俄勒冈州农村是一个无仇恨区:格兰特县更新

本周格兰特县居民了解到雅利安民族正在寻求搬迁到他们的社区。  爱达荷州雅利安民族领袖保罗·穆莱特正试图为俄勒冈州约翰戴的培训中心购买当地房地产。随即,社区成员起身回应。超过 60 人参加了约翰·戴 (John Day) 街头的集会。信件进入了报纸。镇上没有出现仇恨的迹象。当地报纸承诺通过他们的网站让居民了解最新情况,并组织了社区会议。下一步计划正在制定中。

今天约翰戴市长鲍勃昆顿在 OPB 上发表讲话,反对来到镇上的仇恨团体: http://news.opb.org/article/6797-aryan-nations-leader-still-interested-moving-john-day/

来自全州的人类尊严领袖一直在联系 ROP 和格兰特县的领导人,以了解他们可以提供哪些帮助。  让我们扩大反对这个仇恨团体的声音的势头和数量。  前白人至上主义者曾表示,仇恨团体通过采取行动来“测试”社区,然后查看社区中是否有人做出回应。如果他们不这样做,他们就会开店。请通过 cara@rop.org 告诉我们您采取的措施。

* 向市长鲍勃昆顿寄一张明信片,感谢他的发言。让我们用支持充斥邮箱。

鲍勃·昆顿市长
约翰·戴市
东大街450号
约翰·戴,或 97845

* 给Eagle 的编辑发了一封信——他们会发布来自其他社区的信件:Blue Mountain Eagle:editor@bmeagle.com。

* 正如格兰特县的一名 ROP 人类尊严领袖所建议的那样:向您当地的报纸发送一封声援信。正如她分享的那样,“这可能发生在任何地方”,所以让我们确保全州的社区记录在案,仇恨在我们的家乡和我们的州不受欢迎。

2 月 26 日星期五将在峡谷城举行社区会议,两位专家将帮助社区成员考虑其他可能的回应:诺曼·吉塞尔,一名 Coeur d'Alene 律师,他在 2000 年理查德·巴特勒 (Richard Butler) 领导下的雅利安国家破产诉讼中发挥了重要作用,以及托尼·斯图尔特 (Tony Stewart) 是库特奈县民权工作组的教授、作家兼秘书,该工作组成立于 1981 年,旨在打击爱达荷州北部的种族主义仇恨活动。聚会时间为上午 9 点至上午 11 点和下午 6 点至 8 点。您可以通过流媒体收听社区论坛 www.bluemountaineagle.com.

请继续关注 ROPnet 以获取更新,或访问 www.bluemountaineagle.com。有关更多文章和更新,请参见下文。
俄勒冈州的意见: http://www.oregonlive.com/opinion/index.ssf/2010/02/white_supremacists_and_grant_c.html

约翰戴居民纠察仇恨团体的视频: http://www.bluemountaineagle.com/main.asp?FromHome=1&TypeID=1&ArticleID=23125&SectionID=49&SubSectionID=177

来自南方贫困法律中心的 Hatewatch 新闻: http://www.splcenter.org/blog/2010/02/25/White-Supremacist-Group/?ondntsrc=MBQ100270HTW&newsletter=HW022510

尽我所能,卡拉

简体中文

Rural Oregon is a Hate Free Zone: Grant County Update

This week Grant County residents learned that the Aryan Nations is looking to relocate to their community.  Idaho Aryan Nations leader Paul Mullet is trying to purchase local real estate for a training center in John Day, Oregon.  Immediately, community members rose up and responded.  Over 60 people attended a rally on the streets of John Day.  Letters went into the paper.  No Hate signs are appearing all over town. The local paper has committed to keeping residents updated via their website and have put together community meetings.  Next step plans are being made.

Today John Day Mayor Bob Quinton spoke out on OPB against the hate group coming to town: http://news.opb.org/article/6797-aryan-nations-leader-still-interested-moving-john-day/

Human dignity leaders from across the state have been contacting ROP and Grant County leaders to find out what they can do to help.  Let’s grow the momentum and number of voices speaking out against this hate group.  Former white supremacists have said that hate groups “test” a community by taking action and then seeing if anyone in the community responds.  If they don’t, they set up shop. Let us know back at cara@rop.org what action you take.

* Send a postcard to Mayor Bob Quinton thanking him for speaking out.   Let’s flood mailboxes with support.

Mayor Bob Quinton
City of John Day
450 East Main St
John Day, OR 97845

* Sent a letter to the editor to the Eagle- they will publish letters from other communities: Blue Mountain Eagle: editor@bmeagle.com.

* And as a ROP human dignity leader in Grant County suggests: send a solidarity letter to your own local paper.  As she shares, “this could happen anywhere” so let’s make sure communities all over the state go on record that hate is not welcome in our hometowns and our state.

Friday Feb. 26th there will be community meetings in Canyon City with two experts to help community members consider additional possible responses:  Norman Gissel, a Coeur d’Alene attorney who was instrumental in the lawsuit that bankrupted the Aryan Nations under Richard Butler in 2000 and Tony Stewart, professor, author and secretary of the Kootenai County Task Force on Civil Rights, which was founded in 1981 to combat racist hate activity in Northern Idaho.  The gatherings are from 9am-11am and 6-8pm.  You can listen into the community forums by streaming at www.bluemountaineagle.com.

Stay tuned to ROPnet for updates, or visit www.bluemountaineagle.com. See below for more articles and updates.
The Oregonian Opinion: http://www.oregonlive.com/opinion/index.ssf/2010/02/white_supremacists_and_grant_c.html

Video of residents picketing hate group in John Day: http://www.bluemountaineagle.com/main.asp?FromHome=1&TypeID=1&ArticleID=23125&SectionID=49&SubSectionID=177

Hatewatch News from Southern Poverty Law Center: http://www.splcenter.org/blog/2010/02/25/White-Supremacist-Group/?ondntsrc=MBQ100270HTW&newsletter=HW022510

all my best, Cara

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English