农村图书馆受到攻击

俄勒冈州和全国各地的图书馆和公立学校都受到攻击。禁止书籍、审查包容性课程以及威胁和恐吓致力于促进包容性的教师、学生和其他社区成员的持续尝试,其核心都是反民主的!许多社区的俄勒冈人都在说够了就够了,并要求我们保护我们的民主权利,即消息灵通和受过良好教育。

带有“让自由阅读”的标语的户外舞台和一个举起双臂庆祝的人。
户外圆形剧场,书本覆盖其路径

在德舒特县,Redmond Collective Action 在禁书周(9 月 18 日至 24 日)举办了一场名为 让自由阅读 (如上图)分享免费书籍、食物和手工艺品,并举办故事时间和抽奖活动,使当地图书馆受益。同样,库里县布鲁金斯学会的公共图书馆举办了一场名为“审查制度使我们处于黑暗之中”以及定期发布的关于禁书危险的社交媒体帖子(如下图所示)!

对于库里县来说,这种展示特别强大,因为在整个夏天,他们都面临着从书架上撤下书籍的压力。 阅读下面库里县的完整故事以及克鲁克县如何应对类似攻击! 您的社区是否正面临禁止书籍、审查课程或以其他方式强制认为只有一种“正确”的方式成为俄勒冈农村人的信念?让我们知道您居住的地方正在发生什么,以及我们如何相互支持以建立一个人人享有包容和平等的俄勒冈农村!

书籍封面的墙壁展示和一个标语,上面写着“审查制度让我们处于黑暗之中。2022 年禁书周”

库里县:不读就删除

在 Curry 县,Chetco 公共图书馆在 7 月遭到了一个小而响亮的团体的攻击,该团体想要移除具有 2SLGBTQIA+ 代表的书籍。他们反对的第一本书是 性别酷儿 玛雅·科巴贝.从那时起,他们开始追求包容性的性教育书籍、图画小说等。反酷儿人士在社区论坛上发起了一场社交媒体活动,他们在这些书中发布了旨在震惊人们的虚假陈述的内容。他们声称图书馆在兜售色情内容并为性变态的儿童提供诱骗,布鲁金斯的一些县专员和市议会人员支持他们。负责这项收费的当地人甚至告诉图书馆馆长,她不必真正阅读 性别酷儿 知道它应该从库中删除。 

当一群关心的库里县社区成员关注这一有针对性的运动并呼吁支持当地图书馆员时,许多盟友和社区成员加入其中,包括当地人类尊严组织不可分割的北库里县。他们分享了有关目标书籍及其在图书馆成人或儿童区的位置的准确信息,以及图书馆关于选择收藏内容的政策。 不可分割的北库里县的成员不仅参加了库里公共图书馆董事会会议并为图书馆工作人员提供了面对面的支持,而且他们还在当地报纸上写信给编辑,并与他们的小组成员分享了关于这个问题的信息,关于如何支持图书馆和反击审查。 

当县专员通过社交媒体加入攻击,针对图书馆和 2SLGBTQIA+ 个人时,Indivisible 加倍努力支持和竞选一位进步专员候选人,该候选人在去年 5 月的初选中赢得了比两位挑战者更多的选票。 Indivisible 承诺“继续支持我们的图书馆和图书馆委员会。他们是真正的英雄,他们拒绝任何重新安置、重新标记或移除目前在 Chetco 图书馆儿童区的书籍的企图。 我们的社区坚决反对任何对人类尊严或审查制度的攻击。”

克鲁克县学生没有书

六小时后,在普林维尔,当地图书馆在去年春天抵御了类似的袭击,现在克鲁克县的反民主团体正将精力集中在学校课程上。

Steins Pillar 小学没有自己的图书馆,所以学生们每周被送到公共图书馆一次,阅读和借书带回家。有一天,当一名学生带回家一本带有奇怪人物的书时,他们的父母指责学区和图书馆有太多“醒悟”的书名,而没有足够的内容来吸引“基督教家庭价值观”或“专业书籍”。 -生活。” 

这位家长接着说有些书是色情的,她认为有些书是在“修饰”。她在社交媒体上将其他人拉到她身边,呼吁“保护儿童”。图书馆员会见了这一小群人,并解释说,由于克鲁克县有 2SLGBTQIA+ 家庭,以及犹太和穆斯林家庭,因此拥有代表所有以克鲁克县为家的人的材料很重要。图书馆还分享了他们为人们请求购买新书或审查现有书籍的相关内容而制定的流程,但此后从未收到该组织的任何正式请求。

与库里县的社区成员类似,社区成员迅速聚集在图书馆后面,包括当地 PFLAG 分会(男女同性恋者的父母、家庭和朋友)、俄勒冈州中部多元化项目和当地民主党分会的人们。人们来到图书馆感谢图书馆员的工作。他们参加了图书馆董事会会议,分享了一致的信息,甚至自愿填补图书馆董事会的空缺席位。

由于无法吓唬图书馆改变他们的图书供应,这群抱怨包含酷儿书籍的人不满意,他们将注意力转向了学校董事会,迅速向学区施压,要求他们取消 Steins Pillar 小学学生每周去图书馆和让他们根本无法访问图书馆!支持图书馆的社区成员现在以真理和接受的名义组织起来,一直在努力应对这次袭击。

他们的主要目标是确保学校管理人员和学校董事会成员知道克鲁克县的大多数人支持课程更新和图书馆访问,这使他们的学校更具包容性。 很快就清楚的是,如果没有其他人可以提供平衡,学校董事会将听取一小群人鹦鹉学舌的声音。 妈妈的自由,一个总部位于佛罗里达州的组织呼吁终止对口罩和疫苗的要求,并攻击性教育教学和所谓的“批判种族理论。” 

让学校停止接送孩子去图书馆的同一个小组接下来开始呼吁学区停止教授性别认同。校长也很快同意了这一要求,没有考虑有多少家庭和社区成员希望学生能够接受有关性别和性的教育,更不用说其他形式的多样性了。对于当地的人类尊严领袖来说,这不仅关乎孩子们在书中读到的内容,还关乎他们是否处于承认和庆祝多样性(包括性别认同)的环境中。在克鲁克县中学学生调查中,最常见的欺凌类型是反酷儿骚扰!正如俄勒冈州中部 PFLAG 的当地领导人 Becky Groves 所说:“我们需要学校让所有学生都能学习和了解城里和世界各地存在的多样性。我们知道了解多样性可以减少青少年欺凌和自杀。”

戴着眼镜的女人对着麦克风讲话,身后坐着一群人。

在 9 月 12 日的学校董事会会议上,社区成员身着彩虹装扮,穿着写有“保护跨性别儿童”等字样的衬衫。 他们提供了有力的证词,PFLAG Central Oregon 提交了 157 个请愿签名,以支持他们在短短两周内收集的全纳课程。 你可以 在此处查看请愿书的全文,尽管他们不再收集签名。他们还一直在向当地报纸的编辑提交信函,以传播信息。 

您是否在这些县之一并想参与当地的工作? 您是否住在其他地方并受到启发而积极组织包容性民主?电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 建立联系。 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Rural Libraries Under Attack

Libraries and public schools are under attack, both in Oregon and across the country. The ongoing attempts to ban books, censor inclusive curricula and threaten and intimidate teachers, students and other community members working to advance inclusion are anti-democratic to their core! Oregonians in many communities are saying enough is enough and demanding that we protect our democratic right to be well-informed and well-educated.

Outdoor stage with a sign that says "let freedom read" and a person holding up their arms in celebration.
Outdoor amphitheater with books covering its pathways

In Deschutes County, Redmond Collective Action hosted an event on Banned Book Week (September 18-24) called Let Freedom Read (pictured above) that shared free books, food, and crafts, and held storytime as well as a raffle that benefited the local library. Similarly, the public library in Brookings in Curry County celebrated Banned Book Week with an in-person display titled “Censorship Keeps Us In the Dark” and regular social media posts about the dangers of book banning (pictured below)!

For Curry County, this display was particularly powerful because over the summer they faced pressure to remove books from their shelves. Read the full story from Curry County below as well as how Crook County is countering similar attacks! Is your community facing attempts to ban books, censor curriculum, or otherwise enforce the belief that there’s only one “right” way to be a rural Oregonian? Let us know what’s happening where you live and how we can support one another to build a rural Oregon with inclusion and equality for all!

Wall display of book covers and a sign that reads "censorship keeps us in the dark. Banned Books Week 2022"

Curry County: Remove Without Reading

In Curry County, the Chetco Public Library came under attack in July from a small but loud group that wanted to remove books with 2SLGBTQIA+ representation. The first book they campaigned against was Gender Queer by Maia Kobabe. Since then, they have gone after inclusive sex ed books, graphic novels, and more. The anti-queer folks started a social media campaign on community forums where they posted content from these books with false statements aimed to shock people. They claimed the library was peddling pornography and grooming children in sexual deviancy, and some of the county commissioners and the city council people in Brookings supported them. The local person leading this charge even told the library director that she didn’t have to actually read Gender Queer to know that it should be removed from the library. 

When a group of concerned Curry County community members brought attention to this targeted campaign and called for supporting local librarians, many allies and community members joined in, including Indivisible North Curry County, a local human dignity group. They shared accurate information about the targeted books and their placement in the adult or children’s section of the library, as well as about library policies on choosing what to include in their collection. Members of Indivisible North Curry County have not only attended Curry Public Library Board meetings and offered in-person support to library staff, but they have also written letters to the editor in the local paper and shared information with their fellow group members about this issue and about how to support the library and fight back against censorship. 

When the county commissioners joined in the attack via social media, targetting both the libraries and 2SLGBTQIA+ individuals, Indivisible redoubled their efforts to support and campaign for a progressive commissioner candidate who already won more votes than the two challengers during the primary last May. Indivisible has committed to “continue to support our libraries and the Library Board. They are the true heroes who rejected any attempt to relocate, relabel or remove books that are currently in the children’s section of the Chetco Library. Our community holds strong against any attack on human dignity or censorship.”

No Books for Crook County Students

Six hours away, in Prineville, local libraries fended off a similar attack this past spring, and now the anti-democratic group in Crook County is focusing its efforts on the school curriculum.

Steins Pillar Elementary School doesn’t have its own library, so the students were being bussed to the public library once a week to read and check out books to take home. When a student brought home a book with queer characters one day, their parent accused both the school district and the library of having too many ‘woke’ titles and not enough content that appealed to “Christian family values,” or books that were “pro-life.” 

This parent went on to say some of the books were pornographic and that she considered some to be “grooming.” She took to social media to bring other people to her side in calling for the “protection of the children.” The librarians met with this small group of people and explained that since Crook County has 2SLGBTQIA+ families, as well as Jewish and Muslim ones, it is important to have materials that represent everyone who calls Crook County home. The library also shared the processes they have in place for people to request that a new book be purchased or that an existing book be reviewed for concerning content, but never received any formal requests from the group after that.

Similar to those in Curry County, community members quickly rallied behind the library, including folks in the local PFLAG chapter (Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays), Central Oregon Diversity Project, and the local Democratic Party chapter. People showed up to the library to thank the librarians for their work. They went to library board meetings, shared aligned messages, and even volunteered to fill vacant seats on the library board.

Unhappy with their inability to scare the library into changing their book offerings, the group of people complaining about queer-inclusive books turned their attention to the school board, quickly pressuring the school district into canceling Steins Pillar Elementary students’ weekly trips to the library and leaving them with no library access at all! The same community members who showed up in support of the library, now organizing under the name of Truth and Acceptance, have been working hard to counter this attack.

Their main goal is to make sure the school administrators and school board members know that the majority of people in Crook County support the curriculum updates and library access that have made their schools more inclusive. It has quickly become clear that if no one else is there to provide a counterbalance, the school board will listen to the small but loud group of people parroting language from Mom’s for Liberty, a Florida-based organization calling for an end to mask and vaccine requirements as well as attacking the teaching of sex education and so-called “Critical Race Theory.” 

The same small group that got the schools to stop bussing kids to the library next started calling on the school district to stop teaching about gender identity. The superintendent quickly agreed to that demand as well, without taking into account how many families and community members want students to have access to education around gender and sexuality, not to mention other forms of diversity. For local human dignity leaders, this isn’t just about what kids read in books, it’s about whether they’re in an environment that recognizes and celebrates diversity, including gender identity. In a Crook County Middle School student survey, the most common type of bullying reported was anti-queer harassment! As Becky Groves, a local leader in PFLAG Central Oregon argued: “We need schools where all students can learn and understand the diversity that exists here in town and across the world. We know learning about diversity reduces youth bullying and suicide.”

Woman wearing glasses speaking at a microphone with a crowd seated behind her.

At the September 12th school board meeting, community members filled up the front rows wearing rainbows, shirts that read “Protect Trans Kids,” and more. They provided powerful testimony, and PFLAG Central Oregon presented 157 petition signatures in support of the inclusive curriculum, which they had collected in just two weeks. You can check out the full text of the petition here, though they are no longer collecting signatures. They have also been submitting letters to the editor in the local newspaper and more to spread the word. 

Are you in one of these counties and want to get involved with local efforts? Do you live somewhere else and feel inspired to organize proactively for inclusive democracy? Email emma@rop.org to get connected. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English