农村社区应急响应 – 2014

2014 年 3 月 27 日

来自杰西·坎贝尔的消息: 随着华盛顿州奥索致命泥石流的后果逐渐展开,农村应急响应成为全国各地许多讨论的话题。自二月份以来,科蒂奇格罗夫的人类尊严组织者一直在考虑同样的话题,此前他们对雷恩县历史上最严重的冰暴造成的后果做出了回应,这场冰暴导致数千人一周多没有电,该县许多最孤立的家庭也没有经济来源。离开他们的财产来换取食物、水和补给品。

我原本以为是在科蒂奇格罗夫与家人进行短暂的拜访,结果却变成了为期一周的冒险,以找出全志愿者的紧急应对措施。这次经历让我和社区中的其他人想知道: 应急响应在我们的人类尊严运动中发挥什么作用?您和您的人类尊严小组知道在紧急情况下会做什么吗? 

我不知道答案,但我确实知道,当危机在我家附近袭来时,我在科蒂奇格罗夫有其他人类尊严领袖可以一起学习和实验,因为邻居们试图即时照顾邻居。我们战略性地利用权力在全县范围内进行转变,两个月后,我们由 8 名敬业人员组成的核心团队正在研究如何做好准备,以便下次做得更好——因为还会有下一次。 阅读下文了解更多内容!

能够与这些令人难以置信的人们一起组织是我的荣幸!谢谢 Cristina、Spenser、Melinda、Kevin、Bedo、Steve、Ivan、Trish、Jimmy、Janetta 以及其他数十位参与并让事情发生的人!你们的聪明才智、慷慨和正义精神激励着我!


二月份,我去 Cottage Grove 探望家人时遇到了令人印象深刻的天气:第一场雪,然后是几英寸的冻雨。被几英寸厚的冰压垮的树木正在破裂和倒塌(见上图——被两英寸厚的冰压垮的那些冷杉树看起来就像属于苏斯博士的书中一样)。周五晚上我们停电了。第二天早上,我们发现一根电线杆折断了,还有半英里长的未绝缘高压电线堵塞了我们进出农村地区的唯一道路。

三天后,我们用完了推荐的三天应急包,其中包括食物、水和取暖丙烷。我们的公用事业公司,一个深受喜爱的公用事业区,受到了如此严重的打击,以至于我们无法通过他们的系统接到电话,只能通过 Twitter 和 Facebook 来通知他们我们的停电情况。仅我们的 PUD 就有超过 12,000 人断电(超过一半的客户),而且,作为一个只为莱恩县农村地区提供服务的小型 PUD,他们无法快速做出反应。在没有估计我们何时会看到救援人员的情况下,我爬过折断的电线杆和电线,步行几英里到镇上寻找补给品。

当我到达镇上时,我看到了所发生事情的严重性。整个科蒂奇格罗夫镇都受到了影响,当地每家商店的丙烷都已售罄。在没有热源的情况下,我在 Facebook 上发出了请求,我的一位朋友,一位令人难以置信的“占领小屋格罗夫”组织者,在不到 30 秒的时间内回复说他会来接我并帮助我解决问题。最终,他给了我额外的丙烷罐,并让我尽可能靠近家。

星期一,我们给消防局打电话。他们说他们会出来移走折断的电线杆,这样我们就可以开车去镇上……但消防部门最终先给 PUD 打电话,PUD 告诉他们那天他们会恢复我们地区的电力 - 天哪错误的!到当天结束时,仍有超过 9,000 人断电,很明显我们不会得到帮助。我妈妈、我兄弟和我带着我们的狗,沿着电线徒步到镇上。

我们非常荣幸。我们身体健全,尽管遭受重创,我们还是可以在城里的旅馆里多住四个晚上。很快人们就发现,许多其他人并没有那么幸运——已经与世隔绝的家庭被带电的电线或树木困住,无法出去,无法获得水或杂货,木柴或丙烷用完了,而且没有人正在回应他们的帮助请求。你可以观看 PUD 的 Facebook 页面,了解牲畜挨饿或没有水(井泵没有电就无法工作,而且气温仍低于冰点)或依靠发电机维持生计的人们的最新动态。他们的医疗设备几乎耗尽了汽油。那些无法给手机充电的人怎么办?

我在 Facebook 上发布了一条信息,看看人们是否愿意聚在一起讨论我们能做什么,很快就形成了一个小团队。来自占领小屋格罗夫 (Occupy Cottage Grove)、ForestWeb 和黑莓派协会 (Blackberry Pie Society) 的人们齐心协力,白天在当地的面包店设立了我们的“办公室”,晚上则在酒吧开始工作。我在市政厅之间跑来跑去,拜访了城市经理和公共工程部门,以及由我们的盟友和当地人类尊严团体组织者拥有的书矿,召集人们集思广益,集思广益下一步的行动。

很快我们就得到了县一级人员的名字,他们本应响应紧急需求,但没有响应。该县表示,他们不知道有任何需求。当我们解释说人们在第五天没有电和水时,他们感到震惊,因为道路上的树木和电线而与世隔绝。该县告诉我们“尤金很好,所以莱恩县不需要回应”。什么?!我们给参议员普罗赞斯基留了一封语音邮件,要求他帮忙施加一些压力,并很快得到回复,说他的办公室正在大力支持县政府开始提供一些基本的救济。

经过一天的调查,发现没有任何机构了解莱恩县农村地区的现实情况,我们要求当晚召开一次会议来计划下一步行动。一些地区人类尊严团体的组织者聚集在一起,我们很快就制定了应急响应计划。我们会尽一切可能找到信息——此时人们在公用事业公司的 Facebook 页面上尖叫,所以这是信息来源之一——我们会派一个团队出去挨家挨户敲门。如果我们无法到达他们的门口,我们就会砍掉挡道的树或电线杆。如果他们需要我们车上没有的东西,我们会在我们的“办公室”解决问题。

我们已经让人道协会提供了额外的宠物食品,并准备好了干草库,以防我们遇到饥饿的牲畜。一位组织者打电话给当地报纸编辑,询问他是否能为我们提供有关谁需要帮助的更详细信息,而另一位组织者跑到酒吧宣布我们在仁人家园筹款活动期间需要志愿者。很快我们就得到了第一批令人难以置信的志愿者名单,其中包括医务人员、司机和准备使用链锯的人们!

在同一次会议上,我们在一位核心组织者(恰好也是他的邻居)的建议下给当地的 PUD 董事会成员打了电话。一通电话,他就承诺将把统一民主联盟的脚踩在火上。 PUD 的反应能力远远不够,是时候寻求帮助了。与此同时,PUD 需要停止取消消防部门的行动——以公关的名义犯下一个愚蠢的错误,可能会导致人们丧生。

会议结束后,我们分享了为什么我们那天花了 12 到 18 个小时围绕这个问题进行事实调查和组织。一位组织者评论道:“在这些时刻,我们能够证明建立社区的合理性——这确实可能成为生死攸关的问题。”另一位网友表示:“这是一个警钟。当我们的安全网崩溃时,我们将有责任互相扶持。如果我们说我们是为了人类尊严,那么我们就需要确保我们的社区互相支持,以确保没有人的安全受到威胁。”

第二天早上,我们在“办公室”见面,让我们的团队为媒体的到来做好准备。我们向新闻工作人员解释说,我们觉得我们需要采取行动,因为在这种情况下邻居需要照顾邻居,因为如果我们不互相照顾,还有谁会照顾呢?当我带着新闻工作人员来到我们家时——一个家庭的需求没有得到满足的例子,你看,这是我的家,多方便啊! ——镇上的工作人员组装了一车木柴和几箱水,并召集了一队志愿者出去查看那些已经停电六天的人们。新闻工作人员及时回来跟踪他们,他们开始走访乡村街道,看看邻居们有什么需求!那天早上只有五个人被激活,新闻片段让我们看起来强大而强大——正如我们所希望的那样! 

这是我们开始看到真正成功的地方! 在媒体和参议员普罗赞斯基办公室的压力下,该县开通了几个小时的 211 热线,并开始为受困家庭提供真正的救援,运送食物、水、柴火和丙烷。我们通过公开提出尖锐的问题来保持压力:县里正在新闻中宣传211专线——如果你没有电看新闻怎么办?一天还不够,明天后天再开通211线吗?该县的回应是在夜间和接下来的几天内保持线路畅通。

其次,我们依靠县和州宣布紧急状态,优先立即让更多公用事业人员撤离。我们动员了与当地 PUD 董事会成员和参议员 Prozanski 办公室的新关系来帮助我们推动这个想法。很快,公用事业人员从全州各地涌入以恢复供电!

接下来的一周,我们坐下来讨论接下来会发生什么。我们刚刚经历过这样的经历,我们发现我们的安全网存在一个巨大的漏洞。我们当时尽最大努力解决问题,只有我们几个人成功地推动了县、州的发展,并在此过程中建立了一些战略关系。幸运的是,我们有一个坚实的人类尊严组织者网络可供动员,因为谁知道如果没有社区基础设施到位,应对行动会有多困难!

经过几个小时互相询问尖锐的问题后,我们下定决心,我们要尝试找出一种农村邻里之间的应对措施,使我们能够满足彼此的需求,而不依赖于可能无法满足彼此需求的机构。回应。我们还明确表示,我们希望花一些时间弄清楚如何应对经济危机(如果人们买不起从食品银行获取食品盒的汽油怎么办?这发生在 2008 年),或者,上帝保佑,仇恨犯罪。

这次会议留下的问题多于答案,我们开始计划一些事实调查圆桌会议!我们仍然对如何制定应急响应决策(谁优先以及如何制定?)感到困惑,甚至我们在冰暴余波期间采访过的机构似乎也和我们一样困惑。有几个人鼓励我们把他们召集起来进行对话,所以我们就这么做了!下周二,我们将举行第一次圆桌会议,地方领导人将与在救灾中发挥作用的不同政府机构,例如市、县、农村消防部门等坐在一起。每个机构将分享其在紧急情况下的作用,谁它与内部和区域内的决策进行沟通,并了解决策的制定方式。我们将共同制定更有效的合作方式,包括优先考虑农村、偏远地区和低收入地区的应对措施——这些地区是在冰暴过后得到帮助的人们,除非我们面对它,否则他们将继续得到帮助。

即将举行的另一场圆桌会议将深入探讨我们的社区想要做出什么样的回应,会议将召集从 Kiwanis 到 Granges 到教堂等各种社区团体。与此同时,他们鼓励我们作为 Cottage Grove 居民团结起来,确保我们的邻居准备好互相照顾。

简体中文

Rural Community Emergency Response – 2014

March 27, 2014

A message from Jess Campbell: As the aftermath of the deadly mudslide in Oso, Washington unfolds, rural emergency response is the topic of many conversations happening across the country. Human dignity organizers in Cottage Grove have been mulling that same topic since February after responding to the aftermath of the worst ice storm in Lane County history that left thousands without power for over a week and many of the most isolated families in the County without the means of leaving their properties for food, water, and supplies.

What I thought was a brief visit with my family in Cottage Grove turned into a week-long adventure in figuring out an all-volunteer emergency response. The experience left me and others in my community wondering: what role does emergency response play in our movement for human dignity? Do you and your human dignity group know what you would do in an emergency? 

I don’t have the answers, but I do know that when crisis struck close to home, I had other human dignity leaders in Cottage Grove to learn alongside and experiment with as neighbors tried to take care of neighbors on the fly. We strategically leveraged power to make county-wide shifts and two months later, our core team of 8 dedicated folks are figuring out how we can prepare ourselves to do better next time — because there will be a next time. Read more below!

It has been an honor to organize alongside such incredible folks! Thank you, Cristina, Spenser, Melinda, Kevin, Bedo, Steve, Ivan, Trish, Jimmy, Janetta, and dozens of others who pitched in and made things happen! You all inspire me with your brilliance, generosity, and spirit of justice!


I was visiting my family in Cottage Grove in February when we got some impressive weather: first snow, and then several inches of freezing rain. Trees weighed down by inches of ice were breaking and falling (see the photo above — weighed down with two inches of ice, those fir trees look like they belong in a Dr. Seuss book). Friday evening we lost power. The next morning we saw that we had a snapped utility pole and half a mile of uninsulated high-voltage powerlines blocking our only road on or off of our rural property.

Three days later, we had used up our recommended 3-day emergency kit of food, water, and propane for heat. Our utility, a beloved Public Utility District, was so slammed that we couldn’t get a call through their system and resorted to Twitter and Facebook to notify them of our outage. Over 12,000 people were without power in our PUD alone — over half of their customers — and, being a small PUD that only serves rural parts of Lane County, they couldn’t respond quickly. Without any estimates of when we’d see a crew, I climbed over the snapped utility pole and power lines to walk several miles to town for supplies.

Once I got to town, I saw the magnitude of what had happened. The entire town of Cottage Grove was hurting, and every local store had sold out of propane. Without a source of heat, I put out a plea on Facebook, and one of my friends, an incredible Occupy Cottage Grove organizer, responded in less than thirty seconds that he’d pick me up and help me problem-solve. Ultimately, he gave me his extra propane canisters and gave me a ride as close as he could to home.

Monday, we called the fire department. They said they’d come out and move the snapped electrical pole so we could drive out to town… But the fire department ended up calling the PUD first, and the PUD told them they would restore power to our area that day — boy were they wrong! By the end of the day, over 9,000 folks were still without power and it was clear we weren’t going to be helped. My mom, my brother, and I got our dogs and hiked out over those down power lines to town.

We are extremely privileged. We are able-bodied and, even though it was a hard hit, we could afford a hotel in town for four more nights. It soon became clear that many other folks weren’t so privileged — already isolated families were trapped by live lines or trees and couldn’t get out, couldn’t get water or groceries, had run out of firewood or propane, and no one was responding to their pleas for help. You could watch the PUD’s Facebook page for up-to-the-minute updates of people whose livestock were starving or without water (well pumps don’t work without electricity and the temperatures were still below freezing), or who were relying on generators for their medical equipment and were almost out of gas. What about the folks who had no way to charge their phones?

I put out a note on Facebook to see if folks wanted to get together to talk about what we could do, and soon a small team of folks formed. Folks from Occupy Cottage Grove, ForestWeb, and Blackberry Pie Society pulled together to set up our “office” in the local bakery by day, bar by night and got to work. I ran between City Hall, dropping in on the City Manager and Public Works, and the Bookmine, owned by our allies and local human dignity group organizers, rounding up folks to help brainstorm the next steps.

Soon we had the names of the folks at the County level who were supposed to be responding to emergency needs but weren’t. The County said they weren’t aware of any needs. They were shocked when we explained that people were on day five of no electricity and no water, isolated because of trees and power lines in the road. The county told us “Eugene is okay so Lane County doesn’t need to respond”. What?! We left Senator Prozanski a voicemail asking him to help put some pressure on and got a quick reply that his office was leaning hard on the County to begin providing some basic relief.

After a day of investigating and discovering no agency was aware of the reality in rural Lane County, we called for a meeting that evening to plan our next steps. A handful of area human dignity group organizers gathered and we quickly ironed out a plan to do our emergency response. We would find information any way we could — folks were screaming on the utilities’ Facebook pages at this point, so that was one source of information — and we would send a team out to knock on doors. If we couldn’t get to their door, we would cut the tree or the utility pole out of the way. If they needed something we didn’t already have in the vehicle, we would problem-solve that from our “office”.

We already had the Humane Society on board with extra pet food, and the Hay Bank ready in case we encountered hungry livestock. While one organizer called the local newspaper editor to see if he could get us more detailed information on who needed help, another couple of organizers ran to the bar to announce that we needed volunteers during a Habitat for Humanity fundraiser. Soon we had a list of our first incredible volunteers, which included medics, drivers, and folks who were ready to use their chainsaws!

At that same meeting, we got our local PUD board member on the phone at the suggestion of one of our core organizers, who also happens to be his neighbor. Once on the phone, he committed to holding the PUD’s feet to the fire. The PUD was way under capacity to respond and it was time to ask for help. In the meantime, the PUD needed to stop calling off the fire department — that’s a silly mistake to make in the name of PR that could cost people their lives.

We left that meeting sharing why we had spent 12-18 hours that day fact-finding and organizing around this. One organizer remarked, “These are the moments where we are able justify building community — it really could become a matter of life or death.” Another said, “This is a wake-up call. As our safety nets fall apart, it is going to be up to us to hold each other up. If we say we are for human dignity, we need to make sure our community is there for each other to make sure no one’s safety is at risk.”

The next morning we met at our “office” and got our team ready for the media to arrive. We explained to the news crew that we felt we needed to act because neighbors need to take care of neighbors in these situations, because if we don’t take care of each other, who else will? While I took the news crew up to our property — an example of one family’s needs not being met, and look at that, it’s my home, how convenient! — the crew in town assembled a van-load of firewood, and cases of water, and got a team of volunteers together to go out to check on folks who had been without power for six days. The news crew returned just in time to follow them out as they began canvassing rural streets to see what needs neighbors had! For only having five people activated that morning, the news segment made us look big and powerful — just as we had hoped! 

This is where we began seeing real successes! The County, under pressure from the media and Sen. Prozanski’s office, put up a 211 line for a few hours and began providing real relief to trapped families, delivering food, water, firewood, and propane. We kept the pressure on by publicly asking hard questions: The county is advertising the 211 line on the news — what happens if you don’t have electricity to watch the news? One day isn’t good enough, will you open the 211 line again tomorrow and the next day? The County responded by keeping their line open overnight and through the next days.

Secondly, we leaned on the County and the state to declare an emergency to prioritize getting additional utility crews out immediately. We mobilized our new relationships with our local PUD board member and Sen. Prozanski’s office to help us move the idea. Soon utility crews were pouring in from across the state to restore power!

The next week, we sat down together to figure out what would happen next. We just had this experience where we identified a gigantic hole in our safety net. We tried our best to problem-solve in the moment and just a few of us managed to get the County to move, the state to move, and built some strategic relationships along the way. Luckily we had a solid network of human dignity organizers to mobilize, because who knows how difficult it would have been to respond without that community infrastructure already in place!

After a couple of hours of asking each other tough questions, we came out resolved that we want to try to figure out a rural neighbor-to-neighbor response that allows us to meet each other’s needs without relying on agencies who may not be able to respond. We also left with some clarity that we wanted to spend some time figuring out how to respond in an economic crisis (what if folks can’t afford the gas to get their food boxes from the food bank? It happened back in 2008) or, god forbid, a hate crime.

Leaving that meeting with more questions than answers, we began planning some fact-finding roundtables! We continue to be puzzled about how decisions are made about emergency response (who is prioritized and how?), and even the agencies we spoke to during the ice storm fallout seemed just as puzzled as us. Several encouraged us to get them rounded up to have a conversation, so we are! Next Tuesday we will hold our first roundtable where local leaders will sit alongside different government agencies that play a role in disaster response, such as the City, the County, the rural fire department, etc. Each agency will share its role in emergencies, who it communicates with, and how decisions are made internally and regionally. Together we will map out ways to work together more effectively, including prioritizing rural, isolated, and low-income areas for response — the folks who were helped last after the ice storm, and who will continue to be helped last unless we confront it.

On the horizon is another roundtable to dive into what kind of response our community wants to build, which will convene community groups ranging from the Kiwanis to the Granges to churches. In the meantime, they are encouraging us as Cottage Grove residents to band together to make sure our neighbors are prepared to take care of each other.

English