan Armory المدينة ، واصلت CGCU رعاية ورش العمل لمساعدة أفراد المجتمع على فهم العنصرية في المدينة ومواجهتها ، وقد قفزت Sahla إلى دور الميسر. بعد أن خرجت من سلسلة ورش العمل ، تخطط لبدء نادي الكتاب للمشاركين لتوسيع نطاق تعلمهم وتعمل أيضًا على إنشاء مجموعة ذات منحى عملي للمشاركين السابقين في ورش العمل المناهضة للعنصرية الذين يتطلعون إلى أن يصبحوا أكثر مشاركة.

 

شاركت Briana في مناقشة حول التنظيم في معتكف مارس ومساعدة Zachary في إعداد الغداء

بريانا سبنسر هي عضو في القبائل الكونفدرالية في أوماتيلا وقد تم تعيينها مؤخرًا كمشرف على العمليات في Kayak Public Transit ، وهو نظام حافلات مكون من أربع مقاطعات يخدم القبائل وغير القبائل والمجتمعات في شرق ولاية أوريغون وواشنطن. قبل عدة أشهر حضرت قمة الشباب وتحدثت مع مرافقة مجلس الشباب حول مشروع الزمالة الخاص بها. نصحتها المرافقة بأن مجلس الشباب دعا مؤخرًا لشرب ينابيع في المحمية ، لكن فكرتهم قوبلت بالرفض. قررت بريانا تبني هذه القضية كمشروعها لدعم أصوات القادة الشباب في المجتمع. يقوم الشباب بالسير والجري وركوب الدراجات ولوح التزلج حول المحمية ، ولكن لا توجد نوافير للشرب في الهواء الطلق والبديل هو دفع ثمن زجاجات المياه البلاستيكية التي تستخدم مرة واحدة. حدد الشباب هذا كقضية مالية وبيئية. كانت بريانا منشغلة في العمل لمعرفة كيفية تنفيذ خطة لوضع نوافير في مواقع استراتيجية ، والعثور على تمويل للمشروع ، والحصول على المعرفة الهندسية والتقنية الأخرى في مكانها الصحيح ، وإشراك الشباب في هذه الخطط حتى يتمكنوا من رؤية تتشكل الفكرة وتحدث التغيير.

بريندا (الثانية من اليسار) مع أعضاء رايس

  اجتماع مجتمع Raíces في هيرمستون بشأن رخص القيادة للجميع

بريندا فلوريس نشأ في ستانفيلد في مقاطعة أوماتيلا وتخرج من جامعة ويسترن أوريغون في مونماوث. عندما أجرينا مقابلة مع بريندا للحصول على الزمالة ، قالت إنها شاركت لأول مرة في التنظيم في الكلية وأرادت الآن إنشاء الدعم والموارد للتنظيم الذي رأته يحدث في غرب ولاية أوريغون في المنزل حيث هناك حاجة أيضًا إليه. وهي تفعل ذلك! جمعت بريندا مجموعة من الشباب ، مثلها ، نشأوا في المنطقة وينظمون الآن لإحداث تغيير لأنفسهم وعائلاتهم. يُطلق على مجموعتهم اسم Raíces في إشارة إلى جذورهم وحبهم لمجتمعهم ، وقد قاموا بإحضار 75 شخصًا إلى حدثهم في 27 أبريل لتعبئة المجتمع لدعم حملة رخص القيادة للجميع. إنهم يخططون الآن للقيام بالتوعية المستمرة وجمع البطاقات البريدية الموقعة في أحداث Cinco de Mayo في 4 و 5 مايو في أرض المعارض في هيرمستون.

كورتني (في القبعة) مع لجنة التجمع الترحيبية الموحدين

                        

عادت كورتني نويباور إلى مسقط رأسها في شلالات كلاماث الخريف الماضي بعد أن أمضت سنوات دراستها الجامعية في جامعة ويلاميت في سالم ثم عاشت في سياتل وعملت عبر واشنطن في سياسة الرعاية طويلة الأجل. انخرطت في مشاريع مقاطعة كلاماث للمساعدة في إعادة تنشيط وتوسيع العديد من المجموعات المحلية ، وإقراض طاقتها المعدية لإجراء اتصالات مع أشخاص جدد وحثهم على النشاط. لقد أعادت تنشيط لجنة العدالة الاجتماعية العالمية الموحدة ، وعملت مع لجنة التجمع الترحيبية UU لعقد تدريبات LGBTQ + وبناء تحالف Klamath ، وعملت مع Klamath Indivisible لعقد أول حدث لها في غضون عامين ، وشاركت في اجتماعات مع حملة No LNG. نظمت اجتماعًا مع العمدة المحلي لطرح أسئلة حول عدم وجود مترجم إسباني معتمد ودعمه لإنهاء قرار الملجأ في ولاية أوريغون. انضمت كورتني إلى روسي وماريا وخوان وغابرييلا في يوم تراخيص السائقين لجميع اللوبيات في مبنى الكابيتول وفي الأيام الثلاثة التالية في سالم وتمكنت من مقابلة المشرعين المحليين حول مجموعة متنوعة من مشاريع القوانين التي تهم الناس في مقاطعة كلاماث.  

 

غابرييلا (مرتدية سترة جان) في 26 مارس يوم اللوبي للحصول على رخص القيادة للجميع في مبنى الكابيتول في سالم والتجمع في نهر هود.
تعيش غابرييلا غارسيا وتعمل في نهر هود. سافرت من المضيق للمشاركة في 26 مارس يوم اللوبي الخاص بتشريع رخص القيادة للجميع. عملت على تشكيل Comunidades ، وهي مجموعة بيئية تركز على إشراك الأشخاص الملونين في منطقة نهر هود في القضايا البيئية. شاركت غابرييلا في الأنشطة المتعلقة بإنهاء عقد إدارة الهجرة والجمارك (ICE) في NORCOR ، وهو سجن إقليمي من أربع مقاطعات في الخانق حيث كان المنظمون المحتجزون في السجن والحلفاء خارج السجن يطالبون بإنهاء عقد ICE و ظروف أفضل. كما ساعدت أيضًا في جذب الأشخاص لحضور حدث يوم 28 أبريل لإعلام سكان منطقة هود ريفر وتنشيطهم بشأن حملة الفوز برخص القيادة للجميع.

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Rural Organizing Fellows Working Hard Across Oregon!

Happy International Workers of the World Day! On this May Day, we wanted to celebrate the powerful work ROP’s Rural Organizing Fellows have been doing across Oregon to advance human dignity and democracy. Read on to learn more and meet the Fellows at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session on June 1st! Today (May 1st) is the deadline to receive the early bird registration discount, so register your group today!

Rural Organizing Fellows, ROP staff, and Union organizers at the PCUN Union Hall in Woodburn at our March retreat

ROP kicked off our first Rural Organizing Fellowship program in October with a weekend retreat in The Dalles, Wasco County focused on building the movement for immigrant rights. Since then we’ve held two more weekend retreats, each focused on parts of the growing movement for justice and human dignity, providing space for fellows to share progress on their local work with each other and to build organizing skills to take back home with them. In December, we focused on Native and Indigenous rights movements and traveled to the Warm Springs Reservation to visit the Museum at Warm Springs and learn about tribal governance from Carina Miller, a member of the Warm Springs Tribal Council.

Our March retreat was preceded by a week of lobbying and civic engagement at the Capitol in Salem by several Fellows, participating in two lobby days, visiting with staff of allied organizations, and meeting with legislators representing every corner of rural Oregon. Fellows and ROP leaders from across Oregon joined over 600 people at the Causa-led lobby day for Driver’s Licenses for All (AKA Equal Access to Roads Act, House Bill 2015) on March 26th. Maria, Rossy, Juan, and Courtney were interviewed by KMUZ-FM on Willamette Wake-Up with Melanie Zermer, talking about ROP, the Rural Organizing Fellowship, and the fellows’ time at the legislature in Salem. Listen to the radio interview here!

At our most recent retreat in Silverton, Fellows focused on worker organizing and the role of unions. We spent a day in Woodburn at the PCUN Union Hall hearing from leaders and organizers of the Oregon AFL-CIO, Salem-Keizer Education Association, PCUN, SEIU 503, the American Association of University Professors, and Kim Fellner, writer and former Director of the National Writers Union and the National Organizers Alliance.

All of the fellows are working on an organizing project in their home communities (or in Zachary’s case, around the state!). Below are some brief updates on what they’ve been up to. You can meet the fellows in person and learn more about their projects in exciting detail at this year’s Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on June 1st!

 

Zachary at the March fellowship retreat and the sign which will go up in Oregon HORSE museums

Zachary Stocks lives in Astoria and has been working to build a network of local museums across rural Oregon who are making an explicit commitment to being open, safe and welcoming spaces for dialogue among all community members about issues of concern and areas of opportunity. The network is called Heritage Organizations for Rural Social Equity (Oregon HORSE) and the participating sites will not only work closely with members of their own communities but will also create and share resources and tools with each other across the state. The first five museums that have joined Oregon HORSE are Clatsop County Historical Society (Astoria), Coos History Museum (Coos Bay), A. R. Bowman Museum/Crook County History Museum (Prineville), Maxville Heritage Interpretive Center (Joseph), and Columbia Gorge Discovery Center (The Dalles). Zachary will be visiting each museum and the human dignity groups in each area over the summer to make connections, host trainings, and build partnerships between local groups and museums. Does your group want to make connections with local museums? Chat with Zachary at the Caucus or reach out to cathy@rop.org to get connected!

Fellows visiting the Museum at Warm Springs with Jaylyn and Carina Miller (center, standing)

Jaylyn (on the left) with part of the Awareness Through Art planning team

Jaylyn Suppah lives in Warm Springs and works for the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs Tribal Government. Jaylyn brought together a working group of five women from the Warm Springs Tribe to plan a series of Awareness Through Art workshops that use various traditional and modern art forms to aid in the process of restorative justice and healing for tribal adults and youth who are currently in the parole and probation system. The idea of this series of workshops is to help people who are struggling to recover from addictions or a sentence for some type of criminal conviction to reflect on family and tribal history and culture and to use those reflections to grow and learn and move differently in the world going forward. They have the support of the local judge and probation workers and have brought in a number of community members to share their knowledge, donate their skills, and volunteer their time.

Maria (3rd from right in the front row) with the group of COCC students she recruited to attend the March 26th Lobby Day in Salem and delivering signed postcards to her legislators

Maria Mejia Botero is finishing her final year of high school by taking college classes at Central Oregon Community College and will be leaving Oregon in September to start college on a full scholarship at the University of Miami (we hope she returns to Oregon quickly!). Maria collaborated with Rossy (another ROP fellow, see below!) to build a club for Dreamers, immigrant students, and allies at COCC. The club is working to support the rights of everyone who lives in Oregon, no matter their immigration status. The Dreamers Club recently received official recognition and funding from the college! Maria and her mother, who also attends COCC, brought a vanload of students to Salem for the Driver’s Licenses for All Lobby Day to advocate for the right to apply for and obtain a driver’s license to all Oregonians. Maria also worked with Juan and Rossy (both ROP fellows) to develop and present two different workshops on immigration at the Statewide Student of Color Conference in Monmouth in the fall and the Statewide Northwest Student Leadership Conference in Salem in February. Along with other fellows, Maria spent a week in March at the Capitol learning from staff working for allied organizations at the legislature, participating in the No on LNG Coalition lobby day, and meeting with legislators to learn about how Oregon’s state government functions and how Oregonians can actively participate to influence policy-making.

Rossy (on the left) along with Maria, Hannah, Courtney, and Juan recording an interview about the Rural Organizing Fellowship at KMUZ’s studio

Rossy Valdovinos graduated from Madras High School last year and is now a student at Central Oregon Community College (COCC). Along with Maria, Rossy created the student club for Dreamers, immigrant students, and allies at COCC. She is currently compiling Know Your Rights information to share in local businesses and community centers for community members who are undocumented, specifically about their rights in the workplace and how to protect themselves and each other. Rossy spent the week of March 26th engaged in legislative advocacy and has since returned to the Capitol to continue her advocacy, lobbying for Driver’s Licenses for All. Along with her organizing, know your rights work, and creating and facilitating workshops with Juan and Maria, she is becoming increasingly engaged in student government work at COCC and statewide through the Oregon Student’s Association’s Students of Color Board and Executive Committee. Rossy has just declared that she is running for President of the Oregon Student Association at COCC for the upcoming ‘19-’20 academic year!

Juan (center) testifying at the Oregon State Legislature

Juan Navarro grew up near Salem in rural Marion County, graduated from Western Oregon University in Monmouth, and is currently a graduate student at Oregon State University in Corvallis. Since developing and presenting multiple workshops on immigration alongside Maria and Rossy at the Statewide Students of Color Conference and the Statewide Northwest Student Leadership Conference, Juan has led workshops for human dignity groups, congregations, and community organizations in the region. During the fellows’ week of legislative action and educational activities at the Capitol in March, he represented immigrant students and testified at a hearing on the importance of tuition equity. Juan recently completed an internship in Salem at the Oregon State Department of Higher Education. He is also working locally to engage groups who are organizing around his highest priority: passing the Driver’s Licenses for All legislation and preparing to defend it if it goes to the ballot. Juan has collected several hundred signed postcards to legislators for the campaign!

 

Sahla engaged in a discussion on organizing at the March retreat

Sahla Denton is based in Cottage Grove, Lane County and is one of the leaders of Cottage Grove Community United (CGCU), which successfully organized to keep a neo-Nazi knife shop from gaining influence in the community. Sahla and CGCU have organized and led two series of racial justice workshops that focused on readings, videos, and the courageous honesty of rural and small-town folks of color about what their experiences have been like in the community to cut through defensiveness and prepare the entire cohort to organize. After the organizing work of CGCU resulted in success and Wolfclan Armory left town, CGCU has continued to sponsor workshops to help community members understand and confront racism in town and Sahla has jumped into the role of facilitator. Coming out of the workshop series, she plans to start a book club for participants to extend their learning and is also working to create an action-oriented group for past participants of the anti-racism workshops looking to become more engaged.

 

Briana engaged in a discussion on organizing at the March retreat and helping Zachary make lunch

Briana Spencer is a member of the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla and she was recently hired as the Operations Supervisor of Kayak Public Transit, a four-county bus system that serves tribal and non-tribal people and communities in eastern Oregon and Washington. Several months ago she attended a Youth Summit and spoke with a Youth Council chaperone about her fellowship project. The chaperone advised her that the Youth Council recently advocated for drinking fountains on the reservation, but their idea was rejected. Briana decided to take up that cause as her project to support the voices of young leaders in the community. Young people walk, run, ride bikes, and skateboard around the reservation, but there are no outdoor drinking fountains available and the alternative is to pay for single-use plastic bottles of water. The youth identified this as both a financial and an environmental issue. Briana has been busily at work figuring out how to implement a plan to place fountains in strategic locations, find funding for the project, get the engineering and other technical know-how in place, and engage the youth in these plans so they can see their idea take shape and make change.

Brenda (second from left) with members of Raíces

  Raíces community meeting in Hermiston on Driver’s Licenses for All

Brenda Flores grew up in Stanfield in Umatilla County and is a graduate of Western Oregon University in Monmouth. When we interviewed Brenda for the fellowship, she shared that she had first gotten involved in organizing in college and now wanted to create the support and resources for the organizing she saw happening in western Oregon back at home where it is also needed. And she’s doing it! Brenda brought together a group of young people who, like her, grew up in the area and are now organizing to make change for themselves and their families. Their group is called Raíces in reference to their rootedness and love for their community, and they turned out 75 people to their event on April 27th to mobilize the community to support the Driver’s Licenses for All campaign. They are now planning to do continued outreach and collect signed postcards at the Cinco de Mayo events on May 4th and 5th at the Fairgrounds in Hermiston.

Courtney (in the hat) with Unitarian Universalist Welcoming Congregation Committee

                        

Courtney Neubauer returned to her hometown of Klamath Falls last fall after spending her college years at Willamette University in Salem and then living in Seattle and working across Washington on long-term care policy. She dove into Klamath County projects helping to reactivate and expand several local groups, lending her infectious energy to make connections with new people and bring them into activism. She’s reinvigorated the Unitarian Universalist Social Justice Committee, worked with the UU Welcoming Congregation Committee to hold LGBTQ+ trainings and build a Klamath coalition, worked with Klamath Indivisible to hold their first event in two years, and participated in meetings with the No LNG pipeline campaign. She organized a meeting with the local sheriff to raise up questions about their lack of a certified Spanish interpreter and his support of ending Oregon’s sanctuary resolution. Courtney joined Rossy, Maria, Juan, and Gabriela for the Drivers Licenses for All Lobby Day at the Capitol and the following three days in Salem and was able to meet with her local legislators about a variety of bills of interest to folks in Klamath County.  

 

Gabriela (in the jean jacket) at the March 26th Lobby Day for Driver’s Licenses For All at the State Capitol in Salem and rallying in Hood River.
Gabriela Garcia lives and works in Hood River. She traveled in from the Gorge to participate in the March 26th Lobby Day for the Driver’s Licenses For All legislation. She has been working to form Comunidades, an environmental group focused on engaging people of color in the Hood River area in environmental issues. Gabriela has participated in activities related to ending the Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) contract at NORCOR, a four-county regional jail in the Gorge where organizers detained in the jail and allies outside the jail have been demanding an end to the ICE contract and better conditions. She also helped to turn folks out for an April 28th event to inform and activate Hood River area residents about the campaign to win Driver’s Licenses for All.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English