农村人的尊严团体崛起!

2018 年 6 月 19 日
亲爱的 ROPnet,

在过去的一年中,俄勒冈州农村地区的人类尊严团体一直在领导鼓舞人心且富有远见的组织。 就在昨天,Unidos Bridging Communities 与其他地方和全州团体合作,在谢里登的联邦监狱组织了一场有 1,200 多人参加的守夜活动。 来自 Yamhill、Marion、Polk、Deschutes、Linn、Multnomah、Columbia、Lane、Clackamas 和 Wasco 县的团体昨天出现,声援 123 名移民和难民。 这些被移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 拘留并被关押在谢里登联邦惩教所 (FCI) 的人——其中许多人是来寻求庇护的——与他们的孩子分开,并与说他们语言的人分开。祝贺工发组织和所有加入反对特朗普政府“零容忍政策”和对移民和难民的不人道监禁的大规模努力的人。 Unidos 是全州众多农村人的尊严团体之一,目前正在兴起并组织邻居大声疾呼反对不公正现象。

ROP 的网络包含代表俄勒冈州 36 个县中的 31 个县的超过 75 个人类尊严团体。每年在农村核心小组和战略会议上,我们都会回顾过去的一年,并向在社区中领导鼓舞人心的当地组织的人类尊严团体和领导人表示敬意。在俄勒冈州农村开展长期运动意味着我们不仅需要庆祝全州各团体的出色工作,还需要从他们的经验中学习。在下面查看更多关于几个人类尊严团体令人难以置信的工作的信息。

我们很高兴今年向杰斐逊县的 Maria Mejia Botero、我们都属于 Coos 县、健康机会经济社区 (ECHO) 和 Umatilla 县 Echo 的学生参与和重建社区 (SPARC) 颁发四项人类尊严奖.

继续阅读以了解更多关于这些充满激情和强大的农村团体和领导人的信息。

2018 年马西·韦斯特林奖

在我们成立 25 周年之际,为了纪念我们的创始人和她一生的工作,农村组织项目设立了 Marcy Westerling 奖。 1992 年,马西的才华在俄勒冈州的农村掀起了一场争取人类尊严的运动。 Marcy 相信农村人有能力改变我们自己的社区和世界。她的组织策略优先考虑创新和弥合虚假政治分歧的方法。 Marcy 的遗产通过俄勒冈州及其他地区的 ROP 员工和董事会、人类尊严团体和农村领导人的工作而继续存在。我们很荣幸将 2018 年 Marcy Westerling 奖颁发给 Maria Mejia Botero。

Maria Mejia Botero,杰斐逊县
Maria Mejia Botero 是杰斐逊县一位才华横溢且勇敢的组织者,她热情地关心她的社区和所有居住在那里的人的尊严。她认真倾听,深思熟虑地回应,并为她的工作带来幽默和快乐。玛丽亚帮助建立了杰斐逊县人类尊严小组和快速反应小组,该小组准备应对 ICE 遭遇威胁移民家庭和针对 LGBTQ+ 和其他边缘化社区成员的仇恨犯罪。当当地教堂的一侧被涂上仇恨同性恋的诽谤时,快速反应小组立即采取行动。玛丽亚和她的母亲去与牧师交谈,提供快速反应小组的支持,将其重新涂刷,并以此为契机与牧师讨论如何在信仰社区内展开对话,讨论这意味着什么成为所有人的欢迎和包容的地方。今年,在朋友和社区倡导者的支持下,玛丽亚为酷儿和盟友学生创办了卡尔弗高中的第一个 GSA 俱乐部!她还帮助领导了 3 月 14 日卡尔弗高中的第一次罢工。在过去的一年里,玛丽亚采取了更多的行动主义和社区参与,特别是在围绕 LGBTQ+、移民和学校安全的问题上。 Maria 感谢 Lorene Foreman 和青少年读书俱乐部对社会正义问题、Let's Talk Diversity Coalition 和 ROP 中的导师和朋友以及她的妈妈(一直积极支持她并与她一起工作)敞开心扉。

2018年人类尊严团体奖

我们都属于这里联盟,库斯县
We All Belong Here Coalition (WABH) 是库斯县的一支支持、力量和鼓舞人心的领导力量。 WABH 成立于 2017 年,以应对库斯县 LGBTQ+ 社区成员遭受的骚扰、攻击和歧视。当一名当地跨性别女性被持刀威胁而地方当局未能做出回应时,社区组织起来并很快发现这并非孤立事件。类似的故事在全县都出现了。当地高中生分享了歧视、骚扰和残暴袭击导致一名学生手臂骨折的故事。他们谈到了政府的冷漠和仇恨——从一位老师在课堂上宣布同性婚姻与嫁给自己的狗没有什么不同,到政府很少或根本没有回应。在不到一年的时间里,WABH 通过组建快速反应小组,举办安全、降级和旁观者干预培训,发起“我们都属于这里”当地商业海报活动,提供社区资源指南,以及迫使当地执法部门坐下来听取社区成员的意见。 WABH 还支持当地高中生对学区的歧视提出投诉,导致校长被解雇。 WABH 不仅发起了对仇恨和骚扰的社区回应,而且通过他们的持续组织,致力于长期维护为安全和热情的社区而组织的工作。

快速行动社区响应,本顿县
去年春天,威拉米特山谷中部的新纳粹分子开始更明显地出现在科瓦利斯,以破坏关注社会正义的事件。他们在镇上张贴传单,在人们的汽车上贴上贴纸,在人行道上用粉笔写下种族主义和仇外信息,以骚扰当地人,引起人们的注意并为他们的白人至上主义团体招募人员。当地领导人立即打电话想出一个计划,首先是去除贴纸、传单和粉笔,用爱和包容的信息取而代之。他们还召开会议来分享他们所经历和学习的信息,并共同思考如何应对眼前的威胁,同时建立一个白人至上无法蓬勃发展的社区。作为这些持续对话的一部分,他们决定组建一个名为快速行动社区反应 (RACR) 的新小组,并致力于在以下领域采取行动:1) 挑战和揭露白人至上主义活动和组织,2) 在社区中提供警惕的款待事件和陪同人员感到受到威胁,3) 为受到骚扰或虐待的无家可归者提供法律观察技能和帮助,以及 4) 支持移民伸张正义,包括监测和应对 ICE 威胁或社区突袭。在今年的农村核心小组和战略会议上,RACR 在 Watchful Hospitality 培训了数十名当地领导人,与全州的人类尊严团体分享了他们的经验教训。

健康机会经济共同体 (ECHO),Umatilla 县
在俄勒冈州东部的小镇回声,企业主、相关社区成员、学生、长期居民和其他人组成了健康机会经济共同体 (ECHO),在城市层面倡导人的尊严、包容性和民主。在 Echo 的一名市议员针对同性恋电影制作人在网上发表暴力和仇恨的反 LGBTQ 评论后,该组织聚集在一起。 社区成员立即做出回应,参加市议会会议,在他们的企业张贴标语,与邻居和学生交谈,并向编辑提交要求道歉的信件。 许多人因他们的行为受到强烈反对,包括抵制企业(以及城市雇员在工作时间呼吁抵制!),但这并没有阻止他们。这些领导人随后帮助组建了 ECHO(小组!),将社区成员聚集在一起以解决地方层面缺乏民主的问题,并组织一个更具包容性的城镇。 ECHO 一直是建设更美好社区的一股力量和愿景,让每个人都感到安全和受欢迎。

学生参与和重建社区 (SPARC),Umatilla 县
ECHO 并不是唯一一个针对市议员的暴力言论以及由此产生的行动以及市政府不采取行动而成立的团体。高中生也决定是时候采取行动了!几名学生聚在一起成立了学生参与和重建社区 (SPARC),这是高中的一个俱乐部,旨在加强学校和城镇中以正义为导向的学生的声音和信息,增加青年对地方政府的参与,并为所有人建立一个更加热情和包容的社区。即使在学校管理人员、市议员和社区成员的阻挠和障碍中,他们仍然坚持并成功举办了 SPARC 学校安全三月活动,包括罢工。 接下来,他们计划举办一个秋季节日来庆祝他们的小镇,并开始与邻居就多样性和包容性进行对话。

我们为所有领导农村正义工作的团体感动。他们在我们的运动中推动我们前进,培养新的工作和团结方式,建立互助和社区关怀网络,并在当地建立力量以改变我们的社区。

感谢在俄勒冈州农村地区领导您的社区的所有人类尊严团体。

热烈地,
Cara、Rindy、Hannah、Caroline、Emma 和 ROP 团队

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Rural Human Dignity Groups Rise!

June 19th, 2018
Dear ROPnet,

Over this past year, human dignity groups across rural Oregon have been leading inspiring and visionary organizing. Just yesterday, Unidos Bridging Communities, in partnership with other local and statewide groups, organized a vigil with over 1,200 people at the federal prison in Sheridan. Groups from Yamhill, Marion, Polk, Deschutes, Linn, Multnomah, Columbia, Lane, Clackamas and Wasco Counties showed up in solidarity with the 123 immigrants and refugees yesterday. Detained by Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and incarcerated at the Sheridan Federal Correctional Institution (FCI), these folks–many of whom arrived seeking asylum–have been torn away from their children and separated from those who speak their language. Congratulations Unidos and all who joined in the massive effort to push back against the Trump administration’s “zero tolerance policy” and the inhumane incarceration of immigrants and refugees. Unidos is one of many rural human dignity groups across the state rising to this moment and organizing neighbors to speak out against injustice.

ROP’s network contains over 75 human dignity groups representing 31 of Oregon’s 36 counties. Every year at the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session we look back at the previous year and honor human dignity groups and leaders who have led inspiring local organizing in their communities. Building a long-term movement in rural Oregon means we not only need to celebrate the incredible work of groups across the state, but also learn from their experiences. Check out more about the incredible work of several human dignity groups below.

We are thrilled to give out four Human Dignity Awards this year to Maria Mejia Botero of Jefferson County, We All Belong Here of Coos County, Economic Community for Healthy Opportunities (ECHO) and Students Participating and Rebuilding Community (SPARC) in Echo, Umatilla County.

Read on to learn more about these passionate and powerful rural groups and leaders.

2018 Marcy Westerling Award

On our 25th Anniversary, in memory of our founder and in honor of her life’s work, Rural Organizing Project established the Marcy Westerling Award. In 1992, Marcy’s brilliance sparked a movement for human dignity in rural Oregon. Marcy believed that rural people have the power to change our own communities and the world. Her organizing strategy prioritized innovation and approaches that bridge false political divides. Marcy’s legacy lives on through the work of ROP staff and board, human dignity groups and rural leaders across the state of Oregon and beyond. We are honored to present the 2018 Marcy Westerling Award to Maria Mejia Botero.

Maria Mejia Botero, Jefferson County
Maria Mejia Botero is a brilliant and courageous organizer in Jefferson County who cares passionately about her community and the dignity of all who live there. She listens deeply, responds thoughtfully and brings humor and joy to her work. Maria helped found the Jefferson County Human Dignity Group and Rapid Response Team, a group prepared to respond to ICE encounters that threaten immigrant families and hate crimes against LGBTQ+ and other marginalized members of the community. When a homophobic slur was painted onto the side of a local church, the rapid response team jumped into action immediately. Maria and her mother went and spoke with the pastor to offer the support of the rapid response team in painting it over, and used it as an opportunity to talk with the pastor about how to open a dialogue within the faith community about what it means to be a welcoming and inclusive place for all. This year, with the support of friends and community advocates, Maria started Culver High School’s first GSA Club for queer and ally students! She also helped to lead Culver High School’s first walkout on March 14th. Over the past year Maria has taken on more activism and community involvement, particularly on issues surrounding LGBTQ+, immigration, and school safety. Maria is grateful to Lorene Foreman and the Teen Book Club for opening her mind to social justice issues, mentors and friends in the Let’s Talk Diversity Coalition and in ROP, and her mom–who is always actively supporting and working alongside her.

2018 Human Dignity Group Awards

We All Belong Here Coalition, Coos County
We All Belong Here Coalition (WABH) is a leading force of support, strength, and inspiration in Coos County. WABH formed in 2017 in response to harassment, assault, and discrimination of members of the LGBTQ+ community in Coos County. When a local trans woman was threatened at knifepoint and local authorities failed to respond, the community organized and quickly discovered this was not an isolated incident. Similar stories throughout the county emerged. Local high school students shared stories of discrimination, harassment, and brutal attacks that left one student’s arm broken. They spoke of apathy and hate from the administration – from a teacher declaring, in the classroom, that gay marriage was no different than marrying one’s dog, to little or no response from the administration. In less than a year, WABH has demonstrated their commitment to community by forming a rapid response team, holding security, deescalation, and bystander intervention trainings, initiating a “We All Belong Here” local business poster campaign, providing a community resource guide, and pressuring local law enforcement to sit down and hear community members. WABH also supported the local high school students in filing a complaint against the school district for discrimination, resulting in the termination of the principal. WABH not only initiated a community response to hate and harassment, but through their ongoing organizing have committed to maintaining the work of organizing for a safe and welcoming community for the long haul.

Rapid Action Community Response, Benton County
Last spring, neonazis in the mid-Willamette Valley began showing up more visibly in Corvallis to disrupt events focused on social justice. They put up flyers around town, stickers on people’s cars and chalk on the sidewalks with racist and xenophobic messages to harass local folks, draw attention and recruit for their white supremacist groups. Local leaders immediately hopped on the phone to figure out a plan, starting with removing the stickers, flyers and chalking and replacing them with messages of love and inclusivity. They also set up meetings to share information about what they were experiencing and learning and to think together about how to respond to the immediate threats while also building the kind of community where white supremacy couldn’t thrive. As part of these ongoing conversations, they decided to form a new group called Rapid Action Community Response (RACR) and committed to act in the following areas: 1) Challenging and exposing white-supremacist activity and organizing, 2) Offering watchful hospitality at community events and accompanying individuals feeling threatened, 3) Offering legal observation skills and assistance to houseless individuals who are harassed or mistreated and 4) Supporting justice for immigrants, including monitoring and responding to ICE threats or raids in the community. At this year’s Rural Caucus and Strategy Session RACR trained dozens of local leaders in Watchful Hospitality, sharing their lessons learned with human dignity groups across the state.

Economic Community for Healthy Opportunities (ECHO), Umatilla County
In the small town of Echo, in Eastern Oregon, business owners, concerned community members, students, long-time residents and others formed Economic Community for Healthy Opportunities (ECHO) to advocate for human dignity, inclusivity and democracy at the city level. The group came together after a city councilor in Echo made violent and hateful anti-LGBTQ comments online targeted at a gay filmmaker. Community members immediately responded by attending city council meetings, posting signs in their businesses, holding conversations with neighbors and students and submitting letters-to-the-editor calling for an apology. Many received backlash for their actions, including businesses being boycotted (and boycotts being called for by city employees during working hours!), but this did not deter them. These same leaders then helped form ECHO (the group!), bringing community members together to address the lack of democracy at the local level and to organize for a more inclusive town. ECHO has been a force and a vision for a better community where everyone can feel safe and welcome.

Students Participating and Rebuilding Community (SPARC), Umatilla County
ECHO was not the only group that formed in response to the violent statements of the city councilor and the resulting actions, and lack of action, from the city. High school students also decided it was time to take action! Several students got together and formed Students Participating and Rebuilding Community (SPARC), a club at the high school that aims to strengthen the voice and message of justice-oriented students at school and in town, to increase youth participation in local government, and to build a more welcoming and inclusive community for all. Even amidst push back and barriers created by school administrators, city councilors and community members, they have persevered and SPARC successfully held a March for School Safety event including a walkout. Next they are planning a fall festival to celebrate their small town and start conversations with neighbors about diversity and inclusion.

We are moved by all the groups who are leading work for rural justice. They carry us forward in our movements, and foster new ways of working and being together, building networks of mutual aid and community care, and building power locally to transform our communities.

Thank you to all the human dignity groups leading in your communities across rural Oregon.

Warmly,
Cara, Rindy, Hannah, Caroline, Emma and the ROP team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English